640px-Fire_prevention_week_at_Guantanamo_-a

Minister Benn’s Linden house destroyed by fire – investigations underway

THE Guyana Fire Service has mounted investigations into the origin of a fire which razed the former home of Public Works Minister Robeson Benn yesterday afternoon. According to Minister Benn, he received a call informing him that the house at Lot 84 Richmond Hill, Linden, was ablaze and firemen were responding. The house, which was unused since early 2006 after Minister Benn and his family moved to Georgetown, was formerly hit by a spate of thefts, the minister said. Thieves made off with appliances, furniture and eventually half of the roof, despite arrangements being put in place to secure and check on the property.

Minister Benn said that initial investigations show that the fire was as a result of a “bush fire”. The issue at hand, however, the minister said, was whether the fire was accidental or intentional, and he hopes that investigations will pronounce with certainty, as to the cause of the fire which resulted in millions of dollars in losses.

whether the fire was accidental or intentional, and he hopes that investigations will pronounce with certainty, as to the cause of the fire which resulted in millions of dollars in losses.

MO FIAH SLO FIAH!!!

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Bush fires are not uncommon in Linden. Especially since Benn moved out and did not attend to the weed growing out of control in the yard around the property.

fROM YOUR aPARTMENT YOU SAW ALL OF THIS???

Benn and his family moved to Georgetown, was formerly hit by a spate of thefts, the minister said. Thieves made off with appliances, furniture and eventually half of the roof, despite arrangements being put in place to secure and check on the property.

Bush is responsible for the thieving?

Bush fires are not uncommon in Linden. Especially since Benn moved out and did not attend to the weed growing out of control in the yard around the property.

Benn suggested this when he stated that it was brush fire...obviously he did not upkeep the place

I am from Linden and know the score. Unless of course the PPP burned the place down in order to blame the opposition.

The same way they kill Courtney and blame it on the PNC???

You said it.

Cobra..wha wrong with you bhai...hang over

Mith, if Courtney was an MP of APNU, you think the matter would have been silent so quick? Courtney outlived his useful purpose for APNU and life goes on.

Courtney was a private citizen. Sat Sawh was a PPP/C Minister and an honest person.

This is just awful. Just a crying shame. Why didn't they hogtie Benn and some of his colleagues, put them inside, and then set the house on fire? That would have accomplished something.

Benn and his family moved to Georgetown, was formerly hit by a spate of thefts, the minister said. Thieves made off with appliances, furniture and eventually half of the roof, despite arrangements being put in place to secure and check on the property.

dummy you know nothing about guyana,any body that leave their house empty it will get vandalize 

This is just awful. Just a crying shame. Why didn't they hogtie Benn and some of his colleagues, put them inside, and then set the house on fire? That would have accomplished something.

now you talking

"The house, which was unused since early 2006 after Minister Benn and his family moved to Georgetown, was formerly hit by a spate of thefts, the minister said. Thieves made off with appliances, furniture and eventually half of the roof"

Abandoned property anything can happen.

Originally Posted by Django:

"The house, which was unused since early 2006 after Minister Benn and his family moved to Georgetown, was formerly hit by a spate of thefts, the minister said. Thieves made off with appliances, furniture and eventually half of the roof"

Abandoned property anything can happen.

you can have people living on your property and people will still steal 

No the PPP is responsible because they think that hiring mercenaries, instead of improving the effectiveness of the police force and the courts is what they need to do.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Did any Govt records get burnt?

Watch out for fires on May 12, the way the old PNC burnt things in 1992.

YUh planning something??? I hope the FBI watching.

UNCALLED FOR!!!

I am not condoning hooliganism, but that is what you get for leaving your house unprotected. It happens all over the world.  It is not political.

Rama sounds like an insurance claims adjuster

UNCALLED FOR!!!

I respectfully disagree here., It's quite called for. The criminal negligence that the PPP has inflicted on Guyana, especially the Indian population is unforgivable.

Any other people would have seized them and put them to the sword already by revolution.

Tell me one place where a Government would be allowed to preside over the decimination of the population through out of control crime, political violence, and wholesale neglect. The tiefin is the least of my worries about the PPP. The tiefin only bothers me insofar as that is all they seem to have an aptitude for.

Originally Posted by Wally:

I am not condoning hooliganism, but that is what you get for leaving your house unprotected. It happens all over the world.  It is not political.

Rama sounds like an insurance claims adjuster

...and Sober!!