Region One chairman concerned about food, medical supplies

Brentnol Ashley

With over 36,000 Venezuelans having arrived in Guyana due to the crisis in their country, the demand for a sustainable food supply is higher in Region One, where thousands have settled, Regional Chairman Brentnol Ashley has said.

The Chairman of the Regional Democratic Council told Stabroek News yesterday that food for migrant families continues to be in high demand. He observed that during 2019, the Civil Defence Commission was distributing food hampers to families but he has not observed any distribution for this year.

He called on the agency to restart its distribution of food hampers to families in the area.

Recently, President David Granger announced that over 36,000 Venezuelan migrants have entered Guyana since the situation in Venezuela escalated. He disclosed the figure last Tuesday while accepting the credentials of Australia’s new non-resident High Commissioner to Guyana Bruce Lendon.

Granger said the Direct Aid Programme of Australia, which provided critical assistance in improving water, sanitation and health in indigenous communities, is being used to assist with the situation of Venezuelan migrants.

Meantime, Ashley told this newspaper that families have been taking up residence in close proximity to the wharves at Mabaruma and Kumaka. He said that government is aware of the situation in the region but little has been done to properly accommodate families.

“We have families here with no proper housing and the situation remains the same because we don’t have the resources to assist the families. We have young mothers and their babies with nowhere to go. It is still a big issue for us in the region and government has been dragging their foot on it,” Ashley disclosed.

He added that some families have also erected makeshift camps at open spaces in different communities.

The chairman said that a few non-governmental organisations, such as UNICEF and the International Organisation for Migration, have been assisting and have to date constructed several pit latrines at locations where the families have settled.

The RDC chairman also said that the presence of the families in the region is becoming burdensome to the health system. He noted that several Venezuelans are infected with malaria and have been visiting the health facilities in the region for treatment.

“We don’t have a problem assisting with the medical aid but the limited drugs that we have is not being replaced fast enough by the MMU [Materials Management Unit of the Ministry of Public Health]. If we use up the drugs on the Venezuelans, what are we going to have to treat our people [with] when they are ill? We are not having a steady supply and the medicine is depleting,” Ashley added.

Looks like lots of Indos who fled the PNC era returned to Guyana. Guess who they will vote for ? 

They return in PNC time and they will vote for PNC. 

SMFH!!!

Looks like lots of Indos who fled the PNC era returned to Guyana. Guess who they will vote for ? 

These are not Indos. They are descendants of Spaniards and native Indians.  Most don’t speak a word of English.

Looks like the PPP just got 36,000 future voters if that is accurate. PNC spend out the reserves including some $ 20 Billion gold reserves and can’t help them. PPP will find a way to assist these new Guyanese. 

For a small country like guyana 36,000 people is quite a large number.

Add the Cubans and Haitians. The Cubans have these carts at street corners selling freshly squeezed cane juice.  They come on daily direct flights from Havana to buy the cheap Chinese products.  They are an interesting bunch.  They don’t travel with suitcases.  They wrap their merchandise in tightly sealed plastic packaging.  They sleep on the streets and at the airport.  So when regular travelers arrive they have to stand in the sun and rain outside until the immigration officer open the door and allow passengers in one by one.  I was told the reason for doing that is they blow up the wash room facilities and provide a security hazard for other passengers.

Really, are they Muslim?

Bai Sheik,

We as a Guyanese people can’t forget the hundreds of thousands which fled under the PNC and their hardships. I am certain that we can accommodate these people even if it is on a temporary basis. We have to be compassionate. 
PPP will find a way including requiring international humanitarian intervention. PNC is hapless as usual. 

Add the Cubans and Haitians. The Cubans have these carts at street corners selling freshly squeezed cane juice.  They come on daily direct flights from Havana to buy the cheap Chinese products.  They are an interesting bunch.  They don’t travel with suitcases.  They wrap their merchandise in tightly sealed plastic packaging.  They sleep on the streets and at the airport.  So when regular travelers arrive they have to stand in the sun and rain outside until the immigration officer open the door and allow passengers in one by one.  I was told the reason for doing that is they blow up the wash room facilities and provide a security hazard for other passengers.

Really, are they Muslim?

You mumma man is Muslim. Aka Shiamkaran.

Really, are they Muslim?

You mumma man is Muslim. Aka Shiamkaran.

You seem more and more desperate of late!  Are you ok?  Are you missing you Ram missy Karran?

Bibi, I see that you are not showing any compassion to the Cubans and Haitians. Like you forget how we people had to struggle and run away from Burnham ? 
Please show some compassion. 

Bibi, I see that you are not showing any compassion to the Cubans and Haitians. Like you forget how we people had to struggle and run away from Burnham ? 

What are you talking about?  Where did I say that?  

And coming from someone who desperately ran away on a green card marriage to and older dugla man.

Some people!

I saw a bunch of people at the airport last year with these big plastic wraps. I thought they Brazilians not cuban.

And coming from someone who desperately ran away on a green card marriage to and older dugla man.

Some people!

Don’t talk out you mumma man story here. No one believe you anyway.  Keep throwing shit and see if any sticks.

I saw a bunch of people at the airport last year with these big plastic wraps. I thought they Brazilians not cuban.

They are all Cuban.  

Some people!

Aye, ayuh two rass could prappa mess a thread bai. Y'all like tennis roll an cheese.

Some people!

Don’t talk out you mumma man story here. No one believe you anyway.  Keep throwing shit and see if any sticks.

Yea, but you know is true!

Some people!

Aye, ayuh two rass could prappa mess a thread bai. Y'all like tennis roll an cheese.

He can’t control his antimanish ways.  He has nothing of substance to add so he goes off into the deep end.  And start throwing shit all over the place hoping that people will believe him.

Some people!

I just remind people from where they came when the put down people in desperate circumstances today.  Guyanese were once desperate to leave, many suffered immensely and we should not ridicule others in the same boat.

So we should remember how many of our compatriots suffered and were exploited overseas eking out a living.

Some people!

I just remind people from where they came when the put down people in desperate circumstances today.  Guyanese were once desperate to leave, many suffered immensely and we should not ridicule others in the same boat.

So we should remember how many of our compatriots suffered and were exploited overseas eking out a living.

Who is ridiculing anyone?  Stop with you antimanish ways and learn to read.  For the same nonsense you get kick out of Covent Garden School.  Amral need to give dumbos like you a test before you come on this forum and try to derail every thread with your lies and madness.  Maybe if you find a job that will help.

You and yuh school drop out funny story.  Not as funny as you UG days.

Dude go and find a job before you end up in that rehab center again.  No one on this site cares for your mental breakdowns.  Looks like your family members in Canada stop calling you every day to see if you commit suicide.

Them loose screws still rattling around in your head gyal?  It's inside!

Why don’t you go clean the streets instead of derailing every thread on this forum?  Make better use of your time.  You are a nuisance to society.

Nah, we pay taxes for that!  Them screws gyal!

They return in PNC time and they will vote for PNC. 

SMFH!!!

Banna.....like you getting nervous, eh?

AND, how yall know that they on the voter's list to vote for PNC?