President explains rationale for deferring Parliament

Georgetown, GINA, December 17, 2011
Source - GINA

Deferral of the tenth Parliament this month was one of several issues agreed upon when representatives of the opposition parties, A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Alliance For Change (AFC) met the President on December 15.

The rationale was explained by President Donald Ramotar during an interview with Editor-in-Chief of the National Communications Network (NCN) Michael Gordon today at the Office of the President.

He said the decision was based on a request by APNU which indicated that most of its members will be proceeding on vacation during the Christmas season. President Ramotar said he conceded to the request, quelling fears that he may capitalise on that opportunity to “spring the parliament on them” and elect his own speaker.

“I gave them the commitment that I will not do that and, if they want to go for the Christmas holidays they can so proceed … I will not convene the parliament in the month of December,” President Ramotar said.

During the discussions the President had with the political parties in which Prime Minister Samuel Hinds, Head of the Presidential Secretariat Dr Roger Luncheon and Presidential Adviser on Governance Gail Teixeira participated, several issues were raised including a list of issues for discussion and prioritization for future meetings and two representatives nominated from APNU and AFC to work on identified and agreed on priority issues.

It was also agreed that the Minister of Finance will meet with the two identified finance persons of the APNU and AFC in the near future to consult on the preparation of the 2012 Budget.

The new Head of State had initiated the process of engaging the opposition parties in talks immediately after his installation to office on December 3.

At the onset of his journey to presidency, he had promised to leave the door open to the process of dialogue with the opposition. During today’s interview he described the meetings as most cordial and candid.

“The meetings have been very useful. We have been very frank with each other. I hope to proceed working in that way, in consulting with them in moving our country forward…,” President Ramotar said.

He acknowledged that there are differences in opinions and approaches to issues but assured that the goal of working in the interest of Guyana’s development must remain paramount.

Mr. Ramotar won the presidency at the 2011 general and regional elections held on November 28 after the PPP/C captured 48.6 percent of the votes and secured 32 seats in the National Assembly.

The opposition parties hold the majority of seats with APNU’s 26 and seven from the AFC.

Originally posted by Nehru:
What a GREAT and COMPASSION President. Let us wait and see how the opposition reacts in the New Year. Congrats President Ramoutar.
Compassionate ... try he had no other alternative. Big Grin
Originally posted by Dhall:
Any fair minded person will have to concede that he has done all the right things so far.

Like what...I know you will praise the PPP if it was headed by a pig.
He said the decision was based on a request by APNU which indicated that most of its members will be proceeding on vacation during the Christmas season

Lazy bastards!!! Smile
Originally posted by alena:
He said the decision was based on a request by APNU which indicated that most of its members will be proceeding on vacation during the Christmas season

Lazy bastards!!! Smile

gyal why yuh suh baddaration? Smile
Originally posted by marlon:
I hope the president will continue to work with the opposition in the future in the best interest of the nation

President Ramotar must be given credit for his fresh approach.
We have already seen 3 of Jagdeo's Personal Advisors and Recycled PNC Thugs ......Lamumba, Kwame McCoy and Top Cop Green cut down and will be hauled before the courts.

We have seen his call for outside help to Investigate Crimes and Bring these Criminals to Justice.
You should ask "Father Christmas" for a more objective state of mind as this year Christmas gift. Smile

Originally posted by caribj:
Any fair minded person will have to concede that he has done all the right things so far.

“I gave them the commitment that I will not do that and, if they want to go for the Christmas holidays they can so proceed … I will not convene the parliament in the month of December,” President Ramotar said.

It was also agreed that the Minister of Finance will meet with the two identified finance persons of the APNU and AFC in the near future to consult on the preparation of the 2012 Budget.

What a breathe of fresh air.

The people of Guyana won. flag
HIP HIP HOORAY. The new and improved Guyana on the path of continued PROGRESS and PROSPERITY.
Originally posted by Gupta:

This is what building National Unity is all about.
If more of these discussions take place and a consensus is reached before they go to parliament, that lost trust among the parties will start to rebuild.
Originally posted by alena:

Lazy bastards!!! Smile

And if they are entitled to a vacation why not?
You should ask "Father Christmas" for a more objective state of mind as this year Christmas gift. Smile

Originally posted by caribj:

Dhall show me any opost where you havent heaped praises on Ramotar. Start with his failure to deal with old ladies being shot down and kids being frightened.

And tell us why its only after these marches that Ramotar began to listen to APNU and AFC?