Campaign…

…of the generals

As an armchair general from Burnham’s army, David Granger wasn’t in any war on his way up to “Bridadiership”. But he sure attended a lot of courses in strategy. And most of these courses had to do with how to deal with civilian populations.

Think of it. While Burnham formed his army in 1965 on the eve of independence, he definitely couldn’t be thinking of external aggression when he demobilised the Special Services Unit formed by the departing British. No Siree!!

After all, that Unit was equally balanced between Indian and African Guyanese. And this didn’t fit in with Burnham’s plan to keep power through loyalty of “kith and kin”. So fellas like young David Granger were shipped off to Mons in England and it was only when they returned – voila!! Army launched!!

Chaps like Major Sattaur were given their marching orders…and young guns like Granger were positioned to replace the professionals the British’d left behind.

Now here it was the Venezuelans’d just laid claim to two-thirds of our territory – so you’d think the new army would’ve been stationed on the western front, no? Well…no! While all were certainly NOT quiet on the western front, OUR army was based on the outskirts of Georgetown (Camp Ayanganna) and on the perimeter of Timehri at our one international airport – (Camp Stephenson and Groomes).

Why?? Well Duh!! To protect Burnham and his band of merry cooperative socialists!!

From these locales, the army could easily be mobilised to conduct night patrols in Opposition Villages. But when the Venezuelans marched in and took over our half of Ankoko Island, there wasn’t a solitary soldier to be seen.

The Venezuelans still have that piece of real estate that rightfully belongs to us. And what was young Granger doing?? Well busy with being a leader of SPIC, the unit to “re-educate” the armed forces and the bureaucracy about the “new order”. Meaning “Burnham’s order, of course!!”

By 1973, the army was ready for other civilian tasks like collecting ballot boxes and hauling them off to Camp Ayanganna to be “counted”. Or, as some talkative soldiers later related, to stuff the boxes with already filled out ballots.

Granger says he was abroad when this particular exercise was conducted, but as far as he’s concerned it was within SOPs. Even when the soldiers had to kill a couple of civilians…collateral damage. Tough!

So for this campaign, like the last, Granger’s reassembled his “old squaddies”. They’ve been deployed to make sure this election is “secured”. For the PNC, of course. Wasn’t that what the founder leader taught Brigadier Granger??

It is pretty hard to be committing the Great Coolie Genocide of the 20th Century by armchair generalship.

I would imagine it took some field command since it was obviously so effective.

Originally Posted by TK:

It's funny but serious bai. The proxy apanjaatists are tying up themselves.

The author of the hit piece didn't even notice the absolute cognitive dissonance of starting out with "armchair generalship" and winding up with directly murdering coolies over ballot boxes.

I don't know how some people do it man. That level of cognitive dissonance.

Originally Posted by TK:

The author of the hit piece didn't even notice the absolute cognitive dissonance of starting out with "armchair generalship" and winding up with directly murdering coolies over ballot boxes.

This message is meant for East Indians. Here they are insulting their own peoples intelligence. Instead of uplifting them they insult their intelligence every single day.

As usual, another foolhardy nonsensical commentary in the pro-currupt-PPP organ Guyana Times.

Which soldier past or present would want to vote PPP after reading that GT bile? Then again, does the PPP want votes from the armed forces? Apparently not. The whole aim is to scare its supposed Indo flock away from the bad black wolf David Granger.

As usual, another foolhardy nonsensical commentary in the pro-currupt-PPP organ Guyana Times.

Which soldier past or present would want to vote PPP after reading that GT bile? Then again, does the PPP want votes from the armed forces? Apparently not. The whole aim is to scare its supposed Indo flock away from the bad black wolf David Granger.

I have to say this. General Granger is one of the most humble, most gracious, most decent decent human beings I've ever met.

He is perfectly suited to be President. I think all Guyanese would be proud of him.

Originally Posted by TK:

This message is meant for East Indians. Here they are insulting their own peoples intelligence. Instead of uplifting them they insult their intelligence every single day.

Serious question....does this shyte still work? Are there actual Indians that this appeals to?

Originally Posted by TK:

Serious question....does this shyte still work? Are there actual Indians that this appeals to?

I think it still appeals in some areas...but its effectiveness is definitely on the decline.

Originally Posted by TK:

I think it still appeals in some areas...but its effectiveness is definitely on the decline.

I'm always baffled by this because I'm from a Corentyne family with ancestral ties to Port Mourant, a maternal family with jahaji and estate ties to Jagan's family, and we still got over our apaan jaatism by the 1964 election to vote against the PPP.

The PPP is clearly not pro-Indian. How could apaan jaat even apply to the PPP?

Originally Posted by TK:

I'm always baffled by this because I'm from a Corentyne family with ancestral ties to Port Mourant, a maternal family with jahaji and estate ties to Jagan's family, and we still got over our apaan jaatism by the 1964 election to vote against the PPP.

You have a very unique family there. Yes I think there has always been 5% or so East Indians who saw the PPP for what it really is.

Originally Posted by TK:

PPP maestros believe in their hearts and souls that the average Indo-Guyanese brain is genetically wired to vote PPP regardless of changing political and socio-economic conditions.

So, according to Freedom House, all that is required is to turn on a switch labelled BURNHAM BOYS.

Never mind a big bloc of young Indo voters are outside the Robb Street circuitry.

Never mind the fast dwindling rate of Indo heads in the population.

Originally Posted by TK:

You have a very unique family there. Yes I think there has always been 5% or so East Indians who saw the PPP for what it really is.

And we were totally dedicated to the PPP. A portion of our rice crops always went to the party. My XXXXXXXXXXX took Cuban military training in the PYO. We stashed PYO guns away during the Proclamations of Emergency for the benefit of the PPP. Hell, we were even making guns and bullets.

My family like many other Corentyne families were hardcore violent PPPites.

But they saw through Jagan and the PPP. They saw through this nonsensical comittment to communism and how it would ruin us all.

P.S...some of us did indeed do the coolie thing (according to what i'm told) when asked to help rid the PPP of Jagan and replied "well bai, he done deh deh already"

Originally Posted by TK:

And we were totally dedicated to the PPP. A portion of our rice crops always went to the party. My XXXXXXXXXXX took Cuban military training in the PYO. We stashed PYO guns away during the Proclamations of Emergency for the benefit of the PPP. Hell, we were even making guns and bullets.

But they saw through Jagan and the PPP. They saw through this nonsensical comittment to communism and how it would ruin us all.

P.S...some of us did indeed do the coolie thing (according to what i'm told) when asked to help rid the PPP of Jagan and replied "well bai, he done deh deh already"

when i was a kid i see my dad and his friends making pipe guns to protect the area and the ppp,my dad use to be a speaker for the ppp at public meetings,i was the one of the youngest member in the PYO i carry the flag at a PYO rally in enterprise, i cut trails from mahaica creek to the airport.i use to body gaurd jagan at times went into the lock up for the ppp and now all i want to do is jail and hang some of the ppp ministers 

Originally Posted by TK:

when i was a kid i see my dad and his friends making pipe guns to protect the area and the ppp,my dad use to be a speaker for the ppp at public meetings,i was the one of the youngest member in the PYO i carry the flag at a PYO rally in enterprise, i cut trails from mahaica creek to the airport.i use to body gaurd jagan at times went into the lock up for the ppp and now all i want to do is jail and hang some of the ppp ministers 

These hungry belly daags now turn around and cuss the very families who built this accursed party from scratch at great risk to their life, property, and those of their wives and kids.

And somehow families like yours and mine must be called "neemakharam" by these low class daags.

Yes, pipe gun smithing was a skill taught in the PYO.

Also, I doan know where all these weak kneed coolies have these cry baby stories from the PNC from.

My grandfather recounts those days as tit-for-tat. He did not really paint the Indians (at least in Berbice) as some passive believers in non-violence.

Originally Posted by TK:

These hungry belly daags now turn around and cuss the very families who built this accursed party from scratch at great risk to their life, property, and those of their wives and kids.

And somehow families like yours and mine must be called "neemakharam" by these low class daags.

Also, I doan know where all these weak kneed coolies have these cry baby stories from the PNC from.

My grandfather recounts those days as tit-for-tat. He did not really paint the Indians (at least in Berbice) as some passive believers in non-violence.

when i was a kid in the 1960 nobody could fight my 2 uncles and i mean black or collie and this is the whole of GT,there was a place they use to call EL PASO MY UNCLE RULE THE ROOST.i can remember walking anywhere in GT during the riot time maybe it might be one of the reason i was never a racist i grow up playing with all race 

I don't recall a racist upbringing either. Granted there were family members who clearly disliked blacks at times and were vocal about it but those same family members would never let any black villager starve. So even they were not committed racists.

Like all children, we didn't see race. I was especially close to the sons and daughters of our black neighbors. They were my closest playmates.

Well apparently most Indos today seem to very very afraid of black people and vote according to some personal fear that black people will come and get them in their sleep.

Originally Posted by TK:

That smells of brigadier general Ravi. I know you guys do not think that guy is evil but he is. He has the same style of insinuating but not saying directly that black people are not on par with other races and hinting they are always up to no good. One must give it to the PPP, they sure know how to stifle dissent. He was t heir arch enemy and so was Peter Ramsaroop and now both are officially castrated with ravi now turned to a foot solder for the people he once deemed patently unfit ignoramuses.

Originally Posted by TK:

That smells of brigadier general Ravi. I know you guys do not think that guy is evil but he is. He has the same style of insinuating but not saying directly that black people are not on par with other races and hinting they are always up to no good. One must give it to the PPP, they sure know how to stifle dissent. He was t heir arch enemy and so was Peter Ramsaroop and now both are officially castrated with ravi now turned to a foot solder for the people he once deemed patently unfit ignoramuses.

I hate to play this role (especially in politics) but I confess to being stunned on both accounts. I was really convinced that Ravi was only interested a "just settlement" for governing Guyana. I'm open to your conclusion because I've misjudged people known to me personally before.

On the second matter, I can't imagine (though it seems true) that Ravi has anything to do with Guyana Times. No self-respecting person of any intellect can even touch that with a dirty pole. And Ravi, as you rightly said, had unbelievable contempt for these people.

I confess to a bit of naivete. I really hoped he could have been our own true Machiavellian Prince. The man who used racial votes to force a fair racial settlement in Guyana. I never understood ROAR to be an exercise in Indian domination. Even if someone fanatasized it, it would have collided with the principal goal which was racial peace. Unless I was just not told very much about what was truly going on. That is also very possible.

Originally Posted by TK:

Speaking of el Paso, there was another place called el Toro two doors west of Bourda Market on Robb Street.

PPP maestros believe in their hearts and souls that the average Indo-Guyanese brain is genetically wired to vote PPP regardless of changing political and socio-economic conditions.

And are they wrong?  The AFC peeled off a mere 10% of the Indian vote in 2011, and that is assuming that 50% of their votes came from Indians.  Seemingly at least 85% are genetically wired to vote PPP.

Glad you admit this, because the usual narrative is the meek and mild Indian, who didn't have the slightest racial animosity towards blacks, but yet faced genocidal attacks and rapes from them from 1962 until up to 2006.

I freely admit this. I wasn't alive at the time. But my family members who were and were active PPP/PYO members paint a pretty violent picture of the PPP at the time. I don't see why they would lie because they recount it with a certain degree of bitterness as to how much they sacrificed personally for the PPP.

Some time ago I was chatting about this with my grandfather who would go on to become a supervisor at DEMBA at Linden while his family was still in the Corentyne.

I asked him why he didn't just join the PNC since he already had left the PPP in disgust and a PNC membership would have made his life easier. His response without missing a beat was "Bai, you want the PPP bun meh house down?"

He wasn't joking.

Originally Posted by TK:

Granger should be saying alot more. I juss doan know what he waiting for. There is so much more he should be saying. He has the temperament of a decent person.

Originally Posted by TK:

Granger should be saying alot more. I juss doan know what he waiting for. There is so much more he should be saying. He has the temperament of a decent person.

There was a serious backlash from elements in his PNC (particularly those from the Brooklyn PNC group) when he went to Richmond Hill. I don' think he will say a lot fearing another such outcome. Granger will obviously make a fine President. If he wins - and there is a good chance he can - he will have to do a delicate balancing act managing the patronage of those who feel entitled because they waited their turn and doing the things that really matter for developing the economy and consolidating democracy.