Former Commissioner of Police Felix failed the security sector …now serves as APNU M.P.PDFPrintE-mail
Written by    
Tuesday, 29 January 2013 22:19

FORMER Commissioner of Police, now APNU Member of Parliament, Winston Felix, may have sabotaged efforts at police reform as he pursued an agenda against the success of the PPP/C Administration. Several senior ranks of the Guyana Police Force say they felt betrayed by Felix, given the fact that he chose to oppose efforts aimed at reforming

t

alt

Former Police Commissioner Winston Felix

he security sector with the aim of improving its crime fighting capacity and responsiveness. The feelings of betrayal and discord came as ranks who spoke to the Guyana Chronicle, under promise of anonymity, noted his continued posture on the issue of reforming the force, despite the fact that he was a long-standing member of the institution. “I disagree with Felix and the APNU. I believe that his political involvement at a national level has clouded his ability to provide any independent leadership or oversight of the security sector”, a senior police rank opined. The rank said that “Felix went at lengths to find faults and shortcomings with the recommendations made by the government and Minister of Home Affairs, Clement Rohee, but could not try to, at least, support aspects of the proposed reforms that were good for the force and its ranks. This is selfish and not becoming of a former independent member of the police force. It’s shameful”, the rank stated vehemently. Another senior rank said that he was “not surprised by the move” and position taken by Felix to deny the force any form of improvement, given his track record in office and the bare truth that crime escalated under his watch. The rank reminded the Guyana Chronicle that Felix still has not managed to give any realistic and believable explanation for the reasons why a wanted man or drug lord would call a sitting Police Commissioner “a good” friend. In a full page ad paid for by now convicted drug trafficker and phantom squad boss, Roger Khan, admitted that he was a close friend of then Commissioner of Police Winston Felix. Felix is now on the opposition APNU's platform and is also their spokesperson on security issues. Khan had committed himself to stand before a Commission of Inquiry to answer any questions about his relationship with the former Police Commissioner, while asking if the police official was prepared to do the same or even undergo a polygraph test, the senior rank recounted. “It’s a disgrace that Felix would now seek to deprive the ranks of the Guyana Police Force the opportunities announced by Minister Rohee, as he pursues the APNU’s selfish political agenda”, that rank argued. Several other officers have also been expressing their reservations about the reasoning offered by the former embattled Police Commissioner who was also fingered and recorded as having conversations with PNC/R MP and Executive Member, Basil Williams about several questionable activities at a time when the country was under duress. “We must not forget the opposition’s role in Buxton, their glorification of criminals, Felix’s dancing over solving crimes and moving against suspicious elements aligned to his opposition comrades who declared the criminals were “freedom fighters”. It was the late Desmond Hoyte who told the criminals to “keep up” the pressure and the band of the opposition who worked with criminal elements, hoping they would succeed in destabilizing the government. Felix tries to use the absence of inquiry to cloud his role in the opposition crime plan, his actions and inactions. What Felix knows, he should say, truthfully and quickly. What did he mean when he said in the taped conversation, he “diverted them.’’ I know history has already recorded Felix as the worst possible police commissioner”, another letter writer noted in a previous submission to this publication. The feeling of betrayal by ranks of the Police Force also came against the backdrop of concerns that were raised by former Home Affairs Minister, Gail Texiera, about Felix’s comfort while in office and no action on several issues. The former Home Affairs Minister had accused former commissioner, Felix of failing to control the crime spree during his tenure at the helm of the Guyana Police Force, saying he was diverted by a very narrow focus on now convicted drug lord Roger Khan. “…I am convinced, as the minister then, that we had enough to be able to get on top of that crime situation to save lives, but we were not able to do it because it appears now…that the Commissioner of Police…had diverted his attention in a very narrow direction”, she argued.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 29 January 2013 22:21

Originally Posted by TK:

Haha. What a big fat joke. PPP always blames others for their failure to do what is necessary and secure the people.

This over yuh head Bhai. You will never understand. When yuh gun stand next to Burke again in Brooklyn and shout " PPP MUST GO". Show me your friends and I;ll tell who you ARE"

Originally Posted by TK:

Haha. What a big fat joke. PPP always blames others for their failure to do what is necessary and secure the people.

This over yuh head Bhai. You will never understand. When yuh gun stand next to Burke again in Brooklyn and shout " PPP MUST GO". Show me your friends and I;ll tell who you ARE"

I never spoke to Burke in my life. I saw him once standing about 8 feet from me. You on the other hand participate in the raping of the monies of the poor. You eat henny and poke cuttahs with Jagdeo paid for by the people's monies. 

Originally Posted by TK:

I never spoke to Burke in my life. I saw him once standing about 8 feet from me. You on the other hand participate in the raping of the monies of the poor. You eat henny and poke cuttahs with Jagdeo paid for by the people's monies. 

AND YOU ARE THE MOST STINKING LIAR ON THE PLANET!!! YUH RUNNING FROM BURKE NOW!!!

I told when you shout the excrement in your head spews out your mouth and muck up this board. There is nothing from which to run. It is just a figment of your dung  brain.  

Originally Posted by TK:

I told when you shout the excrement in your head spews out your mouth and muck up this board. There is nothing from which to run. It is just a figment of your dung  brain.  

WEre you with Burke at a HATE Rally in Bklyn??/

Originally Posted by TK:

Ganga Persaud I don't need to indulge you.

Originally Posted by TK:

Now you are confused, a LIAR and a stinking one at that.

Originally Posted by TK:

The answer is staring you in your face right on this thread. But being dunce with a low IQ is your let down. 

Originally Posted by TK:

The answer is staring you in your face right on this thread. But being dunce with a low IQ is your let down. 

YOU ON vIDEO SO KEEP ON lying!!!!

Originally Posted by TK:

Well then show the video with me and Burke

Originally Posted by TK:

Did both of you addressed the HATE Rally claiming Guyana has a RACIST Indo Govt which is killing young AfroGuyanese, YES OR NO!!!!

Originally Posted by TK:

Did both of you addressed the HATE Rally claiming Guyana has a RACIST Indo Govt which is killing young AfroGuyanese, YES OR NO!!!!

NO...you must be drunk right? 

Originally Posted by TK:

So now you are a CERTIFIED LIAR!!!!

Originally Posted by TK:

So now you are a CERTIFIED LIAR!!!!

As I said if you were a man provide the evidence. But you are just a gurly man. 

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/hxLsnqYfphw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Are you next to him standind listening to RACIST Benshit?? YES OR NO?

Moron ...now you are changing the topic. I have met Benshop in person and was on his radio once. So there is nothing to deny. I thought you said I know Burke. I don't know the man nor have I ever spoken to him. 

Originally Posted by TK:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/hxLsnqYfphw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Moron ...now you are changing the topic. I have met Benshop in person and was on his radio once. So there is nothing to deny. I thought you said I know Burke. I don't know the man nor have I ever spoken to him. 

Were you with him at that Rally? YES OR NO.

Originally Posted by TK:

Read the thread nah dunce Ganga Persaud. 

Originally Posted by TK:

Read the thread nah dunce Ganga Persaud. 

Birds of a feather flock together.

Oh yeah...boy do we know that. And we know who hangs out with CARICOM's greatest ever thiefman and gets free henny and poke from the top ranking thiefman. 

Originally Posted by TK:

Oh yeah...boy do we know that. And we know who hangs out with CARICOM's greatest ever thiefman and gets free henny and poke from the top ranking thiefman. 

So when you, Burky and Benny going to teach THE INDOCENTRIC , AFROKILLING PPP GOVT a lesson????/

Originally Posted by TK:

So when you, Burky and Benny going to teach THE INDOCENTRIC , AFROKILLING PPP GOVT a lesson????/

Ganga you lack common sense. I don't know about Burke. But the last I checked the efforts of AFC brought down the PPP to 48% when you were expecting 55-60%. Now that's a great lesson. More is to come. Get ready for your 40%. 

Originally Posted by TK:

Ganga you lack common sense. I don't know about Burke. But the last I checked the efforts of AFC brought down the PPP to 48% when you were expecting 55-60%. Now that's a great lesson. More is to come. Get ready for your 40%. 

TALK IS CHEAP. ANY HO CAN MAKE STATEMENTS OF IGNORANCE!!!

Originally Posted by TK:

Ganga we know you are good at hoing cheap talks here. You do anything for some free rum. 

Originally Posted by TK:

Ganga we know you are good at hoing cheap talks here. You do anything for some free rum. 

People like you will never give up to get POWA and PISA!!!!

Originally Posted by TK:

People like you will never give up to get POWA and PISA!!!!

Bai Ganga we all have power. How do you think your boys got 48%.

why you guys fight with nehru when he is drunk

Fight?? Meh heighba does sey " FACTS AND FIGGA NEVER LIE"

Except when yuh gettin de numbers from Rev Al