Opposition has no issue with former president’s pension - more obsessed with his personal propertyPDFPrintE-mail
Written by GINA   
Monday, 03 September 2012 23:20
THE Parliamentary Opposition was given the opportunity to have the issue of the former president’s benefit package cleared up, but when the debate on the issue was held on Sunday evening, the Alliance For Change (AFC) was more obsessed with how the former president acquired his real estate instead of debating the pension package.

Panel debating the former president’s pension package- From Right to left: Civil Society Representative/ Guyana Labour Union President, Carvil Duncan, Minister of Labour, Dr. Nanda Gopaul, Moderator, Al Creighton, Deputy Vice Chancellor of the University of Guyana (centre), Minister of Legal Affairs, Anil Nandlall, Chief Labour Officer, Charles Ogle and AFC Chairman, Nigel Hughes

The debate aired on the National Communications Network (NCN) was the fourth in the series and saw the A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) staying away again. It was that party that took to the National Assembly a motion in August to review the benefits and facilities of the former president.
Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Anil Nandlall, Minister of Labour, Dr. Nanda Gopaul, Civil Society Representative/ Guyana Labour Union President, Carvil Duncan, Chief Labour Officer, Charles Ogle and AFC Chairman, Nigel Hughes participated in the exercise.
AFC’s questioned the means by which the former president acquired his current property, alleging that he was only offered the opportunity to acquire the state owned land for this property and another at below market prices because of the office and status he then held.
Minister Nandlall noted that the presidential pension package was a pertinent issue which the public needed to be informed about, since the parliamentary opposition before and after the recently concluded general elections continued to peddle misinformation. He therefore welcomed the opportunity to set the record straight.
The Attorney General, addressing the issue of the former president’s acquisition of the land, said that he acquired the first house lot when he was Finance Minister by the same process through which thousands of Guyanese got theirs.
Minister Nandlall said that the difference between former President Jagdeo and any other president in this country was that he assumed office in his early thirties, and had no property at the time. Every other president, including Presidents Forbes Burnham, Desmond Hoyte, and the Jagans (Cheddi and Janet) owned property at the time when they took office.
The minister said that Jagdeo was at the time earning a tax free salary of close to $1M and was able to build a house he could afford.
As it relates to the acquisition of the other land, Minister Nandlall stated that lands in that area were targeted for persons of a particular category of office holders, within which the president fell. The same procedure which was used to sell and allocate land to the other persons in that area was used in respect of President Jagdeo’s land.
The minister said that for Hughes to give the impression that the president embarked on this conquest and acquired land in an improper way and improper procedure is one that must be wholly rejected.
Labour Minister, Dr Nanda Gopaul stressed that there was no objection to parliamentary pension packages approved for presidential widows that is Doreen Chung, Viola Burnham and Janet Jagan. He added that the pension package must also be seen in the context of the seven- eighths pension scheme which all former members of parliament, senior government officials and even the former opposition leader benefitted from.
Dr Gopaul added that while former President Jagdeo's finances are on public record via the Office of the Integrity Commission, those of the opposition leaders were not.
Claims by the AFC Chairman that the former president's acquisition of prime real estate was unethical were rebutted by the Attorney General and the Labour Minister, who noted that contrary to opposition opinions, lands were offered to persons within a particular sector of society at prices consistent with government’s policy. This policy, formulated by the Housing Ministry, has also resulted in many Guyanese acquiring lands for housing at very affordable costs, throughout Guyana.
In closing, the Attorney General added that the president's pension package was merely passed in 2009 to formalise an existing policy and to codify and statutorise the benefits and facilities which have been enjoyed by every past president upon their retirement.
He explained that this was done so that future generations will know with certainty what a president is entitled to upon retirement, and this entitlement will not be at the whims and fancies of any administration.
Minister Nandlall contended that when one examines the type of benefits and facilities a past president enjoys, one sees striking similarities with that which the leader of the opposition enjoys in terms of free electricity, phone bills, medical treatment, domestic staff, office staff, and duty free exemptions for motor vehicles, among others.

Get real! Do you think you aim for caviar taste with these postings of checks to Nagamotto etc? You are about cheap low life character assassination tricks. Even so those are parlor tricks compared to the rise of pradoville and the in your face flaunting of cash we know came from the treasury since these were not sons of magnates.

The Guyanese populace will be eagerly watching tonight debate.Tune in now on NCN Channel 11 and online at www.ncnguyana.com for Corruption debates. Tonight's topic is Public Procurement.

Minister Nandlall’s defence of Jagdeo’s Pradoville II houselot is puzzling

September 4, 2012 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor,

Please allocate me, temporarily, a plot of space in your letter pages to seek clarifications from the Honorable Minister of Legal Affairs, Mr. Anil Nandlall, on a question he posed Sunday evening to Nigel Hughes, Chairman of the Alliance For Change, during the fourth installment of the seven-part debate series, that centered on the “President’s Benefits and Other Facilities”, being hosted by the National Communications Network (NCN) on corruption in Guyana.

In the debate Mr. Nandlall asked Mr. Hughes what is wrong with former President Bharat Jagdeo selling his property (a house built on a houselot allocated to him by the Ministry of Housing) and thereafter getting another allocation of two acres (or a size approximating that) from the said Ministry.

In light of Mr. Nandlall’s question, Mr. Editor, and as a potential applicant for a houselot from the subject Ministry, I would be thankful if Mr. Nandlall can clarify for all actual and potential land allottees the following: (1) Wasn’t former President Jagdeo treated preferentially when, unlike ordinary Guyanese, he was not prohibited from selling before the stipulated time (I think ten years after acquisition) a houselot allocated to him by the Ministry of Housing (MOH)?
(2) Wasn’t former President Jagdeo treated preferentially, yet again, when, based on Dr. Roger Luncheon’s High Court testimony, a call was made to the former Regional Chairman of Region 10 pertaining to a potential allocation of a houselot, far less than two acres, in Pradoville II?

Mr. Editor, in light of my second concern, I would be intellectually indebted to Mr. Nandlall (who  claimed that similarly to former President Jagdeo, the other allottees of land in Pradoville II could have also gotten two acres if they had so desired, and that there is no empirical evidence to conclude otherwise), if he can clarify for me, and perhaps all Guyanese, whether the call made to the former Regional Chairman of Region 10, is not tantamount to the empirical evidence he sought from Mr. Hughes in support of the claim of preferential treatment given to former President Jagdeo.

Mr. Editor, does Mr. Nandlall wants Guyanese to believe that former President Jagdeo was the only “entitler” to land in Pradoville II who expressed the desire, and had the financial capacity, to purchase two acres at GY$5M per acre? Or, Mr. Editor, is Mr. Nandlall saying to Guyanese that only former President Jagdeo was entitled to sell, before the stipulated time, a houselot allocated to him by the MOH and then be given another shortly thereafter? And therefore, none of the other “entitlers” to land in Pradoville II could have taken a loan, purchase as many acres as possible (since, according to Mr. Nandlall, it seems that “entitlers” could have purchase more than they did), and shortly thereafter, quickly resold at market value, and happily repay the loan.

However, Mr Editor, it seems to me that, contrary to Mr. Nandlall’s arguments, the allocation of land in Pradoville II was done not on the basis of market forces (demand and supply through the “invisible hand&rdquo, nor was it done on the basis of demand through the “visible hand”  (the “entitlers” whom Mr. Nandalall seems to claim were not interested in having the same size of land as did former President Jagdeo), but rather on the basis of “preferential supply” through the “visible hand” (the caller/s).

Cindy Sookdeo

Former president’s personal security has been compromised – Senior Police OfficialPDFPrintE-mail
Written by GINA   
Tuesday, 04 September 2012 21:36
The publication of aerial photographs of former president Bharat Jagdeo’s house and surroundings by the Kaieteur News constitutes a serious breach of security, according to a senior police official who, when contacted yesterday, said that such a move was unprecedented and totally uncalled for.
He noted that despite the freedom of the local press, the offending publication should have been cognisant of the fact that such photographs could serve to embolden those who have ulterior motives. It was noted that as a former Head of State, Bharat Jagdeo should be afforded the respect that comes with the office and the security implications arising from such an esteemed position.
The decision to publish the photographs which indicate the lay of the land of the compound is a security breach, and the motive to take such action must be considered, the official added. Dignitaries and other high officials are protected by the state and such actions can be compromised by those who claim to act in the name of press freedom.
Certain actions should be sacrosanct and should be upheld, particularly by those who see themselves as guardians of press freedom and democracy, the police officer noted.
The decision taken by the medium should be condemned in the strongest terms and the possibility of legal sanctions should also be considered, according to the senior rank. Those who aided and abetted in the action should also be sanctioned if possible, he further added.
Meanwhile, Member of the National Commission on Law and Order (NCLO), Captain Gerry Gouveia, condemned the publication, stating that, “It virtually compromises our former president’s personal security, because what you are actually doing there is exposing the perimeters of his personal residence to all kinds of reconnaissance and scrutiny. I think it was done in very bad faith actually. So while there is nothing illegal about taking photographs from the air, I believe that what is needed more is the whole concept of moral suasion and good sense and decency by a news agency to respect the privacy and security of our former President,” Mr. Gouveia stated.

These 40 and 20 foot containers, and Courida Park houses ( top right) surround Jagdeo’s L-shaped palatial compound.

Above water: The women of the Ramdass family gather together on Sunday at Radica’s home in Plastic City.

Anand Persaud in front of his home in Plastic City.

It’s Hooverville on the Hudson.

Like a throwback to the Great Depression, a shantytown has risen in Union City, NJ, on the embankment of the river, plywood hovels with million-dollar views of Manhattan.

“We don’t have it bad,” said Pat, who lives in a 10-by-16 shack with a propane stove. “We get by.”

She and her boyfriend, Frank, 52, don’t have a street address. Their outer walls are blanketed with carpet padding for insulation, and their floors are covered with a patchwork of old rugs. A tattered American flag sits atop their pitched roof.

For them, it’s home sweet home, with no rent and the freedom to drink whenever they want, unlike living at a homeless shelter.

SHACKING UP: Shantytown resident Keith Labuz outside his hovel in Union City. Increasingly, down-on-their luck Jersey residents have taken to the hills.
J.C. RICE
SHACKING UP: Shantytown resident Keith Labuz outside his hovel in Union City. Increasingly, down-on-their luck Jersey residents have taken to the hills.
Increasingly, down-on-their luck Jersey residents have taken to the hills.
ANGEL CHEVRESTT
Increasingly, down-on-their luck Jersey residents have taken to the hills.
ANGEL CHEVRESTT

For others, the tent city is temporary, a way station to wait out a bad economy.

Carlos Perez, 42, and Victor Alsamendi Changa, 39, sleep in an encampment just north of Frank and Pat, past the viaduct connecting Hoboken and Union City.

Perez, of Guatemala, and Changa, an Argentine, are saving up for an apartment. “We’re working on it,” Changa said in Spanish. “Winter is too cold.”

Mark Albiez, a Union City spokesman, said that because the embankment is public land, the city can’t force people to move.

“There’s really nothing we can do,” he said.

“There are safety concerns. We try to help them . . . Especially in the winter.”

For the time being, Changa and Perez, who have lived there for about two months, prefer their casita. The nearest homeless shelter makes people who stay overnight clear out by 6 a.m., and the Pentecostal church up the hill requires Bible study in exchange for a bed.

“I don’t have to pay rent here,” said Perez, a day laborer who sends most of his money to his wife and five children in Guatemala. “I’m here with my good friends.”

Their house — which consists of plywood boards, sheet metal and blankets underneath a thatch of vines — is just west of the NJ Transit trolley line that wakes them every morning.

Once they’re up, they hike up the hill to wait on a street corner, hoping a boss will pick them for a day’s work.

Before, they had apartments and steady construction work. Changa lost his job when his boss died. Perez left his when his boss stopped doling out a steady paycheck.

They don’t mind living outside, but only if it doesn’t last much longer.

“This is not a real life,” Changa said.

But for some — like Cruz Melendez, the “king of the hill” who says he’s lived here 31 years — this is as close to normal as it gets.

Melendez, 70, built three of the shacks and lives in one of them. Pictures of Jesus and a horse adorn the wall above his front door. He said living in a home like this reminds him of his first house in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Just not in the winter.

That’s when Melendez stocks up on rum and wine and starts heating his shack.

“I have a little fireplace in there,” he said. “It has a chimney.”

Frank and Pat cook and heat their place with propane tanks and plan to stay put this winter, as well.

Pat works the stove most evenings.

She plans to serve turkey, sausage stuffing, brown sauerkraut and yams this week.

“And a lot of beer,” Frank added, raising a can of Keystone.

They hang their clothes from nails on the western wall. On the floor, there’s a grid made from duct tape where Frank plays tic-tac-toe.

“I do side jobs here and there,” Frank said. “I work at least two or three times a week.”

He worked a steady construction job before this, but then he lost it and got divorced.

“Everything went downhill from there,” he said.

Read more: http://www.nypost.com/p/news/l...gMqS4M#ixzz25eDj19AC

HahahahahaHomeless in America

Keep on laughing with that high pitched voice.

I thought there is no one thoroughly despicable, and that we cannot descend much lower than an idiot.  I have to admit that Bgurd-see has proven me wrong.

Whilst he laughs and treats the needy and homeless with ridicule or contempt, my group reaches out to the homeless.

Shame on you!

HahahahahaHomeless in America

Keep on laughing with that high pitched voice.

I thought there is no one thoroughly despicable, and that we cannot descend much lower than an idiot.  I have to admit that Bgurd-see has proven me wrong.

Whilst he laughs and treats the needy and homeless with ridicule or contempt, my group reaches out to the homeless.

Shame on you!

NOt laughing at the homeless but laughing at you who try to perpetuate that homelessness and shacks only exist in Guyana, ahahhahahahah.

Excerpt from Maxwell's letter:

In eight years, the president earns $96 million tax free. That is US $480,000 tax-free over eight years. However, Jagdeo was in power from August 11, 1999 to December 3, 2011, a period of 12 years 3 months. At $1 million per month, Jagdeo would have earned $147 million or US$735,000 tax-free during his tenure.

Very good B'Gurd, very good.

Now, post us pics of huge homes built with the public's $$$$ in a community where only members/friends of the govt reside.

Bump!  Any pics yet?

Ask KN to hover over Jagdeo mansion and picture all them big filthy rich men house and shove them up you batty hole and make sure they don't get wedged and soiled. It seems that all AFC's supporters are obsessed with big house. It's just the place all of you would like to be one day. Well, your turn for thiefing will never come because non of you is not smarter than Jagdeo.

Oi Butthead battyboy, what's the meaning of the hilited area?

It means jagdeo thief allyou ***** blind and allyou ah joree lagrima pun GNI every frigging day. It's bad when old hard back men keep crying every day over the same frigging thing.

This is what most of us (the ones with morals) have been saying for years, you just realized this.

FYI. As for this " joree lagrima" I for one do not speak whatever language you think you know, so this went over my head.

Cheddi Jagan did not own anything when he came to power in the 1950s. He owned just a home and probably modest savings when he became President in 1992. He arrived in the office of the presidency with nothing. He took nothing as his pay was laughable compared to what Jagdeo paid himself. He left with nothing and he asked for nothing.

Cheddi Jagan’s own son wrote that Cheddi Jagan was homeless and broke when the PPP lost power in 1964.

This is a man who founded the party of these vagabonds now defending pillage and outright usurpation of this nation’s resources by handing outlandish pensions to their master.

This is what most of us (the ones with morals) have been saying for years, you just realized this.

FYI. As for this " joree lagrima" I for one do not speak whatever language you think you know, so this went over my head.

You probably wasn't paying attention when Jagdeo built his mansion, it went under your ass rather than over you head. 

Cheddi Jagan did not own anything when he came to power in the 1950s. He owned just a home and probably modest savings when he became President in 1992. He arrived in the office of the presidency with nothing. He took nothing as his pay was laughable compared to what Jagdeo paid himself. He left with nothing and he asked for nothing.

Cheddi Jagan’s own son wrote that Cheddi Jagan was homeless and broke when the PPP lost power in 1964.

This is a man who founded the party of these vagabonds now defending pillage and outright usurpation of this nation’s resources by handing outlandish pensions to their master.

You should go after Jagdeo and have him locked up for breaking the law, and you should advise all politicians to do the same a s Cheddi, especially Granger and Ramjattan.

You probably wasn't paying attention when Jagdeo built his mansion, it went under your ass rather than over you head. 

Aright, so you do not know the meaning of words you used so instead you just post shit because you got nothing to do with your hands nuh. Why you doan go diddle yourself...jerk.

Obsession with former President Jagdeo continues

Written by MOHABIR ANIL NANDLALL MP, Hon. Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs   

Thursday, 06 September 2012 22:09

PERMIT me to respond to a letter published by the Stabroek News on September 4, 2012 and written by Cindy Sookdeo, in respect of statements I made in the recently aired NCN debate series in respect of former President Bharat Jagdeo pensions.
In the letter, Ms. Sookdeo, whom I understand to be an executive member of the Alliance for Change (AFC), contends that Mr. Jagdeo received “preferential treatment” in so far as he was allowed to sell a plot of land purchased from the government, which was the subject of a prohibition against such sale.
I have clarified this matter, publicly, two years ago. I will do so again. In 1997, Mr. Jagdeo purchased from the Government of Guyana, a plot of land situated at Goedverwagting, East Coast Demerara. He did so like thousands of other Guyanese who benefitted from the government’s housing policy. At the time, he was not President. He was the Finance Minister. Like thousands of Guyanese in like circumstances, his transport was subject to a condition that he could not have sold the land which is the subject of the transport until after the expiration of ten years of the issue of the said transport. President Jagdeo faithfully observed that condition of the transport to its letter. He sold the said plot of land in the year 2010. The condition had expired.
Ms. Sookdeo next argues that the allocation to a former Chairman of Region 10, of a house lot in the area where Mr. Jagdeo current property is located, constitutes “empirical data” in support of her contention, that the offer to sell two acres of land was only made to Mr. Jagdeo. By any standard, this is befuddling logic. The simple and plain fact is that the Regional Chairman could only have been allocated that for which he made an offer to buy. Is there any evidence whatsoever that he made an offer to buy a larger portion than that which he was allocated? No such evidence has been made available. The contention of Ms Sookdeo, therefore dies a natural death.
The remainder of the letter consists of inferences drawn and conclusions made, all predicated upon the two aforementioned false premises. They are not, therefore, deserving of a response.
And the obsession with former President Jagdeo continues. It has now shifted from his pensions to his property. I wonder what is next.

These 40 and 20 foot containers, and Courida Park houses ( top right) surround Jagdeo’s L-shaped palatial compound.

Above water: The women of the Ramdass family gather together on Sunday at Radica’s home in Plastic City.

Anand Persaud in front of his home in Plastic City.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

In every society of the world, slums existed, its not unique to this country

You are one dumb ass beyond comparison and help. You act as though your stupidity is a virtue.