Pegasus owner says…Jagdeo’s policy of frustration, discrimination and abuse continues

June 7, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

The Pegasus owner, Robert Badal, wants President Donald Ramotar to sanction Minister Irfaan Ali and remove him from the Tourism Ministry.

Robert Badal

The businessman claims that he is being sidelined from tourism-related activities by Ali, who is the acting Minister of Tourism.
According to Badal, this sort of practice started under former President Bharrat Jagdeo. He is demanding that taxpayers’ money be used in a fair way.
“I was hopeful that following the 2011 election, the new Donald Ramotar administration would ensure a better investment climate for the hospitality industry, removal of discrimination, and a level playing field for all.
“So far it would seem that Jagdeo’s policy of business frustration, discrimination and abuse of office and taxpayers resources is going to continue,” Badal said in a statement to the media.
Badal said that the Pegasus Hotel was excluded from a delegation to this week’s Caribbean Tourism Organization (CTO) Caribbean Week event in New York. He added that the hotel was not invited to the Sustainable Development Conference held at the Princess Hotel from April 15 to April 18, 2012.
The businessman said that despite the fact that Pegasus is the local market leader in the hotel industry, the hotel has received no communication from Minister Ali since his appointment to the Tourism Ministry.
According to Badal, the Minister must be reminded that he is paid from, and is spending taxpayers’ resources, not his own, and therefore has a duty to all players in the local industry to represent their interest without any discrimination.
“Any favour to one player, and discrimination against another, is an abuse of his office for which severe sanctions must be imposed,” Badal declared.
He charged that under former President Jagdeo, the government was openly promoting the business of Princess Hotel by directing various Ministries to send their business to that hotel. Badal further charged that the very enactment of Casino Legislation was primarily to sell the Buddy’s Hotel by making it attractive to the purchaser.
“This kind of abuse must be condemned by the Private Sector Commission and all private sector bodies and other stakeholders, as well as, by Parliamentary opposition parties.

Irfaan Ali

“Under no circumstances would I tolerate any form of discrimination against myself in my own country,” Badal stated.
He said that Pegasus Hotel is the largest investor in the local hospitality sector, employing the largest number of people, and pays the most in taxes – in excess of $400M in VAT, Corporate and payroll taxes.
Badal claimed that Princess Hotel pays no Corporate Taxes under a tax holiday arrangement.
“Minister Ali’s action has clearly demonstrated to me that he has failed to bring any kind of leadership to this sector and would therefore inspire no confidence among leading players,” Badal stated.
This would impact adversely on investments and growth in the local hospitality industry and the economy as a whole, he added.
“As the largest investor in this sector I am calling on President Ramotar to remove Mr. Irfaan Ali from the Tourism Ministry.”
The businessman is currently spending US$8 million to upgrade the Pegasus Hotel, which he bought over from Le Meridien three years ago against strong opposition from the Jagdeo administration.
Badal is investing in the Pegasus at a time when he now has to compete with efforts by the government to establish a Marriott-branded hotel right next to his hotel.
“I have to pay taxes, and my staff members have to pay taxes even before they see their salary, and t

Bharrat Jagdeo

hat very tax is being taken to compete with us. It is fundamentally wrong; it doesn’t go well for investments by the private sector.”
He sees the Marriott project as a vindictive “sour grapes” response initiated by the former Jagdeo Government after it failed to secure the property for Jagdeo’s allies.

When hotel owners get into politics, they should expect backlash. Pegasus is a private enterprise and now subject to competition from Princess and Marriot. Recently at Grand Central Station, there was a booth set up by Princess giving out flyers. The pictures looked appealing to tourists. Instead of whining, Badal should focus on marketing and competitive prices.

“Under no circumstances would I tolerate any form of discrimination against myself in my own country,” Badal stated.
He said that Pegasus Hotel is the largest investor in the local hospitality sector, employing the largest number of people, and pays the most in taxes – in excess of $400M in VAT, Corporate and payroll taxes.
Badal claimed that Princess Hotel pays no Corporate Taxes under a tax holiday arrangement.
“Minister Ali’s action has clearly demonstrated to me that he has failed to bring any kind of leadership to this sector and would therefore inspire no confidence among leading players,” Badal stated.

Irfaart is just a puppet..

Originally Posted by TI:
When hotel owners get into politics, they should expect backlash. Pegasus is a private enterprise and now subject to competition from Princess and Marriot. Recently at Grand Central Station, there was a booth set up by Princess giving out flyers. The pictures looked appealing to tourists. Instead of whining, Badal should focus on marketing and competitive prices.

In principle, I disagree with you.  He is a citizen and, like anyone else, he should be free to express his opinion on the political leadership without retribution from the ruling elite.  He should also be free to join any party but just not assume political office while in control of his business.  This I would agree.

What surprises me is how many of you live, experience and thrive in this democratic US, seeing first have how it's working with businessmen, academics, average citizenry getting into it openly, yet you support communistic and dictatorial policies in Guyana reminiscent of what you see/saw in Egypt, Tunis, Zimbabwe and such places.  You are perfectly comfortable in your skin, enjoying the fruits of a plural democracy while touting the exact opposite practices against the people you left behind in Guyana.  I have to believe, it takes an individual with a rather contorted set principles to reconcile such hypocrisy.

If Badal was a shrewd businessman he would not be investing further in the Pegasus until the landscape is clear abut the Marriot plans.  Guyana does need an international brand contrary to the AFC and Badal's claims.  A recognized international brand will bring in additional affluent visitors who would be hesitant to come otherwise. Unfortunately for Badal, this will mean a loss of business, but as an entrepreneur who purchased the Pegasus he must have been aware of the risks involved in purchasing a decades old antiquated hotel and charging 5 star prices. Just go to trip adviser and see the bad reviews:

“Be careful when booking”
3 of 5 starsReviewed January 25, 2012

people found this review helpful

Visited Guyana with my family just for the weekend only to see the falls.. This hotel was recommended through a friend, but was a great disappointment. The rooms are extremely small and over priced and the staff are unprofessional. 

Please do not book tours through the hotel as it may not be done efficiently. I went to see the falls with my family but only half my party actually got to see it due to miss communication on the hotels part with the tour operators which is located in their lobby. Car rental through the hotel is also not recommended as in my experience it does not occur. Try the airport instead. 

This was the worse trip ever taken. So if you are thinking of going to Guyana use another hotel.. Save your money.

• Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 starsValue
    • 2 of 5 starsLocation
    • 2 of 5 starsSleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 starsRooms
    • 3 of 5 starsCleanliness
    • 3 of 5 starsService
Was this review helpful?Yes
See 3 more reviews by GCLB for Georgetown
Ask GCLB about Pegasus Hotel Guyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“False Advertizment”
2 of 5 starsReviewed January 18, 2012

I used to love this hotel, but now the standards are way down. It was the holiday season and the reception staff needs a smile, the poolside tables and chairs are badly in need of refinishing, music is needed at poolside, the small cheap boom box is very tacky, waiter forgot to bring second order of food and worst of all, MY CREDIT CARD WAS BILLED TWICE FOR THE SAME MEAL. I hate to think what happens during regular season.....It is NOT a decent hotel anymore, it USED to be. I agree with the comment that it is now comparable with a Motel 6.....very sad....

• Stayed December 2011, traveled with family

Gurdy my experience was different. My party a business group of three arrived late about 15 mins after breakfast was put away. They sat us down even before booking us in and brought out back their breakfast offerings and told us to go ahead and enjoy the buffet but served us coffee and tea. We jokingly said we wanted salfish and bake...next morning surprisingly it was served.

The rooms are a bit small but bigger than some that you find in Paris, Amsterdam, Italy and England.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. 

Gurdy my experience was different. My party a business group of three arrived late about 15 mins after breakfast was put away. They sat us down even before booking us in and brought out back their breakfast offerings and told us to go ahead and enjoy the buffet but served us coffee and tea. We jokingly said we wanted salfish and bake...next morning surprisingly it was served.

The rooms are a bit small but bigger than some that you find in Paris, Amsterdam, Italy and England.

When will you forget about politics and acknowledge that both princess and pegasus are dumps. Guyana needs a 5 star hotel to attract affluent clientele. There are numerous Guyanese that are sophisticated enough to demand a higher level of service. What you and your party rate as high class is not necessarily the norm worldwide.  

Absolutely, let the investor make the decision on feasibility, not the Govt creating artificial viability.  The Investor must do his homework as to market, volumes and pricing. The Govt should de-risk by offering tax breaks for capital at risk.

Indeed and NICL, as an independent entity that happens to be govt owned, is making such a decision along with other investors. You can not arbitrarily lump govt with NICL when it suits your need, and also claim they are the only ones involved. 

If Badal was a shrewd businessman he would not be investing further in the Pegasus until the landscape is clear abut the Marriot plans.  Guyana does need an international brand contrary to the AFC and Badal's claims.  A recognized international brand will bring in additional affluent visitors who would be hesitant to come otherwise. Unfortunately for Badal, this will mean a loss of business, but as an entrepreneur who purchased the Pegasus he must have been aware of the risks involved in purchasing a decades old antiquated hotel and charging 5 star prices. Just go to trip adviser and see the bad reviews:

“Be careful when booking”
3 of 5 starsReviewed January 25, 2012

Visited Guyana with my family just for the weekend only to see the falls.. This hotel was recommended through a friend, but was a great disappointment. The rooms are extremely small and over priced and the staff are unprofessional. 

it USED to be. I agree with the comment that it is now comparable with a Motel 6.....very sad....
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family

Druggie you used to say that  Guyana is such a hell hole that only overseas Guyanese will visit and that the country has nbo appeal for foreign tourists. Given that Marriott has many properties with golf courses etc in popular tourist islands no one will go to Guyana to just stay on its property.  So if, according to you, Guyana has no appeal for tourists then clearly Marriott is a waste of $$.  There are no shortage of hotel room in GY for business people, Cbn people in to buy gold, or watch cricket, and overseas Guyanese, afraid that living conditions are too primitive for their North Am born kids so use hotels instead of stays with relatives.

BTW while Pegasus is but a shadow of what it bonce was Princess is considered even worse.  Given that those who stay at Pegasus go to GY for business etc, these conditions will not deter any from visiting.

Originally Posted by TI:

When business owners stay out of politics people like you bitch about their absence and when they do you bitch about it too. Fact is , if you do not tow political lines in Guyana you get sidelined and that's a FACT ! the problem with Guyana politics is it is too invasive and too corrupt. Businesses in Guyana will never expand become competitive on an international or regional level because of the politics. Everyone who asks me about investing in Guyana , I tell them beware of the politics it can make you bankrupt even killed .

if guyana need a better hotel that find but do not use the guyanese taxpayers money,toronto is planning to build a cascino and they plan to have the public vote on it guess what they will be no cascino in toronto.so let the guyanese public vote on it or the city

Dude, The PNC and PPP have failed to mobilize the private sector to invest in major way - most of the private sector are non competitive - and big things are only being done through govt with taxpayers money and one does not have to be smart to know and understand why. These people in politics in Guyana are assbackwards .

Druggie you used to say that  Guyana is such a hell hole that only overseas Guyanese will visit and that the country has nbo appeal for foreign tourists. Given that Marriott has many properties with golf courses etc in popular tourist islands no one will go to Guyana to just stay on its property.  So if, according to you, Guyana has no appeal for tourists then clearly Marriott is a waste of $$.  There are no shortage of hotel room in GY for business people, Cbn people in to buy gold, or watch cricket, and overseas Guyanese, afraid that living conditions are too primitive for their North Am born kids so use hotels instead of stays with relatives.

BTW while Pegasus is but a shadow of what it bonce was Princess is considered even worse.  Given that those who stay at Pegasus go to GY for business etc, these conditions will not deter any from visiting.

Indeed it is the affluent Guyanese who are accustomed to 5star hotel that are demanding better accommodations.  This would be the reason for the Marriot as well as foreign dignitaries. 

The hotels in Guyana are poorly run and of low caliber. A 5* is needed urgently.

the only 5star they need in guyana is a 5 star general,the first thing he have to do is hang all the ppp crime family in front of parlment.

Small minds like yourself can't conceptualize the future. You accustomed to bottom house service and think it is acceptable to the rest of society.  The PPP are no angels but they are bringing Guyana along while the PNC/AFC like yourself are praying day and night for the country to fall into anarchy and economic doom. All this just to get into power and return the country back to the PNC years. 

Indeed it is the affluent Guyanese who are accustomed to 5star hotel that are demanding better accommodations.  This would be the reason for the Marriot as well as foreign dignitaries. 

The hotels in Guyana are poorly run and of low caliber. A 5* is needed urgently.

Dude,

For decades I been saying Guyana has a serious problem with standards . They shovel out sh1t to the public and the public buy the sh1t. Case in point:

1. When was the last time you looked at a Guyanese TV program in NY ? The standards remains the same ..pitifull !

2. When was the last time you went to a Guyanese hospitality venue like a restuarent etc ..pitiful !

Even in NY where they are exposed to quality of hospitality they fail to learn so, what makes you think the jacka55es in Guyana gon learn anything better? these folks are all about low cost , high revenue and SFA !

But then again , when you look at the leaders in Guyana , regardless of party , they are all a bunch of crast educated or monied ignoramuses or should I say IGNARS .

Guyanese dont invest in quality , they want quantity only and profits. These people are so backward it aint funny fuh daze . They justy wont friken learn nor improve . I saw two TV shows running simultaneously playing the same sh1t ! QUALITY is not in the Guyanese dictionary .

I was in Italy for 3 weeks in April and from the plane onwards it was all the highest quality hospitality thats why their tourism thrives , thats why their businesses thrive . In NYC I see hospitality concerns send their staff for training in quality service - standards , ethics , decorum etc and it has high returns for businesses .

Originally Posted by kidmost:

Dude,

For decades I been saying Guyana has a serious problem with standards . They shovel out sh1t to the public and the public buy the sh1t. Case in point:

1. When was the last time you looked at a Guyanese TV program in NY ? The standards remains the same ..pitifull !

2. When was the last time you went to a Guyanese hospitality venue like a restuarent etc ..pitiful !

Even in NY where they are exposed to quality of hospitality they fail to learn so, what makes you think the jacka55es in Guyana gon learn anything better? these folks are all about low cost , high revenue and SFA !

But then again , when you look at the leaders in Guyana , regardless of party , they are all a bunch of crast educated or monied ignoramuses or should I say IGNARS .

Guyanese dont invest in quality , they want quantity only and profits. These people are so backward it aint funny fuh daze . They justy wont friken learn nor improve . I saw two TV shows running simultaneously playing the same sh1t ! QUALITY is not in the Guyanese dictionary .

I was in Italy for 3 weeks in April and from the plane onwards it was all the highest quality hospitality thats why their tourism thrives , thats why their businesses thrive . In NYC I see hospitality concerns send their staff for training in quality service - standards , ethics , decorum etc and it has high returns for businesses .

Well we have to go easy on the Guyanese public. You see the concept of high standards from the point of view of those of us living overseas is different from those in Guyana. I don't think they should be berated for having standards that we don't approve. You see they have to evolve like the rest of the world and come to the same conclusion as us, it should not be rammed down their throat. Just like a child, you will note that you can preach to them but they learn better through experience. Guyana as a nation has to come to this realization themselves and not via outsiders preaching to them. 

Originally Posted by kidmost:

Dude,

Well we have to go easy on the Guyanese public. You see the concept of high standards from the point of view of those of us living overseas is different from those in Guyana. I don't think they should be berated for having standards that we don't approve. You see they have to evolve like the rest of the world and come to the same conclusion as us, it should not be rammed down their throat. Just like a child, you will note that you can preach to them but they learn better through experience. Guyana as a nation has to come to this realization themselves and not via outsiders preaching to them. 

Bannas if countries more backward than Guyana can make a quantum leap what does it say ? Guyanese are cheap a55holes , pennywise and pound foolish. I have no patience with hignorance and hignorant people . Even right here in NY , restaurants and retails lack common courtesies in fact, many are so friken backward you wonder whether they come from the same place as Jagan .

I find Guyanese are very hospitable people You should see the behavior in some African and Mideast countries. As for Hong Kong, the most rude obnoxious unsanitary people abound. I won't knock Guyana.