February 15, 2016

President David Granger addressing the event. [Ministry of the Presidency photo)

The results of the May 2015 elections, I do not regard as a victory. I see it as an opportunity. For one side to win 207,000 votes and the other side to win 202,000 votes is not a grand victory. Rather, it is an opportunity for collaboration, not conflict; for a contract to cooperate and to understand that working together, not fighting; is the formula of the future’

President David Granger on Friday reiterated his call for a “social contract” amongst all players on the national stage to move the country forward.

“A social contract could be the means of combining the talents of a wider constituency and of creating the conditions for social cooperation. The purpose of such a contract would be to reach a broad consensus on the goals of national development, to establish a sustainable institutional architecture and to create effective policy instruments for the achievement of our national objectives. A covenant will allow government and the civil society to combine their resources, become more focused and exert a greater impact on society. Civil society has the experience, expertise and social capital to address most social problems. It will facilitate the pooling of resources to better address the root causes of social problems rather than merely dealing with the symptoms,” the Head of State said.

The Ministry of the Presidency reported that Granger made the remarks at a fundraising dinner for the Rotary Club at the Pegasus Hotel. He said that while the 2015 General and Regional Elections would have brought a new administration into power, his government is committed to the interests of all Guyanese. As such, the Administration will collaborate with the opposition, civil society and every other group to ensure that its goal of creating a stronger, healthier, cohesive nation is realised.President David Granger addressing the event. (Ministry of the Presidency photo)

“The results of the May 2015 elections, I do not regard as a victory. I see it as an opportunity. For one side to win 207,000 votes and the other side to win 202,000 votes is not a grand victory. Rather, it is an opportunity for collaboration, not conflict; for a contract to cooperate and to understand that working together, not fighting; is the formula of the future,” Granger was quoted as saying.

On this note, he proposed a “social contract” which will provide the milieu for major sections of society; civil society, the government, political opposition, trade unions and the private sector, to collaborate on a broad national programme to move the country forward.

Granger and APNU had previously floated the notion of a “social contract” and a national unity government. In September, then Minister of Governance Raphael Trotman announced that a team consisting of Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo, Vice President Carl Greenidge, himself, Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan, Attorney General Basil Williams and Minister of State Joseph Harmon would conduct the negotiations with the PPP on governance. Prior to that, in August, Trotman had said that Granger will “very soon” announce an initiative for engagement between the government and the opposition.

Not too keen

However, the PPP/C is not too keen on engaging with Nagamootoo.

Meantime, Granger said Guyanese must capitalise on the opportunity Guyana’s jubilee anniversary provides to revitalise communities and turn them into thriving economic hubs, safer societies, cleaner and greener places and vibrant cultural and social spaces.

According to the Ministry of the Presidency, he said civil society groups have a critical role in fostering communitarianism and called on the Rotary Club of Georgetown to lead efforts to instill the virtue of accountability to family and community to build a strong and united Guyana.

The President noted that Guyana has a long history of violence and division, but as the country prepares to celebrate its 50th Independence Anniversary, it cannot afford to continue to stagger perpetually on the brink of catastrophe, constantly moving from one crisis to another.

“We need to exhibit the common sense and social cohesion which can ensure a cessation of this senseless divisiveness,” the President was quoted as saying.

To this end, he noted that 2016 is Guyana’s “Year of Renaissance” and as such all citizens and civil society groups must stand in solidarity and embrace the ideology of communitarianism, which emphasises an individual’s responsibility to the community and the social importance of the family.

Opportune

“The solution is effective representation and inclusion…this year is opportune for us to promote the spirit of the community development through partnerships between civil society and government. These will allow us to solve problems while promoting the common good…We believe that, by and large, we can all attain the ‘good life’ we desire. We can work together for the improvement of our communities and the promotion of the good life for all,” the President said.

According to the report, Granger noted that civil society, while pursuing its individual interests, generally works to ensure that its efforts are directed toward the broader objectives of society.

“Men and women who comprise civil society are united in a covenant to serve others, to promote strong communities and to solve the social problems that exist in the country. There is too much inequality and poverty. There are too many uneducated persons whose ranks are augmented annually by four thousand drop-outs our primary and secondary schools. There is too much unemployment especially among the uneducated young. There are too many communities which are unsafe owing to crime. Communities are not in a state of collapse. There are, however, in need of change in order to avert decline or disaster,” he said.

The President noted that these problems cannot be addressed by any single group –whether it is a government or non-governmental organisation, but require a collective and cohesive response.

“These problems are national in scale. They require national responses. They require combinations between civil society and government to strengthen the communities in which people live…Communities are important… Civil society understands the plight of the poor. Government and civil society can support each other instead of supplanting each other at the level of the communities where the greatest need exists,” he said.

Meanwhile, in her address, Elizabeth Cox, the President of the Rotary Club of Georgetown, declared that the policies and agenda of the Club will now be guided by the charge that the Head of State has given.

Granger was also inducted as a Paul Harris Fellow, during the evening’s proceedings. The Club’s past president, Errol Cheong said that Rotary bestows the Paul Harris Fellow on a person whose life, in its estimation, demonstrates a shared purpose with its foundation and objectives. Granger, he said, exemplifies these qualities and the Club is honoured to bestow the title upon him. Paul Harris was the founder of the Rotary Club.

I do not regard as a victory

The dude is on the spot. It should have been regarded as a theft. Is he losing his marbles? Will we see Moses and Granger holding shoulders crying on each other?

We in the US don't all agree on everything but we are still successful. Guyanese don't all need to toe the same line for them to succeed. They just have to stop being hapless starting with this current government.

baseman posted:

Stop being a hypocrite.  You win by the skin of your teeth after committing fraud at the PNC dominated areas, then as soon as you got in, in less than a year, you ethnically cleansed all ministries, fired most Amerindians and anything you have control, now you calling for collaboration!!!

You cannot hope to build a civil society with law of the jungle behavior!!

wow

no Indos in the civil service!! . . . "most" Amerindians pan de bread line!! . . . hmmmmmm?

u mussbe does prappa enjoy when meh lash u good

lol

He is saying the right things but they must also be careful not to get rid of parliamentary norms/traditions if they are not causing any harm.

The economy is not doing so great right now but it is not the fault of the government. Guyana had a huge underground economy under the previous government and now the current administration is trying to clean it up, at least give them 18 months. 

Under the previous administration there were inequities in the distribution of various projects, benefits and subsidies across the country - from the sugar industry to cheap energy for citizens of Linden. The current administration must find a more amenable way to distribute the wealth of Guyana to all her citizens, after all it belongs to all of Guyana and all are equal.

I do not know what trajectory Granger is on with expressing a need for a social contract. Besides anti-contractarian arguments, there are various paths to take. He therefore should express what problem he is seeking to solve and simply culling the nebulous "national unity" theme is not only spurious but a waste of time.

He has to develop more than a cry for a contract. He must establish the basis of the problems before us and the progression of rationale that will address the problems established by such a contract. My view is the need is more pressing to establish hard coded structures in a revised or completely new constitution that would re establish the idea of our state and the contract between the polity and the administration to ground the idea of good government. 

You do not go ad hoc and say you can forge national unity without defining what it is to be a citizen in the state and what is Granger and his crews' ( or any government's) duty and obligation to us.

I do not know what trajectory Granger is on with expressing a need for a social contract. Besides anti-contractarian arguments, there are various paths to take. He therefore should express what problem he is seeking to solve and simply culling the nebulous "national unity" theme is not only spurious but a waste of time.

He has to develop more than a cry for a contract. He must establish the basis of the problems before us and the progression of rationale that will address the problems established by such a contract. My view is the need is more pressing to establish hard coded structures in a revised or completely new constitution that would re establish the idea of our state and the contract between the polity and the administration to ground the idea of good government. 

You do not go ad hoc and say you can forge national unity without defining what it is to be a citizen in the state and what is Granger and his crews' ( or any government's) duty and obligation to us.

I truly feel sorry for President Granger.  National Unity will not happen under his watch since there is no institutional THRUST to achieve this.  Right now it is all WORDS and TALK.

If we can start the process at the village level, we will make progress.  Now taking away street lights from Bath Settlement and putting FREE LIGHTS in LINDEN is not the way to go.

The East Indians in Bath who were pissed at Bharat are now back in his BED all because the Coalition misread how fragile those voters who voted for the Coalition from Bath and Whim were.

The stood with the Coalition in 2015 on issues. Now they are gone for a long time.  Do not expect them back in 2020 and Bharat and TEAM doing a GOOD JOB of reminding them that the Coalition is a Georgetown COALITION that does not care for the RURAL FOLKS.

KishanB posted:

I truly feel sorry for President Granger.  National Unity will not happen under his watch since there is no institutional THRUST to achieve this.  Right now it is all WORDS and TALK.

If we can start the process at the village level, we will make progress.  Now taking away street lights from Bath Settlement and putting FREE LIGHTS in LINDEN is not the way to go.

The East Indians in Bath who were pissed at Bharat are now back in his BED all because the Coalition misread how fragile those voters who voted for the Coalition from Bath and Whim were.

The stood with the Coalition in 2015 on issues. Now they are gone for a long time.  Do not expect them back in 2020 and Bharat and TEAM doing a GOOD JOB of reminding them that the Coalition is a Georgetown COALITION that does not care for the RURAL FOLKS.

Granger has taken Caribj's approach ie something at the ground level of the society must be established to coerce the evolution of national unity. Caribj said indians must acknowledge they are racists and see black people as the backward others and on that primary condition we can evolve unity.

I say it does not matter who are racist or not since the reasons people are the way they are is a consequence of what they can get away with.We therefore has to limit the impact of race in politics and set up institutional fences that ensures race is not taking into condition from when we select our leaders to when our leaders act on behalf of the people.

It is a very easy task despite our long history of adversarial racial politics. We are smart enough as humans to fabricate a constitution and electoral system that would stymie race based voting while not crippling the right to celebrate ethnic pride.

I think President Granger means well by calling for a social contract with the PPP. I also think the PPP will reject the president's call for a social contract because he halted kickbacks from social contractors to some leading PPP crooks in the last regime.

Furthermore, the PPP will demand its pound of flesh in exchange for a social contract with APNU+AFC ---dismantle the State Asset Recovery Unit (SARU), call off probes into ex-PPP ministers' assets, honor parliamentary budget debating traditions by letting Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo and Finance Minister Jordan be the last two speakers while PM Nagamootoo sit and listen. And other demands.

But President Granger is honest to admit that APNU+AFC's 4,506-votes win over the PPP last May was not a "grand victory." A sobering reality, indeed.

I believe the President means well by calling for a social contract . If the government   moves faster in bringing some of the crooks from the previous administration to justice the PPP definitely will fall into line with the President's call.

comrade
comrade posted:

I believe the President means well by calling for a social contract . If the government   moves faster in bringing some of the crooks from the previous administration to justice the PPP definitely will fall into line with the President's call.

• blobid0

I think President Granger means well by calling for a social contract with the PPP. I also think the PPP will reject the president's call for a social contract because he halted kickbacks from social contractors to some leading PPP crooks in the last regime.

Furthermore, the PPP will demand its pound of flesh in exchange for a social contract with APNU+AFC ---dismantle the State Asset Recovery Unit (SARU), call off probes into ex-PPP ministers' assets, honor parliamentary budget debating traditions by letting Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo and Finance Minister Jordan be the last two speakers while PM Nagamootoo sit and listen. And other demands.

But President Granger is honest to admit that APNU+AFC's 4,506-votes win over the PPP last May was not a "grand victory." A sobering reality, indeed.

Granger need not worry about any of this if he focus on the real social contract....reforming the one with the people and the administration of the state...the constitution. We need a new constitution that decentralizes power and allow local regional autonomy and ensure parliament is maned by people who earned their position there at a plebiscite. All other social contracts that is party centered is elite  accommodation and just a waste of time. The underlying problems remains

comrade posted:

The President is wasting his time by calling on Jagdeo for a social contract. This will only lead to party centered contract or accords. Perhaps it might  be more beneficial to work with the constituents and influential heads of various social and religious organizations. Breaking bread with the "small man" might even widen that margin of votes come 2020. Empower them at the regional level and hold them accountable.

comrade posted:

The President is wasting his time by calling on Jagdeo for a social contract. This will only lead to party centered contract or accords. Perhaps it might  be more beneficial to work with the constituents and influential heads of various social and religious organizations. Breaking bread with the "small man" might even widen that margin of votes come 2020. Empower them at the regional level and hold them accountable.

The PPP tried this method but the Blacks eat and drink free food and drinks from the PPP then voted PNC. 

Dem blacks din take bribe from corrupt PPP that easy , so now you vex, hehehehehehehe

Ooo if you believe that then I have a bridge to sell you. The blacks in public office reaped a windfall from bribery across both PPP and PNC administrations. 

The Cummingsburg Accord is falling apart, now Granger wants to build a new accord, should the PPP says YES, then look out Rumjaat and Naga, out you go. It will be like "musical chairs", one in one out. Moses failed in his Unity talks, look out Granger may get personal and offer an olive Branch to the PPP, Wouldn't that look good to celebrate 0n the 26th May 2016, then the colours be RED, GREEN and YELLA!!!!

Just a trickle on the slope of a mountain can become a mighty river, torrents down to a vast ocean.

A small project to create employment for both Afro and Indo youths in the Buxton area was not even worthy for Granger social contract. I doan believe the President. He was speaking to an elitist group of people.  

Years ago, I even called upon Caribj to be part of the endeavor, a challenge to his racist rants.

In any event the President's call is a noble one. It has possibilities, for during the election campaign of 2015, I wrote about such cooperation in my Blog. I did not label it as "Social Contract"

Just a trickle on the slope of a mountain can become a mighty river, torrents down to a vast ocean.

A small project to create employment for both Afro and Indo youths in the Buxton area was not even worthy for Granger social contract. I doan believe the President. He was speaking to an elitist group of people.  

Years ago, I even called upon Caribj to be part of the endeavor, a challenge to his racist rants.

In any event the President's call is a noble one. It has possibilities, for during the election campaign of 2015, I wrote about such cooperation in my Blog. I did not label it as "Social Contract"

Granger can only start having a little credibility when he pushes aside the racist Harmon.

Guyana can then start rebuilding.