Behind the energy

But my story is one of a kind.

I grew up in Georgetown, the capital of Guyana, and started college in the U.S. in 2013. After graduation, I was thrilled to have the opportunity to join the geoscience team at ExxonMobil. Soon after, I found myself working as the lead geoscientist evaluating a new oil prospect close to other recent discoveries offshore Guyana. I even had the honor of naming that prospect “Tilapia,” a fish well known to local Guyanese.

I didn’t expect my career to take me back home so quickly, especially during such an exciting time filled with numerous world-class oil discoveries. But in 2016, I was suddenly part of a major exploration team that had discovered more than a billion barrels offshore Guyana.

When the time arrived to drill the Tilapia-1 well, the experience was intense, to say the least. Throughout the drilling operations, we had some long days and even longer nights. Our data told us that there was a high probability of finding oil, but there were no guarantees. All eyes in Houston, including mine, were monitoring operations around the clock, and the team’s diligent analysis was worth it in the end. When we hit the reservoir after weeks of drilling – a moment commonly referred to as “striking oil” – I was struck by the significance of it all.

After months of hard work, anticipation and stress, I was witnessing firsthand the impact that these discoveries would have on my country. I could not be more proud to have contributed.

I anxiously awaited the moment the news was public so I could call my parents, but before I even realized the announcement was out, my parents were already calling to congratulate me on the first discovery of my career.

Finding the energy that has the potential to transform the country of my family and friends is one of the reasons why I’m so passionate about what I do. I couldn’t do my job without a deep interest in science; but at the end of the day, I was emotionally invested in this well and in the promise it holds.

https://energyfactor.exxonmobi...F3z1ozOLvR7hOQZc4luo

Images (2)
  • mceclip0
  • mceclip1

This is how the White man does roll!  They accepted a lil coolie girl from Guyana, where she probably had half rights, invited her to the table and provided her the freedom and tools to accomplish the mission.  Then they even gave her the right to name the project as she sees fit!

Blackman and Coolie would be fighting to get we fuss wife, second or third wife or fuss born name after the project!  The lil gurl would be put in the back bench to play!  We rass could hardly roll out a laptop program without pure shit flying!

Ayuh who like cuss the Whiteman should be thankful your kids futures are intertwined with the White mans future!  Even dem hard nosed Whiteman got more sense of humanity that nuff righteous Coolie and Blacks!

Bangamary would've been a more appropriate name because of all the fish market attitude of Guyanese back home. 

Interesting, bang a mary. 

Bai, yuh mind prapa dutty!

Gilbaka would have been good too!  Then one of our posters would say izz he find oil!!

This is how the White man does roll!  They accepted a lil coolie girl from Guyana, where she probably had half rights, invited her to the table and provided her the freedom and tools to accomplish the mission.  Then they even gave her the right to name the project as she sees fit!

Blackman and Coolie would be fighting to get we fuss wife, second or third wife or fuss born name after the project!  The lil gurl would be put in the back bench to play!  We rass could hardly roll out a laptop program without pure shit flying!

Ayuh who like cuss the Whiteman should be thankful your kids futures are intertwined with the White mans future!  Even dem hard nosed Whiteman got more sense of humanity that nuff righteous Coolie and Blacks!

Base I have to agree.

Bangamary would've been a more appropriate name because of all the fish market attitude of Guyanese back home. 

Interesting, bang a mary. 

Bai, yuh mind prapa dutty!

Gilbaka would have been good too!  Then one of our posters would say izz he find oil!!

Whah happen, yuh tun sadhu now? 

How come dem Dems and Repooblikans don't get along so well...?

Indos and Afros been at each other so long, sometimes it takes a neutral party to bridge the divide. It's like a divorce, you let the lawyers do the talking, cause it's war if the husband and wife left alone in the room.

Banna, is wuh you deh pon!  I was referring to this Exxon story!  This is repeated 100 times over in our faces!!

Anyway, even with what’s going on in Washington, they still keep the people’s interest at heart!  The Democrats approved new NAFTA and progress with the Chinese are moving forward!  This even as they do the fake impeachment!

With all the politicking in Washington, the Stock Markets are breaking new records daily!  They know neither the Democrats nor Republicans will bring the house down!

But as i said, I was referring to this Exxon story with the lil girl from Guyana!

Remember in Guyana, Blackman fuh Blackman, Coolie a dagg!!  Is suh we dozz roll!!

We cuss out the white hypocrite behavior in America...the likes of Moscow Mitch, Lindsey Pretty Boy Graham, #3 Impeached 45...

Good. Keep on cussing!  Is a free country!

Base and Ray are either confused or just Stupidee. You are trying to compare Gadhas to humans.  The Americans are civilized, humane, has integrity and intelligence, all of which are absent in the Gadahas!!

Yes, because is a Whiteman country!  We should learn!

The PNC put Ubraj, Hemraj, and the comedian's son Sharma to help run things. Men like TK, Sase, Kari, LilyM, Ray, and others were not told to see the gate. 

So you recommending dem bannazz for garbage pick up?  Dem should cuss yuh rass!!

Banna, is wuh you deh pon!  I was referring to this Exxon story!  This is repeated 100 times over in our faces!!

Anyway, even with what’s going on in Washington, they still keep the people’s interest at heart!  The Democrats approved new NAFTA and progress with the Chinese are moving forward!  This even as they do the fake impeachment!

With all the politicking in Washington, the Stock Markets are breaking new records daily!  They know neither the Democrats nor Republicans will bring the house down!

But as i said, I was referring to this Exxon story with the lil girl from Guyana!

Remember in Guyana, Blackman fuh Blackman, Coolie a dagg!!  Is suh we dozz roll!!

This is another good example how the Democrats are reasonable that they will put their party politics aside to pass bills that are good for the American people. Too bad the Republicans are unreasonable and never adjust their attitudes away from their party politics even when doing so would be good for the American people.

The PNC put Ubraj, Hemraj, and the comedian's son Sharma to help run things. Men like TK, Sase, Kari, LilyM, Ray, and others were not told to see the gate. 

So you recommending dem bannazz for garbage pick up?  Dem should cuss yuh rass!!

I ready for all of them.  I've got an unblemished track record when it comes to supporting a good cause in Guyana whether it's political, religious, or charitable.  I have no fear of attacks by anyone on this forum. I may not have contributed as much but I have maintained my staunch stance against dictatorship and human rights abuse.  I truly desire is see a free and democratic Guyana where people can freely choose the government of their choice without having to worry about electoral fraud. I thought that era ended and gone for good. However, the new president sought to reverse the progress made by the democratic forces at home and abroad in ensuring free and transparent elections.  I felt the PPP lost the election in a very close race and the victor should govern for the next five years. However, the path that the Granger government began taking this country down is dangerous.   

Billy,  No Confidence motion topples Harper Government in Canada in 2011. Currently, the Trudeau Government is minority.. and there is speculation he will go if he doesn’t cooperate with the opposition. 
this is just in reference to your belief the victor should govern for their term.  

I still believe PPP was cheated out of office in 2015 . GECOM refuse a recount of that election which took  5 parties to group together plus AFC to challenge a single party and they claim victory by 1 seat 😊