Police SWAT team dispatched to Region 6 – to confront escalation in crime

THE Guyana Police Force (GPF) yesterday announced in a one-line press release that a team of ranks from the Special Weapons And Tactics (SWAT) Unit has been dispatched to the ‘B’ Division (Berbice) to lend support to the policing strategy.

Within recent months, there has been a sharp spike in incidents of armed robbery, especially on the Corentyne corridor. Homes have been invaded by a gang of heavily armed bandits who have managed to pull off some very successful armed robberies, by which they have carted off millions of dollars from several families.

The most recent such incident occurred last Wednesday morning, when armed robbers on the Corentyne invaded the home of a family of six after cutting a hole in the wooden wall at the side of the house. They carted off $100,000, but the police have said they have arrested two suspects and are hunting a few others.

The home invaded belongs to a rice farmer. The building is said to be the former childhood residence of Vice President and Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan, at # 48 Village, Corentyne, Berbice.

After gaining entry to the two-storey wooden building, the eight heavily armed bandits demanded money and valuables from the occupants: three children, an elderly woman and the couple.

Using the cover of darkness occasioned by a power outage, the men divided themselves into groups, one of which stood on the roadway as lookout persons while the other went into the house.

They threatened to set alight the rice farmer’s wife, Indranie Takean, after dousing her with kero as they demanded money; but they fled the scene into the backlands of Number 48 Village when the police showed up and traded gunfire with them.

The armed robbers managed to elude capture whilst the police were forced to seek cover after their vehicle had been damaged by bullets from the group.

Residents in that region have expressed concerns in regard to police response to incidents of crime, among other things, and they are reportedly left with a great sense of unease as they have to curtail their night movements and retire indoors before dark.

‘B’ Division Commander, Christopher Griffith, was yesterday unavailable for comment.

By Michel Outridge

Within recent months, there has been a sharp spike in incidents of armed robbery, especially on the Corentyne corridor. Homes have been invaded by a gang of heavily armed bandits who have managed to pull off some very successful armed robberies, by which they have carted off millions of dollars from several families.

Police SWAT team dispatched to Region 6 – to confront escalation in crime, By Michel Outridge, August 8, 2015, Source

All happening under the PNC regime.

Police SWAT team dispatched to Region 6 – to confront escalation in crime, By Michel Outridge, August 8, 2015, Source

All happening under the PNC regime.

How exactly you mean?

Information in the article is quite explicit.

What PNC regime? Do you realize how foolish you sound when you make these inane statements?

Last edited by Mitwah

What PNC regime? Do you realize how foolish you sound when you make these inane statements?

Sorry Mits, He mean PNC and TWO HOUSE SLAVES.

These crimes were happening under the PPP regime. It will take time for the current regime to secure outside aid to fight it.

Guyana 2014 Crime and Safety Report

Western Hemisphere > Guyana; Western Hemisphere > Guyana > Georgetown

Overall Crime and Safety Situation

Crime Threats 

Guyana is rated as Critical for crime by the U.S. Embassy. Criminal activity is a major problem, particularly violent crimes and crimes against people and property. Foreigners in general are viewed as targets of opportunity but are not specifically targeted. Violence against women, particularly in a domestic context is a pervasive problem.

Most violent crimes against foreigners have occurred in the capital. However, there have been incidents of violent crimes committed in other parts of the country as well. Serious crime, including murder and armed robbery, are common, especially in the suburban areas and the interior regions. The most recent information from the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime lists Guyana’s 2010 homicide rate as 18.4 per 100,000 people -- the fourth highest murder rate in South America behind Venezuela, Colombia, and Brazil. Guyana’s murder rate is three times higher than the United States’.

Armed robberies occur regularly, especially in businesses and shopping districts. Armed robberies of businesses/patrons are becoming increasingly common in Georgetown. Criminals are often organized, travel in groups of two or more, and conduct surveillance on their victims. Periodically, there are reports of robberies/attacks on American citizens and in areas frequented by expatriates. The press reported 108 armed robbery incidents during 2013. It is likely that many more incidents go unreported.

Criminals appear to be able to obtain weapons with ease, despite the arduous licensing requirements for the average person to own firearms. Handguns, knives, machetes, or "cutlasses" tend to be the weapons of choice. Criminals generally will not hesitate to show multiple weapons as an intimidation tactic during a robbery. Criminals may act brazenly, and police officers have been victims and perpetrators of assaults and shootings. Criminals are increasingly willing to resort to violence while committing all types of crimes.

American citizens did report hotel room break-ins to the U.S. Embassy in 2013.

https://www.osac.gov/pages/Con...tails.aspx?cid=16163

When these crimes were pointed out under the PPP regime. You guys took the stand that they were happening in Canada and the USA.

EVEN IN THE BRONX IT IS NOT SO SERIOUS. And Al Yuh told the people(Lied to the People) that if Al Yuh win Crime will go away.

.... how foolish you sound ...

Absolutely your choice to continue along that path.

You are certainly exhibiting the mental and physical deterioration often accompanying old age. Why do you continue on this path when so many posters have pointed it out to you?

EVEN IN THE BRONX IT IS NOT SO SERIOUS. And Al Yuh told the people(Lied to the People) that if Al Yuh win Crime will go away.

Show the proof of the lie.

You are certainly exhibiting the mental and physical deterioration often accompanying old age.

Yet another revelation of your habits and actions.

You are certainly exhibiting the mental and physical deterioration often accompanying old age.  Gaga bhai, it's a pity to see how dotish you have become.

The area does not need a swat team. It needs police on patrol and within range of a finite call time to prevent or inhibit crime. It needs criminalists who could process a crime scene to build a case   to  capture crooks that can hold up in court and so constitute success to crime fighting. What would a swat team do....patrol up and down and hope some stupid bandits run into their paths?