President fulfils Chenapau’s request – community gets boat and engine

Located in Region Eight, Chenapau village today received an aluminum boat and a 40-Horse power engine, handed over through the Ministry of Amerindian Affairs on behalf of President Donald Ramotar.

The items were presented to the Village’s toshao David Garcia by Permanent Secretary Nigel Dharamlall at the Amerindian Affairs Ministry in Thomas Street.

Toshao of Chenapau, Region Eight, David Garcia and Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Amerindian Affairs Nigel Dharamlall shake hands after the presentation of an aluminium boat and engine to the toshao. Also in photo is a staff of the Ministry of Amerindian Affairs standing next to the boat’s engine

Toshao of Chenapau, Region Eight, David Garcia and

Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Amerindian Affairs

Nigel Dharamlall shake hands after the presentation of an

aluminium boat and engine to the toshao. Also in photo is

a staff of the Ministry of Amerindian Affairs standing next

to the boat’s engine

Dharamlall said that the village requested from the president a few months ago a boat and engine, to transport the children from the village to their school in Mahdia.

“It is one of the most remote villages in Guyana, hence his Excellency thought that it is important as part of widening education development as our country is working towards universal secondary education,” Dharamlall explained.

The aluminium boat presented by the Amerindian Affairs Ministry to Chenapau, Region Eight

The aluminium boat presented by the Amerindian Affairs

Ministry to Chenapau, Region Eight

Many of the students of Chenapau attend the Mahdia Secondary School and transportation is one of their challenges.

Garcia thanked the President and the Ministry of Amerindian Affairs for providing them with the boat and engine valued $1.5M.

It used to be beads and mirrors that the Amerindians were bribed with in exchange for their gold.

Now they get a cheap boat and motor instead that I could buy for less than one week's wages from the boat shop up my road. My brother Bucks have not yet mastered the art of financial and fiscal foresight.

Wow...please massa please.. thank you for the lil boat....now we can cross the creek. 

That our people now see this as an example of the government doing good and that they waited for this offering is pathetic. I can build a better boat in my backyard over the weekend.  Actually, I can build a fully capable and safe fiberglass boat better than that crap in a week end. I can teach them to do the same since the materials necessary are only chicken wire, kevlar and a couple of cans of materials

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Wow...please massa please.. thank you for the lil boat....now we can cross the creek. 

That our people now see this as an example of the government doing good and that they waited for this offering is pathetic. I can build a better boat in my backyard over the weekend.  Actually, I can build a fully capable and safe fiberglass boat better than that crap in a week end. I can teach them to do the same since the materials necessary are only chicken wire, kevlar and a couple of cans of materials

Why don't you go teach them? I emplored you years ago to give back to "your people" but instead you chose the cushy life in your perch of luxury in the US. But then after your blunders revealed that you were a White pretending to be Amerindian, I finally realized why you are a talker and not a doer.

Not my job. My point is that a catalog boat is enough for these idiots to have a photo op for showing "amerind development". Bet his wife spent as  much on them shiny shoes. Show them making their own boats instead of begging for them and call it development.

Stop being couvesious. A boat is better than six empty barrels give by that crab ass Gehrard. 

You think us bucks can't make a boat out of a hollowed out tree trunk? That aluminium junk just needs a hole in it and it will sink. We had one of them for a while. It hit one of those underwater hidden rocks just by the bridge gong across from MacKenzie to Wismar. Damn thing sank in no time. A wooden boat would have stayed afloat.

Mudhead, what is couvesious?

Originally Posted by God:

It's to show that cobra went to skool in skeldon and learned BIG words from the teacher.

All boats are like vehicles that are subject to make accidents. People who travels by water always wear life vest for safety. If the Prezy has given a wooden boat instead of aluminum, he would still hear the opposite from his critics.  

When is the last time you saw a buck wearing a life vest?

Not my job. My point is that a catalog boat is enough for these idiots to have a photo op for showing "amerind development". Bet his wife spent as  much on them shiny shoes. Show them making their own boats instead of begging for them and call it development.

The boat + engine cost 7.5K US. So stop belittling this contribution as though it was beads. Also govt will be providing fuel.

Garcia thanked the President and the Ministry of Amerindian Affairs for providing them with the boat and engine valued $1.5M.

The boat + engine cost 7.5K US. So stop belittling this contribution as though it was beads. Also govt will be providing fuel.

My sister sells those boats. They are between 250 and 1000.  That is clearly not even 3k if one is to account for a very good twin prop engine. But that boat cannot take a high powered engine.  So the engine has to be a small one as well. In any event, I am pissed that they insult the people with having a photo op on account of giving them pittance.

I can go to the surplus store up the street and get me a far better boat than that for less than a thousand dollars. You need to get off your pitiful ass and look up the cost of boats.

Aluminum boats are not easily fixable. Small dents are easy. Large dents and you lose the boat. Fiberglass are easily fixed plus they are good as the aluminum boats in freshwater and they are safer since they have a foam core and are unsinkable.

Originally Posted by God:

Only PPP people mek up brand new words.

My sister sells those boats. They are between 250 and 1000.  That is clearly not even 3k if one is to account for a very good twin prop engine. But that boat cannot take a high powered engine.  So the engine has to be a small one as well. In any event, I am pissed that they insult the people with having a photo op on account of giving them pittance.

I can go to the surplus store up the street and get me a far better boat than that for less than a thousand dollars. You need to get off your pitiful ass and look up the cost of boats.

In your haste to demonize you forgot about the engine which starts at 5K

http://www.boats.net/outboard_...atsu/40HP/parts.html

Tohatsu Outboards 40 Horsepower

Manufacturer
Tohatsu Outboards

Outboard Motor Horsepower
2.5   3.5   4   5   6   8   9   15   20   25   30   35   40 HP   50   75   90   115   

Tohatsu MD40B2EFTOS Outboard Motor

Price: $5, 097.38
MSRP: $6, 070.00

Type: Outboard Motor
Year: Current
Series: Two Stroke Direct Injection
HP: 40
Cylinders:  3
Starting System:  Electric
Control Type:  Tiller Handle
Weight:  205.7 lbs
Power Trim and Tilt:  Yes

Call 877-412-3408 To Order 
or
 Request More Information Here 

In your haste to demonize you forgot about the engine which starts at 5K

http://www.boats.net/outboard_...atsu/40HP/parts.html

Tohatsu Outboards 40 Horsepower

Manufacturer
Tohatsu Outboards

Outboard Motor Horsepower
2.5   3.5   4   5   6   8   9   15   20   25   30   35   40 HP   50   75   90   115   

Tohatsu MD40B2EFTOS Outboard Motor

Price: $5, 097.38
MSRP: $6, 070.00

Type: Outboard Motor
Year: Current
Series: Two Stroke Direct Injection
HP: 40
Cylinders:  3
Starting System:  Electric
Control Type:  Tiller Handle
Weight:  205.7 lbs
Power Trim and Tilt:  Yes

Call 877-412-3408 To Order 
or
 Request More Information Here 

I did not dispute the cost of the engine since even without looking I knew it had to be in the four K range. I am sure a government gets a discount and coming from japan without the duties attached to a US price it has to be around 4K.

I am speaking of the boat which is   clugger. It lies low in the water is not safe at high speed and fragile.  That engine is tricky on that boat since the people driving it would be inclined to take it flat out and kill themselves.

I see those at the surplus store up the street from me plus I know what new ones cost since as I said, my sister sells them...actually better ones.

Now back to my original point; since we are water bound why are we not building boats when we have such good craft people? It may take time to get a form going but one can put together hundreds of boats easily  from one mould and there is a market for them

I did not dispute the cost of the engine since even without looking I knew it had to be in the four K range. I am sure a government gets a discount and coming from japan without the duties attached to a US price it has to be around 4K.

I am speaking of the boat which is   clugger. It lies low in the water is not safe at high speed and fragile.  That engine is tricky on that boat since the people driving it would be inclined to take it flat out and kill themselves.

I see those at the surplus store up the street from me plus I know what new ones cost since as I said, my sister sells them...actually better ones.

Now back to my original point; since we are water bound why are we not building boats when we have such good craft people? It may take time to get a form going but one can put together hundreds of boats easily  from one mould and there is a market for them

Is it govt's responsibility to be building boats? And who is "we"? Govt or entrepreneurs? If the economic benefits are there then it will happen. Unfortunately we have people like yourself who talk and don't do. We need more doers and less talkers. 

Its accountability is to provide appropriate transportation. 

You jumping from pillar to post, first it was the cost of the boat, then the govt should build the boat, now its providing "appropriate transportation".  Which is why the boat was purchased and presented to the village. There is no pleasing you folks. 

The boat is insubstantial. It is a fishermans skiff to be used as transportation for kids. Of course the people will take it. They have nothing.