NEWS SOURCE, FEB 25 --- The government has announced that it intends to utilize some $166 million dollars to distribute a total of 6000 home solar systems to households in Amerindian communities and other riverain and coastal communities.

The announcement comes at a time when the administration is already being accused of seeking to buy the votes of the electorate, particularly in Amerindian communities.

The multi-million dollar announcement was made on Wednesday by government’s chief spokesman, Dr. Roger Luncheon who noted that the distribution will be for communities that are off the Guyana Power and Light (GPL) grid and that it was a continuation of a project that commenced several years ago.

The distribution and installation of the panels will be done in coming weeks by trained residents from the very communities.

Already some 13,000 solar panels have been distributed and installed exclusively in several Amerindian communities. Luncheon indicated too that there may be need for some 3000 additional panels.

He said these communities in Regions Seven, Eight and Nine are likely to remain off grid so several years in the future and believes this move will go a far way in serving the communities.

Two weeks ago, the Alliance for Change (AFC) had accused the administration of targeting the Amerindian communities in the lead up to elections and distributing supplies in an attempt to buy votes.

When asked if this was the intention, Dr. Luncheon brushed over the question.

The Amerinds will take  the panels and still not vote for them. This is certainly another vote buying exercise by the desperate PPP/C to stay in power.

They dont have to, Guiyana is a DEMOCRACY, people make their own decisions unless PNC CUM KFC is in the Govt. Then the Govt will Vote for the people they did for 28 years.

The Amerinds will take  the panels and still not vote for them. This is certainly another vote buying exercise by the desperate PPP/C to stay in power.

They dont have to, Guiyana is a DEMOCRACY, people make their own decisions unless PNC CUM KFC is in the Govt. Then the Govt will Vote for the people they did for 28 years.

I know you to be a man of principle when it comes to trading your vote. You would never do so for a solar panel. Now a free quart is another matter

Bhai

PPP does good for Amerindians and the AFC get belly wuk. 

What is good for Guyana and the People of Guyana is bad for PNC's Moses and Rumjhaat.

It is important that the former AFC members are now properly addressed as PNC. This must be drilled into the minds of the electorate.

Bhai

What is good for Guyana and the People of Guyana is bad for PNC's Moses and Rumjhaat.

It is important that the former AFC members are now properly addressed as PNC. This must be drilled into the minds of the electorate.

Ramotar said that they are stupid and  should be slapped around. Mind you, he is part Amerind.

Bhai

The PPP is doing good by their crony contractor who is giving a way an inverter and a panel and battery with a sixty watt bulb. It is purely a waste of time. Give that to any coastlander and tell them it is what they will get as electricity and see if they do not give you a good lash for wasting their times. This is a one solution fits all nonsensical strategy. Also it is not free!

The Amerindians are not Neemakarams like the AFC baaboos.

The PPP has done quite a lot for them, including building of schools and hospitals.  Many Amerindians have been trained to become practical nurses..

on May 11th they will vote for the PPP.

Moron,

The PPP has done nothing for them or anyone else. These are public monies belonging to the citizenry. The PPP spends this money on these things because it's their job. This isn't charity or benevolence. This is stewardship of the people's money and resources.

Does Harper and his party give anyone anything in Canada?

I know you to be a man of principle when it comes to trading your vote. You would never do so for a solar panel. Now a free quart is another matter

The next time I see you begging for Rum on Liberty is two belt pun yuh Baxside. Boy go and look lil wuk nah!!!

Next time yuh see me begging for rum?

Tell us about the last time you saw me begging for rum or anything? Or how about the first time I was begging for rum?

Don't be jealous of the PPP/K. If that's the way our Amerindo people can get some benefit, good for them. They should have given them 2 each, why only one?

That's the power of incumbency.  They used to accuse the PNC of doing election year goodies; now they have written the encyclopedia on that.

The problem is they did that in 2011, and notwithstanding all the goodies, free food, free music, shirts, mugs, etc, Jagdeo handed them a minority status.  But they did not learn their lesson.  They are an arrogant bunch, without any morals whatsoever, and they need to be sent a resounding message that their time is up.

The AFC/APNU will do a big sweep.

Moses' no-confidence motion made them confused. The courts ruled they are engaged in illegal spending.  Nigel will fix that.