January 25, 2016

The People’s Progressive Party (PPP) today said that it will tomorrow present 70 lists to contest local government elections in 550 constituencies and nine municipalities.

A release from the PPP said that the Party will be contesting the Local Government Elections as the PPP/C with the Cup as its symbol.

It said that it has also struck a 50-50 balance between PPP and Civic candidates. It will not be contesting in Mocha/Arcadia, East Bank Demerara where it said that following the promotion of a divisive campaign it is unable to field a candidate.

The PPP/C said it is confident that resulting from this hard work, the PPP/C will emerge “winning the majority of Constituencies and Municipalities at the March 18 Local Government Elections.”

The PPP/C said its decision to contest these elections is premised on the confidence and optimism the Party has in the electorate’s ability to make the right choices.

Why is the PPP pretending that Civic exists?  Civic remains a Bantustan owned by the PPP to ensure that blacks remain lacking any real influence over that party.

The thought came to my mind after reading the article.

Same reason APNU is pretending that PNC does not exist!!!!!

Who is telling you that APNU doesn't exist. APNU consists of several parties, one of which is the PNC.

http://www.guyanapnc.org/

Now please direct me to Civic's website and evidence that it is something other than a PPP Bantustan where black tokens are dumped.

Why is a name important, when Georgetown hospital doesn't even have aspirin?  Y'all need to get your priorities in order.  Healthcare and education are the backbone of a country's economy.  Stop worrying about irrelevant issues like names that do not mean a thing.

Why is a name important, when Georgetown hospital doesn't even have aspirin? 

When did G/T Hospital have drugs? Now you scream because APNU/AFC haven't improved it from the death trap that it was under the PPP.

At what point did top PPP officials go there. Your hero Jagdeo, got diarrhea and fled to Florida, at taxpayers' expense.

Bibi Haniffa - The civic is surrounding you and because it is so obvious you cannot see it. Has it ever existed as a political party, no. Because you are so cultured to view political parties as being made of some  combination of other parties, then the civic not having a political website makes it nonexistent? I dont think Dr Jeffries, Sam Hinds and others will appreciate that.

Understood.  But why merge with another party if there is a need to keep a separate identity?   For all intents and purposes, Is Civic not PPP?  One of the problems with the political system in Guyana is the subgroups that keep dividing the society.  Doesn't the mighty USA have two major political parties with a population of over 300 million?   A fragmented society creates just that - fragments, Which is a major component to the lack of progress.

Why is a name important, when Georgetown hospital doesn't even have aspirin?  Y'all need to get your priorities in order.  Healthcare and education are the backbone of a country's economy.  Stop worrying about irrelevant issues like names that do not mean a thing.

Small things attract small minds.

Gman posted:

Bibi Haniffa - The civic  Has it ever existed as a political party, no.

So why is Civic needed then?  What is the purpose?

A Bantustan to ensure that its blacks remain powerless tokens, Sam Hinds, being an example?

It will never be respected. It will never attract those disinclined to vote PPP (over 90% of the black/mixed population).

So why the pretense?

Clement J Rohee's DNA if sequenced i am sure will show him of mixed parentage, with African and Indian heritage etc. Granger's will probably show African, Portuguese and others but not Indian. Rohee is the PPP's General Secretary, so why are we saying that Indians dominate the PPP. Over 35 percent of PPP MPs are African.

Gman posted:

Clement J Rohee's DNA if sequenced i am sure will show him of mixed parentage, with African and Indian heritage etc. Granger's will probably show African, Portuguese and others but not Indian. Rohee is the PPP's General Secretary, so why are we saying that Indians dominate the PPP. Over 35 percent of PPP MPs are African.

1. In Guyana MPs have no power.  If they don't do as the party leaders demand, then they are removed.  Want to see who controls the PPP. JAGDEO!  Those black MPs are like what the PPP wishes that blacks ought to be, seen, but not heard.

2.  Given that Rohee's daughter is a known racist, we know that she grew up in a racist home, so felt quite free to PUBLICLY spread bigotry about blacks. And then denied that this language was racist, being very arrogant about it.

Rohee was quite happy at his daughter's posts about blacks and their "dutty mentality".

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....in-promoting-racism/

In addition I don't recall Rohee expressing his disgust at the infamous racist Chronicle editorial, which used language very reminiscent of that found on white supremacist sites.

Gman posted:

1. In Guyana MPs have no power.  If they don't do as the party leaders demand, then they are removed.  Want to see who controls the PPP. JAGDEO!  Those black MPs are like what the PPP wishes that blacks ought to be, seen, but not heard.

2.  Given that Rohee's daughter is a known racist, we know that she grew up in a racist home, so felt quite free to PUBLICLY spread bigotry about blacks. And then denied that this language was racist, being very arrogant about it.

Rohee was quite happy at his daughter's posts about blacks and their "dutty mentality".

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....in-promoting-racism/

In addition I don't recall Rohee expressing his disgust at the infamous racist Chronicle editorial, which used language very reminiscent of that found on white supremacist sites.

Why all your comments has racism, it's seems you suffer mentally at the hands of a particular race. 

What you hope to achieve, we are all God's children , black, pick blue, what ever.  

Understood.  But why merge with another party if there is a need to keep a separate identity?   For all intents and purposes, Is Civic not PPP?  One of the problems with the political system in Guyana is the subgroups that keep dividing the society.  Doesn't the mighty USA have two major political parties with a population of over 300 million?   A fragmented society creates just that - fragments, Which is a major component to the lack of progress.

Bibi, you have to understand the origin of the Civic. Before 1992, elections were contested by the PPP, period. For the 1992 elections Dr Cheddi Jagan was advised that, considering the general perception that the PPP was  communist party comprising mostly Indians, he should broaden his slate with candidates from other races and ideology. The longstanding PPP Central Committee members didn't think that it was fair for outsiders to join the party and be catapulted on the PPP list overnight. So, Jagan proposed the Civic idea and explained that Civic candidates won't have voting rights in the party organs. That was how Sam Hinds, Bernard Dos Santos, Dr Henry Jeffrey, Sheik Baksh, Kim Kissoon and Dr Dale Bisnauth were in the first Civic batch. Civic members cannot contest PPP Congress elections for Central Committee positions. They have to join the party, pay membership dues and work their way up.

Gman posted:

Clement J Rohee's DNA if sequenced i am sure will show him of mixed parentage, with African and Indian heritage etc.

In that case, is African and Indian ewe and goat dat mek 'e.
ian posted:

What you hope to achieve, we are all God's children , black, pick blue, what ever.  

Pity that your heroes, Jagdeo and Rohee, don't think so.

Pity that YOU don't think that Lindeners are God's children either.