I have never seen anything so encouraging by our government to reach out and invite us to be a part of Guyana's development. People come here and complain about what the government has not done, but failed to highlight what has been accomplished. Throughout the history of Guyana, name me one president who ever reached out to the diaspora and ask them to participate in Guyana's developments other than begging for money during election time? Put your money where your mouth is, neemakarams! 

There is a fact that is becoming popular by day is that: What is good for Guyana is bad for the opposition, or the progress is too glittery for blind men to concentrate of what they're looking at. It never surprises me of the daily negativity they retrieved from the waterfall newspaper and hope to invite a decent argument. The little log that say let's build Guyana together scared them to death. I guess it's a PPP thing to work together for the betterment for all Guyanese. 

you ppp fools that live in north america donot have a clue of what is happening in guyana you guys should try going back and invest it will only be a matter of time before you start cursing this government

You want to talk investment with me? Do you know who are investing in Guyana? If your mind is set to bring down the ruling government, how can you see any investment and who're investing their money in Guyana? Are you going to waste my precious time with this again?

fool i went back to guyana and invest jagan hinself ask me to go back and i still have investment in guyana you see fool i will always be a guyanese

Bhai, living in Guyana and being a traitor is worst than living in America and love your country of birth. You should swallow that one like a hard dumplin and you will understand.

This Guyd project was launched by President Ramotar at the last UN General Assembly. There should be an audit of how successful it has been since.

It is a noteworthy exchange matching diaspora skill-sets and money and investment opportunities with little red tape. There are tremendous economic opportunities, though investment security and government's poor record of laissez-faire remain inhibiting factors.

you ppp fools that live in north america donot have a clue of what is happening in guyana you guys should try going back and invest it will only be a matter of time before you start cursing this government

When last were you back to see all the development and prosperity. Many of those folks live better than most in the US and Canada without the stress of a mortgage and high property taxes.  You fools only complain just for the sake of complaining. hahahah

If I have family in another country working hard to send me a barrel an some cash one one time, why the rass I gotta work hard for, where's the stress in going to the wharf and picking out my barrel?

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

You want to talk investment with me? Do you know who are investing in Guyana? If your mind is set to bring down the ruling government, how can you see any investment and who're investing their money in Guyana? Are you going to waste my precious time with this again?

Investing in what?  Please itemize the numbers of good jobs that Guyanese get...and I mean GUYANESE, not Chinese.  Sorry sales clerk in a shopping mall doesnt qualify.

Many of those folks live better

And yet many dont.  We see how many flee to St Kitts and Trinidad and Barbdos, etc.  Hardly places seen in the minds of Guyanese as heaven, but clearly seen as offering a better life.

They are returning to Guyana in droves, the tide has turned. Those you left seeking jobs in the islands tourist industry have now come to regret their decision as Guyana is now paying top dollars for tradesmen and other professionals. Of course those who want to do unskilled labor will not find Guyana as lucrative. A simple mechanic can make a fortune in Guyana these days. You are out of touch but yet want to comment on Guyana. If you had one bone of honesty in your body you would take one of your section 8 checks and buy a plane ticket to Guyana to see for yourself.  

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

fool i went back to guyana and invest jagan hinself ask me to go back and i still have investment in guyana you see fool i will always be a guyanese

Bhai, living in Guyana and being a traitor is worst than living in America and love your country of birth. You should swallow that one like a hard dumplin and you will understand.

talk about diarrhea of the mouth..

Many of those folks live better

And yet many dont.  We see how many flee to St Kitts and Trinidad and Barbdos, etc.  Hardly places seen in the minds of Guyanese as heaven, but clearly seen as offering a better life.

Thet are at least FREE to Travel. YUh Daddy Bunham nah let people travel from Berbice to Demerara.

They are returning to Guyana in droves, the tide has turned. Those you left seeking jobs in the islands tourist industry have now come to regret their decision as Guyana is now paying top dollars for tradesmen and other professionals. Of course those who want to do unskilled labor will not find Guyana as lucrative. A simple mechanic can make a fortune in Guyana these days. You are out of touch but yet want to comment on Guyana. If you had one bone of honesty in your body you would take one of your section 8 checks and buy a plane ticket to Guyana to see for yourself.  

And what about the majority of Guyanese who are not tradesmen?  ANy case your PPP says that Guyanese are too lazy to be allowed to work on major projects.

The reason why tradesmen are ;paide top dollar is that most have left Guyana.  If they all return then wages will drop to what they always were. So this will limit how many return, or remain in the islands.  Any case loads of Guyanese are STILL in the islandsd 5 years into the economic slow down.  Clearly they do not buy your nonsense, especially the black ones who know that in Guyana they are treated as scum.

Your average Guyanese earns US$200/month, many even less than that and it is this limited purchasing power that products in Guyana must be priced at.  So no employer is going to pay more than he has to.

And what about the majority of Guyanese who are not tradesmen?  ANy case your PPP says that Guyanese are too lazy to be allowed to work on major projects.

The reason why tradesmen are ;paide top dollar is that most have left Guyana.  If they all return then wages will drop to what they always were. So this will limit how many return, or remain in the islands.  Any case loads of Guyanese are STILL in the islandsd 5 years into the economic slow down.  Clearly they do not buy your nonsense, especially the black ones who know that in Guyana they are treated as scum.

Your average Guyanese earns US$200/month, many even less than that and it is this limited purchasing power that products in Guyana must be priced at.  So no employer is going to pay more than he has to.

The skilled Guyanese are pulling in at least 125 us per week. You need to take a trip and see for yourself. Invest in a plane ticket and stop the second hand analysis. 

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

REMITTANCES FROM THE DIASPORA

READ MORE:

Guyana’s remittances inflows reached their highest point in 2007 when $283 million was sent home to relatives. They dipped slightly the following year, falling to $278 million, declining even more to $253 in 2009 but rebounded to $280 million in 2010.

http://www.nycaribnews.com/news.php?viewStory=2200

Without the remittances, those poor people would suffer. So is this how the PPP takes credit for building Guyana, on remittances, what a bloody shame.

The skilled Guyanese are pulling in at least 125 us per week. You need to take a trip and see for yourself. Invest in a plane ticket and stop the second hand analysis. 

And the vast majority who are unskilled? It appears as if even digging holes is now something that only Chinese are allowed to do.

Plaisance has massive unemployment and the PPP was bold face enough to allow Chinese to do a job that Guyanese are quite capable of doing.

But i see whats happening.  The PPP fears that Guyanese (of all races) no longer like them, so are importing a new immigrant group who will be forced to vote PPP or else.....

By the way baby sitters in Bdos can make more than the salary that you describe, and you wonder why Guyanese leave!!!!

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

REMITTANCES FROM THE DIASPORA

READ MORE:

Guyana’s remittances inflows reached their highest point in 2007 when $283 million was sent home to relatives. They dipped slightly the following year, falling to $278 million, declining even more to $253 in 2009 but rebounded to $280 million in 2010.

http://www.nycaribnews.com/news.php?viewStory=2200

So tell us how much Guyanese sent back in 2012, when the economy was stronger than in 2010.

Note that you must also factor in money sent back that allows Guyanese in Guyana to qualify for mortgages, which many wouldnt w/o this help.

And the vast majority who are unskilled? It appears as if even digging holes is now something that only Chinese are allowed to do.

Plaisance has massive unemployment and the PPP was bold face enough to allow Chinese to do a job that Guyanese are quite capable of doing.

But i see whats happening.  The PPP fears that Guyanese (of all races) no longer like them, so are importing a new immigrant group who will be forced to vote PPP or else.....

By the way baby sitters in Bdos can make more than the salary that you describe, and you wonder why Guyanese leave!!!!

Nonsense, how dare you sit in your armchair from a section 8 apartment in Brooklyn and comment on Guyana when you don't have a clue about the economy there. All you know is the second hand information fed by the afc/pnc crooks who have an agenda. If anyone in Plaisance is unemployed its because they don't want to work. And its not because tradesmen left Guyana that the wages have increased. The fact is that construction have increased 100 fold and the number of cars in Guyana have vastly increased requiring more mechanics. Has nothing to do with alleged tradesmen leaving Guyana. You yourself claimed that the Guyanese leaving Guyana are those looking to do menial tourist jobs. ahahhaha

when you don't have a clue about the economy there.

You are like Marie Antoinette.  let them eat cake, you scream.  Well unemployment in Guyana is quite high.  So high that the PPP refuses top disclose what the unemployment rate is.

But then you are like the PPP.  Having shown your hatred of blacks and your contempt for Amerindians, you now scream that now Indians are too lazy to work, and so Chinese must be imported.

The ones who desire menial tourist jobs do so because the jobs available to them, based on their skills and/or race (racists like you refuse blacks unless they are content to be sales clerks and security guards) pay worse in Guyana.

Go ahead and import Chinese and see what Guyanese eventually do to them.  Even the docile Guyanese will start behaving like their Jamaican brothers at the blatant disrespect by an arrogant elite like you.

You are like Marie Antoinette.  let them eat cake, you scream.  Well unemployment in Guyana is quite high.  So high that the PPP refuses top disclose what the unemployment rate is.

But then you are like the PPP.  Having shown your hatred of blacks and your contempt for Amerindians, you now scream that now Indians are too lazy to work, and so Chinese must be imported.

All that banna have to do is open his mouth an stuff does fall out. I can't see anyone coming up with dat kinda shit on purpose.

Yes his family is rich and filled with the benefits of PPP corruption.  His biggest fear is that this gravy stops, so he justifies everything that goes on there.  Bet you his family probably have some Chinese slaves working for them so they dont have to pay decent salaries.  So they spread the lie that every Guyanese who leaves Guyana is lazy, because they refuise to accept the conditions that Chinese slaves do.

Any way the arrival of the Chinese will make Guyanese more sympathetic to Bajans who objected to what large numbers of illegals, mainly from Guyana, was doing to that island.