Public Works Ministry embarks on major drainage works in the city: – affected areas expected to be drained out in three days

The Ministry Public Works on Friday embarked on a major exercise designed to alleviate drainage problems in Georgetown, especially in the Lodge, Charlestown, Wortmanville, Albouystown and Queenstown areas.
The clean-up entailed clearing of blocked drains, and removal of vegetation and garbage from the heavily blocked drainage canals.

Some of the items to be removed from the Charlestown area

Workers cleaning the drains in the Sussex Street, Charlestown area

This move comes in the wake of the heavy downpour on November 27 that caused flooding in parts of the city and in Regions 2 (Pomeroon/Supenaam) and 3(Essequibo Islands/West Demerara). The rainfall which was recorded at the Botanical Gardens measured 128.9mm or 5.1 inches, the highest in the City since 1892.
Public Works Minister, Robeson Benn who was on site at Sussex Street today during the exercise, said the  ministry has four emergency teams  working in particular areas of South Georgetown.
“It’s an additional effort because we have so much of vegetation and garbage all over the city …barring not much more rain, we anticipate that we will get those areas drained out in three days’ time,” he pointed out.
He said that the ministry has installed pumps in Queenstown and Lodge, and it was anticipated that more pumps would be installed.
Benn also added that the ministry will be obtaining two long-reach excavators to assist in alleviating the drainage problems in the city, and will engage persons to remove impediments-especially scrap iron- that will cause any obstruction to clearing of the drains.
This, Minister Benn said, complements what the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development is doing to address the issue of solid waste in the city. (GINA)

PNC will only bring Guyana destruction and donkey cart economics. AFC is still the stepchild of the PNC. This is where Guyana will end up with a PNC/AFC led government. 

yaaaaawwn . . . get an education antiman

My grandfather used to say that the PNC cannot even run a cake shop and they want to run a country. That statement is true to this day. The AFC fully supports a PNC cake shop economics. Take a close look at the AFC leadership and you will see a pattern that will surprise you.

AFC's spokesperson redux with his usual homosexual response. His contribution of this forum = -1. He rushes to the defence of his Burnhamite hero and thug, Hamilton Greene.

har de har har har har har har . . .

reach again into de councee bag u stupid ole antiman

Georgetown dwellers

* The majority of people in Georgetown are PNC supporters.

* PNC supporters need to be educated.

* They need to be reminded of the old saying, "cleanliness is next to Godliness.

Linden dwellers

* Why can't the people in Georgetown be as clean as the people in Linden ?

* Look how clean linden is compared to stinky Georgetown.

My grandfather used to say that the PNC cannot even run a cake shop and they want to run a country. That statement is true to this day. The AFC fully supports a PNC cake shop economics. Take a close look at the AFC leadership and you will see a pattern that will surprise you.

At least they ent thiefing out the foundations of the cakeshop.

Georgetown dwellers

* The majority of people in Georgetown are PNC supporters.

* PNC supporters need to be educated.

* They need to be reminded of the old saying, "cleanliness is next to Godliness.

Linden dwellers

* Why can't the people in Georgetown be as clean as the people in Linden ?

* Look how clean linden is compared to stinky Georgetown.

Rev, take a close look at the guy in red shirt in the first photo. Nice PNC banna eh? You liared you.

Even in this pic it shows nothing but a group of people walking and one woman either busin someone or yawning, no one seems to care, its a peaceful shot...ruined by someone in a red shirt.

Originally Posted by Bruddaman:

At least they ent thiefing out the foundations of the cakeshop.

Bruddaman, With all due respect; if there was no cakeshop during the PNC days, how can we have a cake shop foundation?