Guysons in US$60m joint venture for oilfield manufacturing

-Enmore sugar packaging plant to be transformed as part of deal

Guysons joint venture deal: President Irfaan Ali is fourth from right. Guysons founder Kads Khan is at right. (Ministry of Finance photo)

February 18 ,2022

Local machining company Guysons has clinched a US$60m joint venture for oilfield manufacturing at Enmore that will see the GuySuCo sugar packaging plant being transformed into a fabrication facility.

While creating jobs the deal will also represent privatization of a key part of GuySuCo’s assets which had once been played up as a money spinner. The East Coast Demerara packaging plant had been built in 2011 at a cost of US$12m.

Following the acquisition of 55 acres of former Enmore Sugar Estate lands, Guysons entered into a US$60 million joint venture with the United States equipment manufacturer K&B Industries to transform the  packaging plant into a fabrication facility for the oil and gas industry.

Gas to Shore Plant and Power Generating Plant to be built at Wales Estate.

Rose Hall and Skeldon Estate remained Closed to date.

Seems like they found a better opportunity with Exxon.  Does this mean the sugar packaging venture is over?  I would wait and see what happens next before giving an opinion.

Now I am convinced that you are spewing crap here.  You don't read relevant articles but make pronouncements.  What is the opportunity with Exxon? 

Relevant articles??  I wait until the dust settles to see really what is happening and what it really means to the people.  I don't rush out believe everything I hear coming out of the mouths of politicians and media critics. 

What is the opportunity with Exxon?

You showed no concerns for sugar workers when you were in power. Why now???

Many of us did say sugar is dead but those for the PPP after listening to what their leaders said told us that we didn't care for the workers, the PPP will grab the bull by the horns, take care of the people and start up the industry.

Well here we go, where are the promises? Is nuff spewing of kaka went on deh.