Originally Posted by Conscience:

The non passage of the anti-money laundering bill will directly or indirectly affect all Guyanese, those citizens outside of Parliament are expressing their views.

Let me expose you.  The last time they ask that paid protester in a KURTA who just eat a pork fry rice why he on the pick line, he say, them come by my village, they give me food, clothes and a small piece and tell me leh we go a lime a 'Gargetown' and we will drink some beers after the picket.

Well I had a choice, sit up the dam top and stay white mouth or go with then bannas and collect free fry rice, free beers, free clothes and still get ONE TOWEL (thousand dallar in meh packet).

THE CHOICE IS EASY.

Originally Posted by Dondadda:
Originally Posted by Mars:

Bussed in and fed with a fry rice.

Mara, how was the ride and did you get your box of fried rice?

I'm not Mara and I would never sell my soul to the murderous and corrupt PPP for a fry rice and a flattie.

I leave that for lackeys like Coounscie who are paid by taxpayers to post PPP propaganda on social media sites such as GNI, Faceboook, etc.

Hundreds of persons have gathered outside Parliament protesting in an effort to put pressure on the parliamentary opposition to pass the Anti – Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism (AML/CFT) Amendment Bill. The bill is expected to come up at today's sitting of Parliament.

I wonder if these jaat ki bals even know what a the Bill is about much less what is a bill in general

"Joker" is not good to refer to your fellow Guyanese( brothers and sisters) who are expressing their strong views like that, those citizens understands that they all would be affected by the non passage of this legislation.

Isn't that jaat Faizal Jafarally, MP for the Corentyne leading this paid protest?

And why would those particular people be so interested in laundering money??? Are they drug dealers or money launderers? The average Guyanese citizen doing business within the Guyanese borders won't be affected by it. Only those handling foreign currencies so as U$ have anything to worry about.

If you have nothing to hide, you have nothing to fear from the non-signing of the bill.

The average Guyanese citizen would be indirectly affected, once the Major businesses in the country who does internal trade are affect it will filter down to the man in the street.

so when these sell out collie is picking it excising their rights when the black people is picking its rioting. a government picking how the table turn it all about time,time is longer than twine   

It is no use trying to play those mind games. The average Guyanese is far too poor to even afford enough Guyanese dollars to buy an egg.

Trade between Guyana and Brazil is heavily conducted in gold and drugs, and the same goes for trade with Suriname. The largest portion of use of the U$ is in the money laundering trade that is heavily occupied by the PPP elite and those sending back U$ after drugs have been sold in the US and Canada.

The average Guyanese citizen would be indirectly affected, once the Major businesses in the country who does internal trade are affect it will filter down to the man in the street.

The PPP has no intention to enforce this bill. They merely want to fulfill an obligation to international standards by signing this into law. They presided over t he rise of the parallel underground economy fueled by drugs and laundering and know fully well every business man on the nations boulevards plying their trade h as one hand in each.

They have paid personnel who is supposed to act on behalf of the state since 2009 and no laundering charge has ever been formally developed. You have a great case with the convicted drug lord RK and to date his ill gotten assets still exist managed by his family.

This bill should not be passed in the assembly if it has not formal enforcement strategy involving cases brought before the courts. It is pure bull that the Minister should have this sword over the heads of businesses.

Guyana’s National Assembly is now unable to pass amendments to the Anti Money Laundering and Countering Financing of Terrorism (AML/CFT) before the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) meets later this week to decide whether to impose a global blacklist on the country.

Government and opposition representatives of the parliamentary select committee told Demerara Waves Online News (www.demwaves.com) that parliamentary legal draughtsmen need until Wednesday to incorporate amendments by A Partnership for National Unity (APNU). 

The France-headquartered FATF is set to meet in Paris from February 12 to 14 to consider among other agenda items a review of the implementation of measures taken by a number of countries to address deficiencies identified in the last round of mutual evaluation report, identification of jurisdictions with strategic deficiencies in their AML/CFT system and a review of the progress made by jurisdictions that had been identified at the October 2013 Plenary.

Government representative on the special select committee Gail Teixeira suggested that lobbying FATF would be virtually impossible because Guyana has treaty obligations. “They are aware over the weekend what has been playing out and they will be advised today what is playing out,” she said.

excerpts from demwaves

The joint opposition is the biggest stumbling block in the path of Guyana's development.