PERSONA NON GRATA

December 28, 2013, By Filed Under Features/Columnists, Peeping Tom, Source

The United States Ambassador to Guyana should enjoy his Christmas here in Guyana. From all accounts, it may be the last one that he spends here as a diplomat because it seems most likley that he will be recalled to Washington, unless he withdraws his statements that a USAID project that the government of Guyana is opposed will go ahead.

If in the face of the government’s withdrawal from the project, there was a statement from the embassy that the project will go ahead, this amounts to a direct defiance of the wishes of the government of Guyana.

This is reason enough for the Guyana Government to declare the responsible party as persona non grata.

The Guyana government has shown extreme tolerance in dealing with this issue. In some parts of Latin America, if any US Ambassador had dared to make such pronouncements, he or she would have been derecognized immediately and ordered out of the receiving State.

The Guyana government has however, not opted to go that route. It has instead dispatched a memorandum to the US State Department.  In effect, it has filed a complaint and given the US government an opportunity to take corrective action. The US State Department is likely to take action and that action may well see the recall of the present US Ambassador to Guyana.

It need not have reached this point. The British would have handled the situation differently. They would have diplomatically explained that differences had arisen between the government of Guyana and themselves over the project that they were prepared to engage the government with a view towards narrowing these differences.

But not the Americans. They have a different conception of the world and how they should relate to developing countries located in the western hemisphere which under the Monroe Doctrine they considered as their backyard. Instead of using conciliatory and diplomatic language to mend differences, they have adopted an approach which has been interpreted as open defiance of the wishes of the receiving State.

No self-respecting sovereign country should tolerate such impunity. Can you imagine the US trying such tactics with the Morales government of Bolivia? Morales has already ordered USAID out of his country.

Do you believe that the US Ambassador to Venezuela would have dared to respond to the government of Venezuela in the way the US Ambassador to Guyana responded to the Guyana government? That would never have happened.

And can you imagine any US ambassador having the temerity to tell a Forbes Burnham that the US will be proceeding with a project which the government of Guyana is opposed to?

APNU and the AFC have in typical fashion defended the project. But they have failed to understand that the issue at contention is not so much the project itself, which can always be redeemed, but rather the temerity of the announcement that the project will proceed in spite of the wishes of the government of Guyana.

This flies in the face of Guyana’s sovereignty.

The United States is a sovereign nation.  Guyana is also a sovereign nation. Relationships between countries involve agreements between States. The United States government cannot enter into an arrangement with parties within a sovereign nation without the consent of the government of the receiving nation. This is the basis upon which relationships between states are built and on which the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations of 1961 is predicated.

USAID is not a non-governmental organization. When USAID undertakes any work, it does so as an agent of the United States government. As such, the consent of the Guyana government is required in keeping with customary international law.

Regardless of the merits of any project, so long as the government signals its objection, then that project has to be put on ice.

USAID cannot take any decision to move forward with any project which is opposed by the receiving State because its agreement is with the State and not with the subjects which will benefit from the project.

A few years ago, the British designed a security project for Guyana which the government had problems with. The British withdrew and sought diplomatic engagements to resolve the differences.

The issues are not yet fully resolved but this is the route of diplomacy; it takes time. The British did not decide they will go ahead.

The Americans erred when they arrogantly decided that they would go ahead with the USAID project. They have insulted Guyana’s sovereignty and its government by daring to indicate that the project will go ahead.

It is time to start over.

USAID is not a non-governmental organization. When USAID undertakes any work, it does so as an agent of the United States government. As such, the consent of the Guyana government is required in keeping with customary international law

Regardless of the merits of any project, so long as the government signals its objection, then that project has to be put on ice.

PERSONA NON GRATA

December 28, 2013, By Filed Under Features/Columnists, Peeping Tom, Source

The gist of the issue.

The PPP does not represent the majority of the people.

NO but we run things.

Then expel the ambassador and tell the USA to move the embassy out. Don't stop there. Chase out Western Unions also.

The United States Government can put away the Corrupt PPP/C for good. Just as the United States put them into Power, it is not hard to get the ungrateful Corrupted PPP/C out of Power.

See how these shameless thieves, would behave when their Visas are taken away. 

Remember Roger sang like a Canary,

asj, it appears that you drank a lot of rum on your hiatus, now you come back full of the usual nonsensical ramblings.  The US did not put the PPP into power, it was the people of Guyana who voted them in. 

. . . The US did not put the PPP into power, it was the people of Guyana who voted them in. 

like saying that the cold war was a mirage and the Russian people suddenly found Jesus and dissolved the Soviet Union

i guess that's the learning u get with a c*ck sucker degree . . .

These idiots! They need the US more than the US needs them. The only friend to stand on the wall for them against the Venoes is the US. And why would the succeeding ambassador be any different from the present?

The US does not want the society decay into chaos in the event the disgust index elevates a few degrees above the present and people take to the streets so it is arming the people with the tools to seek alternative strategies to democracy.  This is for the PPP's hide as well.

Some Al Yuh wouls sell Al Yuh Mudda to the US Ambassador!!!!!!!!!!!

I bet the best thing that ever happened to you was when the embassy give you a visa.

asj, it appears that you drank a lot of rum on your hiatus, now you come back full of the usual nonsensical ramblings.  The US did not put the PPP into power, it was the people of Guyana who voted them in. 

Come on, BG_S, you're an intelligent guy.

True, the people of Guyana voted the PPP in to power.

BUT, without crucial help from Jimmy Carter the PPP would have remained in opposition.

Like it or not, US Administrations have controlled Guyana's destiny since John F. Kennedy's time.

In this present LEAP case, if John Kerry's State Department confirms it is backing its Ambassador to Guyana, there is nothing the PPP/C can do to stop LEAP assistance to any political party in the country.

Correct. 

Who Vex Vex.

Originally Posted by asj:

The United States Government can put away the Corrupt PPP/C for good. Just as the United States put them into Power, it is not hard to get the ungrateful Corrupted PPP/C out of Power.

See how these shameless thieves, would behave when their Visas are taken away. 

Remember Roger sang like a Canary,

like they put away your Taliban/Al Qaeda friends, I take it

BUT, without crucial help from Jimmy Carter the PPP would have remained in opposition.

Like it or not, US Administrations have controlled Guyana's destiny since John F. Kennedy's time.

In this present LEAP case, if John Kerry's State Department confirms it is backing its Ambassador to Guyana, there is nothing the PPP/C can do to stop LEAP assistance to any political party in the country.

Gil,

It appears that you are a spin master for the PNC/AFC coalition.

Listen, it was Canadian foreign affairs Minister Joe Clarke who pushed the Commonwealth and then the USA for free and fair elections in Guyana. Get your facts straight. 

PPP General Secretary Clement Rohee recently suffered a mini-stroke and flew to the United States for critical medical intervention.

What if the US had declared Mr Rohee persona non grata and refused to admit him on US soil?

The PPP/C should get off its high horse and stop its arrogant and unreasonable tirades.

As the incumbent, the PPP/C has a big moneybag to finance its elections campaigns, to shape public opinion and buy votes.

The other political parties are at a marked disadvantage, lacking resources to educate voters and campaign on a lopsided playing field.

LEAP, as I understand it, is designed to empower voters of ALL POLITICAL PARTIES, not the opposition only.

PPP General Secretary Clement Rohee recently suffered a mini-stroke and flew to the United States for critical medical intervention.

What if the US had declared Mr Rohee persona non grata and refused to admit him on US soil?

The PPP/C should get off its high horse and stop its arrogant and unreasonable tirades.

As the incumbent, the PPP/C has a big moneybag to finance its elections campaigns, to shape public opinion and buy votes.

The other political parties are at a marked disadvantage, lacking resources to educate voters and campaign on a lopsided playing field.

LEAP, as I understand it, is designed to empower voters of ALL POLITICAL PARTIES, not the opposition only.

What if ? What if ? What if ?

Stop spinning. AFC/PNC's spin master Gil rushes to the aid of the parties that are hellbent on destroying Guyana at all cost.

Who Vex Vex.

yugee, i warn u already about this canvassing on GNI fuh man to get "vex" wid yuh

now pull yuh buckta up from round yuh ankles before i apply my whip pan yuh hide u nasty ole antiman

Gil,

Listen, it was Canadian foreign affairs Minister Joe Clarke who pushed the Commonwealth and then the USA for free and fair elections in Guyana. Get your facts straight. 

I repeat, without crucial help from Jimmy Carter, the PPP would have remained in the opposition. That does not imply that Canada and other countries didn't play a role too.

On October 5, 1992, Jimmy Carter put his life in danger in front the Elections Commission building on Croal Street to stave off possible hijacking of ballot boxes.

Jimmy Carter telephoned Desmond Hoyte and told him in no uncertain terms that PNC people were obstructing the work of the Elections Commission and persuaded him to order a retreat of his activists.

As a journalist, I was nearby and witnessed what happened.

Stop spinning. AFC/PNC's spin master Gil rushes to the aid of the parties that are hellbent on destroying Guyana at all cost.

yuji22, for the last time I'm telling you this: I am not a PPP/C supporter.

I AM A FREE AGENT, entitled to support any political cause I choose.

Stop behaving like a nagging hag, yuji22.

YUJI22 CAN NEVER STOP ME FROM EXPRESSING MY OPINION IN THIS FORUM.

Gil,

I repeat, without crucial help from Jimmy Carter, the PPP would have remained in the opposition. That does not imply that Canada and other countries didn't play a role too.

On October 5, 1992, Jimmy Carter put his life in danger in front the Elections Commission building on Croal Street to stave off possible hijacking of ballot boxes.

Jimmy Carter telephoned Desmond Hoyte and told him in no uncertain terms that PNC people were obstructing the work of the Elections Commission and persuaded him to order a retreat of his activists.

As a journalist, I was nearby and witnessed what happened.

ahem, mate . . . er, checkmate!

yuji22, for the last time I'm telling you this: I am not a PPP/C supporter.

I AM A FREE AGENT, entitled to support any political cause I choose.

Stop behaving like a nagging hag, yuji22.

YUJI22 CAN NEVER STOP ME FROM EXPRESSING MY OPINION IN THIS FORUM.

Gil

You are getting edgy.

Yuji exposed you as a PNC/AFC spin doctor and truth really hurts you. It is your right to express your opinion but remember that is a political forum and your support for the PNC/AFC will be countered by opposing views. 

I will never support the PNC and will oppose those who do so. That is political reality. It may appear that you lack political maturity.