PPP will not indulge in unethical behavior to secure opposition votes – Irfaan Ali

Minister for Housing, Irfaan Ali has stated that the PPP administration will not indulge in any unethical practice in order to secure votes from the opposition for the passage of the Anti Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Amendment Bill.

At the party’s press conference yesterday, Monday May 20, members of the PPP were asked if the party have been meeting with the opposition at individual levels, who are more likely to support the Bill.

In response, Minister Ali said, “Are you saying that we try to secure two votes from the opposition? We won’t operate in any unethical way. We are operating in a way that we’re putting all the facts out there to the party. We have this in select committee, we are answering all the questions that needs answering, we are providing all the information that is required to be provided and we are working with the party in its representation on the steering committee to have this agreed upon.”

Ali explained that the party is working as hard as possible to get the support of the opposition for the passage of the Bill.

“We want their support; we believe that they have the capacity to think nationalistically, we believe that they all have the interest of Guyana and the people of Guyana in their heart.”

Ali hopes that maturity will prevail for the passage of the Bill in parliament.

Tuschen cattle farmers accuse Minister Ali of deception

MAY 21, 2013 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

Tuschen West cattle farmers have risen in defence against Minister of Housing Irfaan Ali, calling him a liar. The farmers are furious that the Minister, on May 3 last, denied meeting with them over the confiscation of cattle land for the purpose of housing development.
The farmers charged that the Minister promised them alternative land to rear their cattle; but to date they are yet to occupy the location. They said that the Minister took their land for Tuschen Housing Scheme Phase Two and after meeting with concerned farmers on several occasions chased them out his office.

The Housing Ministry’s sign placed after the scheme was built on alleged cattle lands.

Minister Ali through the State’s newspaper said, “I never spoke to anyone. No one came to my office.” He said in the article that the allegations made against him by the head of the Tuschen West Cattle Farmers Association, Deonarine Cheddie, were false, since he never uprooted cattle farmers in Tuschen, East Bank Essequibo.
The farmers, angry at the Minister’s response, said that they were concerned that they might soon be out of business since part of the grazing land was confiscated by the Housing Ministry and the other portion is currently under threat for more housing developments.
The farmers’ representative, The Tuschen West Cattle Farmer’s Association, said that grazing land was handed over by previous Agriculture Ministers, but the Ministry of Housing charged that the original agreement for the farmers to have the land was a mistake.
Association head, Deonarine Cheddie, said that on July 9, 2003, the Tuschen Cattle Farmers Association was registered with 16 members who owned some 250 cows. The farmers had been using the said land to rear their animals and it was late President Cheddi Jagan, who related to late Agriculture Minister Reepu Daman Persaud that he should work towards farmers attaining the land.
Cheddie said they however got no official documentation for the land but on July 11, 2005, the association wrote to former President Bharrat Jagdeo for the granting of the land and Minister Satyadeow Sawh subsequently wrote the association on July 22, 2005 to say, that a successful meeting was held with the farmers and the Guyana Lands and Surveys Commission would be visiting the area for an occupational survey. This was done on July 27, 2005 and paid for by the association—the cost was $48,500.
Despite showing the Housing Minister the documents from previous arrangements including the Lands and Surveys document, Cheddie said they were told that “Lands and Surveys made a mistake.’ Three days later the Ministry started bulldozing and scaring off the cows, some of which were never retrieved.
Cheddie said that the farmers were however assured that another plot of land would be made available for them at Zeelugt. To date that has not been fulfilled.
The farmers further charged that the remaining 89 acres of land is too small for the animals to graze and the cows end up on the road or in the Housing Scheme. Farmers then have to pay $8000 to retrieve one cow.

The goons of the opposition are trying in a failed bid to assassinate the Minister character, the Ministry of housing became a reality under the PPP/C administration, many persons are owning their own homes

Originally Posted by Conscience:

"Minister for Housing, Irfaan Ali has stated that the PPP administration will not indulge in any unethical practice in order to secure votes from the opposition for the passage of the Anti Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Amendment Bill."

No one asked them to do anything "unethical" to secure votes, they've been doing these so called "unethical practices" without anyone's help all along so why do they cry now?

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAA!!!HAHAHAHAHAAAAAA!!!!!

The goons of the opposition are trying in a failed bid to assassinate the Minister character, the Ministry of housing became a reality under the PPP/C administration, many persons are owning their own homes

Irfaat lacks credibility. hahahahahahahahahahahahah

Under the PNC, if you want paved streets, you need to live in Melanie, Buxton, Agricoa, Ruimveldt, etc.  Everyone else, kech mud dam.

Bhai.Dem nah want hear the TRUTH. Drm like sell Snakeoil. Yuh fuget Melanie Damishana named after one of his big, fat daughter.

Baseman speaks the truth, but the truth is so pointed, they can only call baseman a liar and racist.

Tell us about the streets in New Amsterdam and the most recent Highbury Road under the current PPP/C Administration.

This is a result of the last PPP admin neglecting its constituency and favoring that of the opposition in a vain hope of changing racists minds.  They learn their lesson.

I remember the entire East Coast had to wear dem shoes on their hands whenever it Rains. Hire Car don't take people wid Mud shoes.

Minister for Housing, Irfaan Ali has stated that the PPP administration will not indulge in any unethical practice in order to secure votes from the opposition for the passage of the Anti Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Amendment Bill.

Th bills proposed by the joint opposition are both unconstitutional, the current administration would never accent to any legislation that is unconstitutional!

This guy Irfaan is a liar.  He make farmers do things, them never show up to follow up and help them in monetizing their output.

Baseman speaks the truth.

Tuschen West cattle farmers have risen in defence against Minister of Housing Irfaan Ali, calling him a liar. The farmers are furious that the Minister, on May 3 last, denied meeting with them over the confiscation of cattle land for the purpose of housing development.
The farmers charged that the Minister promised them alternative land to rear their cattle; but to date they are yet to occupy the location. They said that the Minister took their land for Tuschen Housing Scheme Phase Two and after meeting with concerned farmers on several occasions chased them out his office.

The Housing Ministry’s sign placed after the scheme was built on alleged cattle lands.

Minister Ali through the State’s newspaper said, “I never spoke to anyone. No one came to my office.” He said in the article that the allegations made against him by the head of the Tuschen West Cattle Farmers Association, Deonarine Cheddie, were false, since he never uprooted cattle farmers in Tuschen, East Bank Essequibo.
The farmers, angry at the Minister’s response, said that they were concerned that they might soon be out of business since part of the grazing land was confiscated by the Housing Ministry and the other portion is currently under threat for more housing developments.
The farmers’ representative, The Tuschen West Cattle Farmer’s Association, said that grazing land was handed over by previous Agriculture Ministers, but the Ministry of Housing charged that the original agreement for the farmers to have the land was a mistake.
Association head, Deonarine Cheddie, said that on July 9, 2003, the Tuschen Cattle Farmers Association was registered with 16 members who owned some 250 cows. The farmers had been using the said land to rear their animals and it was late President Cheddi Jagan, who related to late Agriculture Minister Reepu Daman Persaud that he should work towards farmers attaining the land.
Cheddie said they however got no official documentation for the land but on July 11, 2005, the association wrote to former President Bharrat Jagdeo for the granting of the land and Minister Satyadeow Sawh subsequently wrote the association on July 22, 2005 to say, that a successful meeting was held with the farmers and the Guyana Lands and Surveys Commission would be visiting the area for an occupational survey. This was done on July 27, 2005 and paid for by the association—the cost was $48,500.
Despite showing the Housing Minister the documents from previous arrangements including the Lands and Surveys document, Cheddie said they were told that “Lands and Surveys made a mistake.’ Three days later the Ministry started bulldozing and scaring off the cows, some of which were never retrieved.
Cheddie said that the farmers were however assured that another plot of land would be made available for them at Zeelugt. To date that has not been fulfilled.
The farmers further charged that the remaining 89 acres of land is too small for the animals to graze and the cows end up on the road or in the Housing Scheme. Farmers then have to pay $8000 to retrieve one cow.

As I previously mentioned, What a lying creep.

Minister Ali through the State’s newspaper said, “I never spoke to anyone. No one came to my office.He said in the article that the allegations made against him by the head of the Tuschen West Cattle Farmers Association, Deonarine Cheddie, were false, since he never uprooted cattle farmers in Tuschen, East Bank Essequibo.

This guy Irfaan is a liar.  He make farmers do things, them never show up to follow up and help them in monetizing their output.

Baseman speaks the truth.

Originally Posted by Pointblank:

did he say that the house will be priced outside the lower and middle income guyanese.

I am guessing that in those communities only the friends of the PPP is welcome

Correct on both counts.

Minister Ali through the State’s newspaper said, “I never spoke to anyone. No one came to my office.He said in the article that the allegations made against him by the head of the Tuschen West Cattle Farmers Association, Deonarine Cheddie, were false, since he never uprooted cattle farmers in Tuschen, East Bank Essequibo.

PPP will not indulge in unethical behavior to secure opposition votes – Irfaan Ali

At the party’s press conference yesterday, Monday May 20, members of the PPP were asked if the party have been meeting with the opposition at individual levels, who are more likely to support the Bill.

In response, Minister Ali said, “Are you saying that we try to secure two votes from the opposition? We won’t operate in any unethical way. We are operating in a way that we’re putting all the facts out there to the party. We have this in select committee, we are answering all the questions that needs answering, we are providing all the information that is required to be provided and we are working with the party in its representation on the steering committee to have this agreed upon.”

Ali explained that the party is working as hard as possible to get the support of the opposition for the passage of the Bill.

“We want their support; we believe that they have the capacity to think nationalistically, we believe that they all have the interest of Guyana and the people of Guyana in their heart.”

Ali hopes that maturity will prevail for the passage of the Bill in parliament.

The PPP is by definition an obscenely corrupt party. Iifart himself is an example of that necrosis of corruption since it is clear his salary did not get him what he has.

This bill should not be assented to by the opposition.The PPP deemed it necessary to play god and reject on nonsensical excuses  the anti corruption strategies being formalized by the Opposition. The denial of that is of more grave importance than this present bill. That denial allows the PPP to steak as they will. A denial of this means international sanctions step in and the money launderers get to face western scrutiny.

Originally Posted by Danyael:
The PPP is by definition an obscenely corrupt party. Iifart himself is an example of that necrosis of corruption since it is clear his salary did not get him what he has.

This bill should not be assented to by the opposition.The PPP deemed it necessary to play god and reject on nonsensical excuses  the anti corruption strategies being formalized by the Opposition. The denial of that is of more grave importance than this present bill. That denial allows the PPP to steak as they will. A denial of this means international sanctions step in and the money launderers get to face western scrutiny.

This is the fear of the PPP.

The Constitution would always be adhere to by the present administration

Why dont you research what the PPP had to say about that constitution. And constitutions has to be an agreement between the citizens and the administration. if the administration is awarded what the citizens did not give then the Constitution is less than toilet paper. This one was never with the consent of the people. The PPP need to create one that the people agree with before they clamor that they are living and dying by it. And again I will remind you they said it was illegal and not meeting the bar of legitimacy.