NDIA alleged fraudâ€ĶCEO approves millions in illegal spending

October 14, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

An audit report for April 5 to September 30, 2012 has fingered National Drainage and Irrigation Authority (NDIA)’s Chief Executive Officer in a scheme involving the approval of millions in illegal payments.
The report, which was prepared by the then Field Auditor, Pablo Singh, stated that funds, released under the Community Drainage and  Improvement Project (CDIP), were misappropriated by the Chief Executive Officer, Lionel Wordsworth, and that even the Minister of Agriculture benefited from the fraud.

Minister Leslie amsammy

CDIP was established in 2006 by the Caribbean Development Bank to the tune of US$5.050M ($1billion). The programme was funded in 2007 directly through the Ministry of Finance, with a sum of $800M and shifted to the Ministry of Agriculture under NDIA.
According to the report, which was seen by Kaieteur News, no financials for NDIA was prepared reflecting the expenditure of the project. NIDA is required to maintain its own accounting records and is subject to separate reporting and audit.
It was recommended that financial statements for NDIA should be immediately prepared monthly, including CDIP’s releases and expenditure and supporting systems put in place so that the NIDA Act of 2004 is complied with.
Singh, who was dismissed last year from NDIA for breaching protocol by sending the damning audit report to President Donald Ramotar, discovered a series of financial irregularities in the operations of the entity. Singh had recommended the dismissal of Wordsworth and a Senior Engineer Aneel Chowbay. Besides the non-renewal of Chowbay’s contract, no other action was taken at the entity.
Payment to MMA
The report stated on May 28, 2012, $2M requested by the Accountant was approved by the CEO and paid to Mahaica/Mahaicony Abary Agricultural Development Authority (MMA-ADA), Region Five, without any documented reason, appropriation or a request from the Region.
It was noted that a CDIP staff and the Accountant signed an MMA-ADA receipt as receiving the $2M cheque, instead of a designated MMA-ADA staff on June 1, 2012.
The report stated the Accountant and an individual, who was identified, confirmed no works were done, but MMA-ADA claimed $7.8M on February 24, 2013 and March 29, 2012 for the month of February 2012.
The Region was asked by Wordsworth to suspend works for the month of February due to cash flow problems.

Lionel Wordsworth, CEO

“It is audit’s opinion that this disbursement by CDIP approved by the CEO-NDIA was illegal since no work was done,” the report stated.
Breach of Procurement Act
Singh reported that the procurement process was breached by NDIA deliberately sole-sourcing Phoenix payroll application from Phoenix Software for $825,000 on January 19, 2012, instead of utilizing the open tendering process. “It must be noted that there are other providers of payroll applications available at the time,” the report said.
Though there should be no negotiations between the procuring entity and bidders, NDIA re-negotiated with Phoenix Software, resulting in the procurement of the application for $799,000. “It is audit’s opinion that the breach of the Procurement Act 2003 and findings under this section were fraudulent by manipulating the open tendering/quotation procurement process avoiding the review and approval of NPTAB,” the report stated.
Minister Ali Baksh
According to the report, $10,000 of the CDIP funds was used to cover transportation costs for two truck-loads of items from Food for the Poor to Minister within the Ministry of Agriculture Ali Baksh’s residence in Campbellville. The request for payment was done by the Ministry’s Permanent Secretary, George Jervis and approved by Wordsworth.
Minister Dr. Leslie Ramsammy
The report revealed that office furniture for Dr. Ramsammy’s office, costing $402,000 was illegally paid to Starcomm using CDIP funds. The CEO who approved the payment explained that the Permanent Secretary submitted the request.
Payments to New Thriving Restaurant
Singh’s audit unearthed that a sum of money, reportedly spent on a technical meeting under the CDIP, was actually spent for a farewell function and personal use.
The report revealed that payment of $70,000 was incorrectly made using a quotation for dinner to New Thriving Restaurant via cheque dated August 14, 2012. The dinner was for participants attending a meeting with technical staff and overseas visitors on the said date.
The Company Secretary, who was responsible for the payment of the bill, allegedly made an additional claim of $36,618 and deliberately stated the expenses were for the technical meeting.
The report said a breakdown of the total cost of $106,618 revealed that $45,702 was spent on August 14 and $2,538 and $58,378 were spent on August 17 and 24.
It was noted that upon inquiry on September 9, the Company Secretary admitted that the monies were utilized for an attachment staff’s farewell and $2,538 was used for his personal expense and proceeded to refund the money the next day.
“It is audit’s opinion that (name given) Company Secretary made an attempt to pay his personal bill using CDIP’s fund and misrepresented the additional costs by stating the monies were for the technical meeting.
Singh had recommended, “Disciplinary action should be taken against the Company Secretary for his initial misrepresentation of expenses subsequently corrected upon audit’s intervention."

Minister Ali Baksh
According to the report, $10,000 of the CDIP funds was used to cover transportation costs for two truck-loads of items from Food for the Poor to Minister within the Ministry of Agriculture Ali Baksh’s residence in Campbellville. The request for payment was done by the Ministry’s Permanent Secretary, George Jervis and approved by Wordsworth.

Payment to MMA

The report stated on May 28, 2012, $2M requested by the Accountant was approved by the CEO and paid to Mahaica/Mahaicony Abary Agricultural Development Authority (MMA-ADA), Region Five, without any documented reason, appropriation or a request from the Region.It was noted that a CDIP staff and the Accountant signed an MMA-ADA receipt as receiving the $2M cheque, instead of a designated MMA-ADA staff on June 1, 2012.The report stated the Accountant and an individual, who was identified, confirmed no works were done, but MMA-ADA claimed $7.8M on February 24, 2013 and March 29, 2012 for the month of February 2012.The Region was asked by Wordsworth to suspend works for the month of February due to cash flow problems.

Lionel Wordsworth, CEO

“It is audit’s opinion that this disbursement by CDIP approved by the CEO-NDIA was illegal since no work was done,” the report stated.

There is no obligation on the accused or his or her counsel to make any disclosure of a relationship with a juror to the trial judge

Posted By Staff Writer On October 20, 2013 In Letters |

Dear Editor,

In the absence of a commentary from either the Guyana Bar Association or its female counterpart the Guyana Association of Women Lawyers, I am sending this communication for publication in response to Mr. Harry Gill’s letter published in the Chronicle’s edition of 17 August 2013, critical of Mr. Nigel Hughes, Attorney-at-Law, in his capacity as defence counsel, for not disclosing to the trial judge at the recently concluded criminal sessions of the High Court, a previous Attorney – client relationship with a member of the jury, in his practice at the Bar.

It is my opinion from research I have conducted in this matter, that whereas the law and practice of the legal profession with our common law traditions require counsel for the prosecution to disclose to the trial judge in a criminal matter any relationship between a juror and the accused, there is no corresponding obligation on the accused or his or her counsel to make any such disclosure to the trial judge.

In my opinion, it is significant that the trial judge His Honour Mr. Justice Navindra Singh, did not require Mr. Hughes to offer any explanation after disclosure of the fact that he had formerly acted as counsel for the juror in a previous matter, was made.

It is therefore with concern that I note a headline in your edition of 13 October 2013 – Cops probing Hughes’ ties to banned juror.  If there is no obligation to disclose on the part of defence counsel, what could the police be probing, and more importantly, what could have motivated them to do so?  Was there a complaint made by someone of which the public is unaware?  And if so, what offence was allegedly committed?  It does not augur well for the recently confirmed Commissioner of Police Mr. Brumell to have his subordinates investigating matters which cannot form the basis for any criminal charge.

Yours faithfully, Brynmor T.I. Pollard, SC.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The Hugheses has become "untouchables" in the AFC camp, any one who dares to question their authority has risk character assassination and expulsion from that political gathering....

Karma gave him a first warning.

I said all along that the PPP government should have left him in the forest. Karma will not be so kind the second time around. In the meanwhile, Moses and Rumjattan have become his yard dog and Dhobi (washer persons).

Mitjuanita hoping to score a lil bai battie:

Say what?

Mits, I heard that you've been tryin to score in Goads mouth? Dat true?

He has bad breath. When he speaks to people the faint and he thinks that they are falling at his feet. He sitting on his goadee obviously. hahahahahah!

Mitjuanita hoping to score a lil bai battie:

Say what?

Mits, I heard that you've been tryin to score in Goads mouth? Dat true?

He has bad breath. When he speaks to people the faint and he thinks that they are falling at his feet. He sitting on his goadee obviously. hahahahahah!

This will advance the debate by leap years!

Those two fellows play one for one, mitjuanita and CoCaine, both pedophiles and butt buddies when they luck out on lil bias.

That amral gives you complete reign to participate in this awful disregard fort the seriousness of sex with children reflects on him as well. That you think you can use the injury to children  for your own vicarious and nasty politics does not defile Cain or Mitts. You can imaging rain on the plains of Spain but it is your imagination. The fact remains that Amral knows Cain and possibly Mitts and he should have the courage to sanction your miserable and deviant preoccupation with child molestation.

Those two fellows play one for one, mitjuanita and CoCaine, both pedophiles and butt buddies when they luck out on lil bias.

Doan get us mistaken, is yo Mudda we does play with.

Cain and Mits....

I see aya`messing up Hydro walla & Sugrim Today...

aya calling dem banna

"Dangerous Worm", Cockeyed, Drunk

and all kinda name

But please tell us

How many Sugrims

can fit comfortable in this sack

man-with-the-132-lb-scrotum

GNI wants to know

Originally Posted by Danyael:

That amral gives you complete reign to participate in this awful disregard fort the seriousness of sex with children reflects on him as well. That you think you can use the injury to children  for your own vicarious and nasty politics does not defile Cain or Mitts. You can imaging rain on the plains of Spain but it is your imagination. The fact remains that Amral knows Cain and possibly Mitts and he should have the courage to sanction your miserable and deviant preoccupation with child molestation.

He may know these two pedophiles, that is why he allow them to run wild and attack me on a daily basis. Now I adapt the most effective defense, a relentless offense. They now send you to beg for mercy but I already told them the solution, that is to issue a public apology for the years of harassment that they put me through with the support of the admin. 

Quote Hydro_Seed: He may know these two pedophiles, that is why he allow them to run wild and attack me on a daily basis.

Now I adapt the most effective defense, a relentless offense.

They now send you to beg for mercy but I already told them the solution, that is to issue a public apology for the years of harassment that they put me through with the support of the admin.

Walla is that a Prison Suit ...

just checking....

because yuh know abee cant cut or

destroy federal property.

man-with-the-132-lb-scrotum

Hydro who harassing Yuh?

Leh abee know....

abee gon fix um fuh yuh...

when yuh ready just give abee lil notice

suh abee could get de supplies together

like cutting torch, nuff gas &

couple Catipilla Bulldozer & Bob Cat

Couple Garbage Truck fuh de Disposal...

This operation can finish in a day

if we get about 60 highly skilled operators

pun de job.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

He may know these two pedophiles, that is why he allow them to run wild and attack me on a daily basis. Now I adapt the most effective defense, a relentless offense. They now send you to beg for mercy but I already told them the solution, that is to issue a public apology for the years of harassment that they put me through with the support of the admin. 

The problem here is you lack the ethical boundary that any ordinary person would draw between silly name calling and an odious misuse of a serious tragedy

Sensible people know it is a  matter one does not  play around with. The plan and simple truth is you are a sick, morally depraved individual who takes the  serious subject  on perverse abuse of little children as game.

You are that sick shit head one sees parodied  in the  low budget movies, who plays around with body parts in a morgue. Shame on you and the administrators of this site for letting you continue with this perversity as funny.