Elderly woman attempts suicide, pulled from trench by PPP MP

An elderly woman had to be pulled from a trench in Berbice by a People’s Progressive Party/ Civic (PPP/C) Member of Parliament earlier today after she attempted to take her own life.

Eighty-two year old, Bibi Zahora called Betty of Cotton Tree Village, West Berbice attempted to commit the act at around 14:50hrs.

According to reports, MP Harry Gill heard was in the said area when he heard a loud splash into the Latino Canal, Cotton Tree.

Upon making inspections, he saw the elderly woman struggling and screaming in the water. As such he quickly ran out of his house and pulled her to safety.

The distraught woman was however heard repeating over and over “Me a throw myself there to dead and me nah a dead to…God nah a tek me life. You nah know my punishment and my pain, night and day…my children don’t visit me…”

The Blairmont Police Station was called and the woman was taken into custody as Officers are investigating the incident.

http://www.inewsguyana.com/eld...om-trench-by-ppp-mp/

Old lady look depress. She need a community. How abie can get she into a community? Abie need to get she to see her pickney dem. The failure to tek action in mid 1990s when Euro seh sugar price go fall now coming to devour abie people. Visionless and selfish and wicked leadership is eating we people.  

It’s sad.  Church, mandirs, mosque 🕌 should have community outreach programs bringing these lonely people and involve them in community activities!   This is one of their roles.