Home > NEWS > President Ramotar… Were it not for setbacks caused by combined Opposition –US$800M could have been invested in Amaila
President Ramotar… Were it not for setbacks caused by combined Opposition –US$800M could have been invested in Amaila
President Donald Ramotar

President Ramotar… Were it not for setbacks caused by combined Opposition –US$800M could have been invested in Amaila

–but hydropower can be a reality by 2019

AN accumulated US$80M in payments from Norway (US$45M of which was released in 2013 and the remaining US$35M on Friday) will be transferred to the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) to be used as Guyana’s equity contribution to the Government’s Amaila Falls Hydro-power Project (AFHP).

And President Donald Ramotar contends that were it not for setbacks caused by the combined Opposition’s disposition towards the project, an additional US$800M in foreign direct investment could have already been invested in the project.
“The US$80 million of the money received from Norway should by now have been invested in the flagship of the LCDS, the Amaila Falls Hydro Project. This would have attracted more than US$800 million in further financing from foreign direct investment,” he said on Friday evening in an address to the nation.
To this end, the President stressed the need for Guyanese to insist on the cessation of “partisan” attacks that will destroy a project that is critical to Guyana’s development.
“I call on the people of Guyana to insist on no more partisan attacks to destroy something that is so critical to our country’s development, but instead, to insist on a constant debate on how we can work together on these matters of crucial national importance,” he said.

SELF-SERVING POLITICS

According to the Head of State, “self-serving political games” advanced by the combined Opposition, A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Alliance For Change (AFC), resulted in an attempt to destroy the project, which would have provided all Guyanese with affordable, reliable and clean energy.
“The attempt to cause the collapse of the Amaila Falls Hydro Project in August 2013 was a disgraceful episode in our nation’s development, when some commentators and politicians refused to let evidence be their guide. We saw untruthful statements from people who had access to all the relevant information which proved their own statements wrong,” Mr. Ramotar said.
On July 18, 2013, the combined Opposition in Parliament defeated the Hydroelectric Power (Amendment) Bill in the National Assembly, and in August the Government took the legislation back to the House and received the backing of the AFC, but A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) voted down the bill and motion.
Additionally, in 2014, the allocation of $1.3B for the provision of the Amaila access road and related structures was effectively given the green light from the Parliamentary Committee of Supply, in its review of the Ministry of Public Works’ 2014 budgetary allocation, in April this year.
When the bill was put to the vote, Members of Parliament (MPs), from the Government voted in support of the ministry’s capital expenditures, which included the Amaila project, A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) voted no and the Alliance For Change (AFC) abstained. It was only this abstention that allowed the project to go through.
MAINTAINED COMMITMENT

Regardless of the challenges, the President reiterated his commitment to the crucial, transformative project.
He said, “I said then (in 2013) that I would not give up in the face of such baseless attacks and that my Government would remain steadfast in pursuing this transformative project.
“Thankfully, our partners in the Inter-American Development Bank and the Government of Norway also remained steadfast in their resolve, and I am pleased to let you know that we are once more making progress.”
Slated to be this nation’s most ambitious undertaking, the Amaila Falls Hydro Project (AFHP) is touted to be able to provide Guyanese with a cheaper, reliable and sustainable electricity supply. It involves the construction of a hydropower plant in the area of West-Central Guyana, where the Amaila and Kuribrong Rivers meet. Electricity produced there would be delivered to Georgetown and Guyana’s second largest town, Linden.
Mr. Ramotar’s consistent position on the matter is that economies must serve the people, not vice-versa, and with an expected saving of $9B in electricity subsidies, as well as savings on the $40B fuel bill, enormous contributions can be made to the infrastructural development, which is particularly needed in Guyana’s hinterland to aid and accelerate economic progress.
Details on the way forward with the project are expected to be released in the coming weeks.
“We can never make back the time that we have lost, but the Amaila Falls Hydro Project can still be operational by 2019,” Mr. Ramotar assured.
To date a total of US$150M, US$70M invested in LCDS projects and US$80M for AFHP, has been paid over to Guyana by Norway. The payments represent payments for climate services and continued low deforestation, as part of the country’s Low-Carbon Development Strategy (LCDS) up to 2012.

(By Vanessa Narine)

AFC in the meanwhile is not able to recover from eating humble pie as they failed to bring down the PPP and Moses is in hiding as a result of shame and disgrace.

Why is the AFC so quiet? Any rumors of inhouse turmoil? Power struggle between Moses and Nigel?

AFC in the meanwhile is not able to recover from eating humble pie as they failed to bring down the PPP and Moses is in hiding as a result of shame and disgrace.

Why is the AFC so quiet? Any rumors of inhouse turmoil? Power struggle between Moses and Nigel?

Word on the street is yes. It is major.

Is the calm before the storm? Any insider information from our resident AFC expert Gilly?

Awww another failure for the PPP - No surprise here, move along.....

2 hours ago

Sugar output still dismal, Skeldon far below target

Posted By Pushpa Balgobin On October 27, 2014 @ 5:30 am In Local News | No Comments

With its sugar output continuing to be far below expectation, the Skeldon sugar factory is preparing for the conversion of the current hydraulic dump system to an electric winch system which will help it get closer to its 350 tonnes per hour crushing potential originally promised under the China National Tech-nical Import and Export Corporation (CNTIC) construction contract.

When Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo) officials appeared before the National Assembly’s Economic Services Com-mittee recently, Technical Services Manager Yusuf Abdul had noted that to fix the ill-performing punt dump could cost US$4 million. Significant controversy has surrounded this figure as the rehabilitation of the punt dump was one of six projects that was supposed to be done by the South African firm Bosch Engineering.

Stabroek News had been reliably informed that the cost of the Bosch rehabilitation would be approximately US$30 million. However, in March, GuySuCo refuted this figure and said the total repairs cost US$1.8 million.

The US$110 million Skeldon sugar factory has consistently given problems since it was commissioned in 2009. More money was subsequently spent to help realize the full potential of the factory, the lynchpin of the Skeldon Sugar Moderniza-tion Project (SSMP). Five years later, it is still nowhere near delivering on its projected target of 110,000 tonnes of sugar per annum.

In addition to the conversion of the hydraulic dump to a winch-based system which was being pushed by factory management up to last August when Stabroek News visited the estate, Skeldon is also considering bringing the feeding system from the old factory into the new factory. This publication was made to understand that local contractors who were solicited for the job estimated that it could cost up to $40 million or more to bring over the compo

Is the calm before the storm? Any insider information from our resident AFC expert Gilly?

They are doing their best to cover up and do damage control.

Remember that they cancelled their congress ?

Moses and Prak must be hitting the bottle heavily. They probably holding each other's neck crying their eyes out. You think they beating their chests and wailing too?  

Correct.

This is what they have been having lately and word is that they were overheard cussing up:

Unknown

• Unknown

The President shouldn't make excuses for his failures.  He has a veto vote.

When you have a minority Government, then every bill should be negotiated with one of the opposition parties.   The President needs a qualified person to advise him on the standing order of parliament.  Ralph is no good anymore...

The President shouldn't make excuses for his failures.  He has a veto vote.

When you have a minority Government, then every bill should be negotiated with one of the opposition parties.   The President needs a qualified person to advise him on the standing order of parliament.  Ralph is no good anymore...

the  President is a toady to Jagdeo and a moron to boot. Every time he speaks I get a bit panicky that he will swallow his tongue and die on camera.

The PPP Head of Thieves is upset that his time in office has not been economically beneficial to his bank account. This castle in the sky project is not going to improve the lives and finances of most the Guyanese. Only the PPP selected view are going to see any benefit. And let's not forget the 50% cut the PPP will syphon off.

I am a longtime PPP member and supporter, and it pains me to know that the party I supported for half a century has a very weak Leader. Believe me, I would like to see him being replace for the next Election.

The whole party needs replacing. Jabba De Gut has done fk-all since flopping his fat ass in the Prez,s chair.

The President shouldn't make excuses for his failures. 

* WHAT BULLSHIT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT THE PRESIDENT'S FAILURES ?

* Listen! You are free to join those 2 clowns Moses and Ramjattan over at the AFC.

* President Ramotar is doing a fine job and will be re-elected by a majority in the next election.

Abee ah do good, dem People happy, happy . Abee guh vote fuh Uncle Ramo again. Abee Prapa HAPPY.

So says the guy as he sits comfortably behind his computer in North America without a care in the world...just happy to see his kind rape the treasury and the people.

The President shouldn't make excuses for his failures. 

* WHAT BULLSHIT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT THE PRESIDENT'S FAILURES ?

* Listen! You are free to join those 2 clowns Moses and Ramjattan over at the AFC.

* President Ramotar is doing a fine job and will be re-elected by a majority in the next election.

What has His Excellency Lardass done since flopping his fat ass down?.

* It looks like you don't read the news from Guyana.

* His excellency Donald Rabindranauth Ramotar is presiding over a country that is making remarkable progress and development.

* The world has just seen Brazillian president Dilma Rousseff re-elected with 51% of the votes.

* In Guyana's next election the world will see Donald Ramotar  re-elected with 51+% of the votes.

Abee ah do good, dem People happy, happy . Abee guh vote fuh Uncle Ramo again. Abee Prapa HAPPY.

So says the guy as he sits comfortably behind his computer in North America without a care in the world...just happy to see his kind rape the treasury and the people.

Bhai Cain, I am not in the Raping Business and I have stated clearly my opinion with regards to the People's money. It will not be difficult and read some of what I stated in that regard before yuh talk trash.

* His excellency Donald Rabindranauth Ramotar is presiding over a country that is making remarkable progress and development.

* The world has just seen Brazillian president Dilma Rousseff re-elected with 51% of the votes.

* In Guyana's next election the world will see Donald Ramotar  re-elected with 51+% of the votes.

Ok so he made dem people vote fo dat Brazilian chap, dats what he done for the Guyanese people?  Aright..he did lots.

Bhai Cain, I am not in the Raping Business and I have stated clearly my opinion with regards to the People's money. It will not be difficult and read some of what I stated in that regard before yuh talk trash.

Ok I heard you too. Is like dis.

My buddy tiefin his parents money and I know dis but instead a sayin, "Oi man, is what derass you goin on with, Iman doan play dat shit yeh, you deh pon yo own" and walk away, you one a dem guys who say, "Oi, I know u tiefin the parents dem money but you does help dem one one day fo carry in their groceries an so, go ahead man, tief lil bit,you is one abie."

the only place he can get 51% is on nehru mountain