Persons with house lots urged to start construction

November 2, 2015 12:38 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

Minister within the Ministry of Communities, Keith Scott

[www.inewsguyana.com] – The APNU+AFC government is looking to wrap-up the development of recognised housing schemes and is therefore encouraging defaulters to start construction.

According to the Government Information Agency (GINA), the Administration is urging persons, with allocated lots in these areas, to be part of the construction, since this is essential to completing these housing areas.

In this regard, Minister within the Ministry of Communities, Keith Scott has indicated that no longer will the Ministry give ears to those who cry that they have not taken up their lot, because these housing areas are without adequate infrastructure and supporting facilities and amenities.

“….people cannot just come to us, get a house lot and just stay back and say that they are waiting for everything to be 100 percent,” he said.

According to GINA, the Minister explained that persons need to understand that bringing about developments is a two-way street.

“We know that we have to give you services, and we do that, but we expect you (the persons that have received lots), to occupy, because your very occupancy encourages others to come,” he said.housing-development-610x300

He noted that there will also always be areas that need to be addressed to make people feel comfortable, “but you also need to understand that going into a new area is a pioneering spirit, when you go there, we expect you to come in and let us collectively work to enhance the place as quickly as possible.”

In wrapping up the infrastructure development in these areas, Minister Scott said that the housing engineers have been looking at the roads, water, the installation of infrastructure for electricity, and also at areas, where they can put in playfields.

“There are many young Clive Lloyds and Rohan Kanhais, awaiting just the opportunity…,” Minister Scott pointed out.

People had to forked out over one million dollars for house lots, as of now in some of the areas including the East Bank Corridor, there are no water, no electricity, no proper drainage. All these has to be looked at before people can move in.

Originally Posted by asj:

People had to forked out over one million dollars for house lots, as of now in some of the areas including the East Bank Corridor, there are no water, no electricity, no proper drainage. All these has to be looked at before people can move in.

Well that is your PPP.  Even the incompetent Burnham regime understood that they needed to develop housing schemes,  and then have the people acquire these homes.  Much more cost efective and logistically convenient.

In wrapping up the infrastructure development in these areas, Minister Scott said that the housing engineers have been looking at the roads, water, the installation of infrastructure for electricity, and also at areas, where they can put in playfields.

Well that is your PPP.  Even the incompetent Burnham regime understood that they needed to develop housing schemes,  and then have the people acquire these homes.  Much more cost efective and logistically convenient.

Maybe the APNU/AFC should refund some of the money that were paid by house lots awardees, I am sure the New Govt, felt that the PPP/C took advantage of the situation, and refund some of  those high cost amount paid would be the honorable thing to do.

Stay quiet bai. As the old people use to say "stay safree".

Tell the PPP to refund, as after all most of this money was lavished on huge PPP mansions, or Miami based brokerage accounts.

Carib, despite paying a lot for the plot of land, it is still a good buy because paying 1M for same then pays another 5 mil building cost (carpenters) the materials, guttering, painting and plumbing, even if you were to spend 8 mil then that would adds up to 14 mil, at the end of all this; you can speculate and sell that same property for approx. 24 - 25 millions.

Why build if the infrastructure is not in?

Build a banaff and leave it there.

That's what most squatters are doing and it's not easy to get rid of them.

Persons with house lots urged to start construction

November 2, 2015 12:38 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

[www.inewsguyana.com] – The APNU+AFC government is looking to wrap-up the development of recognised housing schemes and is therefore encouraging defaulters to start construction.

According to the Government Information Agency (GINA), the Administration is urging persons, with allocated lots in these areas, to be part of the construction, since this is essential to completing these housing areas.

In this regard, Minister within the Ministry of Communities, Keith Scott has indicated that no longer will the Ministry give ears to those who cry that they have not taken up their lot, because these housing areas are without adequate infrastructure and supporting facilities and amenities.

“….people cannot just come to us, get a house lot and just stay back and say that they are waiting for everything to be 100 percent,” he said.

According to GINA, the Minister explained that persons need to understand that bringing about developments is a two-way street.

“We know that we have to give you services, and we do that, but we expect you (the persons that have received lots), to occupy, because your very occupancy encourages others to come,” he said.housing-development-610x300

He noted that there will also always be areas that need to be addressed to make people feel comfortable, “but you also need to understand that going into a new area is a pioneering spirit, when you go there, we expect you to come in and let us collectively work to enhance the place as quickly as possible.”

“There are many young Clive Lloyds and Rohan Kanhais, awaiting just the opportunity…,” Minister Scott pointed out.

How will this happen Minister?  What are you really smoking?

I know a PPP family who migrated to the USA 12 months ago.  Guess what, they got 4 house lots.  One fuh Daddy, the one next door for Mammy and then one fuh the boy picknee and one fuh the gyal picknee.

They are in Richmond Hill hustling.

Guess what.  No house will not be built on those 4 house lots for at least the next 5 years and mark my word the Government can do nothing since they all have transport.

Now back to the dry horsyte yu smoking Minista.

Build a banaff and leave it there.

That's what most squatters are doing and it's not easy to get rid of them.

I know of a lady that has a house lot at #76 village and she built a shack by the seawall and is squatting there. She is thinking of building a house at #76 village and renting it out.

Mits, seem like they are working on it, I am sure they are because too much pressure has been coming their way. So

As of now, no one is building without the input of infrastructures. Just holding on to the the lease, until I am ready to brave Guyana.

This Minista should be fired by February 2016, he like FELIX and HOLDER are failing Prez Granger BIG TIME.

As of now, no one is building without the input of infrastructures. Just holding on to the the lease, until I am ready to brave Guyana.

This Minista should be fired by February 2016, he like FELIX and HOLDER are failing Prez Granger BIG TIME.

The will be treated like Hammie - given big award, a chairman of some board and sent to pasture with the right grass for the horses.

CH&PA cracks down on empty house lots

November 3, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

It appears that Government will be cracking down on citizens who have acquired house lots but have failed to start construction. In the past, the Central Housing and Planning Authority (CH&PA) had relaxed the six-month deadline granted to house lot allottees for construction to start.

Many of the housing schemes across the country are filled with empty lots, some of them overgrown with bush and with neighbours in the dark about the owners. According to Minister within the Ministry of Communities, Keith Scott, who has responsibilities for housing, Government is pushing to wrap-up the development of recognised housing schemes. He wants defaulters to start work on their lands. The construction in the housing schemes is essential to completing the housing areas, Scott said in a Government statement yesterday. According to the Minister, no longer will the Ministry give ears to those who give the excuse that they have not taken up their lot, because the housing areas are without adequate infrastructure and supporting facilities and amenities. “….People cannot just come to us, get a house lot and just stay back and say that they are waiting for everything to be 100 percent,” he said. According to the Minister, development is a two-way street. “We (the Ministry of Communities) know that we have to give you services, and we do that, but we expect you (the persons that have received lots), to occupy, because your very occupancy encourages others to come,” he said. He noted that there will also always be areas that need to be addressed to make people feel comfortable, “but you also need to understand that going into a new area is a pioneering spirit, when you go there, we expect you to come in and let us collectively work to enhance the place as quickly as possible.” Over the years, house lot owners have been complaining that the unpaved streets and an absence of water and electricity have hampered them in construction.

An empty lot in Diamond, a village on the East Bank Demerara.

Under regulations, house lot owners have to start building six months after acquiring the land. However, many schemes have roads and the amenities…and a significant number of empty lots too. Officials have said that many owners have acquired the lots as an investment rather than for homes. In wrapping up the infrastructure development in these areas, Minister Scott said that housing engineers have been looking at the roads, water, the installation of infrastructure for electricity, and also at areas, where they can put in playfields. “There are many young Clive Lloyds and Rohan Kanhais, awaiting just the opportunity…,” he pointed out. The Minister noted that the completion of the housing developments is critical, as Government moves forward with its vision for the housing sector. It wants to facilitate a nation housed in cohesive and sustainable communities, through the provision of serviced lots and the building of houses. “Key to this vision is ensuring that no longer will communities be set up without adequate infrastructure, essential support facilities and amenities, as these are vital in facilitating easy living and orderly development.” There has been anger over the empty lots, especially as there are about 25,000 applications on file by families who are renting or living with relatives.

“Key to this vision is ensuring that no longer will communities be set up without adequate infrastructure, essential support facilities and amenities, as these are vital in facilitating easy living and orderly development.”