Broadcasters to pay at least $2.5M for annual licence fee

DemeraraWaves.com, Wednesday, 19 June 2013

Chair of the Guyana National Broadcasting Authority Bibi Shadick

Broadcasters will have to pay an annual licencing fee of no less than $2.5M, says Chairperson of the Board of the Guyana National Broadcasting Authority (GNBA) Bibi Shadick.
At a news conference on Wednesday she explained that the Broadcasting Act makes provision for a licence fee to be set by the minister.
“The decision of Cabinet was the annual licence fee for all licenced broadcasters, radio, TV and Cable, being equivalent to three percent of the year preceding licencing for commercially operating firms … provided that the three percent is no less than 2.5 million Guyana dollars,” Shadick said.
However, she said the Board realised that broadcasters would not have had their gross revenue figures for 2012 at the end of the year and it was decided that audited figures for December 31, 2011 would be used for those broadcasting prior to the Act.
New broadcasters would have to pay the $2.5M as licence fee.
“For all of the broadcasters that we have approved so far only two are paying more than $2.5M because they declared monies of which the three percent was more than the $2.5M,” Shadick said while declining to name the entities.
The Act also provides for broadcasters to pay a fee for the use of the spectrum with the fee worked out by the National Frequency Management Unit (NFMU) along technical lines.
The former human services minister also announced that the Board had sent out letters of approval for licences to eight TV broadcasters, eight radio broadcasters and six cable operators, all of whom were current operators. Two other TV operators are also to receive approval letters.
The Board, she added, was yet to deal with new applicants.
“We are trying to regularise what exists before we go look to put more population into the broadcast area,” said Shadick while likening the current situation to a squatter settlement.
Shadick also announced that the Board at its meeting on Tuesday approved the names of five persons for the GNBA’s Monitoring Committee. But she added that those persons were still to be notified and until then their names would be withheld. She noted that one of the five had to be a Board member as specified by the Act.
According to her, she was “sure” the broadcasting community would be satisfied with the other four nominees.
“I’m hoping by the 1st of July that Committee would be up and running so those names would be given to you.”
The GNBA is yet to be established and the Chairperson said they were looking for a building to house the Authority and the NFMU. She explained that the NFMU’s current building was to be replaced by a “new and bigger building” to accommodate the broadcast and telecommunications regulatory agencies.

Telecommunication fees exist in other parts of the world, e.g., Canada, US-of-A, Britain, France, etc., and of course, in Guyana.

Britain, for example, was the the first country to set fees for telecommunication, radio being the first.

Telecommunication fees exist in other parts of the world, e.g., Canada, US-of-A, Britain, France, etc., and of course, in Guyana.

Britain, for example, was the the first country to set fees for telecommunication, radio being the first.

yo, idiot . . . fees by regulatory bodies (such as the FCC) are typically nominal for small operators, and based on market size and revenues in the (lucrative/competitive/large) metropolitan markets.

What the PPP is trying to set up here with its one-size-fits-all "minimum"  [fuh radio, TV, everything] is a back door barrier to entry for players that are not subsidized with taxpayer money like NCN and babby's 'operations' 

Do you have any idea what the FCC would charge a radio station operating in a 'market' with a population and economic profile like Linden? . . . likely nothing more than a couple hundred dollars/yr

suh kerr u rass with the illiterate nonsense u trying to peddle to people u assume doan know better

Brilliant move by the PPP, this will weed out those looking to frivolously apply for radio license without intent on using it. 

Say no to the pedo redunce. hahahah

welcome drugabeer  . . . I see u putting on yuh special googles to peep at meh posts through de "block"

har de har har harhar harrr!

drugabeer

Licence fee set to put non-govt. broadcasters out of business – APNU

July 12, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

By Abena Rockcliffe

A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) yesterday dubbed the government’s move to drastically hike broadcasting licence fee as one intended to cripple broadcasters who appear not to be pro-government. A few weeks back, the Guyana National Broadcasting Authority (GNBA) announced that radio and television broadcasters would now have to pay an annual licencing fee of $2.5Million or 3% of their gross income, providing that the 3% is more than $2.5 Million. The new fee represents a massive increase from the sum of $240,000 annually that was required in previous years. APNU Member of Parliament Joseph Harmon said at a party press conference yesterday that on June 19, GNBA’s chairperson, Bibi Shadick called a conference and declared that the Cabinet had stipulated new rates for Broadcasters. According to Harmon, when Shadick was questioned about “inconsistencies,” her response was “I don’t know, I’m just calling out what I got.” Harmon said that it is more than ridiculous that the head of the Authority “didn’t know.” He added that the issue of the licencing fee brings into sharp focus APNU’s concern about the Broadcast Act #13 of 2011 on some of its provisions which in their view, offends the freedom of expression guaranteed in Article 136 of the Constitution of Guyana. He said that the clear direction of Cabinet in the affairs of the Authority makes the body less independent and autonomous than it was intended to be. Harmon said that television stations that are perceived to be “sympathetic” to the views of the opposition will be targeted. He opined that the new technique of fee manipulation will make it less profitable to operate and eventually put “these” television stations out of business. According to Harmon, it is an environment where the advertising dollar is a scarce commodity, one where the state-owned media competes for the same advertising dollar as the private media and one where advertisers have expressed fears and concerns of victimization when they advertise on certain television stations. He said that in light of such, the time when the TV stations can be faced with closure cannot be far off. Harmon said that in the meantime, APNU is calling on the authority to meet with the television station owners to review and agree on a rational fee. Veteran Broadcaster Anthony Vieira said at the press conference that the imposition by the government of a $2.5M fee on the station owners must be rejected, simply because at the time of application they had no idea of having to pay that sum. He dubbed that the cart before the horse syndrome. Vieira said some broadcasters have already indicated that they intend to move to the courts over the new fee if the Broadcasting Authority does not take a second look at the fee structure. He explained that by asking broadcasters to pay $2.5 Million or 3% of their gross earnings if it is more than that figure, the GNBA is assuming that television stations and radio stations earn over $80 Million per year. He opined that the fee structure should look at the areas where the various television stations and radio stations operate. He said earning power in the specific communities of broadcast must be examined. According to Vieira, the GNBA cannot expect a television or radio station which is only allowed to operate in a small community or a specific region to have the same earning power as those in the city or those allowed to broadcast nationally. He said the way the GNBA is currently operating, gives the impression that the authority is treating the broadcast sector as a “pappy show”.

yo, idiot . . . fees by regulatory bodies (such as the FCC) are typically nominal for small operators, and based on market size and revenues in the (lucrative/competitive/large) metropolitan markets.

What the PPP is trying to set up here with its one-size-fits-all "minimum"  [fuh radio, TV, everything] is a back door barrier to entry for players that are not subsidized with taxpayer money like NCN and babby's 'operations' 

Do you have any idea what the FCC would charge a radio station operating in a 'market' with a population and economic profile like Linden? . . . likely nothing more than a couple hundred dollars/yr

suh kerr u rass with the illiterate nonsense u trying to peddle to people u assume doan know better

They have to make it equal across the board as it would create other issue of equity, who decides who pays what.

The FCC decides for the USA, not Guyana.

So you think Linden deserves another break, like free electricity!!  Why don't you champion subsidize gas and free food?  They are low-hanging fruits.

IDIOTS are like DRUNKS, so you cane see your own STUPIDITY Prof, or is it Katahar Prof???

They have to make it equal across the board as it would create other issue of equity, who decides who pays what.

So you think Linden deserves another break, like free electricity!!  Why don't you champion subsidize gas and free food?  They are low-hanging fruits.

Dat Chap IS the biggest FOOL on the Planet.

base bai, we all understand how u enjoy jacking off to the sound of Linden punishing; nice try, but dis is not about dem blackman deh dat u despise so . . . larger fundamental issues involved that alyuh uneducated primitives cannot appreciate  

see hay knucklehead; educate yuhself lil . . . we Americans prefer the FCC as a guide rather than alyuh business partners-in-CRIME . . . the PLA Chinese http://transition.fcc.gov/Dail...0605/FCC-13-74A1.pdf

FCC

FY 2013 SCHEDULE OF REGULATORY FEES: Fee

Rate Increases Capped at 7.5%, Prior to Rounding

FY 2013 RADIO STATION REGULATORY FEES

Population   Served

AM Class

AM Class

B

AM

Class C

AM

Class D

FM   Classes A, B1 & C3

FM Classes

B, C, C0, C1

& C2

<=25,000

$775

$650

$600

$675

$750

$950

25,001 –   75,000

$1,575

$1,325

$925

$1,025

$1,525

$1,675

75,001 –   150,000

$2,375

$1,650

$1,200

$1,725

$2,100

$3,100

150,001 –   500,000

$3,550

$2,800

$1,800

$2,050

$3,250

$4,025

500,001 –   1,200,000

$5,125

$4,275

$3,000

$3,425

$5,150

$5,950

1,200,001   – 3,000,00

$7,900

$6,550

$4,525

$5,450

$8,375

$9,525

>3,000,000

$9,475

$7,875

$5,725

$6,825

$10,700

$12,375

Fee Category

Annual

Regulatory Fee

TV (47 CFR part 73) UHF Commercial

$US

Markets   1-10

Markets   11-25

Markets   26-50

Markets   51-100

Remaining   Markets

Fee Category

Annual

Regulatory Fee

TV (47 CFR part 73) VHF Commercial

$US

Markets   1-10

Markets   11-25

Markets   26-50

Markets   51-100

Remaining   Markets

heh heh heh . . .

base bai, we all understand how u enjoy jacking off to the sound of Linden punishing; nice try, but dis is not about dem blackman deh dat u despise so . . . larger fundamental issues involved that alyuh uneducated primitives cannot appreciate  

see hay knucklehead; educate yuhself lil . . . we Americans prefer the FCC as a guide rather than alyuh business partners-in-CRIME . . . the PLA Chinese http://transition.fcc.gov/Dail...0605/FCC-13-74A1.pdf

FCC

FY 2013 SCHEDULE OF REGULATORY FEES: Fee

Rate Increases Capped at 7.5%, Prior to Rounding

FY 2013 RADIO STATION REGULATORY FEES

Population   Served

AM Class

AM Class

B

AM

Class C

AM

Class D

FM   Classes A, B1 & C3

FM Classes

B, C, C0, C1

& C2

<=25,000

$775

$650

$600

$675

$750

$950

25,001 –   75,000

$1,575

$1,325

$925

$1,025

$1,525

$1,675

75,001 –   150,000

$2,375

$1,650

$1,200

$1,725

$2,100

$3,100

150,001 –   500,000

$3,550

$2,800

$1,800

$2,050

$3,250

$4,025

500,001 –   1,200,000

$5,125

$4,275

$3,000

$3,425

$5,150

$5,950

1,200,001   – 3,000,00

$7,900

$6,550

$4,525

$5,450

$8,375

$9,525

>3,000,000

$9,475

$7,875

$5,725

$6,825

$10,700

$12,375

Fee Category

Annual

Regulatory Fee

TV (47 CFR part 73) UHF Commercial

$US

Markets   1-10

Markets   11-25

Markets   26-50

Markets   51-100

Remaining   Markets

Fee Category

Annual

Regulatory Fee

TV (47 CFR part 73) VHF Commercial

$US

Markets   1-10

Markets   11-25

Markets   26-50

Markets   51-100

Remaining   Markets

heh heh heh . . .

Let the US do their thing and let the GoG do theirs.  As I said, the FCC makes rules for the USA, the GoG for Guyana.  Now, get used to it.

ow baseman bai, meh purpose is nat to 'interfere' wid de PPP diktatorship and the criminal enterprise dey running as a government

me just in meh carna hay putting out information to help Guyanese framework de bug***ing of the nation being hatched in Freedom house

de head PPPite @ the GNBA (ignar Bibi Shadick – Chair) done admit she doan have the faintest idea where her numbers come from or what the hell they mean -  "I don’t know, I’m just calling out what I got"

you, intellectually enfeebled and incapable of challenge or argument, reverting to type, prancing bout hay like a true antiman, telling people to “get used” to GoG big dick . . . a vicarious, compensatory thrill for a weakling to be sure, especially since yours is manifestly sooo small and useless

the parade of mentally deformed PPP Stepford Wives continues