Panama, Portugal will replace Venezuelan rice market- Holder

OCTOBER 28, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

-discussions being held with Mexico, Haiti and Bahamas

Minister of Agriculture Noel Holder is assuring those involved in the rice industry that all is not lost with the loss of the Venezuelan market and that Guyana is doing business with other nations on a larger scale.

Minister of Agriculture Noel Holder

Commenting on the issue yesterday to GINA, Holder noted that Guyana currently sells rice to 50 countries around the world, and too much of an issue is now being made out of the collapse of the Venezuelan market.
“As a matter of fact, currently, the Portugal market is as big as the Venezuelan market, about 30 percent or so (of rice exports), I think too much of a big thing is being made out of the lapse in the Venezuelan market,” the Minister said.
He noted that currently the Government of Guyana was pursuing the Panama market, in addition to discussions with Mexico, Haiti and the Bahamas being held.
Recently, President David Granger had announced that the government will be stepping up its efforts in finding markets for Guyana’s rice as he lobbied the international community on his various overseas engagements, with increased emphasis placed on the role of the Foreign Service.
“When I was at the United Nations (UN) in September, I met some Heads of Government and I raised the possibility of rice sales to those countries. That is the task that I have given to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, to go and seek new markets for our products including rice,” Granger had said in a recent interview with Kaieteur News.
“Venezuela only took 35-40 percent of our rice,” Granger continued. “Guyana has never been wholly dependent on Venezuela’s market. So we continue to search.”
“I am looking for markets for rice…the main focus of Guyana’s Foreign Affairs Ministry is for economic diplomacy,  I want to sell rice, I want to sell rum, I want to sell plantain chips, I want to sell (other produce)” he had also said.
Kaieteur News understands that Guyana’s negotiations with Panama bore fruit and an increased market arrangement with Panama was brokered, for which shipments have begun. The shipment has been increased from 4000 to 7,200 tonnes.
On October 16th Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro held meetings with Suriname President Desi Bouterse during an official visit and considering that the rice silos (bulk storage facilities) in Nickerie, Suriname were full, an intensification of their rice deal was determined.
Noting that Venezuela is a major rice market, questions were raised about Suriname’s capacity for supplying the total rice requirement of Caracas. President Bouterse had however noted that those concerns were irrelevant and that as much rice as possible would be sold.
Similar to Guyana’s case, Suriname would be hoping that Venezuela would pay for the rice under the PetroCaribe arrangements.
Guyana has been actively seeking new markets but there are also concerns about the excess rice. Kaieteur News understands that more than 800 containers of Guyana rice were stuck at the congested wharves in Venezuela.
Under this year’s agreement, some 120,000 metric tonnes (Mt) of paddy along with 84,000 Mt of white rice have to be supplied to Venezuela. The deal was worth around US$113M.
Reportedly, Suriname is agreeing to take half of what Guyana was getting for the rice and paddy shipments.
Venezuela itself is facing food shortages with Maduro’s refusal to renew the deal seen as placing pressure on the recently sworn-in Granger administration.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....-rice-market-holder/

Originally Posted by Bibi Haniffa:

But wait, didn't Holder say not too long ago that it's not the government job to find rice markets for the farmers?  When did that change?

When you dealing with absolute FOOLS it will be a different song each day.

But wait, didn't Holder say not too long ago that it's not the government job to find rice markets for the farmers?  When did that change?

And he is right. Obama does not go out and vend GM vehicles or US wheat. It is for private people to seek markets. However, the GRB has done that in a controlled economy under burnham and also under the Petrocarbide fund which was a PPP slush fund. 

The proper way is for the industry to institutionalize ways to do so for itself so it can get the best prices and respond creatively to market demands. It means the development of an internal brokerage system and value added products for the industry etc.

Meanwhile the government has an obligation to carry the burden while it help to develop the self sustaining facilities to independently manage the marketing of rice.

HOLDER IS A BLOODY DUNCE.!!! 

and your mama made one.

Nehru Bhai.....

Canecutter & Stevedore were Regular

+ Equal Opportunity visitor at Garmont...

Cane Cutters does leave them estate to meet Komal in GT at Union office and plan industrial action.

A few of Them Out of town Tourist would leave Regent Street HQ and treat themselves to Lombard Street for a BREAK.

About 3 Days later them show up pissing Drunk to catch transport by the market to head back to the estates.....and return to them wife, family and Cutting Cane.

Tell Stormie the truth.....Na Blame Mama fuh all de nastiness...because You do not know Papa....

Because.... Some Cane Cutters & Stevedore were Dunce too.

and your mama made one.

But me and yuh Mama made you, so in conclusion you are the biggest DUNCE.!!

and your mama made one.

Nehru Bhai.....

Canecutter & Stevedore were Regular

+ Equal Opportunity visitor at Garmont...

Cane Cutters does leave them estate to meet Komal in GT at Union office and plan industrial action.

A few of Them Out of town Tourist would leave Regent Street HQ and treat themselves to Lombard Street for a BREAK.

About 3 Days later them show up pissing Drunk to catch transport by the market to head back to the estates.....and return to them wife, family and Cutting Cane.

Tell Stormie the truth.....Na Blame Mama fuh all de nastiness...because You do not know Papa....

Because.... Some Cane Cutters & Stevedore were Dunce too.

Each sugar estate has their union reps. Canecutters don't go to G/T, so paint them as drunk , yes, but not going to G/T for' "short time" GAWU reps. are educated and most times office workers. I know, my friend was one.

Originally Posted by kp:

and your mama made one.

ARE YOU ALLOWED TO TARGET PEOPLE MAMA, HOW LOW CAN YOU GET!!!!

Nah tek worries Uncle Nehru does handle dat JACKASS with the Nehru approach.

Originally Posted by kp:

and your mama made one.

She made a fool....not target there...pointing out a fact. Says nothing of the good lady but of her ill luck to spawn a and idiot.

Originally Posted by kp:

and your mama made one.

Depends on if yo mama made a mistake....you have to know the truth.

By the way, did you read Nehru's response or you just blind when you need to be?

Originally Posted by kp:

and your mama made one.

By the way, did you read Nehru's response or you just blind when you need to be?

Shut the hell up AHOLE!!!!!!!

and your mama made one.

But me and yuh Mama made you, so in conclusion you are the biggest DUNCE.!!

It is clear given you are two years older than me you could not be my daddy. Plus, my mom always demonstrated a taste for finer things. 

Originally Posted by kp:

and your mama made one.

Eat shit you mama's mistake you.

Originally Posted by kp:

and your mama made one.

Your mama dont know yuh Papa!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Originally Posted by kp:

and your mama made one.

It is self evident that reasoning is not  a PPPite forte. That would be self contradictory.

Originally Posted by kp:

and your mama made one.

Sorry, not because you do not know your daddy the world is in the same predicament.

Originally Posted by kp:

and your mama made one.

That comeback is like you,limp.

It is NOT the obligation of the government to find markets for privately owned entities. 

Gov't can ASSIST such entities, and is OBLIGATED to do so.

Can you understand the subtle difference?

The rice industry needs to stop thinking that they are entitled to more than are others in the private sector!

Panama and portugal will not buy Guyana rice. This is a fake promise to keep the rice farmers happy. Venezuela was the best market for Guyana rice and this incompetent government lose it because Maduro don't to deal with a quack leader of Guyana that kiss ass with America to insult Venezuela. Now he wants to send his jungle fever GDF to protect the gold mining investors from Venezuela. Granger is a dumb, undiplomatic fool.

Originally Posted by Red Wine:

Panama and portugal will not buy Guyana rice. This is a fake promise to keep the rice farmers happy. Venezuela was the best market for Guyana rice and this incompetent government lose it because the Maduro don't to deal with a quack leader of Guyana that kiss ass with America to insult Venezuela. Now he wants to send his jungle fever GDF to protect the gold mining investors from Venezuela. Granger is a dumb, undiplomatic fool.

Wow its amzing how the Indian racists swallow Maduro's lies.

So now its American propaganda for Guyana top object to a map which Maduro was distributing WORLDWIDE, basically sezing almost all of Guyana's territorial waters.  So ridiculous is this map that if some one sailed NORTH of Georgetown one would encounter areas which Maduro claims.

Maduro started a squabble, as his people bnegan rioting because they had no food.  He told the ENTIRE world that almost all of Guyana's territoral waters belong to Venezuela.

You expected Granger to remain SILENT.

Silence means consent.  Had Guyana not vociferiously responded the ENTIRE world would have said NOTHING, while Maduro landed troops on Leguan!

It is Guyana's LOUD response that has prompted the Commonwealth, and CARICOM to side with it, and for South American nations to remain neutral.  Because of this the UN has now intervened.

Quit your racist lies about Venezuelans controlling the gold inustry. It is Guyanese, Brazilians, Canadians, and others.  And they do so on GUYANESE territory so pay royalties to GUYANA!

Originally Posted by kp:

and your mama made one.

What are you smoking????