We cannot allow this to happen. This is not about unity, healing, and ethnic divisions. This is about law and order and what is good for Guyana. Guyana needs the current leadership of the PPP to be placed before the courts and be made to answer for their crimes.

There is a whole chorus of diplomats, oligarchs, and others looking to save the PPP from the course of justice.

You have to start the PNC and prosecute them for 28 years of criminal activities.  They stole a whole country and the treasury. 

STFU about the PNC and 28 years. If you wanna rubbish the PNC then try something lil moh recent. There's plenty there in recent memory. No need to harken back to an era that is now a distant memory.

We cannot allow this to happen. This is not about unity, healing, and ethnic divisions. This is about law and order and what is good for Guyana. Guyana needs the current leadership of the PPP to be placed before the courts and be made to answer for their crimes.

There is a whole chorus of diplomats, oligarchs, and others looking to save the PPP from the course of justice.

This is my first critical post about Granger. He is trying to be jesus but even jesus knew when to kick the money changers from the temple.

There cannot be forgiveness for thieves of this sort. It is a condoning of elite criminals while pregnant mothers of young children with three grams of ganja in their possession are being sent to prison for three years.

Brazzington cannot get a pass. Satteur and his four kids and two family members cannot remain on the job. NCN and GINA has to be ripped apart and restructured from the bottom up. The ministers cannot inherit legacy staff of he past administration since they did not build a professional civil service cadre. One has to begin to do that now by sifting the wheat from the chaff.

Graner is giving Brian toward a free pass because toward provided considerable funds to the coalition campaign. Recently, he has been supplying trucks and equipment to help clean up Georgetown. I think tha if there is evidence tha a crime is committed, then the legal process be used. We have to change the culture, we have to start somewhere. An example needs to be St so others will think twice before becoming involved in corrupt activities. My worry is that the big boys will get away and the small ones will be prosecuted.

Z

This is my first critical post about Granger. He is trying to be jesus but even jesus knew when to kick the money changers from the temple.

There cannot be forgiveness for thieves of this sort. It is a condoning of elite criminals while pregnant mothers of young children with three grams of ganja in their possession are being sent to prison for three years.

Brazzington cannot get a pass. Satteur and his four kids and two family members cannot remain on the job. NCN and GINA has to be ripped apart and restructured from the bottom up. The ministers cannot inherit legacy staff of he past administration since they did not build a professional civil service cadre. One has to begin to do that now by sifting the wheat from the chaff.

It seems like almost all the players in Guyana, foreign and domestic, are pressuring the man to hold the hand of the law.

This is not the change promised. This is terrible for Guyana and even worse for Indians. We'll be saddled with these people for decades to come and then their pickney for decades to come after that.

Caribj bytched about criminals in the PPP and how they should prosecuted and placed behind bars. Today he does not want the PPP members to be prosecuted because the PNC needs them to help develop the country.

Go figure. 

I am always amused by the things that Caribj supposedly said.  I said no such thing.

We need to start somewhere. President Granger's first priority must be to put Guyana back on track and he seems to be doing so.

This government must not allow criminals to take a free walk. They must be hauled in especially those who treated the treasury as their personal bank accounts.

We must be reminded that this is not a simple task and it must be implemented after careful consideration and consultation with cabinet, members of the business community, the public, current and former Prosecutors and Judges etc.

We need to start somewhere. President Granger's first priority must be to put Guyana back on track and he seems to be doing so.

This government must not allow criminals to take a free walk. They must be hauled in especially those who treated the treasury as their personal bank accounts.

We must be reminded that this is not a simple task and it must be implemented after careful consideration and consultation with cabinet, members of the business community, the public, current and former Prosecutors and Judges etc.

You were doing good until you got to your last paragraph. This should not be conditional.

Granger is doing the right thing.  He is following the Mandela approach as retribution brings backlash.  Also, you never know what accommodation was reached when the PNC left.  The PPP never went after PNC personnel, they only went after a few Indian "collaborators".

The way I look at it the PPP cannot cry victim if the law is going after them now.

The PPP all along had their designs on stealing at scale. This is specifically why Jagan never prosecuted the PNC for what he claimed at the time was widespread corruption.

We know quite well now the PPP had issues here and there but corruption on the scale the PPP was mouthing off about was not exactly true.

Today Jagdeo, Brassington etc should be given immunity from prosecution if they return all the money. IF they dont go after them with the full brunt of the law.

The way I look at it the PPP cannot cry victim if the law is going after them now.

The PPP all along had their designs on stealing at scale. This is specifically why Jagan never prosecuted the PNC for what he claimed at the time was widespread corruption.

We know quite well now the PPP had issues here and there but corruption on the scale the PPP was mouthing off about was not exactly true.

Today Jagdeo, Brassington etc should be given immunity from prosecution if they return all the money. IF they dont go after them with the full brunt of the law.

Take you evidence to Granger next time you meet him.

Why? Is this the norm in the prosecution of criminals for their crimes? You folks like to mouth off with considering deeper consequences.
There is a legal system. Why must all these sectors of the community get involved? Who is to say for which crimes perpetrated and by whom, all these sectors can or cannot have a say in the proceedings or their outcomes?

A crime is a crime is a crime and crimes are to be dealt with in the normal course of the law. Anything else is interference and sets a precedence that inherently has no limits.

We've already had 5 decades of this crap.

Last edited by antabanta

In my opinion, the new government needs to initiate the proceedings as any plaintiff would to file a claim or suit, then extricate itself from the proceedings other than when called upon by the courts, and get on with the business of governing the nation.

As for members of business community, the public, and lawd gawd amighty, I don't understand why all of them have to get involved.

Originally Posted by antabanta:

In my opinion, the new government needs to initiate the proceedings as any plaintiff would to file a claim or suit, then extricate itself from the proceedings other than when called upon by the courts, and get on with the business of governing the nation.

As for members of business community, the public, and lawd gawd amighty, I don't understand why all of them have to get involved.

Non starter.

Originally Posted by antabanta:

Why? Is this the norm in the prosecution of criminals for their crimes? You folks like to mouth off with considering deeper consequences.
There is a legal system. Why must all these sectors of the community get involved? Who is to say for which crimes perpetrated and by whom, all these sectors can or cannot have a say in the proceedings or their outcomes?

A crime is a crime is a crime and crimes are to be dealt with in the normal course of the law. Anything else is interference and sets a precedence that inherently has no limits.

We've already had 5 decades of this crap.

Dead horse.