It might be an overstatement to say that the Cabinet was and is divided over what to do about Attorney General Anil Nandlall, but despite the united front, one can read into certain statements by his colleagues that indicate support for him is not unanimous.

First example is Cabinet Secretary Dr Roger Luncheon who even in his circumlocutory manner managed to get his point across quite well yesterday, stating almost mournfully that he does not “really any longer” consider himself as an advisor to the President. (Kaieteur News)

Luncheon when quizzed if  he was asked for his advice in the Nandlall matter replied, “yes, I had inputs into the disclosures that have taken place at Cabinet level.” Asked if his inputs were reflected in the position taken by the PPP administration, he said “I wouldn’t say that.”
“The Cabinet Secretary said that it is kind of “difficult” when over 20 members have to vote on a decision.
Dr. Luncheon disclosed that, “…it is difficult to say that Luncheon’s (position), particularly the people whose position accord with Luncheon’s position, has been taken as the overall position.”

So clearly there were others in the Cabinet who did not agree with the retaining, and indeed the subsequent public promotion, of the minister.

One of them might well be Prime Minister Sam Hinds who has not said anything controversial or even substantive in around 15 years, but made slip a remark yesterday that was a little off the party line when speaking to KN by phone from overseas in relation to the money Nandlall took or reimbursed…whatever for some medical procedure.

Nandlall had said in his press release, “This is, and historically has been, an entitlement of every member of Cabinet long before my appointment.”

But KN notes Hinds differs, “I would not call it an entitlement. It is not something that is automatic. It really is a hard question to respond to, but what I would say is that one would have to review the long series of circumstances surrounding the need for money in that kind of situation. It would depend on the nature of the emergency for money to be granted. It’s not like a Minister could come and say he has a broken foot or something and just ask for money and it would be approved.”

Given the funds were 1) not an emergency and  2)not for Nandall but for his wife, it seems Hinds is hinting that it may not have been so routine as his colleague is stating.

And finally there is Robert Persaud whose news website iNews has from day one been actively slanting stories against Nandlall:

“AFC wants Anil Nandlall FIRED! “He has brought the AG’s Office into disrepute”

“Anil tape Scandal: Calls mounted for Minister Nandlall to resign.”

“Human Rights Body blasts President for “hapless” defense of Nandlall”

It all adds up to some clear fissures in the Cabinet that may have been developing for years but in a time of crisis are more apparent. But of course one must not expect any dramatic developments or open dissent. The PPP is unique in enforcing party discipline and showing a united front. As Luncheon concluded “once a position is adopted by the administration..”there is no longer a difference between “the Luncheon” and “the government’s position, for in the end, it is all one.”

Nandlall draws continue to drop.............daily....

Contrary to the so-called “entitlement” which Nandlall said existed “historically” even before his appointment, Nagamootoo, a former member of the People’s Progressive Party contended that this was never the case.
Additionally, the AFC executive member said that Nandlall also contradicted himself when in the recording he said that he leaned on a Ministry for money and paid it back. He turned around in his PR statement to say that he reimbursed the money.
“Nandlall is clearly trying to confuse the nation. Reimbursement is when you receive money that you expended. So if it’s a reimbursement why did he have to repay as he told Gildarie?
“Also, if this is a so called entitlement why did he have to get cabinet’s approval? Why did you have to go through that kind of process for a historically established privilege?”

A Partnership for National Unity (APNU)’s General Secretary, Joseph Harmon, at the coalition’s press conference last week, told media operatives that there are many parts of the infamous recorded conversation that APNU has not touched as yet.
Harmon however, had emphasized that the money Nandlall said he took was not approved by the Parliament for any such reason. The politician had said that this indicates that such a transaction is a “callous betrayal of the citizens’ trust and the fair way in which state resources are supposed to be allocated.”
Vice Chairman of the Alliance For Change (AFC), Moses Nagamootoo, in a letter to the editor said that he had found Nandlall’s admission that he had accessed and used government’s money for a personal purpose, which he claimed that he has since repaid, to be most disgusting.

Wanton thiefin.........PPP is corrupt from head to toe......

Let me repeat what I learnt from legal minds in Guyana when I was the during the Anil Nandalall tapes, and I agree with this opinion - there is nothing criminal about what he said, implied or insinuated. You have to live in guyana to understand this.

Soldier

Tomorrow....all dem Low Breed

DarPok, Cham-R, Raw1 & Chat-3 ....

will be lined up ...

leh abee see where dem gon hide now...

Jalil, don't forget Prezzie got the proroguing option that could delay for another 6 months the peoples' business whether we like it or not.

Let me repeat what I learnt from legal minds in Guyana when I was the during the Anil Nandalall tapes, and I agree with this opinion - there is nothing criminal about what he said, implied or insinuated. You have to live in guyana to understand this.

karimullah, enough with the pitiful straw man u and yuh GT lawyer fren(s) cobbled together to fool people . . . no one is claiming there is a smoking gun

the point is that the tape shows, prima facie, that Anil is demonstrably unfit to hold the office of AG, and should be FIRED forthwith!

it's like u defending an unindicted kwamee of 'Julius' tape fame holding down a job, let's say, as chief prosecutor in the DPP's sex crimes division

u are not as opaque as u think

what a disgrace

karimullah, enough with the pitiful straw man u and yuh GT lawyer fren(s) cobbled together to fool people . . . no one is claiming there is a smoking gun

the point is that the tape shows, prima facie, that Anil is demonstrably unfit to hold the office of AG, and should be FIRED forthwith!

it's like u defending an unindicted kwamee of 'Julius' tape fame holding down a job, let's say, as chief prosecutor in the DPP's sex crimes division

u are not as opaque as u think

what a disgrace

Redux, you are ascribing opinions to me that were never uttered by me.

I commented on one thing and one thing only, and that is about the criminality of the tape in a court of law.

I can go to town on the morality or immorality of the content of the tape, the protocol or lack thereof or any number of things that would be aligned with your views; but bear in mind I only commented on one aspect of the tape.

Now you can go on and call me all sorts of things, but it would not change what I said.