July 11, 2017 Source

The police yesterday issued wanted bulletins for two other inmates believed to have escaped on Sunday afternoon during the Camp Street prison unrest, but last night withdrew one of the names stating that the prisoner had been accounted for.

Meanwhile, Crime Chief Wendell Blanhum has said that several measures have been put in place to recapture the escapees, who may now be four in number.

This development came less than one day after the police confirmed via wanted bulletins that Mark Royden Williams and Uree Varswyk were two of the escapees. Two others had been identified yesterday by the police as Stafrei Hopkinson Alexander and Sherwin Nero also known as Sherwin Moses called “Catty”.

However, hours after the release of these two bulletins yesterday, Public Relations Officer of the Guyana Police Force Jairam Ramlakhan related last evening that Nero had been positively identified and accounted for by a senior prison official.

At the time of their escape, the prisoners were said to be armed.

When contacted yesterday, Blanhum informed Stabroek News that several measures including the establishment of countrywide roadblocks had been put in place in an effort to recapture the prisoners.

He said that apart from the roadblocks, the police have been working along with intelligence operatives. He also said that they have informed their overseas counterparts including the neighbouring countries to be on the alert.

Additionally, he said, several searches were conducted in various communities.

Stabroek News understands that following their escape, the inmates hijacked a car which was later found at North Ruimveldt. The driver of the car had not been located up to last evening. (See story on page 13)

Meanwhile, police reported the arrest of another inmate, Shawn Collins, 20, of Ketley and Drysdale streets, Charlestown around 1.15 am yesterday.

Collins reportedly slipped through the cordon on Sunday evening. He was spotted by the police on patrol duty at Hadfield Street and was promptly apprehended.

Other information reaching this newspaper was that inmate Dennis Williams called ‘Anaconda’ may have assisted with the escape plan. As such, he is expected to be questioned by the police today.

Up to late yesterday afternoon, officials from the prison service were conducting head counts to determine if all of the over 1,000 inmates who were housed at the Camp Street jail had been accounted for.

Escapees

According to information retrieved from the Stabroek News archives, Williams had previously attempted to escape lawful custody while Alexander had escaped and was later recaptured.

In a press release, the police confirmed yesterday afternoon that Alexander, 32, was wanted for questioning in relation to murder and escape from lawful custody (Georgetown Prison).

Alexander, also known as “Anthony Williams” and “Ratty,” whose last known address was Laing Avenue, Georgetown was on remand for the murders of Linden businesswoman Shevon Gordon in April 2015; Richard Remington between February 9 and February 12, 2015, at Cholmondeley Hill, Wismar, Linden and his co-accused in the murder of Gordon, Robin Maxwell Thomas.

Alexander had escaped from the Mackenzie Police Station in December 2015 while on remand for the murder of Gordon. He was recaptured and charged with the two other murders.

Mark Royden Williams, called `Smallie,’ of Friendship/Buxton, East Coast Demerara (ECD) and Dennis Williams called `Anaconda,’ were both convicted on the lesser count of manslaughter on charges stemming from an attack at Bartica in which gunmen had killed 12 persons.

Varswyk of Lot 30 Church Street, Zeskenderen, Mahaicony, ECD was recently committed to stand trial for murder. He is accused of being involved in the murders of Guyana Geology and Mines Commission engineer Trevor Abrams and security guard Wilfred Stewart during a raid at the Sterling Products Limited (SPL) offices at Providence in 2014. He was committed to stand trial for the murder of Abrams on June 30 this year and in November 2016 for the murder of Stewart.

Anyone with information that may lead to the arrests of these inmates are asked to contact the police on telephone numbers 225-6411, 226-1389, 227-2128, 226-7065, 225-2227, 225-0575, 911 or the nearest police station.

Kaneville man found at Vigilance after reported abduction by prison escapees.

July 11, 2017 Source

A Kaneville man was who had been missing since Sunday afternoon after he was reportedly abducted at gunpoint by prisoners who broke out of the Camp Street jail, turned up alive last night at the Vigilance Police Station.

Matthew Shivtahal, 22, of Kaneville, Grove, East Bank Demerara, had been reported missing and Commander of ‘A’ Division Marlon Chapman had revealed that the man’s car, PKK 4103, was found abandoned at North Ruimveldt.

Chapman did not reveal details about the reported hijacking but stated that it was being investigated.

Matthew Shivtahal

Shivtahal’s common-law wife, Rovanie Kharmattie, told Stabroek News that she last saw her husband on Sunday afternoon, when he left home to make his way to Industry, East Coast Demerara, to pick up some family members.

“He drop some family members in Industry around 11 am and was going back for them around 4 pm,” she said.

Kharmattie said that it was around 5.30 pm that she received a call from someone who informed her that four men had abducted her husband with his car. The wife said that she made a report to the Grove Police Station about what had happened.

Matthew Shivtahal’s car in the compound of the East La Penitence Police Station, where it was taken after being found abandoned in North Ruimveldt.

According to her, Shivtahal was in Georgetown with a female family member and five children. “What I hear is that they stop my husband and a [dreadlocked] man hold he up and put a gun to his head. They ordered everyone to come out the car,” Kharmattie explained. She said the female family member told her that her husband also exited the car but the men ordered him to get back in and to drive them.

Kharmattie said that yesterday morning the police from Grove Police Station called and informed her that a car matching the description of her husband’s was found abandoned behind North Ruimveldt. She said the car was taken to East La Penitence Police Station, where she and her mother in-law later went to verify that it was her husband’s vehicle.

Worried for her husband’s safety, Kharmattie had appealed for help in locating him. Shivtahal’s family also took to social media and did the same.

THE GADAHA WENT ON RECORD AND PROMISED THE GUYANESE PEOPLE THAT ALL PRISONERS WILL BE BACK IN CAGES IN 12 HOURS. DJANGO USE YOUR FINGERS AND TELL ME HOW MANY HOURS GONE, IF STILL TOO DIFFICULT TO TO STAPLES AND BUY A CALCULATOR AND ASK YUH NEIGHBA WHICH KEYS TO PUSH TO GET THE ANSWERS.

Listen Banna,everything under control,you wished it could have been worse,suh you can continue your useless prattle.

Kudos to the Security Forces,Job well done!!

Time to apprehend the three escapees,which they are working on.

Like I said, you cannot count . You blind, deaf and dumb. I guess I am wasting my time!!!

Look in the mirror.

Surely you are wasting your time,Django way..way.. ahead of you.

Listen Banna,everything under control,you wished it could have been worse,suh you can continue your useless prattle.

PNC Defense Attorney really believe that only three escaped out of 1,018 people in the prison???? 

Four of them alone abducted Matthew Shivtahal and stole his car which was used in their getaway.

Like You learn to count from Surajbally?

Like I said, you cannot count . You blind, deaf and dumb. I guess I am wasting my time!!!

Look in the mirror.

Why?? You are a CERTIFIED IDIOT, ASS KISSER and DUMB FOOL all in one!!!!

PNC Defense Attorney really believe that only three escaped out of 1,018 people in the prison???? 

Four of them alone abducted Matthew Shivtahal and stole his car which was used in their getaway.

Bibiski,you late catch up with the current news info.

Look in the mirror.

You fit the above.

Bana you got time to waste.......

Kharmattie said that it was around 5.30 pm that she received a call from someone who informed her that four men had abducted her husband with his car. The wife said that she made a report to the Grove Police Station about what had happened.

Bana you got time to waste.......

That "Gal" Bibiski is slow t@rass.

Look in the mirror.

You fit the above.

PNC Cabinet asses clean due to your diligence!!!

Look in the mirror.

You fit the above.

Keep those fantasy to yourself and your ilk.

I man don't swing suh.

Damn bai, it looks like Neru suggesting that you got additional responsibilities, cleaning pnc cabinet backside after they take a dump. 

The latest news is that Ramjattan doesn't have a clue how many escaped!

Seems like many think Ramjattan is a drunkie as per comments on facebook feeds. I suspect is because he got cock eye and looks discombobulated. I don't believe the man does knack the bottle hard. 

I man don't swing suh.

Damn bai, it looks like Neru suggesting that you got additional responsibilities, cleaning pnc cabinet backside after they take a dump. 

Duh chap does mek him self a Gadha,GNI is the only place he can vent behind the keyboard,in real life he is comparable to a mouse.

What the heck would road blocks do?  The President was  the head of our army and he has no clue how to catch 8 criminals.  Where are the helicopters and other equipment?  Or we don't have none.