President Ramotar says things that do not make sense

JUNE 18, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER FEATURES / COLUMNISTSFREDDIE KISSOON 

I originally put the title of this article as “Horses replace elephants in the circus.” Then my experience as a journalist spoke to me. An article enjoys a wider circulation based on the caption.
If you headline your column, “Incident at a street fair,” readers may feel that the writer is describing some criminal or sociological deviancy and may not be interested.
But if that column is captioned, “Ministers in nasty brawl at street fair,” it is bound to attract wider curiosity. I removed the horses and elephants headline because people may not know it is about a very shocking and unimaginable mistake by President Ramotar.
This country is definitely jinxed. When you think you have seen the worst, you run into the bizarre. Then the bizarre become the horrible then the horrible become the unspeakable. Then the unspeakable becomes the unimaginable. We thought that Mr. Jagdeo made no sense many times when he spoke. And we understood the shortcomings of Mr. Jagdeo. He was a virtual non-entity in politics and national life then miraculously became president of a leading West Indian nation.
Given his tiny intellectual capacity and literal nondescript status in Guyana, it was expected that he would make slip-ups that would be really unspeakable. I once read where Mr. Jagdeo said that it is better to have open voting in an organization than secret ballot, because open show of hands is more transparent. Nothing can be more asinine.
If I give you a million dollars to vote for me then by show of hands, you have to vote for me. With secret ballot, I could take your money yet embrace the truth and history by voting for the more honest candidate. You would have lost and would never know who stuck to their conscience and voted for morality over bribery.
I will always remember how secret voting on the UG Council backfired on the PPP and it led to then Minister of Education, Henry Jeffrey, and President Jagdeo flying into a rage. The PPP’s point man at UG, Dr. James Rose, lost contract-renewal by one vote. Given the polarized nature of the Council, Rose should have won because at the meeting there were six PPP members versus five who were against Rose.
After secret ballot, Rose lost the vote by one. Instead of it being six for Rose and five against, it was the other way, meaning a PPP member voted against Rose. The confusion was immense. Every PPP Council member was overtaken with anger – someone jumped ship. They all wanted to know who it was, but secret ballot protected the person who voted with his conscience. Dr. Mark Kirton replaced Rose as Vice Chancellor. He lasted literally one day because Mr. Jagdeo ordered Rose’s reinstatement. So much for the silly nature of Mr. Jagdeo.
But how different is Ramotar? He is not. But he should be. Jagdeo came to the presidency in his thirties without any experience whatsoever. Ramotar assumed office in his sixties after more than thirty years of political experience in and out of Guyana. Now if you think Mr. Jagdeo’s secret ballot remark was shockingly nonsensical, read on about what President Ramotar said.
Speaking at his press conference two Saturdays ago on his insistence not to bow to opposition pressure and concede to the conditions the opposition has set for signing the anti- money laundering Bill, Mr. Ramotar said that he will not recognize and concede to the things the opposition wants from his government because such politics is called horse-trading. He said that such horse-trading will destroy democracy and the poor in Guyana.
He explained that horse-trading is lobbying and only people with money can lobby and the poor will not be left out. This is the most nonsensical, shocking and silly thing to have come out of the mouth of any of the presidents we have had in Guyana. Politics is about trade-offs; concessions; compromise; retreats; recognition of one’s weakness; exchanges that are in the best interest of a nation; nationalist sacrifices etc.
Mr. Ramotar is from a party that has the adoption of Marxism-Leninism in its constitution. One of Lenin’s most famous quotes used by all Marxists throughout the world wherever they are goes like this; “you must take one step backward so you can make two steps forward.” This was Cheddi Jagan’s favourite quote and he used it literally thousands of times.
Of course the sickening thing about Mr. Ramotar’s foolish conceptualization of politics is that he is a minority president. This means that concession and compromise should be the essential characteristics in the exercise of power. What a mess Guyana is in.

An exercise for Ramotar would be for him to put himself in the Opposition's shoes and ask himself what he would do. Certainly he will be there soon so he better learn the methodology for keeping conflict constructive. It begins and ends with dialog and compromise.

The average age of our population is a young 28, and more than half our countrymen are below the age of 30.

Our human resources are developing at a slow pace and as fast as they graduate, they are on a plane out of Guyana.

This is the primary factor that is impeding Guyana's growth rate to cause the PPP to juk the rate.

These upcoming elections are the elections of the youths.

The average age of our population is a young 28, and more than half our countrymen are below the age of 30.

Our human resources are developing at a slow pace and as fast as they graduate, they are on a plane out of Guyana.

This is the primary factor that is impeding Guyana's growth rate to cause the PPP to juk the rate.

Do they want to hear about the 1973 elections?

Do they want to hear about Burnham?

Do they want to hear about who killed Rodney?

Do they want to hear about who banned alloo?

What do they want to hear?

More jobs?

Modernization of University of Guyana?

Who will answer these questions?

“History is always written by the winners. When two cultures clash, the loser is obliterated, and the winner writes the history books-books which glorify their own cause and disparage the conquered foe. As Napoleon once said, 'What is history, but a fable agreed upon?”

― Dan BrownThe Da Vinci Code

History is important Gilly, and is necessary but is not sufficient to fulfill today needs.

More jobs?

Spot on Gil

Politics is all about current issues of interest to the population in general. Keep the issues affecting Guyanese alive and they will eventually tune in not be fooled and brainwashed by current politicians in the PPP and PNC who  try to find a scare crow and howl like dogs to scare the people.

Guyana needs a broad based political front to clean up corruption, bring back transparency and dignity to the people of Guyana.

A young generation will bring that change. 2016 will be an interesting General Election. 

“History is always written by the winners. When two cultures clash, the loser is obliterated, and the winner writes the history books-books which glorify their own cause and disparage the conquered foe. As Napoleon once said, 'What is history, but a fable agreed upon?”

History is important Gilly, and is necessary but is not sufficient to fulfill today needs.

I agree with you fully.

But as an amateur historian I will say this:

When people ask us to remember historical events, we must find out their purpose or motive or objective.

Do they want us to learn from history?

Do they want revenge?

Do they want to punish the bad men of the past?

An exercise for Ramotar would be for him to put himself in the Opposition's shoes and ask himself what he would do. Certainly he will be there soon so he better learn the methodology for keeping conflict constructive. It begins and ends with dialog and compromise.

...do some situps.

In Guyana what we have going on is the majority of the population voted against the PPP so they are not winners by any stretch of the imagination.

But because the PPP further bastardized the constitution preventing coalitions from being formed after the election is held as is the case with all other countries in the commonwealth. We are stuck with a minority government which is incompetent, corrupt and arrogant.

In Guyana what we have going on is the majority of the population voted against the PPP so they are not winners by any stretch of the imagination.

But because the PPP further bastardized the constitution preventing coalitions from being formed after the election is held as is the case with all other countries in the commonwealth. We are stuck with a minority government which is incompetent, corrupt and arrogant.

You really need to examine Guyana' Constitution and then examine you head.

THE PPP is the winner in the 2011 elections.

They won the plurality.  THE LAW IS THE LAW and if you nah like it change am.

But your soft boy Granja in the corner wearing the dunce cap since he is misfocused.

His primary struggle should have been a new constitution.

But what he is obsessed with.  TK and his 5 jumbies.

More jobs?

That's why the PPP were so anxious to sponsor the Rodney COI at this time. They are a massive failure at everything else and they need to keep alive the chant of "bad black man" in the run up to the next elections.

Look you krulli crab daag, do not count the AFC votes as PNC votes, it is not.  Just check out Rajendra Bisswar letter making it clear the AFC will NEVER join the PNC.  You want me post am fuh yu PNC dudder brains again?

PNC get 41 percent and that is all them will get.  Sharma gone now, Aubrey Norton gone and expect the PNC to get in the 30s in 2016.

Political dunce, this Tyrone Kemraj and his five fake jumbies (JB, etc)