Restoring Georgetown requires more than cleaning drains

Dear Editor,
Recently in the press, I have seen a lot of fuss being made about Georgetown being returned to its former glory as the famed “Garden City”.
All the steam with which the City Council had begun to tackle the blocked drains, canals and other waterways has already petered out. What has happened to the contracted gangs that were cleaning in the downtown area? Has the money run out already? Will they not be going to the suburban areas of Georgetown? Cleaning a part and leaving a part could hardly make Georgetown a Garden City. What does City Council plan to do about the vagrants and homeless persons who not only contribute to the ugliness and filth within the city, but who are a nuisance to visitors and citizens alike.
Restoring Georgetown to its position of being the Garden City will require a structured programme of replanting fallen trees, proper pruning and trimming of existing trees and plants as opposed to the current system of either butchering them or leaving them to become overgrown. It will require the planting and replanting of the proper type of grass in our once green spaces.
It will necessitate the creation of urban and suburban parks throughout the city and not just on Merriman Mall. It will require a vigorous education initiative to instil in citizens the necessity and long-term benefits of a clean, green city and not just ad hoc campaigns. It will need the revision of legislation related to offences and penalties, and additional regulations to ensure compliance with maintaining a clean city.
And this brings us to the question of the zoning rules and regulations of the city. How it is that varying types of businesses are allowed to thrive in every ward of the city? How could mechanic and tyre shops operate with impunity in residential areas? Do the City Police not traverse High Street just south of Public Building and see that there is a vehicle oil change centre where waste oil is released into the drains and onto parapets on a daily basis completely destroying the environment?
Do these City Council officials who are pursuing the restoration of Georgetown back to the Garden City not observe the confiscation of city alleyways, reserves and other open spaces, particularly by the business community? Is this how the city will be restored?

Sincerely,
Debra Gibson

The PPP allowed people to set up a business even in a quiet residential area. They did not care if the neighbours didn't like it. The AFC will have to  come down hard on these businesses and force them to move.

The goal of the afc/apnu was to do a superficial job at cleaning GT then revert to old stinking ways of the city. No long term goal was in mind, just a euphoric gesture to satiate their supporters temporarily before returning them to reality. 

At no time in the history of the PPP regime did Georgetown look so clean. Should this come as a surprise? Visitors from India would have instantly felt at home with the mess that the PPP made and left in Georgetown. But now that the place looks and smell clean the PPP saying it isn't good enough.

Not so fast buster, there seems to be lots of underhand business, going on by the PNC/AFC of issuing contracts for doing this job..........nothing is being advertised, it is just like jobs for the PNC boys.

With no accountability.

The goal of the afc/apnu was to do a superficial job at cleaning GT then revert to old stinking ways of the city. No long term goal was in mind, just a euphoric gesture to satiate their supporters temporarily before returning them to reality. 

They already reducing water pressure at peak hours in GT. Watch out for water shortages.

The water conservancy is at an extremely low level due to the recent dry weather. They have to take measures to conserve water or you clowns will be crying if there is no water left and taps are turned off. I guess the Government is to blame for nature bringing them dry weather.

Water restrictions are common even in North America. I can water my lawn twice a week and wash my car on any day when the conservancy level is normal. In extremely dry weather, the city will only allow the lawn to be watered one day a week and we will be limited to the same one day to wash the car.

The test for how clean the city is comes when the rain starts. But give APNU-AFC the Credit. GT is starting to look better. I saw it 1.5 mths ago. This is the kind of stuff the PPP refused to do. Which self-respecting govt would want to see their capital city stink? And allow pushers to build to spoil the architecture? Clean up the damn place. Economic growth might be improved, also.

Mr.T posted:

At no time in the history of the PPP regime did Georgetown look so clean. Should this come as a surprise? Visitors from India would have instantly felt at home with the mess that the PPP made and left in Georgetown. But now that the place looks and smell clean the PPP saying it isn't good enough.

Quit with your BS !! Cleaning and other services to Georgetown were, and still are, the responsibility of the Mayor & Town Council ... not the govt. Go ask that old hoodlum Green and his henchmen what were they doing over the past years. How come they have suddenly become so enthusiastic about cleaning up the mess that they should have attended to years ago ? 

TK posted:

The test for how clean the city is comes when the rain starts. But give APNU-AFC the Credit. GT is starting to look better. I saw it 1.5 mths ago. This is the kind of stuff the PPP refused to do. Which self-respecting govt would want to see their capital city stink? And allow pushers to build to spoil the architecture? Clean up the damn place. Economic growth might be improved, also.

Please see my response to Mr. T above. Sanitation on the city has always been the responsibility of the Mayor & Town Council; not the central government so APNU/AFC did not then and does not now have anything  to do with that so ..... Green is the one who should be held to account. 

The water conservancy is at an extremely low level due to the recent dry weather. They have to take measures to conserve water or you clowns will be crying if there is no water left and taps are turned off. I guess the Government is to blame for nature bringing them dry weather.

Water restrictions are common even in North America. I can water my lawn twice a week and wash my car on any day when the conservancy level is normal. In extremely dry weather, the city will only allow the lawn to be watered one day a week and we will be limited to the same one day to wash the car.

Warmer winters, like dry seasons in Guyana, might be seen as a benefit to some.

But in cold countries, lack of snow [and water runoff] causes water rations in the summer and its getting worse, due to climate change.  

Keffer posted:
Mr.T posted:

Quit with your BS !! Cleaning and other services to Georgetown were, and still are, the responsibility of the Mayor & Town Council ... not the govt. Go ask that old hoodlum Green and his henchmen what were they doing over the past years. How come they have suddenly become so enthusiastic about cleaning up the mess that they should have attended to years ago ? 

Was it not the PPP in the guise of Sooba who ran GT until she was chased out of the building after the election? And is it not so that Hamilton was kept in his position by the PPP? Don't go spreading lies again. The PPP and Hamilton Green ripped off the citizens of GT over more than two decades.

There is a drought, so clearly they have to conserve water.  They have told the public this.

Mr.T posted:

Was it not the PPP in the guise of Sooba who ran GT until she was chased out of the building after the election? And is it not so that Hamilton was kept in his position by the PPP? Don't go spreading lies again. The PPP and Hamilton Green ripped off the citizens of GT over more than two decades.

This is the PPP screaming their nonsense as usual. In fact they blame the PNC, when in fact the party which won the LGE in 1994 no longer exists.  This is to show how ridiculous the LGE situation became under the PPP.

Keffer posted:
TK posted:

..... Green is the one who should be held to account. 

How could he have been held to account when the PPP refused to hold LGE, and were more interested in a coup using Sooba as their stooge.

Did G/T get better under Sooba? Obviously NOT!

Mr.T posted:
Keffer posted:
Mr.T posted:

Sooba did a fabulous job standing up to that old brigand Green and his bullies. Do not forget that Green is and has always been an incompetent administrator and a pillager (have you forgotten that he stole metal sheet piling from the city to reinforce the boundaries of his personal property ?). "Hamilton was kept in his position by the PPP" .... how dishonest can you be !!   

Keffer posted:
TK posted:

..... Green is the one who should be held to account. 

How could he have been held to account when the PPP refused to hold LGE, and were more interested in a coup using Sooba as their stooge.

Did G/T get better under Sooba? Obviously NOT!

Yes, it did !! Sooba refused to make payments without proper documentation and accounting; were you sleeping when Green and his thugs were trying to bully her ?

Keffer posted:

Sooba did a fabulous job standing up to that old brigand Green

How so? G/T remained as filthy as ever, until Granger won the election, and THEN we saw the beginnings of change.

Sooba was incompetent and corrupt, but no surprise given that she is a PPP.

Keffer posted:

Yes, it did !! Sooba refused to make payments without proper documentation and accounting; were you sleeping when Green and his thugs were trying to bully her ?

She engaged in her own level of corruption, while the city remained as stink as ever. So bad that rotting human bodies were visible in the burial ground.  And caiman and camoodies became full residents in parts of G/T.  And I don't just mean the edge of the city either.

Mr.T posted:

Listen young man, I worked at the City Engineers Dept, the taxes they collected, the fees collected from the market ,building construction etc are supposed to maintain a clean city. Hammie held the PPP at ransom by keeping a poor city and with holding services, he allowed the unlicensed street vendors to operate, sending the constabulary to collect bribes, at Easter Hammie and his boys would sell spots on the Sea wall to vendors, and this was all CASH in their pockets. End of last year I was in G/T, the place is stink, still with lots of garbage everywhere, I did not stay long because of safety.Someone can start a good recycling business, there are tons of plastic containers everywhere.

Keffer posted:

She engaged in her own level of corruption, while the city remained as stink as ever. So bad that rotting human bodies were visible in the burial ground.  And caiman and camoodies became full residents in parts of G/T.  And I don't just mean the edge of the city either.

1) "She engaged in her own level of corruption, while the city remained as  stink as ever". ...  elaborate on this please. What was her position and therefore what was her mandate/responsibility ?

2) "So bad that rotting human bodies were visible in the burial ground.  And caiman and camoodies became full residents in parts of G/T." ....was it the Town Clerk's responsibility to manage the labour force of the city ? ...again, was burial routine at the cemetery in her mandate ? What was Royston King doing at that time ?

Enquiring minds want to know ....  

There is a drought, so clearly they have to conserve water.  They have told the public this.

Given the prolonged dry season and depleted water reserves in the city, conservation/rationing of water is indeed advisable.

Mr.T posted:

It is evidently quite a formidable task to get you to understand simple things ....maintenance of the city is the responsibility of the Mayor & Town Council; not the government ! Quit your BS about " the mess that the PPP made and left in Georgetown".

TK posted:

The same people who kept it dirty are the same ones cleaning it up now .... MCC.  They deliberately allowed garbage to pile up to make the PPP gov't. look bad. The City collects taxes and are responsible for sanitation. The Central Gov't. gave monies to the City but nothing ever gets done. Now, they are cleaning up to make APNU look good. This whitewashing of GT is good but would not last.

Why you think Granja gave Hammie the terrorist an award? For his good looks? Was payback time.

Skelly..Hammie is probably the oldest surviving in the pack,let him have a lil award nah bhai,let him feel he contributed.

I met him a couple of times when he was Prime Minister always shows respect,first time i spoke to him on his red phone,when ever we were there he will tell the maid bring some refreshment these boys.

I can say more bhai,this is not the place  to do that.

So because he fed you during the dark days of the PNC you are still seeing him as an angel. The murderer should have been hanged a long time ago.

LOL

Nah bhai..."a man got to do what he have to do"

So because he fed you during the dark days of the PNC you are still seeing him as an angel. The murderer should have been hanged a long time ago.

LOL

Within reason bhai. You don't sell your fellow mankind for material things. We are here to help not to acquire excess material things.

LOL

What he did to Shirley Field Ridley?? first time a Black woman been cremated in less than 24 hours after her death , why, to get rid of the evidence.

LOL

What he did to Shirley Field Ridley?? first time a Black woman been cremated in less than 24 hours after her death , why, to get rid of the evidence.

KP why you asking me bhai,the highlighted is about me.

LOL

KP why you asking me bhai,the highlighted is about me.

SORRY, wrong person.

LOL

Within reason bhai. You don't sell your fellow mankind for material things. We are here to help not to acquire excess material things.

Oii bhai material things na fuh me bhai,i used some of my aquaintance to help mankind.

. Hammie held the PPP at ransom by keeping a poor city and

You can scream all you wish about Hammie.  He was elected in 1994 as a GGG, NOT a PNC candidate.  Do you even remember what GGG was?

He did NOT run on the PNC platform, and in fact became very friendly with the PPP in order to spite the PNC.  His plan was to split the black vote, and then deliver his share to the PPP in the 1997 election.  This  angered his GGG support base, which fled back to the PNC.

Had LGE elections been held Hammie would have been voted out, because the PNC would have fielded another candidate.

Hammie's GGG became extinct.

Blame the PPP for this state of affairs, and cease screaming about hammie.  He is a PPP creation, because LGE was not held.

Keffer posted:
Mr.T posted:

is the responsibility of the Mayor & Town Council; not the government ! Quit your BS about " the mess that the PPP made and left in Georgetown".

And it is the responsibility of the PPP for keeping Hammie in power, because they failed to hold LGE.  Had they done so Hammie would have LOST, regardless as to which party he ran under. 

In fact its likely that the PNC, fearing a loss to Mark Benschop, or some other entity, would have reminded Hammie that he was not elected as mayor as a PNC candidate, so they would have had no obligation to keep him.

Scream and jump with your Indo KKK wails, but the fact remains that the state of G/T and all the municipalities is due to the PPP.  In fact in MOST cases the local gov't has ceased to function, with PPP managers being left to run the show.  carol Sooba being the one for G/T.

Why you think Granja gave Hammie the terrorist an award?

To get rid of him. 

Hammie is NOT going to cause trouble, trying to galvanize what is left of his support base to attempt to split APNU.

What he did to Shirley Field Ridley?? .

And thanks to the PPP a known murderer was allowed to run as mayor, and was kept in power because the PPP refused to hold LGE.

The murderer should have been hanged a long time ago.

But Janet was too busy playing best pals with Hammie in order to split the black vote for the 1997 election.  Too bad for them that all she accomplished was the end of GGG as its base ran back to the PNC, determined not to be used by the PPP.

Indeed this is the PPPs frustration.  That being their inability to split the black vote, and by doing so, winning control over G/T.