November 13 2019

The 42-day Objection period of the 2019 Claims and Objections period ended on Monday with in excess of 13,000 objections lodged to the Preliminary Voters List (PVL).

Members of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) told media operatives after yesterday’s statutory meeting that while the exact number of objections has not yet been provided by the secretariat it is significantly more than the 500 which had been reported last week.

Opposition-nominated Commissioner Sase Gunraj explained that Chief Election Officer (CEO), Keith Lowenfield was not present to answer questions but that he and his colleagues have been informed that there are some 13,000 objections particularly at the Mahaicony and Fort Wellington Office.

Government-nominated commissioner Vincent Alexander confirmed this number and explained that the while the General Registrar Office regularly provides GECOM with a list of the registered dead the secretariat is finding it difficult to account for the unregistered dead as well as those deaths which had been registered outside the jurisdiction.

Lowenfield had raised similar concerns at Friday’s press conference where he explained that in Region 9 several death certificates presented were of Brazilian origin.

“We have been asked for advice and translation services since it is in Portuguese,” he told reporters.

Cleansing the National Register of Registrants so as to provide a “credible” Official List of Electors (OLE) has since last December been an ongoing source of angst at GECOM.

The most recent effort is the publication of the names of 18,512 persons who have not collected their ID cards.

The commission has directed that these persons must verify their existence by appearing at the nearest Registration Office with relevant documentation or find themselves on a supplemental OLE on March 2, 2020.

Chairperson retired Justice Claudette Singh has implored persons to show that they are alive but a significant number of these persons are resident overseas and therefore would not be able to comply with GECOM’s request.

Gunraj noted that he and the other opposition-nominated commissioners are concerned that this measure might have negative consequences for some voters.

“We have issues in the past where the discretion of Presiding officers has affected people’s right to vote,” he said while questioning the means of redress that is likely to be available to anyone disenfranchised.

He specifically mentioned a client of “public notoriety” who is currently a student out of Guyana and who previously encountered difficulties when trying to collect their ID Card. According to Gunraj the concern of this client is that they will be disenfranchised. 

GECOM has utilized the publications services of the four daily newspapers as well as the Guyana Post Office to deliver registered mail to the persons affected by this new policy.

Asked if any consideration was made to having the former House to House staff physically visit these locations, Alexander said those efforts had previously been made.

“We had done some of that on a previous occasion. These people are being written to [and] given an opportunity via registered mail to indicate their status. That is much easier process than to try to deploy GECOM staff who are otherwise still engaged to try to go and find these persons physically,” Alexander indicated.

Meanwhile, the question of what use will be made of the data collected during the House to House registration process remains unanswered.

Chairman of the Commission retired Justice Claudette Singh explained to media that the use of the more than 370,000 registrations recorded in August was not discussed at this meeting since the second tranche of data is still out for fingerprint cross-matching.

She noted that the information is scheduled to be returned on Saturday after which a final decision on the use is expected to be made at the next meeting.

They could have done the smart thing of leaving the names on the list and then setting up a credible system to ensure that the votes are correct.

Credible voters list stymied fraudulent elections and ensure free fair and credible elections.

They could have done the smart thing of leaving the names on the list and then setting up a credible system to ensure that the votes are correct.

Credible voters list stymied fraudulent elections and ensure free fair and credible elections.

The same list APNU/ AFC used in 2015. We should launch an investigation how they got into government using the same list. Don’t you think. 

Paid Advertisement

Home / Politics / APNU+AFC trying to disenfranchise voters who are perceived to be PPP supporters
Paid Advertisement

APNU+AFC trying to disenfranchise voters who are perceived to be PPP supporters

The same list APNU/ AFC used in 2015.

We should launch an investigation how they got into government using the same list. Don’t you think. 

Incorrect !!! 

GECOM creates the voters list and administers elections. The past chairman of GECOM ,Steve Surujbally , suggested that the voters list needs cleansing and recommends house to house registration.

All political parties agreed , money was voted in parliament for the exercise.Plans were on course for May 2020 elections,to be held with a sanitized voters list.

After that the idea was concocted by the Opposition Leader, the coalition government can be toppled by a [No] Confidence vote , using data from a low turn out  from the 2018 LGE Elections. The results of  December 21 ,2018 Confidence motion sends everyone in a tail spin ,to date the quagmire continues.

All will be settled in March 2020.

We should launch an investigation how they got into government using the same list. Don’t you think. 

Incorrect !!! 

GECOM creates the voters list and administers elections. The past chairman of GECOM ,Steve Surujbally , suggested that the voters list needs cleansing and recommends house to house registration.

All political parties agreed , money was voted in parliament for the exercise.Plans were on course for May 2020 elections,to be held with a sanitized voters list.

After that the idea was concocted by the Opposition Leader, the government can be toppled by a No-Confidence vote , using data from a low turn out of the last LGE Elections. From December 21, 2018 , the quagmire continues.

Django, Are you saying the current voters list was not the same used in 2015 Election. 

If plans were in place for a new list for May 2020 election, GECOM never start this process. What were they waiting on. Even the ABC countries say GECOM sit doing nothing. 

You are on record saying the same list can be used .. you said so after the NCM . 

Here is Steve Surujbally statement. 

To provide context for ensuing discussion, the former GECOM Chairman was informed by this newspaper that some persons believe that the list is overdue for a renewal so that the names of dead persons can be removed as well as those who are living abroad.
It was also brought to his attention that some individuals hold the view that if this is not done, then it leaves scope for corrupted elections.

Former GECOM Chairman, Dr. Steve Surujbally

Dr. Surujbally said he agrees with both observations. He noted however, “Dead people won’t be able to rig the elections.”
The former GECOM Chairman said that there are simply too many checks and balances in place to inhibit such efforts. Dr. Surujbally said that even if some are successful in trying to use the name of a dead person to cast a vote, it would have to be a “massive number of people doing so, and that is just not possible.”
“After lots of deliberations, GECOM had decided a long time ago that the list would be sanitized or renewed every seven years. But this is an expensive process. It takes six months. The last one we did started in January 2008 and ended June of that year. And there are a lot of factors that have to be looked at during that process… This includes fingerprints and the facial recognition part of the process…And there is data on the registration form, which has to be checked…”
Dr. Surujbally added, “But while this is an important process, it is not a life and death situation that you have to have it…So many countries do not do it before elections…In our case, you can use the list we have…You can even have a claims and objections period which takes about 10 to 14 days if my memory serves me right. So, while I agree with the observation that there are names of dead people on the list which need to be removed, that can be done during the claims and objections period…

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...rmer-gecom-chairman/

The trouble is that since they don’t seem to have a process to ensure that all eligible voters are able to vote so they can take the easier approach of verifying who shows up to vote. You know that dem blacks will burn the precinct down if they show up and their names aren’t on the list.

Incorrect !!! 

After that the idea was concocted by the Opposition Leader, the government can be toppled by a No-Confidence vote , using data from a low turn out of the last LGE Elections. From December 21, 2018 , the quagmire continues.

Django, Are you saying the current voters list was not the same used in 2015 Election. 

If plans were in place for a new list for May 2020 election, GECOM never start this process. What were they waiting on. Even the ABC countries say GECOM sit doing nothing. 

You are on record saying the same list can be used .. you said so after the NCM .

The current voters list is the same from 2015 , it will be purged to produce a credible voters list  for the 2020 Elections , the most desired method was house to house registration.

Regarding the statement on the voters list  by be me, i can't recall such .

Mr.Surujbally latest statement on January 22 ,2019 , from the beginning states,

It is important for Guyana to have house-to-house registration.

But given the special circumstances, the country now finds itself in, it would not be a matter of life and death if it is not conducted.

This is the informed viewpoint of former Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), Dr. Steve Surujbally. He was at the time sharing his perspective on whether house-to-house registration is absolutely necessary before the political parties head into the next General and Regional Elections.

To provide context for ensuing discussion, the former GECOM Chairman was informed by this newspaper that some persons believe that the list is overdue for a renewal so that the names of dead persons can be removed as well as those who are living abroad.It was also brought to his attention that some individuals hold the view that if this is not done, then it leaves scope for corrupted elections.

Note, it's justifiable to quote the whole article , you have provided the link , readers can decipher what was said.

Exactly Django. Desire and reality don’t always meet so one has apply what is expedient and what the law demands. Surujbally seems to understand that. Granger seems to not understand it or intent on violating the law.

Dead people can’t vote.

Live people can cheat the system by multiple voting with ID Cards , bought by unscrupulous political parties.

Then buy some voting ink nuh. It’s a primitive country so using primitive voting ink should find no objection. Nothing compared to a bunch of violent people showing up and finding their names not on the list.

Exactly Django. Desire and reality don’t always meet so one has apply what is expedient and what the law demands.Surujbally seems to understand that.

Granger seems to not understand it or intent on violating the law.

One have to understand in Countries where the divide is thin ,snap elections are no laughing matter , removing newly elected government , by frivolous , concocted means aren't democratic.

Guyana isn't ready for Confidence Motions , that article placed in the constitution by an amendment , was to thwart elected dictatorship.

Dead people can’t vote.

Live people can cheat the system by multiple voting with ID Cards , bought by unscrupulous political parties.

Then buy some voting ink nuh. It’s a primitive country so using primitive voting ink should find no objection.

Nothing compared to a bunch of violent people showing up and finding their names not on the list.

Can't see the correlation , fraud in elections shouldn't be taken lightly.

Dead people can’t vote.

So bhai, you are acknowledging that APNU / AFC indirectly rigged  the 2015 election. 

Exactly Django. Desire and reality don’t always meet so one has apply what is expedient and what the law demands.Surujbally seems to understand that.

One have to understand in Countries where the divide is thin ,snap elections are no laughing matter , removing newly elected government , by frivolous , concocted means aren't democratic.

Guyana isn't ready for Confidence Motions , that article placed in the constitution by an amendment , was to thwart elected dictatorship.

Nothing frivolous about the NCM. The Coalition tried to do it to Ramotar but he didn’t give them the satisfaction.

Dead people can’t vote.

Then buy some voting ink nuh. It’s a primitive country so using primitive voting ink should find no objection.

Nothing compared to a bunch of violent people showing up and finding their names not on the list.

How did the great US OF A gets away with fraudulent election. 😊

hollering by the PPP about "voter suppression" and "rigging" is Freudian and guilt based . . .Freedom House 'needs' the dirty voters list

Henry Jeffrey nailed it!

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/h...-bloated-voters-list

"Justice demands that GECOM deprive the PPP/C of any opportunity to benefit from this insidious position."

Dead people can’t vote.

The only party that is on record of committing elections fraud in Guyana is the PNC bai. 😀

Dead people can’t vote.

So bhai, you are acknowledging that APNU / AFC indirectly rigged  the 2015 election

How can they rig the elections ? they weren't in government .We know who are the culprits , they tried to swing the elections in their favor ,that why some were shocked.

Any way the fearless leader said there was no rigging of the 2015 elections.

Where exactly do you stand on No confidence motion. 

Dead people can’t vote.

So bhai, you are acknowledging that APNU / AFC indirectly rigged  the 2015 election

How can they rig the elections ? they weren't in government .We know who are the culprits , they tried to swing the elections in their favor ,that why some were shocked.

Any way the fearless leader said there was no rigging of the 2015 elections.

Lol . 

Dead people can’t vote.

The only party that is on record of committing elections fraud in Guyana is the PNC bai. 😀

That's prior to 1992 , can never happen again .

Some of the elections held after that was declared to be free and fair , with minimal standards of the world. Can we deemed that as fraudulent ?

At least the PPP wins elections by decree of the voters. The despotic PNC can only ‘win through cheating and rigging. And their despotic supporters are perfectly fine with it. 

Me thinks it's stated in my post.

Dead people can’t vote.

That's prior to 1992 , can never happen again .

Some of the elections held after that was declared to be free and fair , with minimal standards of the world. Can we deemed that as fraudulent ?

Key is they were declared free and fair. 

You are a slow learner in this respect, why I asked such question.  

but then again, you are a PNC supporter , shouldn’t expect better 

At least the PPP wins elections by decree of the voters. The despotic PNC can only ‘win through cheating and rigging.

And their despotic supporters are perfectly fine with it. 

Not true !!  they were fed up with Burnham rigging, the revolt would have materialized , luckily he passed away in August 6,1985.

You may want to add the worst rigging December 9 ,1985 elections , we all knew rigging will be short lived , free and fair elections materialized in 1992. From then on to 2015 Guyana was ruled by elected dictatorship , all due to the 1980 Constitution.

Note , Burnham lived  5 yrs since the illegal 1980 Constitution was forced on the people.

For 23 yrs the PPP , who castigate the 1980 Constitution , embraced it dearly. The little patch work during their tenure , didn't do much to alter the document.

You are a slow learner in this respect,

why I asked such question. 

LOL ...

look who is talking about slow learner.

The trouble is that since they don’t seem to have a process to ensure that all eligible voters are able to vote so they can take the easier approach of verifying who shows up to vote. You know that dem blacks will burn the precinct down if they show up and their names aren’t on the list.

If one negro name is not on the list when he is there to cast his vote, bring the match and kero bai. If it's a coolie, the negro police officers, and GDF personnel will make sure he or she is escorted out of the area.

LOL ...

Don’t take it out of context, you knows exactly what I mean. 

I will simplified it for you. .. we’re speaking of the NCM . 

LOL ...

Don’t take it out of context, you knows exactly what I mean.
I will simplified it for you. .. we’re speaking of the NCM .

Nothing to be !!!  my take on the CM are stated in numerous post.

At least the PPP wins elections by decree of the voters. The despotic PNC can only ‘win through cheating and rigging.

Not true !!  they were fed up with Burnham rigging, the revolt would have materialized , luckily he passed away in August 6,1985.

You may want to add the worst rigging December 9 ,1985 elections , we all knew rigging will be short lived , free and fair elections materialized in 1992. From then on to 2015 Guyana was ruled by elected dictatorship , all due to the 1980 Constitution.

Note , Burnham lived  5 yrs since the illegal 1980 Constitution was forced on the people.

For 23 yrs the PPP , who castigate the 1980 Constitution , embraced it dearly. The little patch work during their tenure , didn't do much to alter the document.

The PPP government wasn’t a dictatorship. Granger is a dictator who refuses to abide by the laws he swore to obey.

The PPP government wasn’t a dictatorship.

Granger is a dictator who refuses to abide by the laws he swore to obey.

Twist um and turn um ...it's called Elected Dictatorship .

Granger does reach that state of governance as yet !!!

Bai, yuh mind warped. When has the PPP refused to hold elections? Secondly, if you think there will be elections on March 2, 2020, I own a Brooklyn bridge that you might be interested in buying. See the cancerous devil can’t even bring himself to dissolve parliament? A parliament which hasn’t officially functioned since last December?

Bai, yuh mind warped. When has the PPP refused to hold elections?

Secondly, if you think there will be elections on March 2, 2020, I own a Brooklyn bridge that you might be interested in buying.

See the cancerous devil can’t even bring himself

to dissolve parliament? A parliament which hasn’t officially functioned since last December?

It's not about holding of Elections  that will debunked Elected Dictatorship .The clause in the Constitution states clearly about dissolving Parliament, attention should be placed on the word "within"