The Peoples Progressive Party Civic [PPP/C] has denied claims that the principles established for the party by its founder, the late Dr. Cheddi Jagan is being eroded.

These claims were debunked today at the Party’s weekly press conference by Home Affairs Minister Clement Rohee, who was at the time, updating the media on preparations for the PPP congress.

When asked about the erosion of principles, Minister Rohee, who is also the Chairman of the National Congress Committee said, “There are certain individuals out there, who are constantly plugging that line. You will never hear persons from inside the PPP, you will never hear members of PPP making such allegations, it is the detractors, it is the defectors, the people who have left us, who you would hear those views coming from.”

Rohee believes that these allegations are now being made so as to influence the outcome of the congress.

“What we have noticed over the past few months, there seems to be a concerted attempt by certain individuals who were once leaders of this party to influence the direction of the congress and to influence the membership and we believe that as we get closer to the congress, such attempts will intensify,” Rohee explained.

Without mentioning names, the Home Affairs Minister said that there is a certain “politic writer” in the Sunday Stabroek News, who is “hammering away at the PPP to which he once belonged and the congress in particular. The objective it would seem to us is to influence the outcome of the congress, to influence the delegates and observers going to the congress to make decisions.”

Rohee is adamant that the PPP/C Party remains united.

“The Party hasn’t split into fractions and we’re going to the congress as a united party and we will come out of congress more united.”

source http://inewsguyana.com

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The Peoples Progressive Party Civic [PPP/C] has denied claims that the principles established for the party by its founder, the late Dr. Cheddi Jagan is being eroded.

These claims were debunked today at the Party’s weekly press conference by Home Affairs Minister Clement Rohee, who was at the time, updating the media on preparations for the PPP congress.

When asked about the erosion of principles, Minister Rohee, who is also the Chairman of the National Congress Committee said, “There are certain individuals out there, who are constantly plugging that line. You will never hear persons from inside the PPP, you will never hear members of PPP making such allegations, it is the detractors, it is the defectors, the people who have left us, who you would hear those views coming from.”

Rohee believes that these allegations are now being made so as to influence the outcome of the congress.

“What we have noticed over the past few months, there seems to be a concerted attempt by certain individuals who were once leaders of this party to influence the direction of the congress and to influence the membership and we believe that as we get closer to the congress, such attempts will intensify,” Rohee explained.

Without mentioning names, the Home Affairs Minister said that there is a certain “politic writer” in the Sunday Stabroek News, who is “hammering away at the PPP to which he once belonged and the congress in particular. The objective it would seem to us is to influence the outcome of the congress, to influence the delegates and observers going to the congress to make decisions.”

“The Party hasn’t split into fractions and we’re going to the congress as a united party and we will come out of congress more united.”

they united alright nobody getting charge for thiefing the first government in the world

rohee wrong again the members already know once again you fools still think collie people stupid

Cheddi died with hardly a pot to piss in. Since then, we saw a rise of the new sybarites...full of pomp and circumstance , empty of head and quick to scam anything in sight. Guyana is a feast for crows since his departure.

This is all absolute....rubbish, a waste of a dam post.

The man who the majority of the people do not listen to, has no morals.... has the balls to say something as stupid as this, dam.

Is that not the point? The PPP are in god mode. They never make mistakes. How can one question their omniscience?

What are the principles the current PPP leadership up holds that reflects Dr Jagan?

Honesty NO

Integrity NO

Working man NO

Humility NO

Frugel NO

Living simple NO

The current PPP has no resemblance to the principles and virtues of Jagan.

Baseman reluctantly support the PPP but I do not condone some of the things they do.

meh fren Baseman giving Jagdeo, Ramotar & Rohee Critical support....

Baseman supporting  dem under pressure....

dem need tha Critical support bhai.....

Is all thiefman going down together

meh fren Baseman giving Jagdeo, Ramotar & Rohee Critical support....

Baseman supporting  dem under pressure....

dem need tha Critical support bhai.....

Is all thiefman going down together

Meh tek da leaf out ah di Dr Cheddi book....Critical Support.  Baseman gah principles bai, principles.

Countdown to 2013 congress…PPP denies party split

July 9, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

The ruling People Progressive Party (PPP), ahead of an August forum to choose new leaders for the next three years, has insisted that it remained united despite attacks, especially from former senior members who have left.
It will be the first National Congress at which none of the Jagans, the party’s founders, will be around. Dr. Cheddi Jagan died in 1997, five years after taking the party to power, while his wife, Janet Jagan, passed away in March 2007.
Admitting that the PPP made mistakes, and as a result lost its Parliamentary majority in the 2011 General and Regional Elections by not doing enough on the ground, Clement Rohee yesterday made it clear that his party has since regrouped and is working to correct these mistakes. There are no factions or split in the party.

PPP’s PR official Romel Roopnarine, Clement Rohee and Zulficar Mustapha, during the press conference yesterday.

Rohee, currently the Minister of Home Affairs, is a Central Committee member and Chairman of the party’s National Congress Committee.
There were serious questions asked following the 2011 elections with senior executive stalwart Ralph Ramkarran, a former Speaker of the National Assembly, resigning from the party in July last year, reportedly citing failure by the party to address the issue of corruption.
Responding to media questions of criticisms that the party has veered away from the ideals of the Jagans, Rohee said that these criticisms were coming from “certain individuals” and “detractors” and “defectors” who have left and are constantly plugging that line. The allegations are never coming from current members of the party.
Influence
The intention, he said, is to “influence” the outcome of the upcoming congress.
According to the official, the PPP has had to reinvent itself over the years, with a decision in 1992 to add the civic component. The party has never lost an election and under any free and fair system is unlikely to do so, Rohee said.
Rohee even had his own “calculated” answer as who some of the detractors are. His mathematical formula to explain this was SN+KN+RR+MN+KR=0. While he challenged media operatives to “decodify” the formula, it was clear that it meant…Stabroek News+Kaieteur News+Ralph Ramkarran+Moses Nagamootoo+Khemraj Ramjattan=0

Ralph Ramkarran

Ramkarran, Nagamootoo and Ramjattan were all top PPP executive members who have left in recent years with the latter two being part of the Alliance For Change. All three have been critical of the party in newspaper articles. Ramkarran has a weekly column in the Stabroek News. Both Kaieteur News and Stabroek News have been accused of being part of the “Opposition media”.
According to Rohee, it must be pointed out that none of “detractors” have left the party with any large number of followers.
“The party still remains. The party has not split. We are going to the congress as a committed party.”
There is no doubt, he said, that the PPP is under attack. As a matter of fact, there are different fora within the party that allow members who are unhappy to raise complaints …it is part of the democratic machinery at work.
These fora are at the regional and district levels also where all kinds of issues are raised about bridges, roads, garbage and the functioning of the NDCs, he added.
Regarding the 2011 elections, the executive member noted that there was an “electoral setback because of certain mistakes we made… We have regrouped. We have worked since elections to correct these mistakes.”
The regrouping has nothing to do with what is being written by the detractors. The upcoming congress will also serve as a forum for more analyzing, he said.
“The mistakes we made were on the ground.” The party, however, “somehow overlooked” what it was best known for…organization…and paid the price as a result.
General Secretary
Meanwhile, it is very possible that there may be a debate over the issue of the General Secretary’s position in the party during the upcoming congress. That position, currently being viewed as the de facto leader of the party, is the most powerful one and held by President Donald Ramotar. Since the death of the party’s leader, Dr. Jagan, the General Secretary position has been viewed as the top one.

Khemraj Ramjattan

According to both Rohee and Executive Secretary, Zulficar Mustapha, there is nothing stopping any moves by the delegates to make any resolutions for a new General Secretary, which could pave the way for elections for that post.  The issue would be a closely watched one with speculations rife about possible moves from the party’s seniors.
Currently, the Credentials Committee of the party is receiving information and will soon be analyzing these, Mustapha said.
Mustapha stressed that party systems are strict with delegates who are attending the congress. They must show proof of being financial members and integral to the organization’s various arms.
Ashton Chase, one of the party’s founding members, will be a guest speaker while President Ramotar is expected to deliver the charge to the congress.
The congress which is expected to be held between August 2 and August 4 at the Port Mourant Community Centre in Region Six, East Berbice, will also include representatives from the party’s overseas’ arms with long serving members to be honoured.

What are the principles the current PPP leadership up holds that reflects Dr Jagan?

Honesty NO

Integrity NO

Working man NO

Humility NO

Frugel NO

Living simple NO

Baseman reluctantly support the PPP but I do not condone some of the things they do.

if an election is held today, the PPP will get 39 per cent, APNU – 33 per cent and AFC – 27 per cent respectively.  That will translate to the PPP getting 25 seats, APNU 23 seats and AFC 17 seats.  Under no circumstance will such a situation provide another President Ramotar with an exclusive PPP cabinet; he will have to have a PrimeMinister Granger/
Greenidge. This is according to the PPP recent secret poll.

Honesty NO

Integrity NO

Working man NO

Humility NO

Frugel NO

Living simple NO

if an election is held today, the PPP will get 39 per cent, APNU – 33 per cent and AFC – 27 per cent respectively.  That will translate to the PPP getting 25 seats, APNU 23 seats and AFC 17 seats.  Under no circumstance will such a situation provide another President Ramotar with an exclusive PPP cabinet; he will have to have a PrimeMinister Granger/
Greenidge. This is according to the PPP recent secret poll.

I like how you have Info about a "SECRET POLL"

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Cheddi died with hardly a pot to piss in. Since then, we saw a rise of the new sybarites...full of pomp and circumstance , empty of head and quick to scam anything in sight. Guyana is a feast for crows since his departure.

Doan fool yuhself, he was a piss poor administrator. Dem ppl he surrounded heself wid were tiefing rite under his nose. And when he found how he was fool of, it shocked him. He suh stupid, he fired Asgar Ali. He cleared the way for big time corruption.

Guyana's greatest downfall, that of all the intellgent ppl of the time only this fool could have coericed the masses. HE WAS A KNOW LIER.  

The PPP has never lost an election, but added that there are some people who may be anxiously waiting for it to do so. However, he stressed that as long as there is free and fair elections in Guyana, it is going to be very difficult to defeat the PPP.
Rohee emphasised that the PPP still remains united, and that is why it has maintained the policy of building unity, alluding to the theme of the party’s congress, “Strengthen the Party, Build Unity, Advance Democracy”.
“The party still remains united, the party hasn’t split in factions and we’re going to the congress as a united party and we’re very positive that when we come out of the congress we will come out even more united,” he asserted.

The PPP has never lost an election, but added that there are some people who may be anxiously waiting for it to do so. However, he stressed that as long as there is free and fair elections in Guyana, it is going to be very difficult to defeat the PPP.
Rohee emphasised that the PPP still remains united, and that is why it has maintained the policy of building unity, alluding to the theme of the party’s congress, “Strengthen the Party, Build Unity, Advance Democracy”.
“The party still remains united, the party hasn’t split in factions and we’re going to the congress as a united party and we’re very positive that when we come out of the congress we will come out even more united,” he asserted.

Rohee head in the sand...

Since the birth of the PPP on the 1st of January 1950, it remain steadfast Championing the cause of the working class, it also remains the truly multiracial party and a Nationalist party....

Show us deeds...well you do...who show us you are adept thieves. This "nationalist" party is presently a minority party with its base 90 percent in the Indian community. So much for multiculturalism. The PPP only pay lip service to the notion. As for its identity as Indian that is also a farce. Its existential reality is that of a greedy cabal of crooks concerned more with the enrichment of their kinfolks. The administration is becoming a clan of PPP family members. Even Indians are beginning to see these corrupt sons of vipers for what they are...toxic reptiles.

Actually, they are not.  They missed that opportunity to become one soon after 1992.

The P.P.P/C was a victim of its own success at the 2011 polls

The only success they have is enriching themselves. They were a victim of their greed and this time around that much will be reinforced.