No float parades for Mashramani 2016 – Minister Henry

No float parades for Mashramani 2016

Mashramani celebrations 2016 will be without the grand and spectacular float parades – as was done all the years since Guyana gained republican status in 1970.

According to Junior Education Minister Nicolette Henry, who has responsibility for the department of culture, the annual Mashramani float parade will be a no-show in 2016 – to make way for the country’s historical 50th Independence anniversary celebrations.

During an interview with Guyana Times Henry explained the float parade will be moved to May 27 to coincide with the Independence Day on May 26.

However, she assured that Mashramani 2016 celebrations will still entail the usual school competitions and cultural activities.

But in essence, Government’s plan is to “tone down Mashramani 2016” in order to “hype up” Independence Day 2016.

Minister Nicolette Henry

Asked whether the float parade will return for Mashramani 2017, Minister Henry indicated she is unsure but noted it is her expectation that it will.

Meanwhile, the Minister said the ostentatious costume design and float parades shifted for May is expected to have 50 floats to symbolize Guyana’s celebration of 50 years as an Independent nation.

Asked about other activities in the line-up for the magnificent Independence Day celebrations, Minister Henry said events will commence as early as January and will include symposiums, cultural events and school competitions in every administrative region. On Independence Day, she said, there will be a two-hour cultural programme which will coincide with the flag-raising ceremony.

Moreover, the A Partnership for National Unity+Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) Government aims to have these celebrations big and grand.

In fact, a commemorative committee was established to oversee the mass planning for the celebrations.

Some $65 million was allocated in Budget 2015 for the Independence Day celebrations however Minister Henry indicated that that amount is not enough. She explained that $65 million is merely for the preparatory works and that a larger figure will be budgeted in 2016 to ensure the celebrations are a memorable success.

Share Button

A mammoth celebration is planned for Guyana's 50th Independence Anniversary on May 26. It makes no financial sense to spend money on Mash just three months before May.

Bhai

AFC/PNC would have been screaming if PPP killed Mash.

A mammoth celebration is planned for Guyana's 50th Independence Anniversary on May 26. It makes no financial sense to spend money on Mash just three months before May.

Bhai

Those SHAMELESS JACKASSES love to BRAY from both sides of their mouths!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

No float parades for Mashramani 2016 – Minister Henry

Mashramani celebrations 2016 will be without the grand and spectacular float parades – as was done all the years since Guyana gained republican status in 1970.

According to Junior Education Minister Nicolette Henry, who has responsibility for the department of culture, the annual Mashramani float parade will be a no-show in 2016 – to make way for the country’s historical 50th Independence anniversary celebrations.

During an interview with Guyana Times Henry explained the float parade will be moved to May 27 to coincide with the Independence Day on May 26.

However, she assured that Mashramani 2016 celebrations will still entail the usual school competitions and cultural activities.

But in essence, Government’s plan is to “tone down Mashramani 2016” in order to “hype up” Independence Day 2016.

Minister Nicolette Henry

Asked whether the float parade will return for Mashramani 2017, Minister Henry indicated she is unsure but noted it is her expectation that it will.

Meanwhile, the Minister said the ostentatious costume design and float parades shifted for May is expected to have 50 floats to symbolize Guyana’s celebration of 50 years as an Independent nation.

Asked about other activities in the line-up for the magnificent Independence Day celebrations, Minister Henry said events will commence as early as January and will include symposiums, cultural events and school competitions in every administrative region. On Independence Day, she said, there will be a two-hour cultural programme which will coincide with the flag-raising ceremony.

Moreover, the A Partnership for National Unity+Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) Government aims to have these celebrations big and grand.

In fact, a commemorative committee was established to oversee the mass planning for the celebrations.

Some $65 million was allocated in Budget 2015 for the Independence Day celebrations however Minister Henry indicated that that amount is not enough. She explained that $65 million is merely for the preparatory works and that a larger figure will be budgeted in 2016 to ensure the celebrations are a memorable success.

Share Button

Mash OUT, QUEH QUEH IN,slowly but surly Africanise the country. Mash brings everyone together, and yet they BRAY loud for UNITY.

"According to Junior Education Minister Nicolette Henry, who has responsibility for the department of culture, the annual Mashramani float parade will be a no-show in 2016 – to make way for the country’s historical 50th Independence anniversary celebrations.

Asked whether the float parade will return for Mashramani 2017, Minister Henry indicated she is unsure but noted it is her expectation that it will."

What's wrong with what the Minister said ????

Bhai

Those SHAMELESS JACKASSES love to BRAY from both sides of their mouths!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Two of GNI's finest JACKASSES HAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Yall been crying since PPP lost HAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAA

Guyana is now officially bankrupt.

PNC emptied the treasury in 100 days. Guyana is officially broke, no Mash this year.

Another PNC problem.

You and Cobra missing that PNC poling that you all used to get every night from your big black PNC husbands.  Well they left you as they got tired of your whining.  Learn to wine better and they might come back.

You and Cobra missing that PNC poling that you all used to get every night from your big black PNC husbands.

bai, why so many of your posts after May 11th are about black man's poles?  Is this a secret obsession you wish to bring forth?

PNC emptied the treasury in 100 days. Guyana is officially broke, no Mash this year.

Another PNC problem.

I do not know if you read what I mentioned in another post yesterday. Lying to your self destroys you brain's capacity for fact finding. If its reward is self delusion, you will miss real events in the real world like as your brain fills in data per your experience with lying.  It is an induction machine and induction are best guesses given experience. Lie and your experience is lying.

Originally Posted by Django:

"According to Junior Education Minister Nicolette Henry, who has responsibility for the department of culture, the annual Mashramani float parade will be a no-show in 2016 – to make way for the country’s historical 50th Independence anniversary celebrations.

Asked whether the float parade will return for Mashramani 2017, Minister Henry indicated she is unsure but noted it is her expectation that it will."

It is about this stupid bitch deceiving himself and thinking he can pass it off as real.

Corentyne ppl doan go to those events. Suh the name change should be reflective of the ppl that attends. I doan c amerindains want to attend, dey have their own style of dancing.

Wonder y every culture loves drumming and wretched contortions of the body.

I love the belly dancer wuking up she self to Santana's Black magic woman.

Now, that stretches the imaginings. 

PNC wants to officially cancel Mash in favour of Queh Queh.

Unknown-1

What is the difference between this and Nagara dance???

Both have deep meaning for weddings. When I got married, my afro- guardians performed it. In the village it was a common thing for afro-weddings.

Everyting wrang bacaz de woman is PNC.

Unknown-1

yuji, for how long will you demean yourself?

Scurrilous posts like this don't give your character added value. You have already chalked up a notorious record and if I had the time I would bring back such of your posts under one thread. Not something to be proud about. But, maybe, you are proud of such "achievement."

Unknown-1

One vowel, if yuji is true to form. He may or may not express it, though he may think it. After all, he did say that Queh-Queh-loving/PNC people are not fit to run a cake shop.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

You and Cobra missing that PNC poling that you all used to get every night from your big black PNC husbands.

bai, why so many of your posts after May 11th are about black man's poles?  Is this a secret obsession you wish to bring forth?

Because we have a bunch of whining racist aunty men who behave as if this is what they desire.

Maybe you want the same thing.

Unknown-1

One vowel, if yuji is true to form. He may or may not express it, though he may think it. After all, he did say that Queh-Queh-loving/PNC people are not fit to run a cake shop.

Gil, that is a Queh Queh dance.  

I stand by what I said about PNC not being able to run a cake shop. PNC gave us 28 years of brutal dictatorship with rigged elections.

The list can go on and on.

Unknown-1

Two different dances. Cannot compare them.

Unknown-1

You said that you have this huge connection to India.

Why not go and live there if respecting Afro Guyanese culture is something which you cannot do.  Listen your ancestors came here and found Africans already here. so learn some manners.  They didn't invite you, so have no obligation to grovel in subservience towards you.

Unknown-1

Both have deep meaning for weddings. When I got married, my afro- guardians performed it. In the village it was a common thing for afro-weddings.

Unknown-1

Why not go and live there if respecting Afro Guyanese culture is something which you cannot do.  Listen your ancestors came here and found Africans already here. so learn some manners.  They didn't invite you, so have no obligation towards you.

Ker you back

Where did I condemn this dance ?

Unknown-1

Why not go and live there if respecting Afro Guyanese culture is something which you cannot do.  Listen your ancestors came here and found Africans already here. so learn some manners.  They didn't invite you, so have no obligation towards you.

Ker you back

You and your fellow Indo KKK buddies have had an obsession about Kwe Kwe for the last few weeks.  Its is part of Guyanese culture. DEAL with it!

If you cannot accept it. LEAVE!

Bhai

Yes they do.

Unknown-1

Ker you back

You and your fellow Indo KKK buddies have had an obsession about Kwe Kwe for the last few weeks.  Its is part of Guyanese culture. DEAL with it!

Leave, hell no, Burnham and Hoyte unsuccessfully tried to Exterminate Indos. Guess what, it did not work then and it will NEVER work now.

PNC is a racist party hellbent on destroying Indos.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Because we have a bunch of whining racist aunty men who behave as if this is what they desire.

Maybe you want the same thing.

I don't swing that way bai.

Unknown-1

Ker you back

Leave, hell no, Burnham and Hoyte unsuccessfully tried to Exterminate Indos. Guess what, it did not work then and it will NEVER work now.

I will consider it a lie,the Indian population still maintain

there 50+ percent during that period..where was the

extermination ??? oppressed by Burnham  yes.

More Indians migrate under PPP gov't rule of 23 yrs

The PPP is a racist party hell bent on destroying blacks.

Ask an Afro Guyanese his identity.  He will say Guyanese.  Ask him what kind of Guyanese he will say black.

You screamed at Moses when he answered similarly, so given that you consider being Guyanese to be merely incidental, and despise culture which was DEVELOPED IN Guyana, then head back to UP, Bihar, or where ever you yearn to be.

More Indians migrate under PPP gov't rule of 23 yrs

Region 6 had 152k in 1980 and 142k in 1991.  A drop of 10k.

By 2012 Region 6 was a mere 109k.   There was a net drop of 33k in Region 6 UNDER THE PPP!

Unknown-1

Gil, that is a Queh Queh dance.  

I stand by what I said about PNC not being able to run a cake shop.

Bai, lemme tell yuh someting deep and true. PNC people can't run cake shop, eh? But is PNC people running bakeries fo donkey years. What is cake shop without bakery, bai?

Another PNC problem.

You and Cobra missing that PNC poling that you all used to get every night from your big black PNC husbands.  Well they left you as they got tired of your whining.  Learn to wine better and they might come back.

Rapist!