Police constable hangs self

Guyana is no place for young Indians to survive. Even law enforcement officers are under tremendous pressure that they turned to suicide to end their misery.

By Malisa Playter Harry - A mother is now devastated after her 18-year-old son was found hanging in his room at around 15:30 hours this afternoon.

Police Constable 22735, Sham Kumar Persaud of Lot 1215 Chapel Street New Amsterdam was found hanging in his bedroom by his mother, Jasmattie Goberdhan Dhanraj when she returned from work.

News Room visited the home of the dead teen where persons gathered to lend support to his mother.

Devastated Jasmattie Dhanraj [mother)

Devastated Jasmattie Dhanraj (mother)

The woman who is a nurse attached to the New Amsterdam Public Hospital explained that noticing the gate was in the same position she left it when she was heading to work earlier on Sunday, she thought her son was still asleep when she returned. This is not strange the woman relating since he was out on Saturday night with some friend.

However, after completing some chores, she decided to check on Persaud and discovered him with a rope around his neck, Dhanraj said.

The devastated woman said she immediately checked for a pulse but he was already dead. She then raised an alarm and neighbours started gathering to see what have happened. However, according to Dhanraj, Persaud’s phone which was in his room was misplaced.

It is believed that the young man committed suicide following an argument with his girlfriend who resides overseas.

Sham and his brother

Sham and his brother, Havendra in happier times

According to Persaud’s older brother, Havendra Kumar Persaud, after receiving the sad message, he contacted Persaud’s girlfriend via telephone to inform her of what transpired.

He revealed that the girl said she spoke with the deceased via video chat earlier in the day during which they had an argument.

“A comment was made between the two of them that they will not be together in this lifetime and I think that was what triggered him”, the brother said.

During today’s visit to the home, it was also disclosed that the teenager has been mulling committing suicide for some time.

According to one of Persaud’s cousin, the fight between the young couple has been ongoing for about three weeks. He said about two weeks ago, Persaud messaged him and asked him to tell his girlfriend that he was going to die. The cousin recalled that he cautioned Persaud against any such move while telling him that he had his mother and brother to live for.

However, this is not the only tragedy that is plaguing the family as it was disclosed that Dhanraj’s eldest son has been missing since May.

Meanwhile, the Commander of B’ Division Mr Ian Amsterdam visited the home of the grieving family to express his sympathy on behalf of himself and the Guyana Police Force B’ Division. He pointed out to media operatives that 200 constables who were recently trained were dispatched throughout the country and 41 constables were sent to Berbice, Sham Persaud was one of those included in the 41.

Please share this with anyone you may know that is contemplating suicide.

The Guyana Inter-agency Suicide Helpline operates 24 hours, and is organised by the Guyana Police Force. Telephone -223-0001, 223-0009, 223-0818 Cellphone – 600-7896, 623-4444.

http://newsroom.gy/2016/08/08/...onstable-hangs-self/

He unfortunately, did not know that life can be beautiful and whatever the calamity that one may be forced to endure, endure we must because it is what makes life beautiful and of value. Here he lost his girl and thought  he lost his world. He just needed to know love is found over and over if only we look for it. This one was not real hence he died for nothing.

I remember at fifteen my girlfriend dumped me. Lets call her Indranie for the purpose of this story since I forgot her name. I was supposed to meet her at the Friday bob show. We had decided to skulk from school.

I got to the cinema a bit late and my friend who waited outside for me said, " you don't want to go in". I asked why.
He said, " just do not go in, lets go home".
I went in and there was Indranie with another dude trading breath mints put doing so with dexterous tongue gymnastics.
Was I distraught..devastated ...lost. But was I?

My aunt ( I called her mom because she raised me) asked, "why are you moping"?
My sister the tattle tale told of my misfortune and humiliation with ample flourishes and embellishments that i thought could only end if I could find a rope and a convenient tamarind tree. Those are useful trees for more than sour fruits...sour life as well or so I thought.

My aunt took me for a walk and said, "your heart is broken but do you know that you did the same to someone when you decide "Indranie" was the one?
I am glad she reminded me.

I went to see Mary to apologize for my poor behavior and lay my burdens on her receptive shoulders. And dare I say nothing is pretty as Mary in the morning. And I shall not forget her. I know her name...and it is called life.  That other one, I do not remember her. We are designed to forget the forgettable and remember only the meaningful. That is life

The point of this anecdote is that there is a fatalism in Indian culture especially and it sees only one path to outcomes in areas of love. I wish this fellow had a Mary or a mom like mine.

Life has so many possibilities and being dumped at his age should not be so overwhelming that he fail to see them. His family and his friends should have helped him find his Mary. He would have had more mornings as well.

Many young East Indian Guyanese women of today are being influenced by the quick false lifestyle of Hollywood and Bollywood combined with the 17th century Englishman Pirate lifestyle of the Caribbean Creole culture. This letal combination is destroying young East Indian Guyanese women and men. That is why the East Indian people of Guyana have to strive to get their own independent sovereign country where they can promote the goodness of the traditional values and norms of the heritage of our people to our youth and young people.

I quote" Guyana is no place for young Indians to survive. Even law enforcement officers are under tremendous pressure that they turned to suicide to end their misery." end of quote.

So Guyana is to be blamed for this suicide according to Malisa Playter Harry. And this person calls herself a news-reporter, lovers quarrel and commit suicide and Guyana gets the blame, shame on you Mal,you get a grade F.

Many young East Indian Guyanese women of today are being influenced by the quick false lifestyle of Hollywood and Bollywood combined with the 17th century Englishman Pirate lifestyle of the Caribbean Creole culture. This letal combination is destroying young East Indian Guyanese women and men. That is why the East Indian people of Guyana have to strive to get their own independent sovereign country where they can promote the goodness of the traditional values and norms of the heritage of our people to our youth and young people.

You are being silly for laying this at the foot of women. This is a weak fellow who was not provided with the mental will to overcome obstacles. For those of us who spent teen development years in Europe and NA, how many "girlfriends" walked out on us or we walked out on? I think my fingers and toes do not suffice to represent the number.  This fellow was weak and pathetic and buried his reality in one little girl and she was right not to carry him. He needed to be taught how to stand up.

gogo posted:

I quote" Guyana is no place for young Indians to survive. Even law enforcement officers are under tremendous pressure that they turned to suicide to end their misery." end of quote.

So Guyana is to be blamed for this suicide according to Malisa Playter Harry. And this person calls herself a news-reporter, lovers quarrel and commit suicide and Guyana gets the blame, shame on you Mal,you get a grade F.

Those words do not belong to the writer. We have a fellow here, the originator of the thread, who is a bit slow in the head and if you combine that with his chronically racism you get the toxic brew we call stupidity. Yes, those are cobra's words not the writer of the article Ms Malisa Playter Harry.

THis Chap dont realize is not one Punaani in this world. As a Police Officer he would have gotten Punnani by the dozen. What a foolish way to go.

My sympathies to his Mom.

When a young man in love.....

RiffRaff posted:

THis Chap dont realize is not one Punaani in this world. As a Police Officer he would have gotten Punnani by the dozen. What a foolish way to go.

Yes but is not one woman in the World, I Rass does fall in love everytime I look under another skirt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

RiffRaff posted:

Yes but is not one woman in the World, I Rass does fall in love everytime I look under another skirt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

but you nah young...ah seh young man

Excerpts from Stormborn love story.

I remember at fifteen my girlfriend dumped me. Lets call her Indranie for the purpose of this story since I forgot her name.

Prince, Stay quiet bai. Stormy is well documented on this BB for tall tales. Lend me your ears and I will tell you some tales. How can you forget the girlfriend who violently dumped you? I am sure this was a volcanic event for him.

RiffRaff posted:

Says who??  Meh sweethoman does call me young Boy charlie.

I am not making fun of this young man, but I was young once and I know a thing or two about love at that age. At 18, I was still a virgin. I had a strict bringing up. (I know teacha Gilbakka may disagree). Due to my good looks, girls would make pass at me. I was getting offer to get marry, and I couldn't wipe my batty properly. I was lucky I wasn't raped by them. but I made many wise decisions as a young man that saved me from being trapped or falling in love so badly to commit suicide. I was kind to neighbors that I couldn't say no to them when they asked me to shop for them. At 18, women would send me to buy maxi- pad and I didn't know what they used it for. I was that naive. 

RiffRaff posted:

Says who??  Meh sweethoman does call me young Boy charlie.

With men: It's not how old you look, it's how young you feel. Wah rass wrang wid Riff?

.century Englishman Pirate lifestyle of the Caribbean Creole culture. .

How come Nigerians and Ghanaians feel so comfortable around Caribbean blacks if our culture is reduced to English pirate culture?  In fact there is much evidence of Caribbean culture being absorbed into those countries.

How come English people think that we are too rowdy and dramatic?  Do you know the tremendous violence that was directed towards Caribbean people by English people because they felt assaulted by our presence and mode of behavior?

The Creole culture represents the interaction of African enslaved people with the Europeans (and Amerindians) who they encountered. It draws from African elements as it does from colonial Europe.

INDO Creole culture has evolved similarly where they again had to develop a way to exist within a colonial environment dominated by Europeans, and with the Creole blacks among whom they often had to live and work.

You have an inferiority complex which you seriously need to deal with.  Why if you hate Caribbean creole culture so much did you marry a woman from that culture? I have a serious suspicion that the dominant culture in your household is that Caribbean Creole culture.  Is this behavior because your wife wears the pants in your household?

Suicide as a serious problem among Indians. Doesn't matter whether it is in Trinidad, Guyana, Suriname, Mauritius or India itself.

In fact some one posted here a while ago about an article from a Nevis paper where they were calling suicide a Guyanese (Indian) thing.  That was because the 1,000  Guyanese Indians on that island had generated MORE suicides than the 11,000 others who live there.

So you and the rest of your brown bai KKK need to stop blaming blacks for this Indian problem!

Excerpts from Stormborn love story.

I remember at fifteen my girlfriend dumped me. Lets call her Indranie for the purpose of this story since I forgot her name.

Prince, Stay quiet bai. Stormy is well documented on this BB for tall tales. Lend me your ears and I will tell you some tales. How can you forget the girlfriend who violently dumped you? I am sure this was a volcanic event for him.

you who claim to be firmly founded in the literary tradition should deduce from the text the forgetting is deliberate because she is better left unnamed since she did not matter, does not matter and never will matter in the larger context of didactic learning.