Unfortunate comments by AG Nandlall

May 8, 2014 | By | Filed Under Letters 

DEAR EDITOR, I read with concern, certain statements made by Attorney General Anil Nandlall at a ceremony at Highbury, East Bank Berbice, to mark the 176th anniversary of the arrival of indentured labourers in the country. It is unfortunate that the learned gentleman had to make political comments at such a “sacred” occasion. It seems as if it is the norm by top PPPC officials to attack the opposition at gatherings which should be considered as “sentimental”. I recall former President Bharrat Jagdeo and current Head of State, Donald Ramotar used the occasions to mark the death anniversary of PPP leader Cheddi Jagan at Babu John, Port Mourant, to ridicule the opposition. While I agree that it is crucial that the Anti-Money Laundering Bill should be passed in the House of Assembly to prevent Guyana from being blacklisted in order to save the country from economic pressure from the United States, the United Kingdom and other developed countries, I do not think it was the right forum for Nandlall to criticize the opposition. The Regional Chairman, David Armogan, who is a senior PPP member obviously recognised this, hence the reason when asked to comment on the condition of the East Bank Road he said “I attended the event to talk about Indian Arrival and not about the East Bank Berbice roadway.” Politicians, especially those in government, should be extremely careful what they say at occasions like Indian Arrival Day. In my view the President’s representative at the Highbury function was way off target. Oscar Ramjeet

Oscar is right in his statement about national events being used by the Jagdeo/Ramouthar clique to engage in political discourse...

The folks on the East Bank of Berbice were hoping that Ramouthar would show up for the ocassion to confront him on his 2011 election promise to fix the East Bank road....instead he sent Nandalall whose message comprised  of political attacks on the opposition ....The regional chairman knew why he said that he was there for a sentimental reason and not to discuss the condition of the road.....

For those who do not know....the East Bank road is the only overland way of getting the products from the farms to market in New Amstardam ....farmers suffer tremendous losses when produces cannot reach the market because of the bad roads....also workers and students find it almost impossibe to get to work and school when it rains....

Most of the folks who live in the East Bank area are traditional PPP supporters.....Ramouthar and the rest seem to have forgotten this fact.....

I agree such occasions should not be used for Politics BUT both sided in Guyana are GUILTY of doing it. Oscar Ramjeet should be last person on this Planet to complain. However, the PPP Boys need Lessons on PR and effective Communication.

PPP leading East Indians to confrontation. Low class behaviour by Mr Nandalall at a national event. He should speak of unity and goodwill. All he did is cursed Africans. A disgrace.

When you are going to get an education and able to read and understand. Where did the Gentleman curse Africans. You are indeed IGNORANT AND ILLITERATE!!

He indirectly cursed Africans. They read through the lines. He is dividing the country more. They are provoking rase war. I live here I know. 

You are a bloody JACKASS and a damn DISGRACE to WOMEN all over the World. Don't come back even close to me!!!!!!!!!!!!

I dont sleep with 2 inch penis man like you.

Remember last night you told me the Ruler broke. Bring wan good Ruler tonight.

I agree such occasions should not be used for Politics BUT both sided in Guyana are GUILTY of doing it. Oscar Ramjeet should be last person on this Planet to complain. However, the PPP Boys need Lessons on PR and effective Communication.

I happen to know Oscar. He is quite a competent authority on these matters.

Oscar Ramjeet EH. Well everyone is entitled to their friends.

Next time you go Virgin Island, I can hook you up.

Nehru say he love de whorehouse.....WHA E GO DO IN VIRGIN ISLAND.

Oscar Ramjeet is well qualified to voice his opinion on the matter....he was a reporter, lawyer and recently retired as a judge in the Virgin Islands....

I knew Oscar since he was a supporter of the PPP and is one of the many professionals who are very disappointed in the performance and policy of the Jagdeo/Ramouthar clique....

I know Oscar Ramjeet. He's a well qualified attorney who worked in high positions in jurisprudence in the Caribbean. He's a decent man.

Nehru is no position to comment on the man, whom he cannot touch.

Originally Posted by Churchill:

Oscar Ramjeet is well qualified to voice his opinion on the matter....he was a reporter, lawyer and recently retired as a judge in the Virgin Islands....

I knew Oscar since he was a supporter of the PPP and is one of the many professionals who are very disappointed in the performance and policy of the Jagdeo/Ramouthar clique....

OSCAR RAMJEET is A SENIOR MEMBER OF THEPNC!!!

decent people in guyana is fed up with the ppp and their gutter mentality 

Then you love and adore the PPP.

Nehru, this is false and defamatory.

Aye yuh wite mout keera basement dwellin daaag. Wah wrang if de man is wan PNC?

NEHRU IS A MEMBER OF THE KKK AND A FOUNDER OF THE GUYANESE RICHMOND HILL MAFIA.

Disgraceful!

And you are a closet Jihadist waiting to STRIKE!!!

Disgraceful!

Keyr yu wite mout keera self da side.

Disgraceful!

Wait, you'ze one ah dem ah bugga in de closet....

Disgraceful!

Wait, you'ze one ah dem ah bugga in de closet....

You look like a Bugga man NOT me. My wife did not catch a man pun top of me. The Talibans usually do that when they training Al YUh.