On behalf of the People's Progressive Party/ Civic (PPP/C) and myself, as Leader of the Opposition, I would like to offer our heartfelt congratulations to the victorious Men and Women's Teams in the just concluded 2016 International Cricket Council (ICC) T-20 World Cup Tournament.

Just as the February victory of the West Indies Under-19 Team stunned tournament favourite, India, to capture the ICC 2016 Under-19 World Cup and inspired the senior teams in their march through their tournaments, the ultimate success of our three teams will inspire our West Indian nations.

As leaders, we are also inspired by the teams’ fortitude, resilience and true grit to overcome obstacles in all other aspects of the national endeavour.

Cricket has always been the glue that binds the mosaic of people in the Caribbean region together, in the aftermath of our colonial legacy - even as it played a major role in overcoming the scars of that legacy. As a Region, together, we have achieved much on the cricket fields.

Today, with the victories, against all odds, in all three ICC World Tournaments - the Trifecta of Cricket – we stand on the cusp of igniting another period of West Indian cricketing genius on the world stage.

We also commit our support in whatever form is needed to achieve that goal.

Once again, we acknowledge the role that our youths in the Under-19 Team played in inspiring their seniors in their Tournaments and offer the most heartfelt congratulations to those seniors in the Men's and Women's Team for bringing the trophies of victory in the 2016 ICC T20 World Cups back to the West Indies.

Well done teams!

Bharrat Jagdeo

Jalil posted:

Remember......

These two destroyed WI Cricket

and forced Shiv into Retirement

Them 3 Funny Fella Skin dem teeth

Dem believe playing with Kwame & Lamumba

is the same as International Cricket

http://www.foxsports.com.au/ne...2c50702e1848c0820892

Clive LLoyd was Jagdeo Personal Advisor

It was not Moses or Granger who fired Shiv....

Read the facts and keep skinning yu teeth

and scratch fuh de truth

Chanderpaul is one of the greatest products of Guyana cricket.

SHIVNARINE Chanderpaul spent two decades playing for the Windies - and was reportedly dumped via a combination of snail mail and WhatsApp.

Shivnarine Chanderpaul played for the Windies for the best part of 20 years.

Jalil posted:

Remember......

These two destroyed WI Cricket

and forced Shiv into Retirement

Them 3 Funny Fella Skin dem teeth

http://www.foxsports.com.au/ne...2c50702e1848c0820892

Clive LLoyd was Jagdeo Personal Advisor

It was not Moses or Granger who fired Shiv....

Read the facts and keep skinning yu teeth

and scratch fuh de truth

SHIVNARINE Chanderpaul spent two decades playing for the Windies - and was reportedly dumped via a combination of snail mail and WhatsApp.

Banna, you being foolish here...again.

How did you come to this conclusion?

Shivnarine Chanderpaul axed: private messages reveal what Clive Lloyd, Phil Simmons said

SHIVNARINE Chanderpaul spent two decades playing for the Windies - and was reportedly dumped via a combination of snail mail and Whatsapp.

That led to a remarkable outburst from some officials in the West Indies in which the decision was labelled β€œridiculous”, β€œsenseless” and β€œa matter of gross disrespect”.

In the latest scandal threatening to derail any progress made by Caribbean cricket over the last few weeks, alleged private exchanges between Chanderpaul, coach Phil Simmons and chairman of selectors Clive Lloyd have been published in local media.

In a leaked version of a letter reportedly sent by Lloyd to Chanderpaul, the 40-year-old is thanked for his service but said his form was no longer good enough to warrant selection.

FIVE BURNING QUESTIONS FACING AUSTRALIA

Shivnarine Chanderpaul played for the Windies for the best part of 20 years.Source: Getty Images

β€œThe coach and the selectors have studied your stats from the last six Test matches to date, three against South Africa and three against England. You batted 11 innings and had an aggregate of 183 runs at an average of 16.64,” Lloyd reportedly wrote.

β€œIn determining the squad for the series against Australia, The selectors have decided to move on with younger players for the future. I therefore regret to inform you that the coach and selectors have decided to omit you from the squad for that series.”

LloRic Finlay β€Ž@RicFinlay

SChanderpaul's Test career average by quartiles:
1. 39.63
2. 51.75
3. 54.88
4. 60.34
Harsh to drop him on those figures?

lloyd goes on to say that he tried to contact Chanderpaul through multiple channels to no avail, forcing Lloyd to send a physical letter to inform the veteran batsmen of the selectors’ decision.

β€œI tried to contact you on several occasions but you had already left for Guyana,” Lloyd reportedly wrote. β€œI rang your home telephone number in Guyana and left my details with a male member of the house requesting that you contact me which he promised to do.

West Indies chairman of selectors Clive Lloyd [L). Picture: Clive Hyde.
West Indies chairman of selectors Clive Lloyd (L). Picture: Clive Hyde.Source: News Limited

β€œTo date, you have not returned my calls and it is rather unfortunate as I did want to have the opportunity to have a discussion with you prior to writing this letter to you.”

However the most revealing exchange to be made public comes via a series of messages between Chanderpaul and West Indies head coach Phil Simmons, sent via smartphone application Whatsapp.

In the messages Chanderpaul, who scored 11,867 runs from 164 Tests and is just 86 runs short of Brian Lara’s record for the most ever Test runs for West Indies, just about demands the opportunity to farewell his home fans on his own terms.

β€œMy request to finish up with the Australian series is not asking too much,” Chanderpaul reportedly wrote to Simmons. β€œIt gives me a chance to acknowledge my supporters at home, and the possibility of the WICB properly honouring me for my contribution to WI cricket.

β€œI should not be pushed into retirement. Here is a situation where I firmly believe public opinion would be in favour of me being given the opportunity to play in my final test series at home. Thanks,”

However Simmons, who only took over as coach in April after guiding Ireland through a successful World Cup campaign, was adamant a player’s past service is irrelevant to his future selection.

β€œThere is no dispute that you have dedicated the last 21 years of your life to WI cricket and as stated before this will be acknowledged and recognised by the WICB, but unfortunately length of service is not a criterion for selection.

Phil Simmons left his post as Ireland coach to take over as Windies boss. Picture: Luke Bowden.
Phil Simmons left his post as Ireland coach to take over as Windies boss. Picture: Luke Bowden.Source: News Corp Australia

β€œIf public opinion was a criteria for selection then we can agree maybe you would play until you are fifty unfortunately it is not.

β€œI am not pushing you into retirement I am as previously said, trying to dignify the situation because Chanderpaul retiring would be more dignified than Chanderpaul being left out by the selectors.”

The decision to dump Chanderpaul ahead of the big home series against world No. 2 side Australia sent shockwaves through the Caribbean.

Officials on his home island of Guyana were furious, and put an incredibly strong-worded statement on their official website.

Chanderpaul is one of the greatest products of Guyana cricket.Source: Getty Images

β€œThe President and Executive of the Guyana Cricket Board strongly denounce the ridiculous and senseless selection policies and decisions of the Clive Lloyd led selection panel,” the statement read.

β€œOur Board just cannot believe nor even fathom the thought process behind the wanton dropping of the most senior, reliable and dependable batsman of the West Indies for the past 21 years by the WI selectors.

β€œWe trust that our selectors can find it within themselves to revisit this crucial matter of gross disrespect now being meted out to one of the greatest cricketers to have graced the field of play with this most ungrateful display to Chanderpaul.”

Vishmahabir.....Run along and argue with Cobra.....

Quote Cobra.....Clive Lloyd and the WICB is known to be racial in the selection process. I would have like to see at least two Indian players from Guyana in the WI team.

Bai Jalil, I disagree with you. Lloyd is no more loyal to Jagdeo than he was to Burnham, Hoyte or Granger. He will place himself near to whoever is ruling Guyana. He is solely responsible to leaving Shiv off the roster when Shiv could have had a well deserved farewell tour. The West Indies still ended up stinking up the series anyway so his decision to leave Shiv off the roster was silly. Decent people find ways to celebrate the accomplishments of their greats but Lloyd showed a lack of that decency. And to top that off, as a Guyanese, de denied his own countryman the opportunity to pass Lara's test runs total. It is reasonable to ask if he would have done this in every circumstance. No other country would have denied one of their own the opportunity for greatness. For that Lloyd is shameless.

Ksazma, you do not know ......but...... Jagdeo is not stupid.

Give Jagdeo some credit....

Clive Lloyd became his Advisor in a Massive Business Deal,

(No Accident)

that is how Jagdeo & Ramroop end up owning the Limacol CPL  

http://cplt20.com/

With all the Worldwide TV Coverage. (No Accident)

Lloyd cousin Roger Harper is a senior official in Limacol CPL.

(No Accident)

And the Had Bigger Plans to keep it in the Family.....

Elizabeth Harper was chosen by Jagdeo to be PPP Prime Minister

(No Accident)

Guyana got Lucky.... PPP lose the elections.

Lloyd did not only push out Shiv..... He pushed out Kanhai, Solamon, Kalicharran, Baichan, Timour Mohamed, Inshan Ali, Rafeek Jumadeen and many others.

Boy Kari, take this with a grain of salt.  Roger Harper is also Viola Burnham nephew making him the cousin of the Burnham children!!!   Blood thicker than water.  And let me remind you that Roger cousin Melanie married to a certain Mark Granger.  Again, blood thicker than water.

It's amazing the lengths that people are willing to go to peddle their lies.  

Jalil posted:

Ksazma, you do not know ......but...... Jagdeo is not stupid.

Give Jagdeo some credit....

Clive Lloyd became his Advisor in a Massive Business Deal,

(No Accident)

that is how Jagdeo & Ramroop end up owning the Limacol CPL  

http://cplt20.com/

With all the Worldwide TV Coverage. (No Accident)

Lloyd cousin Roger Harper is a senior official in Limacol CPL.

(No Accident)

And the Had Bigger Plans to keep it in the Family.....

Elizabeth Harper was chosen by Jagdeo to be PPP Prime Minister

(No Accident)

Guyana got Lucky.... PPP lose the elections.

Lloyd did not only push out Shiv..... He pushed out Kanhai, Solamon, Kalicharran, Baichan, Timour Mohamed, Inshan Ali, Rafeek Jumadeen and many others.

Now how does someone sitting 3,000 miles away with little access to information other than their sworn loyalty to Kaieteur News prove all of this.  If Lloyd really has the power to push out greats like Kanhai and others then he must be some omnipotent being.  I think BIbi is right.  This guy need a lil check up!

Clive Lloyd was Captain and a Selector when Kanhai  and Kalicharran was Dropped.

Clive Lloyd and Viv Richards remained in the West Indies Team and no one push them out.

Why only Indians get pushed out?

Shivnarine Chanderpaul axed: private messages reveal what Clive Lloyd, Phil Simmons said

Basebhai this info is not from Kaiteur News Bhai.

Now you & Bibi ..... Dig & Scratch ... and explain how Jagdeo used Clive Lloyd and Roger Harper to own the CPL.