I don't know where some of you get off thinking that there is some special responsibility of Indian people to support a Black nationalist party so as to end apaan jaat.

The adoption of a racist Black party (the PNC) is not the solution to apaan jaat. And it certainly ain't gonna be convincing Indians. Just as I would not expect Blacks to vote PPP.

I return to the day 1 raison d'etre of AFC....a rejection of PPP apaan jaat and PNC apnu jaat. Until that day returns again of an alternative to both kinds of jaat, the only logical thing to do is to hold in place.

I don't know where some of you get off thinking that there is some special responsibility of Indian people to support a Black nationalist party so as to end apaan jaat.

The adoption of a racist Black party (the PNC) is not the solution to apaan jaat. And it certainly ain't gonna be convincing Indians. Just as I would not expect Blacks to vote PPP.

I return to the day 1 raison d'etre of AFC....a rejection of PPP apaan jaat and PNC apnu jaat. Until that day returns again of an alternative to both kinds of jaat, the only logical thing to do is to hold in place.

Coolie must vote fuh de blackman party, but de blackman must only vote fuh de blackman party. Waht a concept!

I'm still wrappin my head over this novel concept that all dem bright bais here are suggesting.

Coolieman is "racist" fuh votin PPP but Blackman is bein all democratic fuh votin PNC, Guyana's new multiracial multinational party of 99% Black and some homeless Jaganites.

Youall can fret and fume over this apaan jaat thing.

At Babu John, Ramotar appealed for a majority government come May 11.

If all the Indians vote apaan jaat, PPP will not get majority.

If only 10 percent of Indians vote for APNU+AFC, Freedom House will become opposition headquarters again. And that is exactly what will happen.

I'm still wrappin my head over this novel concept that all dem bright bais here are suggesting.

Coolieman is "racist" fuh votin PPP but Blackman is bein all democratic fuh votin PNC, Guyana's new multiracial multinational party of 99% Black and some homeless Jaganites.

straw man alert!!!!!

Table 1          Source of votes and party identification by ethnicity

2009 Survey

Source of votes by ethnicity - %

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006 Survey

Ethnic identification with parties - %

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

Source: LAPOP 2006 and 2009

Originally Posted by TK:

2009 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

Old outdated data. Not valid 6 years later.

Originally Posted by TK:

2009 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

They are...because the 2011 election continued the trend. Why do you believe PPP lost the majority? Let's see what the 2014 LAPOP says...coming soon.

Originally Posted by TK:

2009 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

They are...because the 2011 election continued the trend. Why do you believe PPP lost the majority? Let's see what the 2014 LAPOP says...coming soon.

2015 is a 2 party race. AFC is now PNC. 17.3 % of Indians are not voting for PNC.

Originally Posted by TK:

2009 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2015 is a 2 party race. AFC is now PNC. 17.3 % of Indians are not voting for PNC.

What makes you believe they will vote for PPP? What has PPP done for them to deserve their votes?

Originally Posted by TK:

2009 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

What makes you believe they will vote for PPP? What has PPP done for them to deserve their votes?

They ain't the PNC!

Originally Posted by TK:

2009 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

TK, this is a 2 party race. Coolie don't trust blackman the same way blackman don't trust coolie. It's history repeating itself.

Originally Posted by TK:

2009 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

TK, this is a 2 party race. Coolie don't trust blackman the same way blackman don't trust coolie. It's history repeating itself.

vote ppp and keep migrating,how much get kill that the ppp cannot protect with this kind of thinking you have to be a ppp collie god bless you 

Originally Posted by TK:

2009 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

vote ppp and keep migrating,how much get kill that the ppp cannot protect with this kind of thinking you have to be a ppp collie god bless you 

Thanks.

Originally Posted by TK:

2009 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

Thanks.

you are excuse,i blame that shit trench 

Originally Posted by TK:

2009 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

Thanks.

you are excuse,i blame that shit trench 

That shit trench is where your father caught all "dem shit eating fish" and fed you. Wonder why you are the way you are? Blame Skeldon Abdul dam sideline. That's where your father stood and caught the fishes. The side line trench had two rows of logie latrines.

Rohee endorses Jagdeo statement that PPP is a ‘coolie people’ party

March 10, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

-    Says Afro Guyanese should welcome statement General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Clement Rohee, yesterday supported the statements made by his comrade, Bharrat Jagdeo, to the effect that the incumbent party is a “coolie people” party.

PPP General Secretary, Clement Rohee

straw man alert!!!!!

Ayuh coolies quit straw manning redux

Rohee endorses Jagdeo statement that PPP is a ‘coolie people’ party

March 10, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

-    Says Afro Guyanese should welcome statement General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Clement Rohee, yesterday supported the statements made by his comrade, Bharrat Jagdeo, to the effect that the incumbent party is a “coolie people” party.

PPP General Secretary, Clement Rohee

the opposition should pay rohee for campaigning for the new alliance,every time the donkey open his mouth the ppp lose vote 

straw man alert!!!!!

nope, not "ayuh coolies" . . . i'm "alerting" very directly about YOU

straw man alert!!!!!

So you tell me what is the difference between apaan jaat and apnu jaat.

straw man alert!!!!!

is this your idea of light banter distraction so people don't pay attention to me pointing at you clapping lash on that pitiful straw man?

The "black man" party has assigned 40% of the cabinet positions to Indo party II.

Now how many seats has the PPP assigned to any "black man party".  And please don't degrade yourself by suggesting Civic.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

We don't care what race you belong to, just as long as you stand for national unity,

This statement is as stupid as when whites claim that the USA is "post racial" because Obama is president.  Then we have Ferguson, a criminal enterprise, where we find that blacks are thrown in jail for trivial, and that the city's budget is based on racism.

Racism and the associated ethnic insecurity is an ongoing problem in Guyana, and ignoring that fact doesn't mean that it goes away.

PPP runs a black woman with no power, who is a token, and they retain 100% control over who staffs the ministries.  Blacks have no recourse to the PPP if they continue to be blatantly racist towards them.

APNU AFC has an Indian man who will wield significant power, including the ability to destroy the APNU gov't if he reneges.  Given that his support base is mainly among Indians he will not be able to remain in the coalition if that gov't turns out to be blatantly Indian.

Now tell me which party is more inclusive?

Originally Posted by TK:

2009 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

TK problem with that.  Even as the census has a separate category for mixed vs. blacks, two problems.

1.  There is no real ethnic identity of mixed.  Many people with many different attitudes to ethnic identity self identify as mixed.  You don't know whether the mixed people who vote PPP are the same mixed people who vote PNC, and the same mixed who vote AFC.

2.  Mixed and black exist on a continuum.  Many who self identify as mixed operate fully within an Afro Guyanese context. Granger identifies as "black", Trotman (maybe for political reasons) self identifies as "mixed."  Many Guyanese will have very different attitudes about how these two gentlemen self identify. 

So while this survey may accurately reflect Indian attitudes you cannot say the same for African, mixed, or maybe even Amerindian, given the high degree of miscegenation and the floating identities which result from it.

In any event the AFC lost support in the African/mixed populations in 2011. We also don't know how the AFC's role as the junior partner of the PNC will impact on the level of Indian support that it gets.

What would have been more useful would have been an ethnic break down of the active voting population.

Originally Posted by TK:

2009 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006 Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

TK problem with that.  Even as the census has a separate category for mixed vs. blacks, two problems.

1.  There is no real ethnic identity of mixed.  Many people with many different attitudes to ethnic identity self identify as mixed.  You don't know whether the mixed people who vote PPP are the same mixed people who vote PNC, and the same mixed who vote AFC.

2.  Mixed and black exist on a continuum.  Many who self identify as mixed operate fully within an Afro Guyanese context. Granger identifies as "black", Trotman (maybe for political reasons) self identifies as "mixed."  Many Guyanese will have very different attitudes about how these two gentlemen self identify. 

So while this survey may accurately reflect Indian attitudes you cannot say the same for African, mixed, or maybe even Amerindian, given the high degree of miscegenation and the floating identities which result from it.

In any event the AFC lost support in the African/mixed populations in 2011. We also don't know how the AFC's role as the junior partner of the PNC will impact on the level of Indian support that it gets.

What would have been more useful would have been an ethnic break down of the active voting population.

Hold your horses...we are trying to get 2014...they only release some data for free for 2014. The thing is $6000 and my university don't subscribe to the data. Would be interesting to see the 2014.

Originally Posted by TK:

Hold your horses...we are trying to get 2014...they only release some data for free for 2014. The thing is $6000 and my university don't subscribe to the data. Would be interesting to see the 2014.

Unless you get data that reflects the post coalition environment your data doesn't indicate a whole lot.  The fact that some Indians supported the AFC in 2014 doesn't mean that they still do.

Originally Posted by TK:

Unless you get data that reflects the post coalition environment your data doesn't indicate a whole lot.  The fact that some Indians supported the AFC in 2014 doesn't mean that they still do.

They can't even hold onto their staunch GNI vulgarians