COMMISSIONER of Police Leroy Brumell said that he is very disturbed at the details unfolding with respect to reports that a member of the Guyana Police Force had sexually brutalised 23-year-old Colwyn Harding.
During an interview with the Guyana Chronicle yesterday morning, the Police Commissioner said that when he was first informed of the matter by a relative of the young man, he was told that the police had assaulted the prisoner and he then ordered ‘A’ Division Commander George Vyphus to launch an immediate investigation.The Top Cop said that it was after media reports surfaced that he became aware of the nature and gravity of the incident.
Brumell said that he then instructed the Police Office of Professional Responsibility (OPR) to investigate the matter, even as the ‘A’ Division Commander had already commenced an investigation.
This newspaper was told that all the paperwork and statements which were taken from persons during the initial investigation which was launched by the ‘A’ Division Commander were sent to the OPR.
Following the investigation and findings of the OPR, the file will be sent to the office of the Director of Public Prosecutions where advice on charges is expected to be given.
Meanwhile, Brumell made it clear that the issue will not be swept under the carpet and those who are to face the heat will not be shielded.
He confirmed that the police rank who has been accused of sexually torturing the man has been removed from the police station and is at present under close arrest. Moreover, Brumell said, he has instructed ‘A’ Division Commander to have all those ranks implicated in the matter to be removed from the station at Timehri by this weekend.
Brumell said further that he is saddened at what has happened to the young man, noting that it was a very cruel and distasteful act on the part of the police officer and those who condoned him.
He however noted that such rogue behaviour is not restricted to the Guyana Police Force but other armed forces around the world and the police here have been trying their utmost to rid the institution of unsavoury elements who embarrass the organisation and by extension the country, breeding mistrust among the citizens.
Written By Leroy Smith 

What happened to the cop that beat up the Amerind woman?

What happened to the cops that burn up the young man genitals?

Brumell is an incompetent ninconpoop. Rohee should demote him and send him to the pasture.

Guyana the NONONSENSE Police Force!!  Thank you Commish for your swift Action.

you so stupid i bet your parents crying right now

You so stupid yuh think when a certain man visit your home he is a Housing Inspector!!!!

Guyana the NONONSENSE Police Force!!  Thank you Commish for your swift Action.

you so stupid i bet your parents crying right now

Colwyn Harding,23, was allegedly “violently assaulted” on November 15, 2013 by a number of police officers, in particular a named constable, when the lawmen attended to a building at Timehri North and later at the Timehri Police Station.

Oh Pandit....Yuh honestly feel De Commissioner tek swift action...more than 2 months after de crime....

NO NONSENSE POLICE FORCE : We never hear about these things like this in the history of the Police Force until Kwame and them Black Hindu move into Freedom House & Office of the President.

"He confirmed that the police rank who has been accused of sexually torturing the man has been removed from the police station and is at present under close arrest. Moreover, Brumell said, he has instructed ‘A’ Division Commander to have all those ranks implicated in the matter to be removed from the station at Timehri by this weekend."

Will these ranks be "removed from Timehri" by the weekend and sent elsewhere only to carry on their evil deeds or will they really be charged?

"He however noted that such rogue behaviour is not restricted to the Guyana Police Force but other armed forces around the world"

What's with these guys and their explanitions. Some GNI PPP backers and even those in power always look at the rest of the world and say, "they do it so can we" is this how we operate?

Total Bullshit!

"He confirmed that the police rank who has been accused of sexually torturing the man has been removed from the police station and is at present under close arrest. Moreover, Brumell said, he has instructed ‘A’ Division Commander to have all those ranks implicated in the matter to be removed from the station at Timehri by this weekend."

Will these ranks be "removed from Timehri" by the weekend and sent elsewhere only to carry on their evil deeds or will they really be charged?

"He however noted that such rogue behaviour is not restricted to the Guyana Police Force but other armed forces around the world"

What's with these guys and their explanitions. Some GNI PPP backers and even those in power always look at the rest of the world and say, "they do it so can we" is this how we operate?

Total Bullshit!

soon it  will be time to give all them stupid ppp supporters some of jim jones coolaid.