PPP Member, Zulfikar Mustapha and General Secretary, Clement Rohee. [iNews' Photo]

[www.inewsguyana.com] – General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Clement Rohee has defended President Donald Ramotar’s decision to prorogue Parliament, noting that the PPP is not “running from anything.”

Some sections of society believe that the governing Party is staving off facing the No Confidence Motion brought against the Administration by the Alliance For Change (AFC); however Rohee debunked those claims at a press conference today, Monday November 10.

“We are not known for running for anything. Instead of running from, we run for. We don’t run from, we run for and we run with. ‘For’ meaning we run for election, we run to win elections and we run with the people. It’s not a question of what you’re running from, it’s what you’re running towards,” he said in response to a question.

The combined Opposition had signaled its intention to amend the Standing Orders of the National Assembly so that the Motion can be given precedence over any other business of the House; however Rohee believes that this is a “reckless” move.

“We know it is inevitable that the No Confidence Motion will pass. With the passage of the No Confidence Motion, it automatically means that the House will dissolve and elections will be called in three months, that is what we’re faced with….With prorogation, the Parliament remains live and can be called,” Rohee told reporters.

He does not believe that government needs to use the Motion to defend its 22 years in Office.

“We’ve been defending our time in government every day. 365 days a year, with the exception of a leap year, we’re out there defending the government. We don’t have to wait on the blessings of No Confidence Motion to defend ourselves,” Rohee said.

He also rejected reports that the Party has been consistently losing votes since the 1992 General and Regional elections.

Originally Posted by Conscience:
[www.inewsguyana.com] – General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Clement Rohee has defended President Donald Ramotar’s decision to prorogue Parliament, noting that the PPP is not “running from anything.”

PPP Member, Zulfikar Mustapha and

General Secretary, Clement Rohee.

[iNews' Photo]

PPP/C, PNC and AFC will be running in the next election.

PPP running from this...

Low Breed PPP can't fight Anil seh suh.

How does the horse bit from the moderator feel? It cut you fingas heh?

Anil seh all yuh is low breed true? 

PPP running from this...

Anil seh you agree fuh he guh put wan bit in you mout and ride you bare back. I dat true?

PPP running from this...

Anil seh you agree fuh he guh put wan bit in you mout and ride you bare back. I dat true?

Anil seh kwame better than you low breeds true?

PPP running from this...

If you speak to Anil and he says that, then you deal with it.

PPP running from this...

If you speak to Anil and he says that, then you deal with it.

I will ah can believe de man seh duh though........very very crude.