The Executive of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) will today vote to elect its presidential candidate for the upcoming Regional and General Elections.
Anil Nandlall, Frank Anthony key to PPP victory at next general elections
Posted by: Denis Chabrol in Elections, National, News, Politics January 19, 2019 1 Comment
Top front-runners for the People’s Progressive Party’s (PPP) presidential candidacy – lawyer Anil Nandlall and Dr. Frank Anthony – will Saturday hold sway on whether they would stay in the race and risk their party being defeated at the next general elections with Irfan Ali at the helm, party insiders said.
The top party executives said either Nandlall or Anthony should pull out of the contest and throw his support behind the other to ensure that Ali, who is being backed by party General Secretary Bharrat Jagdeo, is defeated.
“The situation is fluid,” a long-standing executive member of the PPP told Demerara Waves Online News on condition of strict anonymity.
With Anthony already having at least 12 solid votes from among the 35-member Central Committee, one party official said it would be easier for the former Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport to pull out and endorse Nandlall, a former Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs.
Sources said Nandlall and Anthony have been lobbied to exit the race, but so far neither of them has budged and that could see Ali winning the majority of votes and leaving the party practically in the hands of Jagdeo. “Jagdeo is a local version of [Russian President Vladimir] Putin because he wants to run the country with a face as a front through someone he has full confidence in,” the source said.
Another source said an Irfan Ali presidential candidacy would also be a soft target for A Partnership for National Unity+Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) on the election campaign trail.
“Ali would effectively be Jagdeo’s proxy or surrogate and the PNC/APNU, AFC, and this is playing right into the hands of the PNC,” the source said. Ali is facing serious scrutiny about whether his academic qualifications are authentic. While Ali had attended the University of Guyana none of his credentials tendered includes even a diploma from that institution.
Earlier this week, the High Court temporarily blocked the Magistrates Court from hearing several alleged fraudulent land sales to colleague cabinet members and other senior officials in the public and private sector totalling GYD$174 million.
Jagdeo, who is also the opposition leader, has already come out swinging against the governing coalition, saying that criminal charges filed against Ali and Nandlall were politically trumped up and that anyone the PPP puts forward was likely to face a similar fate. Nandlall is accused of stealing several law books, property of the Government of Guyana while he was Attorney General.
Other sources closely associated with the PPP are also not optimistic about Ali winning Saturday’s vote, but credited Ali with “getting things done” as Minister of Housing, Water and Tourism.
Dr. Vindhya Persaud and Gail Teixeira are expected to pull out of contest on Saturday. Teixeira and Roger Luncheon are said to be very much pro-Jagdeo and by extension pro-Ali.
With Anthony already having at least 12 solid votes from among the 35-member Central Committee, one party official said it would be easier for the former Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport to pull out and endorse Nandlall, a former Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs.
Candidate has been announced.
Who
Sheik101 posted:Who
I will tell you as soon as I am done crying.
Bibi Haniffa posted:Sheik101 posted:Who
I might as well start crying to.
Bibi Haniffa posted:Sheik101 posted:Who
Please don't tell me is Irfan Ali?
kp posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Sheik101 posted:Who
Sigh!!!!!! SMFH!!!!
Bibi Haniffa posted:kp posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Sheik101 posted:Who
Sigh!!!!!! SMFH!!!!
Funding from diaspora is over, Not good for PPP.
Bibi Haniffa posted:kp posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Sheik101 posted:Who
Sigh!!!!!! SMFH!!!!
Your Cuzo Ralph could have been in the race. Too bad.
kp posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:kp posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Sheik101 posted:Who
Sigh!!!!!! SMFH!!!!
PPP on their own if this is confirm
Dave posted:kp posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:kp posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Sheik101 posted:Who
Sigh!!!!!! SMFH!!!!
Confirmed.
Bibi Haniffa posted:Dave posted:kp posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:kp posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Sheik101 posted:Who
Sigh!!!!!! SMFH!!!!
Confirmed.
WTF is wrong with these people????
Jagdeo did the same Shyte when he coerced the Central Committee to elect Ramotar instead of Ramkarran. Irfaan is a dunce and the worst of all the candidates.
Somebody Selected a PUPPET.
kp posted:Somebody Selected a PUPPET.
The puppetmater did.
Sheik101 posted:kp posted:Somebody Selected a PUPPET.
The puppetmater did.
Hope the MF..r gets indicted and be ineligible to hold office.
Watch game now. Time for Ralph to make his move and start collecting defectors. From PPP and PNC.
A house divided against itself can't stand.
Gilbakka posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Watch game now. Time for Ralph to make his move and start collecting defectors. From PPP and PNC.
In fact I'm just thinking of urging disappointed PPP supporters to Vote ANUG.
All of a sudden, the son of PPP founder Boysie Ramkarran might get a chance.
Gilbakka posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Watch game now. Time for Ralph to make his move and start collecting defectors. From PPP and PNC.
I am on board.
Assuming that you have influence among vast amounts of PPP supporters.
Let us not discount that Irfaan won 24 to 11. How do you explain that 24 members of the committee voted for him? Are they all Jagdeo stooges?
Dave posted:Gilbakka posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Watch game now. Time for Ralph to make his move and start collecting defectors. From PPP and PNC.
I am on board.
How stupid ayuh people are, eh? Shame shit like last time. A vote for ANUG is a vote for the PNC. BJ was all ayuh hero, now ayuh ready fuh jump ship because of Irfaan? How simple minded and stupid can people be. Ayuh ready fuh throw ayuh mattie under the bus because some big teeth, dunce goat running? Relax and take a breath!
Big man like you unscaled fish, jump heh, jump deh, hate BJ, love BJ, now BJ is a big skont.
Does anyone know if Anil or Dr. Anthony has dual citizenship?
Mitwah posted:A house divided against itself can't stand.
Nah, dem only divided today. Dem guh sleep on it tonight and get over! Coolies don't trust the PNC, that is BJ trump card!
Dave posted:Gilbakka posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Watch game now. Time for Ralph to make his move and start collecting defectors. From PPP and PNC.
I am on board.
#metoo
skeldon_man posted:Dave posted:Gilbakka posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Watch game now. Time for Ralph to make his move and start collecting defectors. From PPP and PNC.
I am on board.
#metoo
Stop with ayuh antimanish behavior! Ayuh guh get PNC up ayuh rass. Keep this shit up!
Now that the party has spoken, I fully support Mr. Ali for president. Better than those dunces in the Coalition government.
rfan Ali is PPP/C presidential candidate
Posted by: Denis Chabrol in Elections, National, News, Politics January 19, 2019 1 Comment
Embattled People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Central Committee member, Irfan Ali, was Saturday elected to be his party’s presidential candidate, party sources said.
Ali, a Bharrat Jagdeo favourite, beat Anil Nandlall 24-11, sources said.
Insiders said Gail Teixeira, Frank Anthony and Vindhya Persaud withdrew from the race. Anthony left in the company of fellow Central Committee member, Indra Chandrapal in his vehicle.
They both refused to comment, instead saying the PPP would issue a statement.
Ali is Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee and Shadow Finance Minister.
He emerged victorious despite serious questions about his academic qualifications and being charged with a GYD$174 million fraud connected to the sale of housing lands to Jagdeo and former PPP Cabinet ministers.
ksazma posted:Now that the party has spoken, I fully support Mr. Ali for president. Better than those dunces in the Coalition government.
How come all dem Ivy Leaguers and PHds, etc nah undastand dah and abie two high school drop outs, Ksaz and Base, see datt implication rite away!
Maybe dats the story, Irfann mo smart dan all dem PHDs and suh! Now he guh be prezzy juss like how Bygeval man beat out all dem QC bannaz to become the Grand Guyatolla!
foward to about 2.30 mins
Baseman posted:Big man like you unscaled fish, jump heh, jump deh, hate BJ, love BJ, now BJ is a big skont.
Okay, that was an emotional outburst on my part. I shall not encourage anyone to vote ANUG. Thanks for the criticism.
Gilbakka posted:Baseman posted:Big man like you unscaled fish, jump heh, jump deh, hate BJ, love BJ, now BJ is a big skont.
Okay, that was an emotional outburst on my part. I shall not encourage anyone to vote ANUG. Thanks for the criticism.
So you gon become a Yes man now and not follow your conscience?
Mars posted:Gilbakka posted:Baseman posted:Big man like you unscaled fish, jump heh, jump deh, hate BJ, love BJ, now BJ is a big skont.
So you gon become a Yes man now and not follow your conscience?
Looking at the big picture, PPP is bigger than one man. I erred in urging support for ANUG. My anger at the choice of Irfaan must not blind me from what the PPP stands for overall.