PPP rejects ethnic discrimination being portrayed by some local media

The ruling Peoples Progressive Party today called out local media outfits for what it said could be described as delivering stories that show ethnic bias and profiling.

Speaking specifically to stories carried on the distribution of radio licences, PPP Central Committee Member and Attorney General, Anil Nandlall said the manner in which the licences are put in the press smacks of ethnic profiling.

He explained that when one examines the distribution of licences, it would be seen that this was done with geographic evenness and that the number of non-indo Guyanese who received grants was less than the number of those of other ethnicities.

According to Nandlall, the party rejects any form of ethnic discrimination and racial profiling because the party’s priority is the uniting of all Guyanese as this is integral to the development of the country.

Nandlall noted that while the PPP has from its inception championed the cause for freedom of the press and freedom of expression, the party remains emphatic that with this right come responsibilities.

He said this is why the party has always emphasized the need for due care and responsibility to always be exercised when the press executes it duty.

The issue of radio licences has been constantly reported in the press while those who were not granted licences have taken the matter to court calling for a review of these licences

Nandalal can reject whatever he wants the world does not revolve around his insight. Rather, on mere assumption that he supports an issue would be cause for one to examine it more closely for the corruption rot.

The issuance of these licenses were purely nepotistic. It was jagdeo doing his usual, rewarding his cronies and fortifying PPPinc.

If there is ethnic discrimination against Blacks, well then it started in 1964.  You see, nothing has changed, except there is the Indian to point fingers.  Afros have always look-at, coveted, admired, etc the accomplishment of Indians against the odds.  The only complain they could muster back then was Indian "clannishness".  Today, of course, they have the "bad c00lie" to blame, and the old "clannishness" ting, right Caribj!!

Attorney General, Anil Nandlall said the manner in which the licences are put in the press smacks of ethnic profiling.

He explained that when one examines the distribution of licences, it would be seen that this was done with geographic evenness and that the number of non-indo Guyanese who received grants was less than the number of those of other ethnicities.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

Attorney General, Anil Nandlall said the manner in which the licences are put in the press smacks of ethnic profiling.

You sure this is what Anil said?

"the number of non-indo Guyanese who received grants was less than the number of other ethnicities"

Sounds a bit screwed up,no?

If there is ethnic discrimination against Blacks, well then it started in 1964.  You see, nothing has changed, except there is the Indian to point fingers.  Afros have always look-at, coveted, admired, etc the accomplishment of Indians against the odds.  The only complain they could muster back then was Indian "clannishness".  Today, of course, they have the "bad c00lie" to blame, and the old "clannishness" ting, right Caribj!!

Dude, quit the lie it is as trite and contrite as the great Indian culture from which you came. 

When Indians kept their girls from an education, hardly cared to send their boys beyond primary schools and were looked down on as the backward others it was black doing the looking down and saw themselves as the culturally superior. They were the teachers, the doctors the lawyers the nurses and all of your cretins above 50 were probably to a man delivered by a black woman.

The point is, Africans had the advantage here having had a better options as a wedge for the colonial. The PPP has been in office for 2 decades and everyone of them to a man were church mice. That they are now fat cats is by theft. That their close confidants, kith and kin are now sporting obscene wealth is because they are on the nations soup stream. This political poison we are breathing lives on the idea of superior vs the inferior and not on what is the reality; people/

Shit heads like you propagate it. You are blind to the pervasive poverty of both groups but bask in the reflected glow of awee pon tap.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Dude, quit the lie it is as trite and contrite as the great Indian culture from which you came. 

When Indians kept their girls from an education, hardly cared to send their boys beyond primary schools and were looked down on as the backward others it was black doing the looking down and saw themselves as the culturally superior. They were the teachers, the doctors the lawyers the nurses and all of your cretins above 50 were probably to a man delivered by a black woman.

The point is, Africans had the advantage here having had a better options as a wedge for the colonial. The PPP has been in office for 2 decades and everyone of them to a man were church mice. That they are now fat cats is by theft. That their close confidants, kith and kin are now sporting obscene wealth is because they are on the nations soup stream. This political poison we are breathing lives on the idea of superior vs the inferior and not on what is the reality; people/

Shit heads like you propagate it. You are blind to the pervasive poverty of both groups but bask in the reflected glow of awee pon tap.

Ahh, shut yuh katahar rass.

At least you took your own advice.

Bai, me don't worry wid katahars, the average Indian guy who you want to throw under the bus will take care of you.  You katahars who trying to overthrow the GoG will never see the light of day.

Dude, the average Indian guy is a poor, deprived of opportunities and too broken of spirit to want to fight anyone. Had that not been the case there would be a heap of stones lobbed the PPP way.

I am not trying to overthrow the government. I would rather they seek to be the custodians they claim to be and not rob us blind. My complaint is to their excesses and their transformation so rapidly from the good guys to the absolutely horrible gutless crooks.

Give Radio Stations a Voice

Originally printed at http://www.trinidadexpress.com...voice-207007361.html

May 10, 2013

Guyana’s Stabroek News last month marked the 20th anniversary of its first failed application to the government of the republic for a radio licence. 

Other organisations in that country, however, have since successfully applied for electronic broadcasting licences. Until last year, a government monopoly on radio had been maintained by successive Georgetown administrations, even though the present People’s Progressive Party administration had been promising for years that they would allow radio stations set up by private interests. That promise was finally fulfilledβ€”except that, virtually without exception, every successful applicant was connected to the ruling party and the government. 

So the PPP has expanded the media in Guyana solely for the purpose, it seems, of increasing the outlets for pro-party, pro-government propaganda. Which does nothing but undermine media in that country. It is a general principle that any government which censors or controls the media does so in order to retain power and to hide incompetence and corruption. Recent research by historians, economists, and political scientists have added empirical validity to the principle that a free press is essential for democracy and, more generally, that democracy is essential for long-term progress - i.e. the provision of goods and services to the population. Countries like China and Singapore, which are not democratic, will in time demonstrate if these findings hold for all societies but, whether they do or not, they remain exceptions to the rule and therefore inappropriate models. 

The PPP’s favouring of friends and family has been so blatant that the United States and other foreign Governments have officially protested the discrimination displayed by the  Guyanese Government. On World Press Freedom day, the government sought to defend its limited and biased freeing-up of the frequencies. But the rest of the world - and no doubt most Guyanese who are not blind PPP supporters - recognised the reality of continuing State control of Guyana radio airwaves which, despite pious protestations, has changed only so much as the administration has wanted.

It is ironic, if not indeed tragic, that the PPP, which represents a constituency which for decades suffered similar censorship and discrimination from the late and unlamented Forbes Burnham, should now have adopted some of his tactics. 

In this context, it must be noted that the US, the United Kingdom and other nations have little moral authority to criticise Guyana, given their historical role in putting Burnham into power. The same is true of most Caribbean governments, who never condemned his dictatorship. Such diplomatic silence must not remain the rule in this 21st century, however, and the Trinidad and Tobago Government should add its own voice to the critics of such glaring efforts to deny free expression in Guyana.

Dude, the average Indian guy is a poor, deprived of opportunities and too broken of spirit to want to fight anyone. Had that not been the case there would be a heap of stones lobbed the PPP way.

I am not trying to overthrow the government. I would rather they seek to be the custodians they claim to be and not rob us blind. My complaint is to their excesses and their transformation so rapidly from the good guys to the absolutely horrible gutless crooks.

Banna, you in your own masquerade dance, beating your own drum.

I bet the 19 thousand in the cane fields would not think so. Then there are the 40 percent sitting on the poverty line with the others barely over the border. Lie to yourself if you want; it matters not to me.

. . . You katahars who trying to overthrow the GoG will never see the light of day.

what's this . . .!??

u reduced now to INVENTING pretexes so that u and the PPP murder-for-hire cowards can play victim?

y'all death squad killing sprees done gone to your empty head . . . is people like u and the preening dunce Anil who will lead Guyana straight to perdition with your recklessness

. . . all with the understanding that you take the above as a compliment and much needed affirmation of your 'manhood'

I bet the 19 thousand in the cane fields would not think so. Then there are the 40 percent sitting on the poverty line with the others barely over the border. Lie to yourself if you want; it matters not to me.

Guyana is a democracy, the people will decide.

Guyana is a race based autocracy. The deciding factor will be if Amerindians allow themselves to be duped by the crooks in the PPP.

Well, let it be.  Are you implying Amerindians are gullible?  That is awfully disrespectful to a proud and free people.

Why would Amerindians be exempt from gullibility when it is a trait of all humans? You miss the point that any who vote for the PPP are either crooks or gullible and the latter description is being kind.

Nah, you out of touch.  Tek it easy and leff dem Guyanese people to make their choice.

and you a bigot to the core is in touch! Spare me the desire to spit. I am Guyanese so it is also my choice.

Ah, you again.

Originally Posted by FC:

Danyael,

You got baseman running for cover.  Nice work exposing that spineless racist. He is hiding under his bed.

Where was "race" the issue, except Storm referring to Amerindians as "gullible" and all who vote PPP are just "gullible".  So where is the racism and what is the purpose of further discussion.  If your only explanation is "gullibility".  Alyuh katahars clutching at straws.

Originally Posted by FC:

Danyael,

You got baseman running for cover.  Nice work exposing that spineless racist. He is hiding under his bed.

Where was "race" the issue, except Storm referring to Amerindians as "gullible" and all who vote PPP are just "gullible".  So where is the racism and what is the purpose of further discussion.  If your only explanation is "gullibility".  Alyuh katahars clutching at straws.

is YOU, anil, councee and the other diseased old hos @ Freedom House who mek this a "RACE" issue fuh profit

a lil misdirection always buys time when u naked and can't find clothes . . . nah suh mein Herr?

suh . . . is who "clutching at straws" deh again 'lil' man?

I wonder which Africans you have been talking to.  Most AfroGuyanese I know do not see any merit in the low level of business expertise exhibited by any group in Guyana.  The fact that our manufacturing sector remains behind even that of Barbados is testimony to that.  Guyana is a nation of shop keepers.  So what!!!!

Now I will leave it to others to determine who the blacks who got licenses are.;  I do not know them, nor do I know their connections, nor do I know if they are fronts for PPP supporters.  What I do know is that the PPP has done its best to destroy independent media in Guyana as the frequent attempts to destroy SN, KN and the various TV stations which they see as "anti govt" indicates.

So why will we believe that they have suddenly changed their stripes?

The point is, Africans had the advantage here having had a better options as a wedge for the colonial.

Neither grup was given a unique advantage.  The plan was to have each operate in separate spheres to foster mutual suspicion, ethnic insecurities and paranoia, hence an ability to control British Guiana, which was certainly one of their more boisterous British Caribbean colonies, alongside Jamaica.

Africans had access to education, being Christians as it was the Anglicans, Catholics and Methodists who provided most of the primary level education.  Access to the paraprofessions, low/lower mid rungs of the civil service, and education was through affiliations with these churches.  So Africans (and Christian Indians) had access to these opportunities.

African attempts to develop a vibrant farming and small business sector was sabotaged by the colonialists who wanted this group to remain dependent.  The African and Coloreds had a secnse of entitlement given that their identity wa sfully defined by being Guianese, and as such felt that they were the natural successors to British rule.  So empowering this group would have not been in the best interests of the colonial elites.

Indians were allowed, and at times even encouraged, in farming.  Coming from a peasant background in India, it was easier for them to gravitate to risk and so many became small business men as did the Chinese and POrtuguese with similar bcakgrounds.  Keeping Indians away from the civil service by insisting that onlY Christians benefitted kept them in their place.  The last thing that the British wanted were ethnic groups which combined both knowledge of governance with a strong economic base, and powerful numbers.

allow themselves to be duped by the crooks in the PPP.

Isolated in the interior some of them indeed are.  The tochaos are bribed and they do as the tochao tells them.  Though this might be changing to the detriment of the PPP, as the Amerindian intellectual elites do not seem to think that the PPP respects them as a group, or is interested in serious dialogue with them.

No show in radio licence case – both applicant and lawyers absent

The hearing into the court case brought by Enrico Woolford against the National Frequency Management Unit (NFMU) over its issuance of radio licences, which was scheduled for today, saw Woolford and his battery of lawyers, Rex McKay, Keith Massiah, Abiola Wong, Fitz Peters, Bettina Glasford and Christopher Ram being absent.

Only the Attorney General (AG) Anil Nandlall who is representing the NFMU and that unit’s Head Valmikki Singh appeared. Leave was granted to the AG to file an affidavit within 21 days.

The AG also made an application to the court that all the parties who are affected by the proceedings be served with copies of the proceedings since they can be affected by its outcome, and therefore ought to be afforded the right to be heard.

The release of 11 radio licences to privately owned entities and organisations by former President Bharrat Jagdeo in late 2011 brought an end to a long held state monopoly on the radio airwaves, but was met with condescending reactions from those whose applications were shelved and opposition politicians looking for an opportunity to nitpick.

The Government’s argument that the issuance of the licences was primarily to end the long held monopoly was not enough to convince them, and full page newspaper advertisements, picketing exercises outside of the Office of the President and the recent move to the court to reverse the decision, characterised their protest that called for the revocation of the licences.

The newly licenced radio operators are Matthews Ridge Community Council; Little Rock Television Station; Alfro Alphonso and Sons Enterprise; New Guyana Company Limited; National Television Network (NTN); Hits and Jams Entertainment; Wireless Connections; Rudy Grant; Telcor and Cultural Broadcasting Inc.; Linden Wireless Communication Network; and Television Guyana (TVG) Channel 28 were the organisations granted licences.

Isolated in the interior some of them indeed are.  The tochaos are bribed and they do as the tochao tells them.  Though this might be changing to the detriment of the PPP, as the Amerindian intellectual elites do not seem to think that the PPP respects them as a group, or is interested in serious dialogue with them.

You rass crazy, I see nuff Buck people in GT.

You have to forgive this nut job, he has not been in Guyana in decades yet he pretends to be an authority on what is going on there. 

Tell you what.  You do NOT know who the Amerindians in GT voted for.  We do know what those in the interior supported.  In any case the clout that Amerindians have are in regions where they dominate, 1, 7, 8, and 9.

y, I see nuff Buck people in GT.
  1. You have to forgive this nut job, he has not been in Guyana in decades yet he pretends to be an authority on what is going on there. 

And yet daily I humiliate you who claims to know every thing about Guyana.
  You do not even understand mathematical principles and yet think that you can have an opinion which matters.

Tell you what.  You do NOT know who the Amerindians in GT voted for.  We do know what those in the interior supported.  In any case the clout that Amerindians have are in regions where they dominate, 1, 7, 8, and 9.

The point is, don't believe the interior Amerindians don't know what's going on.  It's their relatives who live in GT.  Amerindians are seeing progress in their local villages.  They see places like Bartica developing into a provincial city and becoming a gateway for them.

Bhai

Danyael pretends to be Guyanese. He is out of touch and is calling for an overthrow of the PPP when Guyanese are quite happy with Guyana when compared to the dark PNC dictatorship days. 

The point is, don't believe the interior Amerindians don't know what's going on.  It's their relatives who live in GT.  Amerindians are seeing progress in their local villages.  They see places like Bartica developing into a provincial city and becoming a gateway for them.

Amerindians see the interior being dominated by huge gold and timber projects and GDF soldiers killing innocent Amerindian women with rampant sex trafficking and other forms of semi slave labor.

The tochaos tell them vote PPP and you will get a boat and so they do so.  Not because they have any high expectation of any coastland dominated govt.

If gold were at US$400 Bartica would be a shanty town and every one knows this.   So why give praise to the PPP? What will happen if prices ,sharply impacting the ability of many to mine profitably?

Guyana collapses.

Amerindians see the interior being dominated by huge gold and timber projects and GDF soldiers killing innocent Amerindian women with rampant sex trafficking and other forms of semi slave labor.

The tochaos tell them vote PPP and you will get a boat and so they do so.  Not because they have any high expectation of any coastland dominated govt.

If gold were at US$400 Bartica would be a shanty town and every one knows this.   So why give praise to the PPP? What will happen if prices ,sharply impacting the ability of many to mine profitably?

Guyana collapses.

If oil was $15 PB Saudi would be desert wasteland.

Now, did you ever contemplate what your life would have been had "your father been your mother and your mother been your father"?

If oil was $15 PB Saudi would be desert wasteland . . .

indeed . . . suh, how come u not heaping praise on the obscenely corrupt, Wahabi monarchy for oil-fueled economic "progress" in the backward Saudi desert kingdom, eh?

maybe eating lil "katahar" will unscramble yuh brain

PLus Kur Bt choka...