[www.inewsguyana.com] – Secretary of the Guyana Cricket Board and Guyanese Director on the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB), Anand Sanasie is being called upon to resign following the decision of the WICB to relocate the test match between New Zealand and West Indies from Guyana to Barbados.

The call was made by General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Clement Rohee, who told reporters at a news conference that Sanasie sat at the WICB meeting “either silently or voiced his support for the decision to remove the test match from Guyana.”

According to Rohee, “This is the kind of character who wants to manage Guyana’s cricket, when they are willing to sell their souls to remain relevant and in change of the sport in Guyana. We call on Mr. Sanasie to resign as the Guyanese Director in the WICB, as he proved he is of no worth to represent the interest of Guyanese players and cricket fans.”

The WICB decided to relocate the match, following the passage of the Cricket Administration Bill in Guyana. Government is claiming that the Bill seeks to bring transparency, accountability, and good governance to the administration of cricket in Guyana and to address the plethora of allegations of rigged and fraudulent elections, financial irregularities and lack of accountability in respect of cricket administration and does not allow for government’s involvement in the sport.

Rohee is not the person to call for the individual's resignation. Should we call for the PPP to resign given their grotesque mismanagement of our assets and the fact everyone including him has become rich in office? We are asked to abide by the system even if it is broken. Afford the gentleman the same. He may be corrupt as hell but so is the lot in the PPP. They have no standing to call for his resignation. BTW, the match was not relocated because of the gentleman but on account of their meddling.

Clement Rohee and his PPP are showing their true authoritarian character once again. They will attack Anand Sanasie ruthlessly and smear his character. All because he is not a mindless PPP stooge; being an Indo-Guyanese makes him an easy PPP punchbag.

When Rohhe himself resigns as an absolute failure at protecting the people, then and only then he got the MORAL authority to call on anyone to resign.

Blasted Hypocrite.

And KishanB is bowling, takes a long stride, runs up and sends a bouncer to batsman Rohee.

OOOPS...Rohee ducks as the ball misses his bald pate by a hair's width!

Welcome back, sir.

Guyana loses million$$$ after WICB pulls Test match from Guyana

June 8, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

The removal of a Test match between West Indies and New Zealand scheduled for later this month in Guyana has left the

Pegasus’ owner, Robert Badal

country without significant revenue, with losses to the tune of millions of dollars. The cancellation was triggered after the National Assembly passed the Cricket Administration Bill last month, causing a standoff between the Guyana Government and West Indies Cricket Board (WICB). The match, originally scheduled for the Guyana National Stadium at Providence from June 26 to June 30, has been shifted to Barbados by the WICB. According the Pegasus Hotel yesterday, it has lost an estimated $60M from the cancellation. This would have represented revenue from rooms, meals and bar sales, among other things. Additionally, Pegasus owner, Robert Badal, confirmed yesterday, the spinoffs from corporate taxes, airport departure tax, booked flights and taxis would have been tremendous. Both New Zealand and the West Indies teams were booked to stay at the Pegasus. Yesterday, President Donald Ramotar during a press conference at State House, his official residence, said that cricket Bill has been one that saw intense consultations between the parties as it was sitting in Special Select Committee. The idea of the Bill, he insisted, was to bring accountability to the game. Quick to point out that he is not confirming that there were indeed rigged elections, the President insisted that it is totally untrue that his Government wants to take control as it already has its plate full with other problems. He said that it is unbelievable the arrogance of the regional cricket board, especially when Government has been the one investing millions in stadiums and other infrastructure. Ramotar pointed out that the wider society has supported the Bill. Noting that Government is now even investing in a world class hotel to boost its profile, the President also said that the WICB is not taking into consideration that Government is the one that takes all the risks. Cricket has played a major integration role for the Region. For WICB to pull the match is a “slap and an attack” on the whole integration process. “This is bad news for the industry now as we are in June which is traditionally a period of low passenger volumes. We would also have been expecting a significant number of cricket lovers from especially the North America area,” said owner of Pegasus Robert Badal. According to Badal, the cancellation of the Test match would come at a time when hotel occupancy is below 50 per cent. “We depend on events like these and conferences and business meetings to survive.”

Pegasus hotel

The businessman was also blunt about the issue over the Bill which landed Guyana in trouble with WICB. “I don’t know what transpired here, but it is my personal view that Government should not be involved in the administration of cricket. It is the practice all over the world that the private sector administrates the sport. WICB has its standards and it must also be in keeping with what prevails with the international cricket body…the International Cricket Council.” Badal was critical of the fact that Guyana would place its energies behind a Bill to administer cricket when it has led to the cancellation of cricket hosted here. “Cricket is an institution heavily ingrained in the culture of Caribbean society which identifies and integrates us as a people. It contributes so much to the economy of the region as it has in other parts of the world. Every effort must be made to preserve the independence of this institution.” “Again, this is a serious blow to cricket lovers in Guyana and to the hotel and tourism industry. We have lost a huge chunk of revenue which could have benefitted Guyana. When we examine what prevails in other places like India and Pakistan where cricket is being managed by the private bodies, then the situation becomes even more worrisome.” While the Princess/Ramada Hotel and Casino at Providence reported that it has not seen any major cancellations, other small hotels said they were preparing for an influx of visitors for the match. Guyana last held a Test match at the stadium in 2010. The most recent one-day match was played there two years ago. Government tabled the Bill over a year ago saying that reports of poor accountability and rigged elections in the local cricket boards necessitated the move. Following the passage of the Bill last month in which A Partnership For National Unity backed the Government with the Alliance For Change abstaining, WICB announced that it was pulling the match. According to the Board, the WICB sought an undertaking from President Donald Ramotar that the Bill not be signed into law until these matters are resolved. “The Board gave its commitment that once His Excellency President Ramotar provided such an undertaking all arrangements in Guyana will be kept in place. Regrettably the WICB has not received such an undertaking from His Excellency President Ramotar.” The WICB had serious reservations that the Cricket Administration Bill which was passed in the Guyana National Assembly thrusts the administration of cricket in Guyana from an independent body to the Government of Guyana. “This the WICB views as undesirable and inconsistent with International Cricket Council tenets. There would be no Guyana team because there would be no GCB, which is the only officially recognized authority for controlling cricket in Guyana and no Guyanese in any West Indies team, since it is mandated that players participate in Regional competitions to be eligible for West Indies selection.

When Rohhe himself resigns as an absolute failure at protecting the people, then and only then he got the MORAL authority to call on anyone to resign.

Blasted Hypocrite.

And KishanB is bowling, takes a long stride, runs up and sends a bouncer to batsman Rohee.

Welcome back, sir.

I bow, thank you Sir Gillbakka.

Blasted Hypocrite.

Welcome back, sir.

Gilly, why welcome him back? All along he was posting as Brian Teekah.

Sanasi should be jailed, I know him from Patentia, Wales, he was a bum with nothing, someone should ask how he got his wealth, I know many but scared to say.Raymond you are correct. I laugh when people on this site praise Sanasi and don't know the facts. Yes, fire him!!!!

Originally Posted by raymond:

Sanasi is a corrupt individual

That may be so, Ray, but his problem is that he is not PPP.

The PPP wants its own corrupt man in Sanasi's position.

Remember history. Many people used to call the late Nicaraguan dictator Anastasio Somoza a sonofabitch. A US President retorted: "But he is our sonofabitch", meaning that Somoza was a good guy.

Originally Posted by kp:

Sanasi should be jailed, I know him from Patentia, Wales, he was a bum with nothing, someone should ask how he got his wealth, I know many but scared to say.Raymond you are correct. I laugh when people on this site praise Sanasi and don't know the facts. Yes, fire him!!!!

kp, I'm not defending Sanasi. I don't know him. I've read people's opinions of him.

Firing Sanasi will not solve the problem.

Guyana's situation vis a vis the WI Cricket Board can be reversed by the simple stroke of a pen.

All President Donald Ramotar has to do is to assent the Cricket Administration Bill which was passed in the National Assembly.

Blasted Hypocrite.

Welcome back, sir.

Gilly, why welcome him back? All along he was posting as Brian Teekah.

Skelly, me ent think suh.

Check out their extended profiles, open for viewing.

KishanB's birthday is April 15. Brian Teekah's birthday is December 31.

KishanB's location is Maryland. Brian Teekah's location is Bahamas.

KishanB's email address and Brian Teekah's email address are different.

Both are Male though. And both have a problem with Baseman, which is not unusual.

Gilbakka and Jalil both got a problem with Conscience but we are not the same person.

Originally Posted by kp:

Why do you attack the person? The President of Guyana is manipulate by Mr Jagdeo so all cricket business can go to Mr Bobby. WI cricket board clearly say local politicians must be out of cricket. Get it?

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

Politics is now destroying our cricket.

Hey hey hey. Like yuh ketch lil sense. Live and larn bai. Yuh gat far foh go.

You really think wan daag can larn to stop suck egg....

Last edited by sachin_05
Originally Posted by sachin_05:
Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

Hey hey hey. Like yuh ketch lil sense. Live and larn bai. Yuh gat far foh go.

You really think wan daag can larn to stop suck egg....

Come on, sach. Don't put it that way.

Human beings as a rule change opinions in response to changing conditions, or as a result of reappraisal of previous tenets.

I'm suspicious of a person who says his opinions are correct from Day 1 to Eternity.

Give yuji a chance, sach.

You mean Ramotar.

Mits

In an earlier post, I held the PPP responsible for this problem. I love my cricket and I am upset.