PPP/C'S PRUDENT ECONOMIC MANAGEMENT RESULTS IN 2.8% 2012 MID-YEAR GROWTH!!

SIGNS that Guyana’s economy might be on a roll for a sixth consecutive year were confirmed when Finance Minister, Dr Ashni Singh declared that growth, as at mid-yea

r, had reached the 2.8 per cent mark.
Noting that this sort of performance was self-evident of the country’s resilience in the face of economic and other global challenges, Dr Singh said a comprehensive assessment of its economy over the course of the first half of the year has demonstrated that the trend of positive real economic growth had in no way slowed.
“This growth reflects continued progress on the diversification of the productive sector, where we have now arrived at a point where we are no longer as we were 10 years ago: entirely dependent on one, two or three dominant sectors,” he told media operatives during a press conference called on Saturday at the National Communications Network (NCN) on Homestretch Avenue to review the findings of the Mid-Year financial report for 2012.

Key achievements in the first half of 2012

* The domestic economy achieved real growth of 2.8 per cent, with non-sugar gross domestic product expanding by 6.2 per cent. Overall growth for the year is now projected at 3.8 per cent and non-sugar growth at 3.9 per cent.

* Total export earnings grew by 9.2 per cent to US$592.1 million

* Gold production grew by 13.2 per cent to 184,929 ounces and export earnings amounted to US$268 million, an increase of 16.8 per cent over the corresponding period in 2011.

* The bauxite sector grew by 41.9 per cent and export earnings amounted to US$79.4 million, an increase of 21.8 per cent over the corresponding period in 2011.

* Rice production expanded by 1.4 per cent to 210,395 tonnes and export earnings amounted to US$84.6 million.

* The fisheries industry expanded by 13.8 per cent.

* Interest rates trended downwards and inflation remained within acceptable norms at 1.8 per cent in the first half of 2012.

* Private Sector Credit expanded by eight per cent to $145.3 billion.

* Foreign Direct Investment amounted to US$167.2 million in the first half of 2012

"Overall growth for the year 2012 is now projected at 3.8 per cent."

vs

Guyana is extremely fortunate to be lead by an intensely decent and caring man, a real winner, President Donald Ramotar. If the country were lead by those 2 dip$hits on the right, Granger and Ramjattan, bonafide losers, it would be in deep financial turmoil today.

2 AFC Terrorists--Benshop & Ramsaroop

inciting violence in Linden.

The terrorists in the Alliance For Change(AFC) have fervently tried to destabilize Guyana and harm the country.

Gerard Ramsaroop, Mark Benshop, Moses Nagamootoo, Khemraj Ramjattan, etc inflamed elements in Linden to create havoc and chaos in that peaceful community---800 children are without school because of the heinous actions of the AFC terrorists. The bauxite company Bosai also had to shut operations for 2 weeks.

Thankfully President Ramotar now has things back control in Guyana---but he should have shown more backbone and arrest the AFC terrorists who are hell bent on destabilizing and destroying Guyana.

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

The terrorists in the Alliance For Change(AFC) have fervently tried to destabilize Guyana and harm the country.

Gerard Ramsaroop, Mark Benshop, Moses Nagamootoo, Khemraj Ramjattan, etc inflamed elements in Linden to create havoc and chaos in that peaceful community---800 children are without school because of the heinous actions of the AFC terrorists. The bauxite company Bosai also had to shut operations for 2 weeks.

Thankfully President Ramotar now has things back control in Guyana---but he should have shown more backbone and arrest the AFC terrorists who are hell bent on destabilizing and destroying Guyana.

more antiman runnings . . . like a lil gurl screaming for attention

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The Guyanese Populace has condemned the acts of certain opponents of the state that had tried to destabilize the country

ur masters give you a raise yet? . . . to assuage your shame

GUYANA RICE PRODUCTION APPROACHES 500,000 TONS FOR 2012

210,395 tons of rice was produced in the first half of the year, and if the weather remains good Guyana's rice production for 2012 could be around 491,000 tons.

READ MORE:

Last month, Agriculture Minister Dr Leslie Ramsammy announced that so far for this year, 45,000 tonnes of rice have been shipped to neighbouring Venezuela, which is by far Guyana’s largest rice market.

There is also the possibility of Guyana exporting the commodity to Brazil, Haiti, and Central America, since the GRDB has been actively pursuing these markets. Last year, the industry yielded 402,450 tonnes of rice valued at US$173,259,722, and exported 305,382,000 tonnes of the commodity.

KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK GUYANESE FARMERS.

Hope the AFC terrorists, Ramjattan, Nagamootoo, Benshop, Ramsaroop, etc dont incite criminals to burn the rice fields in Guyana.

MAYBE THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD CLOSE DOWN THE SUGAR ESTATES AND START PLANTING RICE.

Skeldon factory was designed to produce

110K tons of sugar annually. It has been

plagued by technical problems. In 2010

it produced 33K tons and in 2011 29K tons.

THE PROBLEMS IN THE SUGAR INDUSTRY WILL BE SOLVED!

South African engineering form Bosch was hired to design modifications at Skeldon---it is expected that the problems will be solved in 2013.

OF COURSE THE AFC AND THEIR PARTNER IN CRIME, THE PNC, WANT ALL INDUSTRIES IN GUYANA TO GO OUT OF BUSINESS.

Bad news for Guyana would be good news for the AFC/PNC.

Thankfully, the majority of Guyanese are resourceful people---and economic progress continues in Guyana---3.8% growth in 2012.

Rev, what crap are you spewing here?

Your post says it all, they should sue your stupid rass for this. Re-read what you posted maybe you'll understand.

warrior take your head out of the sand, and see development is taking place in every sector of the Guyanese economy

You should start by taking your head out of Rev's batty.

Those guys should sue your stupid rass for this.

cainster:

Your comprehension is severely lacking!

The Rev never accused terrorist Benshop and Ramsaroop of setting that Linden primary on fire---but they played pivotal roles in inflaming criminal elements to create havoc and chaos in Linden.

THE AFC TERRORISTS SHOULD HAVE BEEN ARRESTED AND PUT ON TRIAL!

rev i donot know which part of guyana you living in but bro i live in guyana,and i want you to show me what development you talking about,most of those socall big house you seeing is running money build it,all and i mean all the businessmen in guyana some running or the other,who is not smuggling goods without paying duities is smuggling out some thing  the big thing to smuggle is gold.if you want to show me development let take a walk to the sugar estates and talk to the people most of them and i mean most of them get help from overseas to make ends meet rev ali you is a coward ass trying to big up a failing government run by a set of lowlife thief

Rev, what crap are you spewing here?

Your post says it all, they should sue your stupid rass for this. Re-read what you posted maybe you'll understand.

rev i donot know which part of guyana you living in but bro i live in guyana,and i want you to show me what development you talking about

warrior:

You need to stop listening to the losers from the AFC/PNC!

THE NUMBERS DON'T LIE WARRIOR!

Check this:

* Gold production  = up from 2011

* Rice production = up from 2011

* Fish production = up from 2011

* Export earnings = up from 2011

* Bauxite production = up from 2011

* Foreign direct investment = up from 2011

The Minister of finance is projecting economic growth of 3.8% in 2012.

WAKE UP FROM YOUR AFC INDUCED COMA WARRIOR---GUYANA IS ON THE MOVE.

* The bauxite sector grew by 41.9 per cent and export earnings amounted to US$79.4 million, an increase of 21.8 per cent over the corresponding period in 2011.

Hmmmm.  All those people screaming about "lazy Linden people".

I wonder why the PPP is taking credit for the fact that continued high prices for gold has provided an incentive for people to go in the bush and find it?

Guyana's economy continues to experience positive economic growth for the first half of the year and is expected to grown also in the latter part of the year....

Most of it due to gold.  ARe you praising the PPP for high gold prices. The rest due to bauxite as rice ekes out a mere 1.4% growth.

Of course no mention of sugar.  Now one would think that this would be a candidate for privatization as clearly the PPP is no more able to run it, than was the PNC capable of running Guymine.

You do know that most gold miners dont seem to like the PPP as evidenced by the fact that the PNC recaptured Region 7, and the PPP lost both regions 8 and 10.

Guyana's economy continues to experience positive economic growth for the first half of the year and is expected to grown also in the latter part of the year....

Most of it due to gold.  ARe you praising the PPP for high gold prices. The rest due to bauxite as rice ekes out a mere 1.4% growth.

Of course no mention of sugar.  Now one would think that this would be a candidate for privatization as clearly the PPP is no more able to run it, than was the PNC capable of running Guymine.

You do know that most gold miners dont seem to like the PPP as evidenced by the fact that the PNC recaptured Region 7, and the PPP lost both regions 8 and 10.

RIce is in trouble. I know that indirectly because we had a dude in court for almost 20 years for 100 acres of land he rented ( actually his father who died rented) and he was years behind in rent. He finally give up and settled this year asking us not to go after his home because he has nothing else. He said he was robbed by the millers. Apparently, he really was at his wits end in the rice business. 

PNC recaptured Region 7, and the PPP lost both regions 8 and 10.

RIce is in trouble.

Some one wrote an article some time back suggesting that the rice industry has seen a vast concentration of ownership with small farmers becoming tenants and increasingly falling prey to money lenders and the millers (who might sometimes be the same people).

I cant speak to this.

=============

I can speak to this.

It is patently obvious that despondent and crestfallen AFC/PNC supporters like caribny and Stormborn are mortified by the economic success of the Ramotar administration. You pitiful souls cannot hide your deep envy of the PPP government.

Rev,

The envy is one element, the intense hate for a progressive government is another. They spew venom and hate towards the PPP on an hourly basis, quoting toilet paper like KN and "dem boys seh" as the new standard for journalism.

Storm especially, posts hate towards progressive Indo Guyanese. Everytime an Indo Guyanese makes progress or builds a business or a house these lazy crooks who are on social assistance accuse Indo Guyanese of stealing. It is beyond human comprehension what these crooks promote.

Storm is currently defending Moses and Ram who collected millions from NICIL as "services" provided. Yet he is on record as saying that those who took funds from NICIL should be jailed.

He is afraid that  two more of his buddies will end up in jail just like his best friend.

Shame on these sumbags and Indo Guyanese hater. They call those who attacked the police Linden, heroes yet they forget those killed by the PNC army of which Granger was major part of during the Burnhan dictatorship era.

It is time to speak out since history can and will repeat itself and we will once again end up with a donkey cart economy and a brutal PNC dictatorship.

Rev, The envy is one element, the intense hate for a progressive government is another.

Yuji:

You notice how caribny tries to divide Guyana into gold/bauxite/mineral sectors(blacks dominant here) being productive and the sugar/rice/agri sectors(Indians dominant here) lagging ?

What caribny doesn't tell us is that in the 1990s the bauxite industry was bankrupt---but rather than shutting the industry down---the PPP persisted with the industry until the Russians(Ruscal) and the Chinese(Bosai) came on board.

Sugar is having some difficulties right now---hopefully the problems will be solved over the next 2 years---carib, stormy and the other PPP haters are on their knees praying to allah for the agri sectors in Guyana to fail---pain and suffering for East Indians would please carib/stormy and the other pnc/afc miscreants.

The bottom line is Guyana is experiencing faily good economic progress, even as most countries in the world are economically challenged.

Let's make caribny happy---give praise to the blacks in the gold/bauxite/mineral sectors for their diligent work----and let's also thanks the Chinese and Canadians for investing hundreds of millions(US) in the mineral sectors.

Bhai,

Storm and his crew disappeared after you posted facts that will make them shiver. I guess they will regroup with some postings from toilet paper KN and "dem boys seh" articles with some added lies.

Keep em on their toes AL.

They are quite worried about the U.S election outcome when Romney wins. How will they continue to collect social assistance and food stamps ? That is the million dollar question.

At lease Romney will create lots of jobs, will they be willing to work ? Is the other million dollar question.

Rev, The envy is one element, the intense hate for a progressive government is another.

Yuji:

You notice how caribny tries to divide Guyana into gold/bauxite/mineral sectors(blacks dominant here) being productive and the sugar/rice/agri sectors(Indians dominant here) lagging ?

No I dont bring it up, except to wonder why the PPP is taking credit for things over which it has no control, prices for gold and bauxite. 

The person who did so was the one who screams praise for the PPP, because international prices are strong for gold and bauxite, leading to grwoth in those sectors. ...and of course not too long ago all the PPP racists here were screaming at how lazy Lindeners are.  Calling them leeches with nothing to contribute.

OK apologize and give credit to them now.  Both those in bauxite and the many more who are now in gold.

Discuss this please. Note that sugar prices are also high Guysuco loses millions, yet its failing.  PRIVATIZE Guysuco and if thousands of PPP supporters are left destitute, well such is the same bed that you insist that Lindeners should lie on.

I know that the PPP does what the PNC did in the 70s and that is turn what it controls into fecal matter....but these are the facts.

At lease Romney will create lots of jobs, will they be willing to work ? Is the other million dollar question.

yuji why do you benefit from Canada's health care system yet feel that we in the USA shouild die on the street if we cant afford to buy insurance?

the PPP persisted with the industry until the Russians(Ruscal) and the Chinese(Bosai) came on board.

Sugar is having some difficulties right now---

So why not sell sugar to the Chinese who took over the industry in Jamaica?