OLPF official charged with rape of daughters

September 25, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

A Verification Officer attached to the One Laptop Per Family programme, spent the night in the Camp Street Prison after he could not post the $500,000 bail imposed by Magistrate Zamena Ali when he appeared before her charged with sexual offences allegedly committed against his two young daughters.
The 37-year-old man, who resides at Haslington North, East Coast Demerara, was charged with two separate sexual offences which alleged that he sexually molested the two girls, whose ages are now 16 and seven years old.
One of the charges alleged that he had sexual activity with a child family member, between January 2010 and July 2014.
This was in the case of his now seven-year-old daughter.

The other charge which is related to the 15-year-old alleges that between January and July, he had sex with a child family member.
He was not required to plead to the indictable charges, which were read by the Magistrate after the courtroom was cleared.
The man, who was unrepresented by counsel, stood in the dock shaking his bowed head, throughout the brief hearing, while his wife broke down in tears.
The prosecution intends to tell a story of how the man sexually molested the two girls he fathered with two different women.
The facts of the matter indicate that the man lives with his reputed wife and their seven-year-old daughter at the above mentioned address.
The story broke a few weeks ago after the 15-year-old girl who had been residing with her mother overseas returned to Guyana and went to stay with her father and his new family.
She confided in her mother that during her stay at her father’s, the man had penetrative sex with her.
Her mother kicked up a storm and the allegations soon reached the ears of the man’s wife, who became suspicious that her seven year old daughter too, might have been a victim of sexual assault at the hands of her father.

The wife questioned her child, who confirmed her worst fears by revealing that she too had been fondled by the man.
The matter was reported to the police and after weeks of investigations, the man was taken into custody on Tuesday and subsequently placed before the court.
Police prosecutor, Inspector H. Anthony, strenuously objected to bail, but in the end, Magistrate Ali ordered that the man be granted his pre trial liberty if he posted $250,000 surety on each of the charges.

Gilly, You were a Journalist??? Is it for the Hubu Backdam Times???   Wghat an assnine statement, then again is our Hubu Backdam "Journalist"  I am Einstein.

What's your point? You were a Teacher??? Was it for Gaumont High?

Who appoints OLPF officials? PNC? AFC?

I hereby confirm I was a journalist for the Hubu Backdam Times.

Can you confirm you taught at Gaumont High and can spot "assnine" from a distance?

And, of, if yuh wanta fight wid me, I ready to roll like thunder.

Gilly, You were a Journalist??? Is it for the Hubu Backdam Times???   Wghat an assnine statement, then again is our Hubu Backdam "Journalist"  I am Einstein.

Can you confirm you taught at Gaumont High and can spot "assnine" from a distance?

Fight with you???   I dont take advantage of the weak.  Now, do you understand your heading of the Post or should I explain it to you. You wrote it yourself???

Magistrate Ali ordered that the man be granted his pre trial liberty if he posted $250,000 surety on each of the charges.

The magistrate need his knuckles rapped. This is an odious case of a sexual predator of the worse sort. He should not have been granted bail. Once a case has been established against a sexual offender the rule should be that he/she stays in jail until a large bond and specific preconditions of the bond be met ie he is not to go anywhere near the accuser and he should not be around opportunities for him to re offend.

Magistrate Ali ordered that the man be granted his pre trial liberty if he posted $250,000 surety on each of the charges.

The magistrate need his knuckles rapped. This is an odious case of a sexual predator of the worse sort. He should not have been granted bail. Once a case has been established against a sexual offender the rule should be that he/she stays in jail until a large bond and specific preconditions of the bond be met ie he is not to go anywhere near the accuser and he should not be around opportunities for him to re offend.

Should Trotty be locked up???

Was there a court hearing for Trotty?

His accusation  is of an odious nature also and were such that  evidence was established ie a prima facie case was made; he should be locked up per my recommendations above.

Could Trotty be a DANGER to Society???

you scared Trotty lookin fuh yuh ass?

So you ARE confirming that Troty IS a Predator, thank you Ray.

Lets be clear about my position; sexual offenses are among the most predatory and injurious of offenses. Sexual predators do not change unless there is mental help intervention aided by social sanctions of a very serious kind, ie restrictions to their presences in public spaces and habitual reporting to an established agency.

To date, there is an intellectual blindness in the administrative and judicial system to sexual offenses. I suggest that they inform themselves by taking the time to be updated on the current literature, in mental health, judicial process and social necessity with handling sexual offenses of all sorts.

The manner and mode of our response to this issue is medieval.

Lets be clear about my position; sexual offenses are among the most predatory and injurious of offenses. Sexual predators do not change unless there is mental help intervention aided by social sanctions of a very serious kind, ie restrictions to their presences in public spaces and habitual reporting to an established agency.

To date, there is an intellectual blindness in the administrative and judicial system to sexual offenses. I suggest that they inform themselves by taking the time to be updated on the current literature, in mental health, judicial process and social necessity with handling sexual offenses of all sorts.

I fully agree with you here.

Fight with you???   I dont take advantage of the weak.  Now, do you understand your heading of the Post or should I explain it to you. You wrote it yourself???

The heading within the post is Kaieteur News'.

I substituted "PPP-appointed" for "OLPF" in title of the thread.

The PNC didn't appoint the alleged rapist, neither did the AFC.

OLPF is handled by the Office of the President and Manickchand's ministry. Dem two is PPP.

I fully agree with you here.

so nehru, where in your reading of Stormborn's posts did u find him "confirming" that Raphael Trotman is a predator?