Today's sitting of Parliament was suspended after repeated disruptions of Home Affairs Minister Clement Rohee's presentation of a Firearm Bill by AFC and APNU MPs. The disruptions came despite the Speaker's ruling that Rohee could continue to function as a MP despite the opposition no-confidence motion. This decision was taken and communicated to the House after the Speaker was provided with legal opinion on the matter from SC, Rex McKay and Stephen Frazer. They had both concluded that Minister Rohee must be allowed to perform his functions in Parliament and cannot be removed by way of an opposition vote of no-confidence.

Despite Speaker's ruling, Opposition MPs continued to interrupt with chants and thumps as Minister Rohee rose the bill and it was then that the Speaker intervened once again.

Rohee β€˜no confidence’ vote unenforceable

-Trotman told by senior legal practitioner

President Donald Ramotar is not bound by the passage of the motion of no confidence against Minister of Home Affairs Clement Rohee, a senior legal practitioner has advised Speaker of the National Assembly Raphael Trotman.

Trotman has also been advised that Rohee can continue to perform his functions as the motion does not bind either the minister or the Prime Minister to obey it.

Irrational behavior by parliamentarians will not go unpaid. The people of Guyana has the power to punish political parties at polls. Lack of transparency in determining the candidate for the ruling PPP in the last elections resulted in the party losing several vital seats in parliament. The AFC is hereby cautioned to protect the gains they have won. Adopting a vindinctive strategy against gov't and punishing PPP supporters will lead to no good. This strategy is self-destructive.  Hmmmm!!

The PPP should call a snap election.

Are you all sure that the AFC will benefit?  Whether or not stories of infighting are true its not clear that either the AFC nor APNU have the resources to compete against the PPP which ha sfull access to taxpayers" funds and control over the media to advance their agenda.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The Guyanese are growing tired of the joint opposition stance

Which Guyanese?  The 51% who denied the PPP access to un restrained power by controllinhg parliament?

Just because most of them are blacks and other non Indians doesnt mean that they are not also Guyanese, even though you clearly think that only PPP supporters (the 49%) have a right to be considered Guyanese.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The Guyanese are growing tired of the joint opposition stance

Which Guyanese?  The 51% who denied the PPP access to un restrained power by controllinhg parliament?

Just because most of them are blacks and other non Indians doesnt mean that they are not also Guyanese, even though you clearly think that only PPP supporters (the 49%) have a right to be considered Guyanese.

What percentage of (non black) Americans reject Obama in the recently held election?

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

If one lousy seat gave them the power to be disruptive even as the speaker call for orders, what would happen if they should control the executive branch and parliament? I hope the Guyanese people are taking notes and vote them out of power in 2016.  

The people have spoken. So, they did it for the people.

A snap election will bring down the PPP govt. The people will know they are calling an election because they are fearful of what's to come in the future, their plans have been thwarted.

Those in Govt are pissed because they are made to hold up their hands and ask permission to leave the room everytime they have to take a crap. Their every movement is being watched....remember that song, Dem a watch we?

Good song dat.

A snap election will bring down the PPP govt. The people will know they are calling an election because they are fearful of what's to come in the future, their plans have been thwarted.

Those in Govt are pissed because they are made to hold up their hands and ask permission to leave the room everytime they have to take a crap. Their every movement is being watched....remember that song, Dem a watch we?

Good song dat.

aRE YOU FRINDS WITH lIMBAUH, rOVE, hANNITY, o.rEILY AND cOULTER???? If not, how much you paying them for Lessons???

The PPP should call a snap election.

If a snap election is called today, the constituents will unseat the AFC and APNU immediately. However, a snap election is not the best idea in the interest of the Guyanese people. The ruling party will serve its full term and gave the oppositions longer rope to hang themselves.

Originally Posted by kp:

Just wait and see, there will be an election in 2013. The PPP already have their machinery in motion, and yes , what the opposition parties are doing will only help the PPP cause. I am saying that the PPP will get a majority at the next election, it's a matter of time.

You ah seh de PPP go win majaritie? Yu na frighten dem go tief mo? Me go come back ah Guyana wen dis happen an get minista wuk. Me go build 2 mill US dallah house wid da minista wuk salarie in 1 year. Me go leh yu no wen me do dis. Me go hire you in me ministrie so you cyan get sum kick back too. Yu can build 1 mill US dallah house wid da kick back and yu salarie.