GPL explains 4-hour power outage

May 19, 2015 2:49 pm Category: Business, Local News A+ / A-

GPL[www.inewsguyana.com]The Guyana Power and Light incorporated (GPL Inc.) says that a power plant tripped on Monday May 18, which led to a four-hour power outage in parts of Georgetown and Berbice.

According to a statement from the power company, on Monday evening at approximately 22:21 hours, two 35 MVA transformers at the Kingston Wartsila Power Plant tripped causing a total shutdown of the Demerara Berbice Systems.

“An assessment of the origin of the initial trip is ongoing in an effort to perform the necessary remedial work and mitigate future occurrences. However, repowering efforts commenced about twenty (20) minutes into the shutdown in Demerara continuing into Berbice with the last affected community being repowered at 01:37hrs (May 19),” the statement noted.

GPL extends its sincerest apologies for any inconveniences caused and reaffirm its commitment in providing quality and reliable electricity to customers.

The PPP bruk he rass and tief all de money.

The people have to suffer, til de new government fix am good.

Take a break Cobra, it might take years to fix the PPP screw up.

Use your energy to repair you bruk cup.

Most people understand the reason for power outages and tolerate it to a certain extent. 

What they are upset about is not being informed about proposed outages and its duration, so they can plan for it, if its not an emergency.

It is not right in any country where people continue to pay their taxes and bills, but have to be inconvenienced with power outages and no water.

Water is Life.  

I urged my fellow Indians to keep your lamp lit, hide your children, and hope you're safe. May God be with you.

Wow. I can't believe I'm reading this shit 2 o'clock in the morning.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

I urged my fellow Indians to keep your lamp lit, hide your children, and hope you're safe. May God be with you.

Yea, I'm a little embarrassed for Cobra too. All of a sudden the blackouts are a problem. Crime is a problem. For 23 years Guyana was doing great. Coolie people were especially great as their lives and property were sacrosanct. Now the PNC is coming in and murdering us in our beds.

The PPP deserves to sit on the Opposition benches until they join the rest of us in reality.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

Why?? Al YUh was hallering like HOES everytime someone fart in Guyana fuh 23 years. Well tek am in al yuh kakahole now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So I guess this is the first black out in 22 1/2 years.  One would think so from your screams.

I give them two weeks before they start to beg the USA for money..

I agree. Once again they will beg and put the country in a hole like Burnham.