Merry Christamas.  Like them let you out of Sing Sing.

Hey TK, yuh Rass see Donkey Cart and Jackasses NOW ah Guyana.  Donkey and Jackasses all over the Govt.

Weh yuh Bhai Wooden Computa???

De govt is not a complete failure as aluh mekkin it sound. Dem scoring around a C- ...just below the threshold for yuh bai Jagdoe to get back in 2020. Will be an interesting ride to 2020 and after...

Hey, you can always revise that economic plan.  Anything can be re-negotiated.  Especially in the PNC govt.  Are you still AFC or full out PNC now?  Look like AFC is dead and about to be buried.

Which economic plan? I doan see any? AFC leaders are doing well for themselves...what's the problem?

TK posted:

Hey, you can always revise that economic plan.  Anything can be re-negotiated.  Especially in the PNC govt.  Are you still AFC or full out PNC now?  Look like AFC is dead and about to be buried.

Which economic plan? I doan see any? AFC leaders are doing well for themselves...what's the problem?

Really?  I see one AFC strongman is Ambassador to Kuwait.  The rest are crying foul and the two who got big position in the PNC govt are toothless poodles.  Harmon shut them big mouth tight tight!!

TK posted:

Really?  I see one AFC strongman is Ambassador to Kuwait.  The rest are crying foul and the two who got big position in the PNC govt are toothless poodles.  Harmon shut them big mouth tight tight!!

Ow bai...not dat meh just sey? Like yuh need some of Pavi's cuttahs for give yuh a boost? Dem all doing well for demselves?

Welcome back TK.  My condolences to you and your family on the loss of your father.

I would like to ask you a question since you have been quite vocal on economic and political issues for a long time.  Do you think a increase in oil price to $65 to $70 per barrel would wreak havoc on Guyana's economy?

In the short and medium term it will have an adverse effect on the economy. Guyana will have to fork out more FX to buy the same amount of aile. Now, here is where Jagdoe sacrificed sovereignty to make a deal with the devil and Guyana's natural enemy: Venezuela. The Petrocaribe meant you don't pay for the aile up front so higher oil price did not affect the Guyana economy as it would now. On the other hand, Venezuela was accumulating debt against Guyana and they are claiming 5/8 of Guyana's land. So, Jaggy was willing to take the long run risk (a big one) and run with the short-term gains. Interesting policy, but fraught with risks.

TK posted:

Welcome back TK.  My condolences to you and your family on the loss of your father.

I would like to ask you a question since you have been quite vocal on economic and political issues for a long time.  Do you think a increase in oil price to $65 to $70 per barrel would wreak havoc on Guyana's economy?

In the short and medium term it will have an adverse effect on the economy. Guyana will have to fork out more FX to buy the same amount of aile. Now, here is where Jagdoe sacrificed sovereignty to make a deal with the devil and Guyana's natural enemy: Venezuela. The Petrocaribe meant you don't pay for the aile up front so higher oil price did not affect the Guyana economy as it would now. On the other hand, Venezuela was accumulating debt against Guyana and they are claiming 5/8 of Guyana's land. So, Jaggy was willing to take the long run risk (a big one) and run with the short-term gains. Interesting policy, but fraught with risks.

We should discuss this Petrocaribe deal more sometime.  I read Prof. Thomas analysis and can't say I understood it.

Why would a deal that allowed for barter rather than payment using foreign exchange be bad?  Was the interest rate charged unreasonable?

TK went to Bklyn tyrying to fit in hoping fuh Minista Wuk. Burke got him real good. But Burky knew he was a Donkey Cart Economist.

Bai I cried foh dayzz when Burky dem man did not give me minista wuk. BTW...going to Brooklyn for a Chrismuss party wid dem PNC guys. Dem bannas have nuff poke cuttas and souse. Yuh want come?

TK posted:

TK went to Bklyn tyrying to fit in hoping fuh Minista Wuk. Burke got him real good. But Burky knew he was a Donkey Cart Economist.

Bai I cried foh dayzz when Burky dem man did not give me minista wuk. BTW...going to Brooklyn for a Chrismuss party wid dem PNC guys. Dem bannas have nuff poke cuttas and souse. Yuh want come?

You no better than Uncle Tom and Jhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat, just that they got picked and you did not. Is swapping one SLAVE for another. Hope you clean and Mop properly ar Brooklyn.

TK posted:

You no better than Uncle Tom and Jhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat, just that they got picked and you did not. Is swapping one SLAVE for another. Hope you clean and Mop properly ar Brooklyn.

Yuh know yuh want lil cuttahs? Abee can tek lil fried cacabelly too?

VVP posted:
TK posted:

We should discuss this Petrocaribe deal more sometime.  I read Prof. Thomas analysis and can't say I understood it.

Why would a deal that allowed for barter rather than payment using foreign exchange be bad?  Was the interest rate charged unreasonable?

I agree with you here.  Petrocaribe includes some 17 nations.  There were soft payment terms however, the PPP traded rice for oil and the ramp-up in production to unprecedented levels was primarily to meet Venezuela's demand which was offset against oil.  If there was alternative demand, why has the PNC not realized?

The PPP did not borrow and allow debt to run up, the rice exports was the offset.  The price for the rice was above spot so it was lucrative for Guyana.  I would like to understand if there was a better deal anywhere!