The afc/pnc need to keep their eyes on the prize and focus less on saru which have yielded zero so far. The country is losing revenue from mining because of the deplorable state of these backdam roads.

Sections of Puruni trail impassable

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
This Johann Earle photo shows a truck stuck along the roadway a few months ago at Kamaria, also in Region Seven

NATIONAL Mining Syndicate (NMS) President, Renrick Solomon, is echoing a call for government to repair the Puruni trail to facilitate faster and more affordable transportation services into mining districts accessible through it.

The Guyana Chronicle understands that the trail is used as the main access road for hundreds of backdams within the Puruni/Mazaruni mining district.

According to Solomon, some sections of the trail are so bad they are impossible to traverse.

Several years ago, it was in a usable state. Minibuses worked the Bartica to Puruni route and individuals even travelled into the Puruni landing and even to Turtle Creek Mazaruni, using either their own cars or taxis.

Now only bush trucks and land cruisers traverse the area.

Solomon recalled that during a meeting with Natural Resources Minister, Raphael Trotman,on March 29, the minister said road repairs would be done “shortly” along the Puruni road from Iterballi to Pappyshow.

The trail has deteriorated in recent years, placing a heavier financial burden on miners within the areas. Solomon explained that more fuel is consumed by trucks and land-cruisers and those vehicles take longer than usual to travel the route.
“Transportation cost goes up when the road is in that kind of state… usually (it) is $120,000 for a charter, now is $200, 000,” Solomon told The Guyana Chronicle.

Mining operators who purchase fuel within the districts now also have to pay more for fuel.

He said the entire Upper Mazaruni – from Kurupung to Apaiqua – also uses the trail for main access, as well as the Makapa backdam.

In a letter to the Editor published earlier this week, Secretary of the NMS, Leon Moses, said the deplorable state of the Puruni trail is distressing to miners and the slothful process in getting it repaired is unacceptable.

In the letter, Moses said he was expressing the “distress and the plight of miners who contribute significantly to the (Gross Domestic Product) GDP of this country. We pay a lot of royalties to the GGMC, which are supposed to be for the purpose of enhancing the mining industry. Roads are very important to miners in gaining access to their work lands”.

The letter stated that the trail is “one of the major roads” within the district and is currently in a deplorable state.

CLOSED OPERATIONS
The writer said while the national budget has already made accommodations for the Puruni trail construction project, “at this point, many miners have closed their dredges because it is very expensive and impossible to access their work ground. The road is impassible, trucks are being covered in slush, bikes and cruisers cannot pass and people are being stranded”.

He added: “Miners do not know who is responsible for the repairs and maintenance of roads and bridges. But at this moment, many of them need urgent attention. The syndicate body is appealing to the rightful authorities, to have these roads urgently dealt with because people’s lives are disrupted, vehicles are damaged and the journey that takes hours now takes days. This is a real nightmare and is unacceptable.”

Meanwhile, an article published in The Guyana Chronicle on March 14, 2017, noted that engineers had recently completed an assessment of an area, and several bridges and roadways linking Bartica and several other Region Seven (Cuyuni-Mazaruni) mining communities to Puruni will be repaired.

The article quoted Public Infrastructure Minister, David Patterson, as saying then, “a team just came out of the area this week; they were doing an assessment so as to repair them; they came out on Thursday,” Patterson said, adding that works will begin soon.

A truck driver along the trail had spoken to this publication in March.
“This situation is getting from bad to worse. I don’t know what it is going to take for the government to fix this road and these bridges; this is a disaster waiting to occur…. It would be nice to see the government taking action to fix this roadway, because miners have to use this road on a daily basis… I really hope that the road is fixed soon, because any day now these roads could give away.”

The truck driver said many of the bridges along the route have become rotten, maybe due to the bad weather and what he deemed to be reckless use of the roadway and bridges.

Guyanese were building roads since 1838 and still they don't know how to.

We aught to bring back Jagdeo, the only president who achieved greatness in  building roads,  Bridges, Kokars, Airports, Office buildings, Hotels, Supermarkets, Wharves, Holiday resorts, Stadiums,  Housing schemes and a list of hundreds of others.

Since March the the people complaining and jackass Patterson only now wake up. The PNC moving at the speed of a donkey cart.

A truck driver along the trail had spoken to this publication in March.
“This situation is getting from bad to worse. I don’t know what it is going to take for the government to fix this road and these bridges; this is a disaster waiting to occur…. It would be nice to see the government taking action to fix this roadway, because miners have to use this road on a daily basis… I really hope that the road is fixed soon, because any day now these roads could give away

Drivers, porters up in arms over deplorable hinterland roads

Written By Devina Samaroo

Truck drivers and porters are frequently left stranded – sometimes for weeks – as they struggle to traverse deplorable loam roads that are flooded with large potholes which only sink deeper during the current rainy season.

The drivers are demanding better conditions since significant sums of money are being lost, almost every time they venture into the interior regions to ply their trade.

However, the Ministry of Public Infrastructure has indicated its efforts to maintain the roads are being counteracted by the very truck operators.

Sunil Doodnauth, a truck operator for over four years, told News Room that just last week, one of just trucks was stuck on the Puruni – Pappishou Corridor for approximately one week and his workmen were stranded without food.

“The road is very bad. You does get stuck in there behind a set of trucks who already stick up. Sometimes you does tek a whole day to try to come around one hole. Nuff trucks does be together, five or six trucks and you does gotto help mattee out,” he explained.

Another driver, Ricky Ranjee vented to News Room about the same Puruni – Pappishou trail, though he noted that there are other hinterland roads that pose similar difficulties.

“I come from Mahdia just now and there’s a big hill going in to Mahdia and it got six or eight truck there that can’t reach up the hill. You left going up halfway and then sliding down back,” he explained.

According to Ranjee, “as soon as you left Linden and you go on the red road, all them vehicles sticking up right deh.”

The truck operator always complained about the hefty expenses incurred as a result of the damages sustained whilst travelling on hinterland roads.

“Every trip you go in and come back, you gotto repair. The road so bad sometimes the power box break, the gear box, the engine. Sometimes the ration you carry for people, it get wet up, sometimes you gotto dismantle the whole truck in the mud. By time you do that two or three times, most of the stuff spoil. The fuel might be the only thing that left good,” he explained.

Ministry’s response

One citizen raised her concerns with the Ministry of Public Infrastructure as both her brother and her nephew have to endure those harsh conditions.

In the correspondence seen by News Room, the Ministry laid the blame on the truck operators.

“The Ministry’s efforts are being counteracted by operators of private mining or mining-related businesses who choose to use overladen trucks on the roads and engage in other forms of misuse,” the Ministry stated.

It explained that as a result, “the life-spans of these roadways have been significantly reduced, thus compromising the safety standards initially set.”

The Ministry emphasised that it spent significant sums of monies last year in the hinterland regions for the rehabilitation of the roadways.

“Specifically, $54.5M was spent in 2016 to repair the Puruni – Itaballi Corridor. This corridor is still under its maintenance period. Furthermore, in 2017, $100M was allocated to improve the Puruni – Pappishou Corridor,” the Ministry noted

I wnder why the slop can crew absent from this thread? Why our chief slop can carrier djangy didn't even bother to post this story?  Now you know why they call them pnc news boys.

A road cannot lay an egg.

That is not a road, back dam is more like it. Repairs are in order but at the same time they should look at using the soil that's being removed from the mining site. I heard some if not most of this material is tossed along the riverbanks and into the river changing the layout and depth of the rivers after years of doing so.

Ramakant-P posted:

Guyanese were building roads since 1838 and still they don't know how to.

We aught to bring back Jagdeo, the only president who achieved greatness in  building roads,  Bridges, Kokars, Airports, Office buildings, Hotels, Supermarkets, Wharves, Holiday resorts, Stadiums,  Housing schemes and a list of hundreds of others.

this fool want to give me a laugh 

A road cannot lay an egg.

That is not a road, back dam is more like it. Repairs are in order but at the same time they should look at using the soil that's being removed from the mining site. I heard some if not most of this material is tossed along the riverbanks and into the river changing the layout and depth of the rivers after years of doing so.

rass bai, yuh gone off tangent to become environmentalist.  The mining industry laying the golden egg, that white stuff must be having an effect on your brain. Most of the mining is land mining. River mining is hit and miss. 

Ok so I might have screwed up with this one, so what in ur opinion do you think should be looked at? 

Jackass granger need to fix the road, end of story. Mining is the only saving grace to Guyana's economy today. He already kill sugar and rice, now our jackass looking to kill mining via neglect. 

U think that road suddenly caved in? Wanna bet it was already busting up during ur guy's rule and he didnt care...these guys now doing the same shyte. 

There are few seasoned putagee miners in Guyana, you apparently are not from that lot. Let me educate you. Laterite roads are perfect during dry weather and are solid like concrete. However in rainy weather they become severely compromised, especially at the low points where water collects and uphill where the friction of truck wheels is more. The bottom line, these particular areas need constant maintenance, there is no onetime fix. It is an ongoing task. The bridges, made of wooden beams are also structures that require constant maintenance as they give out due to failure in the wooden material.