Police still investigating Welshman’s sex allegations – Crime Chief

October 13, 2014, By Filed Under News, Source - Kaieteur News

The police are still investigating claims which were made by Johnny Welshman Jnr, that he was sexually abused by Speaker of the National Assembly Raphael Trotman and two other persons.

Apart from Trotman, Welshman has alleged that he was molested by his father Johnny Welshman Snr and a Yarrowkabra businessman on separate occasions.

But even though there appears to be grave discrepancies in his stories of being sexually abused, police have not yet closed their probe.
Crime Chief Leslie James told Kaieteur News yesterday that investigators are actively working on the case.

He said that once all the statements have been completed a file would be dispatched to the office of Director of Public Prosecutions for legal advice. James told Kaieteur News that he could not make further pronouncements on the matter.

Earlier last month Welshman came forward with allegations that Trotman had sexually assaulted him as a child. These allegations have been denied flatly by Trotman, who call the actions of Welshman “malicious”.

The High Court has also granted an injunction barring Welshman from publishing, whether in the print or electronic media, any material relating to allegations he made against Trotman.

That matter is still pending in the courts.

Welshman had also claimed to have met with the Venezuelan Ambassador, something the Embassy here in Georgetown has denied, too.

Even Welshman’s father has been calling for his son to stop making malicious allegations against the Speaker and himself. According to the father, Welshman should seek professional help.

“I know that I may have not been the best parent to my son; that I could have been a better father, but from since Johnny was a little boy he has always been a rebel. I had hoped that he would grow out of it but it only got worse,” the father had told Kaieteur News.

The father said that the young man suffers from depression and fits of rage. According to Welshman Snr, this is not the first time his son is making these wild accusations.

In fact, the father alleges that his son did worse. “With this whole fiasco, I ended up travelling to Guyana from Brazil because I want my son to know that I will always love him but he needs help,” said Welshman Snr.

The 47-year-old said that he feels “deeply embarrassed” by his son’s latest actions. He said that his son has repeatedly turned him down every time he tried to help him. The Brazilian resident said, too, that he feels most unhappy about the accusations being made against Trotman who has been nothing more than a dear and respectful friend of the family.

On September 30, last Welshman also made claims that a Yarrowkabra businessman had abused him 10 years ago.

But investigators who took the accuser to the Soesdyke/Linden Highway area found that the scene of the alleged rape did not even exist 10 years ago. Like Trotman, the businessman knows Welshman’s father.

When asked about the fact that they were inconsistencies with the location of the alleged crime, Crime Chief James said that the police would not speculate.

Source - http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....gations-crime-chief/

I am very proud of the Guyana Police Force for doing a great job to leave no stone unturned. I always maintained confidence that our discipline forces will one day make our country proud of their dedicate and professional service to the nation. Guyana is a country of law and order, and they're policies in place to give justice to the victims and punish the perpetrators.

Redux, let me ask you a simple question. Does anyone from the joint opposition look like they're starving or they don't eat? Why don't you join them and eat fuh glutton if you're so obsessed? Man, you're disgusting! When you use a picture to share your thoughts constantly, it's something that eating your inside. Must check if you get tape worm.

ow bai . . . me bin traveling and nah post for at least 2 weeks hay

suh, how yuh figure dat i "obsessed"?

I am very proud of the Guyana Police Force for doing a great job to leave no stone unturned. I always maintained confidence that our discipline forces will one day make our country proud of their dedicate and professional service to the nation. Guyana is a country of law and order, and they're policies in place to give justice to the victims and punish the perpetrators.

Ohhhhhh PLeasee! Isn't it strange this story just surfaced and all of a sudden police pon da case. How many crimes have been committed just as the rape of the young girl recently, this will not fkin come to light because of the sleazy scummy fkin government Guyana has and you dam well know this.