PPP boasts wins in 48 of 71 local authority areas

- accuses Stabroek News of bias, racism in results coverage

The PPP yesterday said that it has made a “massive sweep” of the just-concluded local government elections, having won 48 out of the 71 local authority areas it contested.

At a press conference held at Freedom House, Stabroek News was also singled out by the party and accused of being “bias, flawed, discriminatory and racist” in its reportage of the results. The party said that the newspaper’s “screaming headlines” and analysis focused on government’s wins in heavily populated areas and not on the amount of seats that were won by contestants. It said that had it been analysed from that angle, it would clearly be seen that the PPP/C was the most successful.

It was while reading a prepared statement that PPP General Secretary Clement Rohee criticised this newspaper’s coverage, arguing that the bias was evident in the headlines of the Sunday and Monday (yesterday) editions.

In responding to the  PPP’s claims, Stabroek News Editor-in-Chief Anand Persaud defended the newspaper’s coverage…to continue reading this article, please subscribe.  Already a subscriber ?

PPP is correct in addressing and condemning a New Wave of RACIST Black Nationalism emerging today in Guyana.

Time to push back. Kudos PPP.

The generation of Indos today are not like the generation of yesterday who were harassed and intimidated for 28 Years by two racist dictators, Burnham and Hoyte.

Here is the truth.  Most local communities are rural villages.  Most of these villages are majority Indian. Guyanese vote race, so clearly the PPP will win in most of the communities.

Can the PPP claim that they won any communities that were not majority Indian?  NO!  We know this because their boast is that they "consolidated the East Indian vote".  Even Jagdeo admits that they did NO campaigning in majority African/mixed, or in Amerindian communities. 

So who introduced the race element here. FACT.  The PPP was stomped in the urban areas!

Now let us look at the PPP.

1.  They screamed that sugar workers be given time to vote. They SINGLED out sugar workers. WHY?

2.  They boasted that they had "consolidated the Indian vote".  If that isn't injecting a racial element into this discussion, I don't know what is.

Prior to 2014 the PPP used to at least pretend to be a multi racial party, even though the reality is that it wasn't. Since they became paranoid about the AFC eating into the Indian base, the PPP has become ROAR II.

The PPP can do as it wishes, but, when they lose in the general, they mustn't scream "black people racial" or "PNC rig de election".   If the PPP is a "coolie people party" then clearly they will NOT get support from other groups!

PPP is correct in addressing and condemning a New Wave of RACIST Black Nationalism emerging today in Guyana.

Time to push back. Kudos PPP.

The generation of Indos today are not like the generation of yesterday who were harassed and intimidated for 28 Years by two racist dictators, Burnham and Hoyte.

In 2020 the Indian vote will be less then 45%. The Amerindians are switching to the coalition. 

So describe how you think that the PPP will win in the general election.

Note that in LGE its winner take all.  So in a constituency (yes they didn't explain that part to you) if a party wins 50.1% of the vote they get the seat.  In the general the distribution of the MPs is proportionate.  All the winning party gets is the presidency.

Here is the truth.  Most local communities are rural villages.  Most of these villages are majority Indian. Guyanese vote race, so clearly the PPP will win in most of the communities.

Can the PPP claim that they won any communities that were not majority Indian?  NO!  We know this because their boast is that they "consolidated the East Indian vote".  Even Jagdeo admits that they did NO campaigning in majority African/mixed, or in Amerindian communities. 

So who introduced the race element here. FACT.  The PPP was stomped in the urban areas!

1.  They screamed that sugar workers be given time to vote. They SINGLED out sugar workers. WHY?

2.  They boasted that they had "consolidated the Indian vote".  If that isn't injecting a racial element into this discussion, I don't know what is.

Prior to 2014 the PPP used to at least pretend to be a multi racial party, even though the reality is that it wasn't. Since they became paranoid about the AFC eating into the Indian base, the PPP has become ROAR II.

The PPP can do as it wishes, but, when they lose in the general, they mustn't scream "black people racial" or "PNC rig de election".   If the PPP is a "coolie people party" then clearly they will NOT get support from other groups!

ACTION SPEAKS LOUDER THAN WORDS, Immediately after the PNC took office they went on a firing spree of most Indians in senior positions and replace them with blacks, and as you singled out sugar workers, YES the majority are indians, so if the PNC choose not to represent them , then the PPP will. When Granger talks of his supporters in Linden, whom do you think he is referring to?? is the dam blacks. At present the PNC is applying the old saying, "abie own people" comes first.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....e-and-them-politics/

In 1994 the PPP won 8 seats in G/town.  This time they won only 2.

So why is the PPP braying when they lost major ground in the city which has 30% of the national votes. Clearly they have lost support, even among G/town Indians!

ACTION SPEAKS LOUDER THAN WORDS, Immediately after the PNC took office they went on a firing spree of most Indians in senior positions and replace them with blacks, and as you singled out sugar workers, YES the majority are indians, so if the PNC choose not to represent them , then the PPP will. When Granger talks of his supporters in Linden, whom do you think he is referring to?? is the dam blacks. At present the PNC is applying the old saying, "abie own people" comes first.

So APNU did to Indians what the PPP did to blacks?

Your point?  YOU are the one who will claim that Indians suffer from racism, at the hands of blacks, while the reverse never happens.

I have said BOTH engage in racism and BOTH suffer.

So what new point are you introducing now?

Granger DID NOT single out bauxite workers for a thing. They had to go to work on LGE just like every one else!

The PPP is the "coolie people party" and they SAID SO!

Carib declares the PPP a racist party because they did not attract Black votes in record numbers. However, he does not see the PNC as racist when they've also failed to attract Indo supporters in record numbers.  Do we buy this man's argument as to what determines a party racial???

Correct.

We could care less about what Racist Black Nationalists say about Indos. Time for Indos to push back.

History of racism in Guyana by Afro Dictators Burnham and Hoyte must NEVER happen again.

Correct.

We could care less about what Racist Black Nationalists say about Indos. Time for Indos to push back.

History of racism in Guyana by Afro Dictators Burnham and Hoyte must NEVER happen again.

You are too much of a coward to come out.  Tiger behind your keyboard.

FC posted:

Correct.

You are too much of a coward to come out.  Tiger behind your keyboard.

Truth Really Hurts eh !

68 Percent of voters rejected the AFC/PNC fools.

Carib sees Indians as the enemy. Recognize it and stop living in denial. His criticism of LFS on this forum many years ago was superficial and meant to con us into believe he is a moderate black Guyanese dude. He is not so. His true colors are showing. He could care less if all them Indians die or run away from Guyana.

Carib is way less a racist than some of you PPP goofballs here. The guy has said many times so that it stick in you fellas head that every race in Guyana had their racist goons. He admitted PNC had them, he even spoke ill at times of Burnham, he said the PPP had racist goons, he mighta even said UF had them but all you PPP peeps saw him mention was the PPP had them and that stuck in your craws...oh no, we Indian peeps cyan be dat violent, nahhhh. Bullshit, not with what I see here even amongst yourselves and the religions and who makes more and who owns what.

No wonder Iman stick to my own dam spiritual groove and spark up the chalice...ahhhhhh!!!!

Truth Really Hurts eh !

68 Percent of voters rejected the AFC/PNC fools.

Dude, if this were a national election, the PPP would have done worse than last time. They are such a broken party and confused they would never be able to try and fudge the votes. Now that I think of it, they couldn't try and fudge the votes this time...THEY (PPP)  LOST.

Carib is way less a racist than some of you PPP goofballs here. The guy has said many times so that it stick in you fellas head that every race in Guyana had their racist goons. He admitted PNC had them, he even spoke ill at times of Burnham, he said the PPP had racist goons, he mighta even said UF had them but all you PPP peeps saw him mention was the PPP had them and that stuck in your craws...oh no, we Indian peeps cyan be dat violent, nahhhh. Bullshit, not with what I see here even amongst yourselves and the religions and who makes more and who owns what.

No wonder Iman stick to my own dam spiritual groove and spark up the chalice...ahhhhhh!!!!

Nothing but the truth.  These people are consumed by their inherent racism.  They hate blacks. On a daily basis they belittle blacks and other minorities in Guyana.  The level of race baiting and racism on this site is sickening.  In some weird and warped way they revel and obtain great pleasure from it. It really is quite bizarre.

Our best hope is with this new coalition government. We have a breakthrough. It is incumbent on them not to repeat past behaviours and mistakes.  It is a tough road ahead. What matters is winning the hearts and souls of the under 25 year olds living in Guyana. 

Carib declares the PPP a racist party because they did not attract Black votes in record numbers. However, he does not see the PNC as racist when they've also failed to attract Indo supporters in record numbers.  Do we buy this man's argument as to what determines a party racial???

Caribj has always said that BOTH the PPP and the PNC are racist parties.

YOU hate blacks, and resent me because I expose your racism.

Now go vote for your brown bai KKK PPP, as by 2020 they will only get SOME Indian votes.

Carib sees Indians as the enemy.

I don't see Gilbakka, Riffraff, susan, Django, TK, or even VVP, Vishmahabir, or Kari as the enemy.

I only see the brown bai KKK as the enemy.  Stop hating blacks and then you come off the enemy list.

The only group that I haven't accused of racism are Amerindians, and only because they lack the power to enforce what ever animosity that some have towards others.

Brown bai KKK want to breed hatred towards blacks, but don't want that to be exposed.

The only group that I haven't accused of racism are Amerindians, and only because they lack the power to enforce what ever animosity that some have towards others.

Brown bai KKK want to breed hatred towards blacks, but don't want that to be exposed.

An educated person is always an expert on a particular subject. So, my bruddah I deemed you a super Indo racist. Yuh have educated yourself in that respect.

Those who are intelligent can see you, clearly. 

An educated person is always an expert on a particular subject. So, my bruddah I deemed you a super Indo racist. Yuh have educated yourself in that respect.

Those who are intelligent can see you, clearly. 

Oh yes another brown bai KKK yelping. This one screamed that Lindeners should be cursed with poverty and death for ever, and that blacks are lazy, criminal, and violent.

Being the brown bai KKK that he is, he doesn't think these brays are racist.